Donegal GAA thread

I think it's great that Eunans are playing Naomh Conaill at this stage, bothe teams will have to go at it hard and it could weaken them in subsequent weeks. And that might leave the door open for a surprise. Still don't think Glenswilly are there yet. But Kilcar's time is running out and maybe this is as good a chance as that group will get. It's really disappointing that Langan wasn't a month to play for his club. Without him, I don't think they have any chance against Kilcar.

ThroughTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 31 - 16/09/2024 20:12:22    2570242

I think unfortunately for Naomh Conaill it could be a step to far this year against a rejuvenated St Eunans under new management.
Throw in the two great club players we are down, the two Doherty's, and in tight affairs that could be the difference.
I have no doubt that Naomh Conaill will make no excuses and will give it there all on the sidelines and on the field.
I am just worried that with our best man marker who usually picks up Niall O'Donnell out. He might get that bit more space that usual.
Add in the fact Eunans have added a good player in the forward line from another county and the other two O'Donnell's are going well along with Moore. It just might be to much to ask for us this year.
But I will still be there Supporting a great bunch of players that owe our club nothing.
And hopefully it's a good hard sporting game and may the best team win.

As regards the other draws, I fancy kilcar, Glenswilly and Gweedore to advance, so whoever gets through, it should make for interesting semi finals.

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 709 - 16/09/2024 20:53:47    2570249

Replying To eunans4ever:  "It's not good for the championship when most likely we will see a very one sided final as our showpiece which ever of the 2 emerge.

Fir me it will be won on the line again as in my opinion we have a stronger and more talented panel of players but glenties/fintown have had an edge on the line in close encounters in recent years as they are brilliantly coached and are much better at implementing this modern style of football.

We outsmarted them on the line in the league and group stage championship games this year but it remains to be seen if we can do the same when it counts in knockout championship."
Not good in one way but in another way it's great that at least 1 other other team will make the final this year. Freshens things up. Although certainly would have been better for it to be at least the semi final.

Do you think the Monaghan player yous drafted in this year could make the difference this year? Very little between the sides so I'm thinking a signing like that could make all the difference. Eunans were a lot better than NC a few weeks ago anyway.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 252 - 16/09/2024 22:06:31    2570260

Who is this Monaghan player? Did he play with Monaghan seniors team?

ThroughTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 31 - 17/09/2024 12:30:37    2570353

Replying To ThroughTheGap:  "Who is this Monaghan player? Did he play with Monaghan seniors team?"
The advantages of living in a big town. Eunans forever has not answered my question on it. Maybe he's not happy with it.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2538 - 17/09/2024 13:15:36    2570368

Replying To eunans4ever:  "It's not good for the championship when most likely we will see a very one sided final as our showpiece which ever of the 2 emerge.

Fir me it will be won on the line again as in my opinion we have a stronger and more talented panel of players but glenties/fintown have had an edge on the line in close encounters in recent years as they are brilliantly coached and are much better at implementing this modern style of football.

We outsmarted them on the line in the league and group stage championship games this year but it remains to be seen if we can do the same when it counts in knockout championship."
I don't think any game from this stage will be one sided.
If the three team we expect to get through Glenswilly, Kilcar and Gweedore they will all be looking at NC/Eunans thinking they are there for the taking. We have seen it before at club and county level when a team get up to extreme heights and just can't replicate it in the later stages.

From a NC perspective we would much preferred to have Eunans in the later stages rather than now but it is what it is and we will take what ever comes our way on Saturday night.

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 491 - 17/09/2024 16:04:27    2570414

For all Naomh Conaill have won and they are a great team and club, I think if the beat Eunans this Saturday with all the hype and talk about the talent Eunans now have it will really show what a great side Naomh Conaill are,
and I'm not saying there's any doubt anyway.
This just feels like a defining game for St Eunans for me. Haran will be good craic to listen to on the podcast if NC win!

