Donegal GAA thread

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Luke McGlynn makes the 26.

Oisin Caulfield and Domhnall McGiollaBhríde in the standby panel.

Like I said, don't be surprised to see any of these feature on Sunday (or beyond).

The man has a plan; Until Victory Always."
None of them 3 will play Sunday unless we're winning by a mile and he wants to give them a run out like he did with hugh McFadden last game. We have about 18 or 19 players that Jim uses. Thats why Conor O'Donnell is a big loss, cause he is one of the players Jim would have been definitely using.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 546 - 13/07/2024 00:39:48    2558646

Replying To eddieSize5Balls:  "its out 7th actually
3 pre Jim, 4 with Jim."
It's our 10th

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 546 - 13/07/2024 00:47:57    2558647

Wishing the Donegal team and supporters all the best for tomorrow. Will be rooting yous on. The only team left that I want to see bring Mr Maguire home at the end of July. Safe travels and good luck!

TalkToFahy (Tyrone) - Posts: 16 - 13/07/2024 09:19:16    2558661

Replying To greenfan:  "It's our 10th"
Yes when you include 1972, 1974 and 1983.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 13/07/2024 11:41:06    2558670

I saw a video online today from Off The Ball podcast. It's an interview with our manager from last year, Aidan O'Rourke. He's tipping Galway, says they are the best team in the country. I hope it's used as motivation tomorrow.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 673 - 13/07/2024 16:14:24    2558702

Well that's the club leagues wrapped up bar the finals and play offs next weekend.

Well done to the fixtures committee on getting everything run off so smoothly.

Just to note the junior champions from last year didnt field in an important game in the promotion shake up today in Div. 2. They named a panel of 32 only nine months ago and couldn't field 15 today.

What's going on there?

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 958 - 13/07/2024 19:35:15    2558731

I think someone posted previously about history repeating itself and an all Ulster All Ireland final. Well that's one half of it done. Fair play to Armagh for seeing it out and getting a well deserved place in the final. I'm sure like many of us they would've seen they had nothing to fear 2 weeks ago and they delivered. Personally speaking I'm happy for McGeaney. He's showed a lot of resilience to often undeserved criticism but the players have fully bought in. Looking at the reactions after full time they'll take some stopping. Onto tomorrow and it's still so hard to call. I work with a few Galway people and there are all sorts of rumours regarding players fitness and not training but will play with injections etc. Of course it could all be smoking mirrors but ones things for sure if you're not fully fit you don't want to be facing a Jim McGuinness coached team. The kick outs will be a big factor I fell. I expect Galway might try to force us long like Louth to take advantage of their size differential around the middle. However similarly I see Donegal going after the Galway kick out forcing quick turnovers and some joy with it. I do feel with Patton and the McGuiness factor we have a couple of trump cards but there are a lot of fires to put out in that Galway side. As always best of luck to Jim and the lads. Plus safe travels to everyone making the trip. Hopefully we'll be discussing an All Ireland in 2 weeks time but if not it's been a great year with lots to look forward to.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2806 - 13/07/2024 20:22:23    2558782

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "I saw a video online today from Off The Ball podcast. It's an interview with our manager from last year, Aidan O'Rourke. He's tipping Galway, says they are the best team in the country. I hope it's used as motivation tomorrow."
Why would we need anything he says S motivation?? It's an all ireland semi final, no more motivation needed

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 982 - 13/07/2024 20:43:04    2558797

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "I saw a video online today from Off The Ball podcast. It's an interview with our manager from last year, Aidan O'Rourke. He's tipping Galway, says they are the best team in the country. I hope it's used as motivation tomorrow."
Why would we need anything he says S motivation?? It's an all ireland semi final, no more motivation needed

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 982 - 13/07/2024 20:43:04    2558798

Replying To FootballGuy:  "Only 2 days away from only our 6th ever All Ireland Semi, can't wait for the game now. It's crazy that Jim has taken us to 4 of those 6. Hopefully he can manage to get us into another final as well. These days don't come around often so enjoy it all.

