Carlow GAA thread

Replying To Carlowrising:  "Instead of reforming St. Fintin's why not just let them play hurling under Ballinabranna GAA?"
Isn't it the same thing? St Fintans was the Ballinabranna hurling team like Naomh Eoin is the Myshall hurling team. Name doesn't matter but they were refused by County Board but don't know why

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 226 - 03/06/2023 13:15:41    2483704

Replying To carlo:  "Isn't it the same thing? St Fintans was the Ballinabranna hurling team like Naomh Eoin is the Myshall hurling team. Name doesn't matter but they were refused by County Board but don't know why"
No not the same thing because a club can only have one name, Naomh Eoin is the name for both codes as they its the same club, doubt the co board would object to Ballinabranna entering a hurling team under the same club.

Carlowrising (Carlow) - Posts: 137 - 03/06/2023 21:22:01    2483831

Replying To Carlowrising:  "No not the same thing because a club can only have one name, Naomh Eoin is the name for both codes as they its the same club, doubt the co board would object to Ballinabranna entering a hurling team under the same club."
Don't really know the ins or outs of it but from my understanding they were the same club just different names. Like Fenagh Football & Ballinkillen hurling almost the very same players played both & up to recently St Andrews was the football end of Bagenalstown & Eirns Own was the hurling end. Also in the case of St Fintans they even used the same pitch & facilities so were in effect the same club. So if county board won't allow a St Fintans they won't allow a Ballinabranna hurling team.

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 226 - 03/06/2023 22:09:16    2483842

Replying To carlo:  "Don't really know the ins or outs of it but from my understanding they were the same club just different names. Like Fenagh Football & Ballinkillen hurling almost the very same players played both & up to recently St Andrews was the football end of Bagenalstown & Eirns Own was the hurling end. Also in the case of St Fintans they even used the same pitch & facilities so were in effect the same club. So if county board won't allow a St Fintans they won't allow a Ballinabranna hurling team."
Fenagh and Ballinkilliin are two separate clubs the players who play for both are members of both, some kildavin footballers also play hurling for Ballinkilliin.

Carlowrising (Carlow) - Posts: 137 - 04/06/2023 09:37:24    2483867

Replying To Carlowrising:  "Fenagh and Ballinkilliin are two separate clubs the players who play for both are members of both, some kildavin footballers also play hurling for Ballinkilliin."
Im aware they are separate clubs in name & St Fintans & Ballinabranna were seperate in name also but I'm sure the vast majority of St Fintans players were Ballinabranna players also. I don't think you getting the point I'm making. If Co. board wouldn't allow a St Fintans I can't see why they would allow a Ballinabranna hurling team just because its called Ballinabranna hurling instead of St Fintans.
Anyway best wishes to Carlow footballers today against Longford. With Tipp winning yesterday we just have to avoid losing by 21 points to progress to preliminary q/t. I would love to see us having a right cut at Longford as its kind of a free shot. Longford ran Limerick close while we were well beaten & they hammered Wicklow who we beat by 1 so form says Longford. Today is a day made for our fast men & hopefully we can get a good result.

carlo (Carlow) - Posts: 226 - 04/06/2023 14:34:23    2483915

Great win today. Some recovery from Limerick game fair play to all the lads. Some impact from subs again.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 227 - 04/06/2023 16:43:15    2483953

Great win today. I said at the start of the year that this team needs needs top of the ground and dry ball. They're a good young running team with plenty of pace when they get those conditions. Home game next no matter who it's against they'll have a great chance especially if the grounds stays hard and dry.

Onion Breath (Carlow) - Posts: 1414 - 04/06/2023 17:24:30    2483971

Great win, it's hard to figure out this team, hopefully today is a turning point though and we can push on now and make the quarters proper

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1625 - 04/06/2023 17:52:25    2483980

Replying To Barrowsider:  "Great win, it's hard to figure out this team, hopefully today is a turning point though and we can push on now and make the quarters proper"
New York next weekend in Network DCP

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3133 - 04/06/2023 19:14:52    2484000

Well done to Carlow today. Best of luck v NY.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1093 - 04/06/2023 19:37:47    2484006

Well done to the footballers today. Great summer for carlow gaa. Ceatharlach Abu!

Unusedsub (Carlow) - Posts: 85 - 04/06/2023 19:49:56    2484009

Replying To Freethinker:  "Well done to Carlow today. Best of luck v NY."
Cheers free. Ye had a good win. Too late tho.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 227 - 04/06/2023 20:06:55    2484019

Replying To Overthebar53:  "Cheers free. Ye had a good win. Too late tho."
Agreed. Story of our lives.

Freethinker (Wicklow) - Posts: 1093 - 04/06/2023 20:37:31    2484026

Netwatch next Saturday 5pm.Start spreading the news.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 227 - 05/06/2023 19:30:40    2484217

Replying To Overthebar53:  "Netwatch next Saturday 5pm.Start spreading the news."
Should have big support. Looking forward to it. It's on gaago (if it works).
Pity the hurlers don't get the same following but hopefully they will on 17th

novalis (Carlow) - Posts: 312 - 06/06/2023 13:11:53    2484397

Replying To novalis:  "Should have big support. Looking forward to it. It's on gaago (if it works).
Pity the hurlers don't get the same following but hopefully they will on 17th"
Regarding support, very few in a small attendance on Sunday in Portlaoise from Carlow.
I don't expect a big attendance on Saturday either. The same old reliables were there hut very few outside of the usuals.
As for the hurlers, I think they will get a bigger following against Dublin. Their win captured the imagination of a lot of people and even those who are often lukewarm will turn up for this game.
The footballers have a great hence kf advancing while i believe the hurlers will be up against a strong and focused Dublin.
But hope springs eternal also!!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1825 - 06/06/2023 15:06:27    2484442

Well done on Sunday lads.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2911 - 06/06/2023 21:28:51    2484565

Replying To sponger:  "Well done on Sunday lads."
Cheers spongy

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 227 - 06/06/2023 23:24:29    2484596

Any one know what's the story with seanie bambrick? Is he injured and if so is it serious. He's a big loss.

Overthebar53 (Carlow) - Posts: 227 - 09/06/2023 19:13:56    2485173

Best of luck to the Carlow footballers tomorrow great result last week can't remember when we last beat Longford.

Team seem to enjoy hard ground where they can use there speed to attack at pace to get 2 wins from 3 is great and reward for the hard work of the players.

To finish off remember couple years ago been at a game we lost and someone saying it's a good thing we don't play New York or they'd beat us aswell guess Saturday will give us our answer if they will or not.

ITSCHOLAR (Carlow) - Posts: 297 - 09/06/2023 19:56:23    2485179