Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Yes Louth are putting a lot of other so called "bigger counties" to shame. They have some really good footballers and it will be very interesting to see how they go in 2025. I don't think there is any team for them to fear too much in Div 2."
They remind me of Monaghan a wee bit, like very gritty talented players who aren't afraid to get stuck in and who really play to their max potential. I genuinely think they can win Division 2 next season and I wouldn't be shocked if they were to win Leinster.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 30/07/2024 11:56:29    2562938

Louth did well. But who would you remove from the top 8 I listed in order to include them?

ThroughTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 29 - 30/07/2024 12:10:56    2562945

I don't get this top 8 thing at all, you could just go by league positions, after that it's just opinions that make no difference.
I know he's gone now but if Murph had of come for this season I think we might have gone a step further and after that who knows, I think next season the thing will be harder won, big teams will regroup and be back with a point to prove.
A great chance was missed this year and they don't come round too often as we know.
Still we had a great season and hopefully we can build back stronger for next season, forget about the league, blood young players and get things in order for the All Ireland series, I wouldn't even worry too much about retaining Ulster either.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2937 - 30/07/2024 12:30:45    2562959

Replying To ThroughTheGap:  "Louth did well. But who would you remove from the top 8 I listed in order to include them?"
The question is who would Louth have beaten from next seasons Division 1 had they met this year, I think they would have beat Tyrone, depending on the day I suppose.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 30/07/2024 15:42:34    2563050

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I don't get this top 8 thing at all, you could just go by league positions, after that it's just opinions that make no difference.
I know he's gone now but if Murph had of come for this season I think we might have gone a step further and after that who knows, I think next season the thing will be harder won, big teams will regroup and be back with a point to prove.
A great chance was missed this year and they don't come round too often as we know.
Still we had a great season and hopefully we can build back stronger for next season, forget about the league, blood young players and get things in order for the All Ireland series, I wouldn't even worry too much about retaining Ulster either."
I suppose it's a discussion forum and that's the fun of it. Otherwise the results page would be all that is required.

ThroughTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 29 - 30/07/2024 18:13:53    2563101

Replying To Commodore:  "The question is who would Louth have beaten from next seasons Division 1 had they met this year, I think they would have beat Tyrone, depending on the day I suppose."
I don't think they'd have beaten any of them. They beat Meath this year and drew with Monaghan and got a kind draw at home to Cork. Tyrone would probably have beaten them. But fair play to them, could be the next Monaghan, well coached, determined players.

ThroughTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 29 - 30/07/2024 18:19:13    2563103

Replying To Commodore:  "The question is who would Louth have beaten from next seasons Division 1 had they met this year, I think they would have beat Tyrone, depending on the day I suppose."
The thing about Louth is it may be small in area but has a bigger population than Mayo and the same number of All Irelands(3).There is no reason why Louth can't be competitive again.A good population in a small area should actually be an advantage.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1106 - 30/07/2024 20:10:17    2563130

Replying To gunman:  "The thing about Louth is it may be small in area but has a bigger population than Mayo and the same number of All Irelands(3).There is no reason why Louth can't be competitive again.A good population in a small area should actually be an advantage."
Not sure how this has become louth gaa forum but agree completely. Louth should have no ceiling. They look to have a really progressive attitude and there is plenty interest in the county. Hope gaa and government support them appropriately in their county stadium development.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 30/07/2024 22:25:39    2563155

Replying To gunman:  "The thing about Louth is it may be small in area but has a bigger population than Mayo and the same number of All Irelands(3).There is no reason why Louth can't be competitive again.A good population in a small area should actually be an advantage."
Agree…Kildare and Meath also have huge populations. When Mayo and Meath squared off in those infamous 1996 finals Mayo had a slightly larger population than Meath. Meath now have approx 55k more residents than Mayo.

Such counties if utilised correctly have massive playing numbers.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11375 - 31/07/2024 08:25:41    2563178

Replying To yew_tree:  "Agree…Kildare and Meath also have huge populations. When Mayo and Meath squared off in those infamous 1996 finals Mayo had a slightly larger population than Meath. Meath now have approx 55k more residents than Mayo.

Such counties if utilised correctly have massive playing numbers."
They key wording you used is "If utilised correctly", which largely hasn't been the case in many Counties until recently, including most of Ulster and even the likes of Cork, Meath etc.

To consistently be challenging at a top level requires significant investment and strong infrastructure for development, which most simply don't have.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 31/07/2024 09:01:55    2563186

Replying To Commodore:  "They key wording you used is "If utilised correctly", which largely hasn't been the case in many Counties until recently, including most of Ulster and even the likes of Cork, Meath etc.

To consistently be challenging at a top level requires significant investment and strong infrastructure for development, which most simply don't have."
100% however this doesn't appear to be an issue in Louth. There definitely seems to be money there floating in the background. I'm sure Mickey didn't come cheap.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2806 - 31/07/2024 10:03:59    2563199

Replying To panamasam:  "100% however this doesn't appear to be an issue in Louth. There definitely seems to be money there floating in the background. I'm sure Mickey didn't come cheap."
Their ex manager Peter Fitzpatrick is an ex Fine Gael TD, and current Independent TD. He seems to be behind a lot of the work going on to develop their county ground, and getting good people in place managing their affairs.

Every county needs this, good progressive thinking people who have modern ideas about how the GAA should be run within a county. The days of the same old club men getting reelected to various positions on the county board and executive every 5 years seem to be over thankfully.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 31/07/2024 11:07:00    2563211

Replying To Commodore:  "They key wording you used is "If utilised correctly", which largely hasn't been the case in many Counties until recently, including most of Ulster and even the likes of Cork, Meath etc.

