Fellow posters you don't need to respond to my posts especially the posters who go missing when we win. I respect a lot of the posters who have Donegal football at heart but not the few idiots who have a personal dislike against certain people. I listen to knowledgeable people like Mc kaigue not the few fools who are happy to see Donegal losing. Again don't waste your time responding to my opinions. I don't respect yous or never will. Buy the star today and read the article it just proves I'm right all along. Have a nice day.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2668 - 01/06/2022 15:22:00
Replying To rorysboys: "Fellow posters you don't need to respond to my posts especially the posters who go missing when we win. I respect a lot of the posters who have Donegal football at heart but not the few idiots who have a personal dislike against certain people. I listen to knowledgeable people like Mc kaigue not the few fools who are happy to see Donegal losing. Again don't waste your time responding to my opinions. I don't respect yous or never will. Buy the star today and read the article it just proves I'm right all along. Have a nice day." "Buy the star...." that tells us all we need to know!
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1354 - 01/06/2022 15:38:19
Replying To rorysboys: "My mistake if that's the case. But with the game finishing level it was a decision that completely went un noticed . It's not surprising but ." Printing the word MISTAKE took some doing from u me boy. So now u jump on the McKaigue bandwagon, who I hear has cracked ribs, mind u not from Donegal tackles but laughing inwardly at the highly sophisticated Donegal game plan presented by Bonner that McKaigue and his colleagues so easily outwitted! You got to love it McKaigue really takin the ****! Keep on floggin there Rory, oh by the way don't forget the COUNTDOWN!
thelowball (USA) - Posts: 400 - 01/06/2022 15:50:50
Replying To greenfan: "You are correct. People talking about getting rid of a manager mid-season is rubbish, this isn't the premier league in England where managers are sacked for losing a couple games. I saw a few of Eunans games last year and they were as defensive as anyone, they looked good in the county final which is probably the only Eunans game some people on here saw last year because it was on TV. Anyone who thinks a new manager could come in and take over a county team today and have them prepared for a game in 2 weeks with a whole new style of play is either deluded or knows little about what is involved. Bonner is here for the rest of this season. I think mirroring Derry's setup was the correct thing to do on Sunday , but the management made a few mistakes tactically during the game like not moving Murphy up the field to get Rodgers further back and the use of only 3 subs in the 70 minutes. Then at the start of extra time, not making a couple more changes to freshen the team up. I think the weakness in this management team is the inability to react to what's happening in the game and make changes tactically as required to correct problems, like Derry did by switching Mogan's marker at half time. Donegal seemed to stick rigidly to the plan when a couple of tweaks base on how the game was going might have made the difference." "I think the weakness in this management team is the inability to react to what's happening in the game and make changes tactically as required to correct problems "…. Surely the most basic needs of any management team even at the lowest level of the game not talk about a senior county team ….
ForeverBlue2 (Cavan) - Posts: 4243 - 01/06/2022 16:37:52
Replying To thelowball: "Printing the word MISTAKE took some doing from u me boy. So now u jump on the McKaigue bandwagon, who I hear has cracked ribs, mind u not from Donegal tackles but laughing inwardly at the highly sophisticated Donegal game plan presented by Bonner that McKaigue and his colleagues so easily outwitted! You got to love it McKaigue really takin the ****! Keep on floggin there Rory, oh by the way don't forget the COUNTDOWN!" Easily outwitted sure didn't the game go to extra time. Nothing easy about that my friend. Must have hurt you to see Mc kaigue praising our system. One final point lad your not a poster that I take any heed of so stop responding to my posts. Don't waste your time.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2668 - 01/06/2022 16:42:43
Replying To peiledoir20: ""Buy the star...." that tells us all we need to know!" Are you a sun man.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2668 - 01/06/2022 16:44:21
Replying To rorysboys: "Fellow posters you don't need to respond to my posts especially the posters who go missing when we win. I respect a lot of the posters who have Donegal football at heart but not the few idiots who have a personal dislike against certain people. I listen to knowledgeable people like Mc kaigue not the few fools who are happy to see Donegal losing. Again don't waste your time responding to my opinions. I don't respect yous or never will. Buy the star today and read the article it just proves I'm right all along. Have a nice day." You only respect a few posters, but none with any knowledge of the game respect you. I actually feel sorry for you when you need to read the star to get knowledge of Donegal football. Most posters on here have great knowledge of Donegal gaa, and whatever side there on, have the best interests of Donegal in there mind. Your no more that a key board warrior with little knowledge. Let the real Donegal supporter's talk gaa.
The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 723 - 01/06/2022 16:54:20
Replying To rorysboys: "Are you a sun man." Even better!