Hopefully COD injury isn't serious, a big blow. Fingers crossed for McGee. Best of luck to all involved for Sunday."
It's Donegals tenth, 72, 74, 83, 90, 92, 03, 11, 12,14 and 24.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 982 - 13/07/2024 20:47:17    2558803

Replying To FootballGuy:  "Ah, I didn't know that. What year was the other semi final?

Jim:

Other:
1990"
What about 72, 74, 83 and 03??

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 982 - 13/07/2024 20:48:25    2558804

Replying To totalrecall:  "What about 72, 74, 83 and 03??"
And what about 1923. Donegal won an Ulster hurling and lost a semi final to limerick. According to Wikipedia it was played in 1924. I think it was also first games were numbers were used in jerseys in the gaa.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 14/07/2024 00:05:04    2558855

On the way up here now . What an opportunity these lads have today. If we bring the the intensity today we should get over the line .

Yesterday was a brilliant game. I don't think Jim will want a game like that.

tickets (Donegal) - Posts: 103 - 14/07/2024 08:28:52    2558881

Well the day has,finally arrived when the men from the hills of Donegal head to croke park for there first all ireland semi final in 10 years. The nerves have started now but I've full faith in this team and jim to go and do us proud this afternoon and every Donegal fan should be proud of them no matter the result for they have gave us great joy this summer all ready

I see on ticketmaster the first 3 rows of the lower tier are on sale something you don't usually see apart from an all ireland final so a massive crowd is expected hopefully a nice equal split between both sets of fans. If you going today make sure to have your colours on make croke park a sea of yellow and green come 4pm this afternoon

Donegal-lad27 (Donegal) - Posts: 12 - 14/07/2024 08:55:10    2558883

That was some game last night.It is going to be a hard act to follow.Safe journey to everybody.

gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1105 - 14/07/2024 09:03:58    2558888

Replying To Donegal-lad27:  "Well the day has,finally arrived when the men from the hills of Donegal head to croke park for there first all ireland semi final in 10 years. The nerves have started now but I've full faith in this team and jim to go and do us proud this afternoon and every Donegal fan should be proud of them no matter the result for they have gave us great joy this summer all ready

I see on ticketmaster the first 3 rows of the lower tier are on sale something you don't usually see apart from an all ireland final so a massive crowd is expected hopefully a nice equal split between both sets of fans. If you going today make sure to have your colours on make croke park a sea of yellow and green come 4pm this afternoon"
The whole stadium bar the nally terrace is open now for tickets so should be a big crowd alright. No doubt there will be a big Galway and hopefully from Donegal too.
The orange wall that was the Armagh support yesterday made a big difference so get the Donegal voices out today!

There is no better time than the present so Donegal to put their chest out and best foot forward and whatever that ends up being so be it. Up Donegal

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 772 - 14/07/2024 09:42:55    2558899

Huuuuuuuuup taaaaaaaaaaa hell!!!!!!!!!!!

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 131 - 14/07/2024 10:37:34    2558909

Replying To totalrecall:  "It's Donegals tenth, 72, 74, 83, 90, 92, 03, 11, 12,14 and 24."
Cheers for that! I read the local paper on Thursday and it didn't mention the other years. I remember the 2003 semi now, hopefully a repeat of that in the final in 2 weeks. The others are before my time.

FootballGuy (Donegal) - Posts: 249 - 14/07/2024 12:33:33    2558940

Good Luck today folks. You have the players and manager to get over the line. You need to get stuck in from the start and rattle Galway, don't let them settle.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9775 - 14/07/2024 13:24:58    2558948

McGuinness's belief in divine intervention, alias the fairies, didn't produce his dream outcome on this occasion. It will go down in Donegal's GAA history as a wasted opportunity and probably takes the shine of their Ulster trophy. Have a safe journey back to the hills.

IrvinestownMkII (Fermanagh) - Posts: 1402 - 14/07/2024 18:01:05    2559023