To consistently be challenging at a top level requires significant investment and strong infrastructure for development, which most simply don't have."
Consistently challenging is the key and something James Horan said when he took over Mayo. Now throughout my lifetime Mayo have been generally there or thereabouts without our actually winning it. I think it's help when your live in a football obsessed county it helps to drive that on.

Football is talked about 365 days a year here. I get the same feeling when I travel up to Donegal with work. I don't get that mad obsession feeling when in the likes of Kildare or Meath.

Mayo and Donegal are very similar. Rural counties with mass immigration. Despite everything I think we both do really well.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11375 - 31/07/2024 11:31:27    2563217

Replying To yew_tree:  "Consistently challenging is the key and something James Horan said when he took over Mayo. Now throughout my lifetime Mayo have been generally there or thereabouts without our actually winning it. I think it's help when your live in a football obsessed county it helps to drive that on.

Football is talked about 365 days a year here. I get the same feeling when I travel up to Donegal with work. I don't get that mad obsession feeling when in the likes of Kildare or Meath.

Mayo and Donegal are very similar. Rural counties with mass immigration. Despite everything I think we both do really well."
Do you think the success of Leinster and Irish rugby, coupled with Dublin's complete dominance has had an effect in the likes of Meath and Kildare? I know Connacht have improved a lot in rugby, but there's no way rugby would ever be more popular in Mayo, or Donegal.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 31/07/2024 11:45:47    2563221

Replying To yew_tree:  "Consistently challenging is the key and something James Horan said when he took over Mayo. Now throughout my lifetime Mayo have been generally there or thereabouts without our actually winning it. I think it's help when your live in a football obsessed county it helps to drive that on.

Mayo and Donegal are very similar. Rural counties with mass immigration. Despite everything I think we both do really well."
Yeah I also get that with Kildare or Meath, possibly because a huge portion of their population are not from Kildare, huge commuter belt area.

100% agree regarding similarities between Mayo and Donegal, but think Mayo are light years ahead of Donegal in terms of development and infrastructure, and Mayo have consistently been a Top 3 side for most of the last 15 years, possibly the last 20 years and are never too far away most years. They are an example of how it should be done.

Donegal have been lagging behind most other Counties in Ulster in this department even, which is evident by lack of underage success compared to other Ulster counties, but we still produce quality players and are always there or thereabouts in Ulster, but potential is there for much more.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1182 - 31/07/2024 11:58:31    2563226

Replying To Commodore:  "Yeah I also get that with Kildare or Meath, possibly because a huge portion of their population are not from Kildare, huge commuter belt area.

100% agree regarding similarities between Mayo and Donegal, but think Mayo are light years ahead of Donegal in terms of development and infrastructure, and Mayo have consistently been a Top 3 side for most of the last 15 years, possibly the last 20 years and are never too far away most years. They are an example of how it should be done.

Donegal have been lagging behind most other Counties in Ulster in this department even, which is evident by lack of underage success compared to other Ulster counties, but we still produce quality players and are always there or thereabouts in Ulster, but potential is there for much more."
What about the review conducted by Croke Park which had 14 high risk findings? Have they or are they being dealt with? Is it discussed at county board meetings? Our academy hasn't being functioning without a boss in 20 months now and still no word of it. Head of Operations was to be advertised for in first 3 months of the year but no word. When Jim leaves we are back to base again. We are still a division 4 county off the pitch and it is amazing we can compete at senior level.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 745 - 31/07/2024 12:13:45    2563229

Replying To ryan:  "What about the review conducted by Croke Park which had 14 high risk findings? Have they or are they being dealt with? Is it discussed at county board meetings? Our academy hasn't being functioning without a boss in 20 months now and still no word of it. Head of Operations was to be advertised for in first 3 months of the year but no word. When Jim leaves we are back to base again. We are still a division 4 county off the pitch and it is amazing we can compete at senior level."
Very good points. I hope the success we have enjoyed on the pitch this year under Jim hasn't just disguised all the other stuff that needed addressing. It's probably more important to be getting those things in order than any short term success we might acheive under Jim (as enjoyable and all as that has been).

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9449 - 31/07/2024 13:52:18    2563249

Need to get the underage sorted. Worrying what's happening.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1184 - 31/07/2024 14:44:04    2563259

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Do you think the success of Leinster and Irish rugby, coupled with Dublin's complete dominance has had an effect in the likes of Meath and Kildare? I know Connacht have improved a lot in rugby, but there's no way rugby would ever be more popular in Mayo, or Donegal."
Here in south Mayo I have two rugby clubs 15 mins each side of me. I have club mates who play soccer too for the local clubs but it's maybe 3-4 players. And GAA takes priority over all other sports. I assume it's the same in Donegal?

I think Dublins success had an effect but in my view those counties didn't do enough. They also voted to keep a Dublin in Croke Park back in the day so you reap what you sow.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11375 - 31/07/2024 15:04:55    2563261

As the dust settles on the 2024 inter county season we can only look back with "What Ifs" but we have to be nothing but optimistic. The current All Ireland champions couldn't beat us in 2024 and the runners up beat us in a game that could have went either way.

I would be shocked if there wasn't a message sent out to the lads at the weekend to say we are close and we can push on.
Next season its all about staying in Division 1 and then focus on the All Ireland series I really don't think Ulster should be the priority next season.

For the club season hopefully we can pick up 2-3 new players that can challenge the starters.
I know for my own club Ethan O'Donnell will be back in the mix come championship and also Eoghan McGettigan is back training. Just wondering could Mc Fadden-Ferry be convinced back? I think he is still in Oz

naomh_conaill_4 (Donegal) - Posts: 490 - 01/08/2024 15:10:17    2563448