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1354 - 01/06/2022 16:55:14
Replying To ForeverBlue2: ""I think the weakness in this management team is the inability to react to what's happening in the game and make changes tactically as required to correct problems "…. Surely the most basic needs of any management team even at the lowest level of the game not talk about a senior county team …." It is indeed.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 743 - 01/06/2022 17:02:31
Replying To Lockjaw: "I'd agree with you there. All this "trust the process" craic works to a certain extent but if you're a team that has designs on winning titles some chutzpah is needed on occasion as well.
I tortured myself by rewatching highlights of the Ulster final from 2016 there last night. A quite similar match in that it was very cagey and Cathal McCarron forced Murphy to defend on a number of occasions.
Another notable aspect of that game was we trusted ourselves to kick points from distance. Ryan McHugh & Odhran MacNiallais in particular landed a few beauts. Now Odhran's county days are over and there's no point rehashing that. But I would put Ciaran Thompson in a similar bracket with his ability to find the range from distance.
I go back to my point earlier in the thread about offering up something creative in an attacking sense. The dogs on the street knew that McKaigue would pick up McBrearty and put him in his pocket. Would it have been so outlandish to bench Paddy for Thompson? Play Murphy and Brennan inside, Thommo out the field and force Gallagher into a rethink?
Spring a ******* off Paddy from the bench with a point to prove in the second half?
I know it's easy to be wise after the event but I'm just reiterating my complete frustration that we were so easy to predict." 100% agreed Lockjaw. On the long range kicking, it really does baffle me that Thompson didn't start. There was no word from camp that he was injured or anything according to Oisín McConville on the Examiner podcast, he said that for BBC coverage enquired and that Donegal camp said no injury. So why was Thompson not starting, or at the very least coming on much earlier than he did?
Paddy at the moment contributes in spurts, he can be frustrating but for example against Cavan he got an absolute worldy of a point when we really really needed it in the 2nd half, before the goals. In a game like Sunday, I would like to see it mixed up though. Why not bring Paddy out the field? He's got a great left foot, could he not pick a few passes from centre-half forward for the day? As you say, it would have given Derry something different to think about.
JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 01/06/2022 17:04:42
Replying To The keeper: "You only respect a few posters, but none with any knowledge of the game respect you. I actually feel sorry for you when you need to read the star to get knowledge of Donegal football. Most posters on here have great knowledge of Donegal gaa, and whatever side there on, have the best interests of Donegal in there mind. Your no more that a key board warrior with little knowledge. Let the real Donegal supporter's talk gaa." Your in the wrong place lad if you want the real Donegal supporters to talk gaa. I'm a keyboard warrior what does that make you, go to the dictionary and get the right meaning of the word. Have a nice day. Don't really want you either responding to my posts, you don't fall into the category sorry.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2668 - 01/06/2022 17:04:51
Replying To Ulsterchamps_32: "-If you had of said that Donegal would concede 1-12 in normal time and would win 60% of the kick outs you would have probably taken it. Donegal to score more than 1-13 to win? Donegal had 32 shots and scored 15 times. The conversion rate is just not good enough. Realistically despite all the other mistakes made is that not the single biggest factor in not winning? Some players lacked discipline in going for the shots that were not on and in fairness plenty of it was due to derry defence. Donegal needed one more point in normal time and we would have won. They were on about Hugh McFadden on the DL debate. That shot was a 100% he just took a split second too long to shoot. The Patrick mcbrearty one and the end of Et was not on.
- some people are mentioning Rory kavanagh. He did real well with at eunans so far and no doubt had big plans ahead for them. Though I wonder do folks watch Donegal club football. The eunans Ulster quarter final Vs glen was a final score of 8 points to 1-4 to glen and was played in same cautious safety first way most of high end Donegal club football is played. Tactics wise does anyone really think he would have set the team up much different to what it was on Sunday. On the DL debate he was mentioning the defence not being as tight as it needs to be rather than not scoring enough!!
-Donegal got one of the only turnovers in the second half. Murphy kicked it up to shane o'donnell and the kick pass was on straight away to mcbrearty. He took too much out of it and ultimately ball was turned over. Shane o'donnell is a very talented footballer who is well able to kick pass but realistically that's been taken out of him at club level first and then county. That has to be coached back in again to kick it in.
- some folks want to sack Bonner or him to resign now. Donegals are one match from a quarter final. At least give them a chance to then and give the team some semblance of support. I'm very disappointed for the players and management about not getting over the line but that's not a reason to give the rest of the championship a right rattle. And maybe do freshen it up and take some of the constraints off." Great post, probably one of the better observations on here since Sunday. i agree that conversion rate is not good enough, and I felt management were very slow with use of subs when players started to cramp up. Michael Murphy should not be immune from being substituted without him requesting it first, he isn't so good that he is better limping than a fully fit player.