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2946 - 17/09/2024 19:51:29    2570467

Eunans will either hammer Naomh Conaill or else lose by a point or two, seems to be the way going by championship history.
Championship winner will come from this, other teams are just nowhere close to them 2, no matter what anyone says.
As a neutral, i would like Glenswilly and Murphy to get one more title.

eddieSize5Balls (Donegal) - Posts: 70 - 17/09/2024 20:05:56    2570471

Replying To ThroughTheGap:  "Who is this Monaghan player? Did he play with Monaghan seniors team?"
Played with Clontibret but has been commuting from Donegal for the past 6 or 7 years supposedly. In his thirties now but still a quality footballer I'm sure. He captained Clontibret to a county title in 2019. Don't believe he ever represented Monaghan at senior level.

HB245 (Monaghan) - Posts: 229 - 17/09/2024 21:59:06    2570480

Replying To peiledoir20:  "Blockbuster tie this weekend with the heavyweights Glenties and Eunans squaring up.

Are both sides happy to meet each other now or would they have preferred this tie in a few weeks time with another game or two under the belt?

Will the extra pre QF game stand to or hinder Eunans even though Ardara didn't lay a glove on them?"
Don't think it matters really when we meet as we were always going to meet at some stage and both camps will have prepared for that.

I would prefer to meet in a final as I think we owe them one but that's a dangerous thing to wish for against the blue machine.

The Ardara game will not in any way hinder us - in fact I'd always prefer to be playing than waiting around.

We were able to get some big guns some game time in the second half returning from injury.

The squad has had excellent spread of game time all year - bar maybe the 7 changes week on week from glenties/Fintown to Gweedore - not sure if we underestimated them at home.

There will be no excuses here - the better team will win and bring it on - personally I can't wait for it and it's great it's on Saturday under lights which will add to the occasion and atmosphere.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/09/2024 11:28:56    2570534

Replying To ThroughTheGap:  "I think it's great that Eunans are playing Naomh Conaill at this stage, bothe teams will have to go at it hard and it could weaken them in subsequent weeks. And that might leave the door open for a surprise. Still don't think Glenswilly are there yet. But Kilcar's time is running out and maybe this is as good a chance as that group will get. It's really disappointing that Langan wasn't a month to play for his club. Without him, I don't think they have any chance against Kilcar."
There is no chance it will weaken either as both causes are well capable of it and are a good bit ahead of the rest.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/09/2024 11:30:33    2570536

Replying To The keeper:  "I think unfortunately for Naomh Conaill it could be a step to far this year against a rejuvenated St Eunans under new management.
Throw in the two great club players we are down, the two Doherty's, and in tight affairs that could be the difference.
I have no doubt that Naomh Conaill will make no excuses and will give it there all on the sidelines and on the field.
I am just worried that with our best man marker who usually picks up Niall O'Donnell out. He might get that bit more space that usual.
Add in the fact Eunans have added a good player in the forward line from another county and the other two O'Donnell's are going well along with Moore. It just might be to much to ask for us this year.
But I will still be there Supporting a great bunch of players that owe our club nothing.
And hopefully it's a good hard sporting game and may the best team win.

As regards the other draws, I fancy kilcar, Glenswilly and Gweedore to advance, so whoever gets through, it should make for interesting semi finals."
What makes u say we are rejuvenated?

We are down players on last year too and in fact I'd say one of our better defenders in Peter Mc Eniff is in the states.

Best of luck Saturday and may the best team win

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/09/2024 11:32:47    2570537

Replying To FootballGuy:  "Not good in one way but in another way it's great that at least 1 other other team will make the final this year. Freshens things up. Although certainly would have been better for it to be at least the semi final.

Do you think the Monaghan player yous drafted in this year could make the difference this year? Very little between the sides so I'm thinking a signing like that could make all the difference. Eunans were a lot better than NC a few weeks ago anyway."
Yes I hear you but ask Gweedore how refreshing that was for them last year taking a hammering in the showpiece?

We didn't "draft " him in - he approached us to play football locally now as he's in his 30's, married into the club, living and working here for years so is well settled in the community.

Fair play to him actually for commuting up and down to Monaghan for his club for the last 7/8 years or so - not many would do that to be fair.

He's an excellent player especially in the championship so far - very impressed with him after an average enough league campaign.

I wouldn't read anything into the earlier championship meeting - was quite clear on the line and the field who were massively up for that game and who didn't look that bothered.

