When you win the game, you're the better team. Not difficult to understand.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7977 - 12/05/2025 00:34:18 2608638 Link 0 |
What a silly post. Murphy is a generational player and is more influential than the likes of con and/ or cliffs. You have to commit to tackles and if you don't like so many players nowadays you're just filling space which is fine too but it's not the same thing. If Murphy didn't commit he wouldn't have got a hand in to turn over the ball on armaghs no 3 when they where at the halfway line that led to a Donegal score. Some times players get these tackles wrong and pick up a tick or a yellow but refs and the watching public know when malice is intended and that is something Murphy doesn't do. Great player. Both great teams and I have a feeling will meet again, with riain back Armagh will be that more dangerous and I would fancy them. Hoping it's an Ulster winner again this year, something about them up there, football is everything Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 229 - 12/05/2025 07:41:22 2608655 Link 1 |
You'll always get a few bandwagoning clowns when you get a bit of success. Not that Westmeath would know.
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1198 - 12/05/2025 07:47:44 2608657 Link 0 |
You've school in the morning lad...
totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1060 - 12/05/2025 09:09:23 2608672 Link 0 |
Claretandblue (Westmeath) - Posts: 2152 - 12/05/2025 09:19:02 2608677 Link 0 |
Thats nonsence. Donegal players had family, friends and club members in the Gerry Arthur stand behind the Armagh dugout, any justification for Armagh squad players running onto the pitch to assault (punch) a celebrating Donegal player seconds after the final whistle is nonsense, especially when he was about 10-15 ft in from the sideline. The GAA needs to take a hard unbiased look at the behaviour of that Armagh GAA squad in recent years, collectively they have been involved in more brawls than anyone with a range of opposition teams including Donegal, Tyrone, Dublin etc. Yet they always seem to get away with it at disciplinary reviews. Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1340 - 12/05/2025 09:21:20 2608678 Link 1 |
Ridiculous comment. 29,000 people attended the game. Both counties brought big support, unlike Westmeath... plenty empty seats in Mullingar. You saw a video of a handful of teenagers. Same thing happens in every county in Ireland every Saturday night. Enjoy the great atmosphere at the Tailteann games.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 633 - 12/05/2025 09:38:14 2608686 Link 0 |
disappointing video coming out of the young fellas in that garage, unfortunately I have noticed an element of young lads the last few years in all the games I've attended, wearing every set of county colours, who have been on the sauce too much or acting very aggressive and over the top, beyond any "banter" type craic. it's bad to see and I don't know if it's a general culture shift or what is happening, how to stop it? CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 173 - 12/05/2025 09:41:56 2608689 Link 0 |
This is it. Armagh ones losing the run of themselves at a bit of goading is the height of irony. McQuillan was giving Patton plenty at one stage after he scored a point. Then Forker pointing his finger at McGuinness after the game. He's the worst culprit of the lot when it comes to giving it the big one. Huge congratulations to the Donegal players and management. I honestly thought the momentum was with Armagh going into extra time. Fair play to Niall O'Donnell. He isn't getting as much action as he'd probably like, but he was coolness personified in extra time. I'm hoping that we didn't pick up any injuries and that it was just cramp which forced a lot of men off. An exciting All Ireland series now awaits! Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9759 - 12/05/2025 09:47:59 2608690 Link 1 |
Obviously but you can still look the better team towards the end of the game even if you fall short . Armagh only lost by a point for God sake . You can look like a better team even if you loose by a small margin . Donegal rely on michael Murphy to much. Where as Armagh don't have to rely on one guy also when they have Rian o Neill back fully fit they are a much better team then Donegal. S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 148 - 12/05/2025 09:54:24 2608691 Link 0 |
Worringly they have more than sauce on board. I think it's reflective of the Irish nightlife culture at the moment. One way to stop it is to identify them, inform their clubs and ensure they don't receive a ticket through that avenue for the bigger games. It's very disappointing to see.
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1198 - 12/05/2025 09:56:18 2608693 Link 1 |
Anyone who is saying that O McFF deserved to have 7 players jump on him because of how he celebrated needs to have a look at themselves. Should he have done it? No, but it was in the heat of the moment and to be physically assaulted for it is OTT but not surprising, given Armagh's record. That incident could have been very serious as very young children were on the pitch and things turned very nasty. ballboy101 (Donegal) - Posts: 230 - 12/05/2025 10:15:30 2608701 Link 1 |
Are you having a laugh? Looked the better team? The main part of the game is scoring especially in the last few minutes when the match is in the melting pot. Donegal should have won in normal and had the bottle to see the match out at the end of extra time under severe pressure from Armagh. Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 486 - 12/05/2025 10:16:06 2608702 Link 0 |
I don't buy into this narrative that we rely on Murphy too much. Ok yes I'll admit I was happy to see him pull the strings as we were trying to close out the game in normal time. But at various stages of the game different Donegal players really stepped up to the mark. e.g. Gallen was untouchable for a 15 minute spell in the first half, Niall O'Donnell came in and landed a couple of massive scores, Ciaran Moore came back on and scored a crucial goal. Murphy went off in the first period of extra time and we still found a way to win it. We won Ulster last year as well without Murphy and reached an All-Ireland semi final. Would we have beaten Galway with Murphy on board? Maybe. This spin that having Murphy back in the fold is somehow a negative because we become overly reliant on him is pub-talk Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9759 - 12/05/2025 10:16:09 2608703 Link 0 |
No.clear footage of exactly what happened. Yet you're an authority on events, By the time i got on the field it had blown over, wasn't even aware anything had happened.
totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1060 - 12/05/2025 10:24:20 2608707 Link 0 |
Looking at this year's Ulster final vs 2024 I believe both teams have gone up a level. Game was played at a frightening pace and some of the score taking was top drawer. Definitely a game that will bring both teams on, little jeopardy in these groups where you have to lose all 3 games to be out. Topping is essential to get 2 week break to qf. totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1060 - 12/05/2025 10:29:51 2608710 Link 1 |
It's reflective of society rather than anything else...idiots. then we have the social media obsessives laughing and recording it, GAA may need to look at wisdom of having 525 throw in on a Saturday. Was in clones early, great atmosphere on streets , no trouble but clear alot of young people had alot of drink on board since early morning.
totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 1060 - 12/05/2025 10:36:39 2608714 Link 0 |
that poster hasn't a clue. Murphy plays well and we rely too much on him is the analysis. big brained stuff
CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 173 - 12/05/2025 10:41:12 2608719 Link 2 |
And what would you say about the 2 donegal supporters with flares in their hands in the middle of a crowded pitch. Identify them and ban them also!
Dualstar22 (Galway) - Posts: 12 - 12/05/2025 10:52:53 2608726 Link 0 |
You haven't got a clue. Scoreboard is all that matters.
GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7977 - 12/05/2025 11:03:06 2608729 Link 0 |