I don't like being critical of Management or players, because I know how much effort and time they dedicate to the Donegal jersey, they give up so much of their lives to represent us at the highest level and for very little reward really, but It is okay to be critical of tactical approach and the strategic use of players.
Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1471 - 01/06/2022 17:20:17
Replying To gunman: "Like yourself I recorded both the BBC and the RTE coverage and have been watching bits and pieces.The puzzling thing about Donegal's approach was that it was like that of a complete underdog coming up against a real top dog,safety first taking no chances in case a superior team would destroy you.Adopting this approach was always going to make it a 50/50 game.In saying that it nearly worked but if our players are as good as a lot of people think we should be imposing ourselves on the opposition.That is obviously the fault of management but I am sure at the same time they were not expecting the players to be so passive and lacking in aggression. Derry made it much more difficult for us to score than we did for them. The high press we were expecting was half hearterd . We have a big problem with packed defences and they were probably warned not to take the ball into contact which is understandable because we are very easily turned over in contact which is down to poor ball control skills.I don't see top teams get turned over as easily. Another big problem is the lack of movement inside which contributes to this playing around the edges.When players look up there is nothing on . What we normally do well wasn't there on Sunday either and that is supporting the man on the ball. I think 99% of people think Murphy should be in the attacking half of the field not only because of the damage he could do but also because he is terrible at defending. Mc Menamin was taken out of it preventing him from tackling the Derry goalscorer(free out).It was also very poor defending from McFF in the lead up to that goal. I also thought McMenamin was fouled when he didn't deal with that short kickout.There was a push on the back. forgive the rambling but things are just coming in to my head" I've stopped watching RTE GAA coverage now as much as possible, they have become an absolute joke in terms of pundits and idiotic commentary by Pundits, many of whom are providing punditry on teams they aren't familiar with.
Pat Spillane is a joke, he has preformed opinions on most top football counties and similar throws in random statistics provided by RTE statistician (Intern probably - Cost saving) to somehow make it seem like his opinions are based on stats. Colm O'Rourke is out of touch with the modern game, he often seems bored or tired and his punditry like Spillane is more of a vague observation from watching highlights, nothing in-depth.
Sean Cavanagh - I'm not even going to get started on him, not a clue.
I respect Des Cahill, Ciaran Whelan, Colm Cooper and Kevin McStay, but I think the rest should be removed and they should try to build a new team of ex-players from the modern game who are more clued into the game and analytical and less controversial.
Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1471 - 01/06/2022 17:36:11
Replying To rorysboys: "Your in the wrong place lad if you want the real Donegal supporters to talk gaa. I'm a keyboard warrior what does that make you, go to the dictionary and get the right meaning of the word. Have a nice day. Don't really want you either responding to my posts, you don't fall into the category sorry." I rarely comment anymore since the Donegal forum stopped but I still take a keen interest in reading everybody's opinions - good to see lots of different insight from lots of different angles.
No offence intended here at all but you my man should prob just take a little time out as you quite possibly have lost the plot altogether.
eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1703 - 01/06/2022 17:37:06
Replying To JoeSoap: "100% agreed Lockjaw. On the long range kicking, it really does baffle me that Thompson didn't start. There was no word from camp that he was injured or anything according to Oisín McConville on the Examiner podcast, he said that for BBC coverage enquired and that Donegal camp said no injury. So why was Thompson not starting, or at the very least coming on much earlier than he did?
Paddy at the moment contributes in spurts, he can be frustrating but for example against Cavan he got an absolute worldy of a point when we really really needed it in the 2nd half, before the goals. In a game like Sunday, I would like to see it mixed up though. Why not bring Paddy out the field? He's got a great left foot, could he not pick a few passes from centre-half forward for the day? As you say, it would have given Derry something different to think about." Leaving Ciaran Thompson on the bench was likely a strategic move, I don't disagree with it, as he hadn't been at his best this season really. i probably would have benched Ryan McHugh too, started somebody more powerful like Jack McKelvey or Tony McClenaghan, I was impressed by both of them during the National League, but as usual they are sacrifice for bigger names when it comes to Championship.
Players need to earn their spot in the starting 15, even the biggest names.
Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1471 - 01/06/2022 17:41:46
Replying To rorysboys: "Easily outwitted sure didn't the game go to extra time. Nothing easy about that my friend. Must have hurt you to see Mc kaigue praising our system. One final point lad your not a poster that I take any heed of so stop responding to my posts. Don't waste your time." Roryboy do you honestly think mckaigue was going to criticise our tactical naivity. Off course he going to praise it, it makes Derrys achievement even bigger. If he comes out and tells the truth and slates it, it makes them look bang average. That's the way top sports people behave in front of reporters. If you can't see this you know even less about top level gaa than what I thought you did. It's called patronising us. They are laughing at us behind the scenes leaving Rogers out the field
I go by what neutral pundits say. Gerard o Kane spoke about problems Rogers has under high ball and showed that v mcshane who in 2019 had half the power of Murphy. We didn't test or exploit this weakness.