Glenties/Fintown are a different animal in knock out football.

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/09/2024 11:38:32    2570540

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "I don't think any game from this stage will be one sided.
If the three team we expect to get through Glenswilly, Kilcar and Gweedore they will all be looking at NC/Eunans thinking they are there for the taking. We have seen it before at club and county level when a team get up to extreme heights and just can't replicate it in the later stages.

From a NC perspective we would much preferred to have Eunans in the later stages rather than now but it is what it is and we will take what ever comes our way on Saturday night."
Pretty sure ur wiped the rest after exiting us last year - there is absolutely nothing to suggest that will change this year no matter who comes through.

The reality is for the last 5 years or so whoever comes through our tie wins the championship….

Why would u rather face is deeper in the championship ?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/09/2024 11:41:13    2570541

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "For all Naomh Conaill have won and they are a great team and club, I think if the beat Eunans this Saturday with all the hype and talk about the talent Eunans now have it will really show what a great side Naomh Conaill are,
and I'm not saying there's any doubt anyway.
This just feels like a defining game for St Eunans for me. Haran will be good craic to listen to on the podcast if NC win!"
Spot on assessment which is unusual for u

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/09/2024 11:42:08    2570542

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "Eunans will either hammer Naomh Conaill or else lose by a point or two, seems to be the way going by championship history.
Championship winner will come from this, other teams are just nowhere close to them 2, no matter what anyone says.
As a neutral, i would like Glenswilly and Murphy to get one more title."
100% true - can't see how anyone can debate otherwise.

I like the last point too - but never going to happen , this year at least..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/09/2024 11:43:11    2570543

Replying To eunans4ever:  "100% true - can't see how anyone can debate otherwise.

I like the last point too - but never going to happen , this year at least.."
Naomh Conaill could also hammer Eunans, I think most people would enjoy that result.
Everyone would like to see Murphy win the Championship sponsored by himself, NC v Glenswilly final would be good.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2946 - 18/09/2024 12:12:53    2570549

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Yes I hear you but ask Gweedore how refreshing that was for them last year taking a hammering in the showpiece?

We didn't "draft " him in - he approached us to play football locally now as he's in his 30's, married into the club, living and working here for years so is well settled in the community.

Fair play to him actually for commuting up and down to Monaghan for his club for the last 7/8 years or so - not many would do that to be fair.

He's an excellent player especially in the championship so far - very impressed with him after an average enough league campaign.

I wouldn't read anything into the earlier championship meeting - was quite clear on the line and the field who were massively up for that game and who didn't look that bothered.

Glenties/Fintown are a different animal in knock out football."
Yeah he must have something about him with all his success at Clontibret and Monaghan minors, did he ever make the step up to the Monaghan senior team?

Interestingly I remember reading an article that mentioned he played for Clontibret against Naomh Conaill in the Ulster Semi final back in 2018 or 2019 so he has experience playing against them in a big match!

I think the swing may have happened between NC and St.Eunans this year, Eunans are down McEniff but up Boyle. NC are down 2 of the Dohertys and McGettigan but up young Roarty. Those 3 lads missing for them would be a big loss.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 252 - 18/09/2024 14:15:36    2570579

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Naomh Conaill could also hammer Eunans, I think most people would enjoy that result.
Everyone would like to see Murphy win the Championship sponsored by himself, NC v Glenswilly final would be good."
They could but there is nothing in recent history to suggest they will - never more than a score or 2 when they win but we dished out a few hammerings when we won.

Why would you enjoy a glenties/fintown hammering - are you from the area or just bitter ?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 18/09/2024 16:14:54    2570604

Replying To eunans4ever:  "They could but there is nothing in recent history to suggest they will - never more than a score or 2 when they win but we dished out a few hammerings when we won.

Why would you enjoy a glenties/fintown hammering - are you from the area or just bitter ?"
I think the majority of the county would be against Eunans in any game, Eunans to me were always a big town team with a lot of blow ins added down the years.
Hopefully Naomh Conaill get the win on Saturday evening, should be a good atmosphere playing under the floodlights always makes it better somehow.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2946 - 18/09/2024 16:56:03    2570608