You have to open the eyes like everyone else and see what this manager has cost us down through the years between minor, under 21 and senior. We should have had at least 1 all Ireland in each grade only for shocking tactical play and poor decision making way the most talented groups of players in a generation. Everyone sees it now only you for some reason.
marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 01/06/2022 20:11:49
Replying To Ulsterchamps_32: "-If you had of said that Donegal would concede 1-12 in normal time and would win 60% of the kick outs you would have probably taken it. Donegal to score more than 1-13 to win? Donegal had 32 shots and scored 15 times. The conversion rate is just not good enough. Realistically despite all the other mistakes made is that not the single biggest factor in not winning? Some players lacked discipline in going for the shots that were not on and in fairness plenty of it was due to derry defence. Donegal needed one more point in normal time and we would have won. They were on about Hugh McFadden on the DL debate. That shot was a 100% he just took a split second too long to shoot. The Patrick mcbrearty one and the end of Et was not on.
- some people are mentioning Rory kavanagh. He did real well with at eunans so far and no doubt had big plans ahead for them. Though I wonder do folks watch Donegal club football. The eunans Ulster quarter final Vs glen was a final score of 8 points to 1-4 to glen and was played in same cautious safety first way most of high end Donegal club football is played. Tactics wise does anyone really think he would have set the team up much different to what it was on Sunday. On the DL debate he was mentioning the defence not being as tight as it needs to be rather than not scoring enough!!
-Donegal got one of the only turnovers in the second half. Murphy kicked it up to shane o'donnell and the kick pass was on straight away to mcbrearty. He took too much out of it and ultimately ball was turned over. Shane o'donnell is a very talented footballer who is well able to kick pass but realistically that's been taken out of him at club level first and then county. That has to be coached back in again to kick it in.
- some folks want to sack Bonner or him to resign now. Donegals are one match from a quarter final. At least give them a chance to then and give the team some semblance of support. I'm very disappointed for the players and management about not getting over the line but that's not a reason to give the rest of the championship a right rattle. And maybe do freshen it up and take some of the constraints off." Definitely the best post I have read. Rory may one day be a county manager but I don't think quite yet. We need someone from outside to come into the team and demand more expansive football. Even if you take our club who has been there thereabouts for the last 5 years and play the exact same if not worse than what we seen on Sunday.
naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 505 - 02/06/2022 09:18:19
Replying To eunans4ever: "I rarely comment anymore since the Donegal forum stopped but I still take a keen interest in reading everybody's opinions - good to see lots of different insight from lots of different angles.
No offence intended here at all but you my man should prob just take a little time out as you quite possibly have lost the plot altogether." Ah back again if you don't like the truth. I'm not asking you to comment.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2668 - 02/06/2022 09:43:29
Replying To Commodore: "Leaving Ciaran Thompson on the bench was likely a strategic move, I don't disagree with it, as he hadn't been at his best this season really. i probably would have benched Ryan McHugh too, started somebody more powerful like Jack McKelvey or Tony McClenaghan, I was impressed by both of them during the National League, but as usual they are sacrifice for bigger names when it comes to Championship.
Players need to earn their spot in the starting 15, even the biggest names." I didn't mind him not starting so much as not bringing him on until well into extra time. He hasn't been as good as he can be but he definitely hasn't been on the worst performers list. He got a brilliant solo point against Cavan and on rewatching that game he was much better than I gave him credit for watching it live. We all know he has the long range score in his locker and that game on Sunday was crying out for that type of player, even if he hasn't been in the best of form. Let's call a spade a spade, Michael Langan hasn't been nearly as good as he was before his injury so far in championship. I think Thompson was better than him against both Armagh and Cavan.
I'm a big fan of Thompson so I would say I might have the blinkers on. I totally agree that starting spots have to be earned. We've been back on forth on the half back line and Ryan's presence there a lot since the start of the year but I felt he had played well against Armagh and Cavan. I was particularly worried about the Cavan game but I thought 2nd half he showed well.
But he didn't make a big enough impact on Sunday. I'd like to see more of McKelvey in particular.
I do have to say that while we're all disappointed about Sunday and the manner of these defeats over the last few years, to be very honest it is rarely the young lads or "new to championship intensity" lads that let us down. Shane O'Donnell was very good there on Sunday in a really horrible game for his type of play. I also thought McCole was excellent again after the tough day on Lynch.
JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 02/06/2022 09:59:27
Remember 2003 when we lost to Fermanagh in the first round and ended up in the All Ireland S/F and were within a whisker of getting to the Final. Never despair.
gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1196 - 02/06/2022 10:03:45