Donegal GAA thread

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sitting back reading the posts it's the same old story. I seen too many false dawns. We need to respect every team it's Cavan or Tyrone next have we a given right to beat them no we don't we'll have to perform again. From speaking to few knowledgeable gaa men last night they were all saying the hype will be starting now look what happened Derry when they believed things that were being said about them.. as I said cool the jets it's only an Ulster quarter final.. as for the posters targeting me kop on I m as much a Donegal man as most of yous. Petty little people having a go after a great win. Next Sunday will probably be most of yous first game all year. lol."
I dont see anyone getting too carried away, just enjoying the great victory last night. We are so starved of Championship success for a good few years. Next Sunday is a quick turnaround and I dont think anyone is under any illusion that it will take a huge effort again just to get to an Ulster Final. We are however optimistic again as we have the Master at the helm again.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 290 - 21/04/2024 15:50:06    2539543

Replying To Scenicparish:  "I dont see anyone getting too carried away, just enjoying the great victory last night. We are so starved of Championship success for a good few years. Next Sunday is a quick turnaround and I dont think anyone is under any illusion that it will take a huge effort again just to get to an Ulster Final. We are however optimistic again as we have the Master at the helm again."
Be careful, he won't want you celebrating or enjoying the win too much as the theory about us not having the players or McGuinness never coming back to the job has played out really badly. This is the most optimistic I have felt since Jim's previous tenure. The man is a wizard. Nobody disputing the fact that it's one game at a time. The man himself alluded to this fact and after the pain and humiliation of last year, a natural outpouring of joy was well overdue. It'll like be Tyrone as I'm writing this and that will be another huge challenge but at long last, we are going places again.

Donegal_abroad (Donegal) - Posts: 1321 - 21/04/2024 16:41:41    2539549

Is Healy Park set as the venue for next Sunday?

dessieman (Donegal) - Posts: 3 - 21/04/2024 16:47:57    2539552

Replying To dessieman:  "Is Healy Park set as the venue for next Sunday?"
If it's Donegal v Tyrone it will be at Celtic Park
If it's Donegal v Cavan then it will be Healy Park.

Fair paly yesterday to Donegal. Wanted it more and fair play. Thon boy McGee is some athlete and Donegal's kick outs were the deciding factor when Odhran Lynch pushed up. Patton was able to ping 70m hits accurately to set up the chances.

kingpuck71 (Derry) - Posts: 690 - 21/04/2024 17:42:17    2539560

Replying To kingpuck71:  "If it's Donegal v Tyrone it will be at Celtic Park
If it's Donegal v Cavan then it will be Healy Park.

Fair paly yesterday to Donegal. Wanted it more and fair play. Thon boy McGee is some athlete and Donegal's kick outs were the deciding factor when Odhran Lynch pushed up. Patton was able to ping 70m hits accurately to set up the chances."
Credit to Derry supporters yesterday, they were very gracious in defeat. I have no doubt your season is far from over.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 290 - 21/04/2024 18:37:13    2539576

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Credit to Derry supporters yesterday, they were very gracious in defeat. I have no doubt your season is far from over."
+1 to that. Before and after the match, they were humble and gracious. I'll be supporting them through the serious, as long as they're not playing us. Phenomenal weather yesterday, and a performance to match. So many to choose from, but Jason McGee was immense. Spine tingling performance from him. Back to Celtic Park to face Tir Eoghain. We should have no fear of them. Hopefully Patton is recovered for next week and EBG is closer to full fitness. A massive sign that the county board were making a mess of managerial appointments down the years. Bluffers out!

StockholmGael (Donegal) - Posts: 112 - 21/04/2024 19:16:20    2539584

Replying To rorysboys:  "Sitting back reading the posts it's the same old story. I seen too many false dawns. We need to respect every team it's Cavan or Tyrone next have we a given right to beat them no we don't we'll have to perform again. From speaking to few knowledgeable gaa men last night they were all saying the hype will be starting now look what happened Derry when they believed things that were being said about them.. as I said cool the jets it's only an Ulster quarter final.. as for the posters targeting me kop on I m as much a Donegal man as most of yous. Petty little people having a go after a great win. Next Sunday will probably be most of yous first game all year. lol."
Have you school in the morning?

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 920 - 21/04/2024 19:35:22    2539591

Why isn't the Tyrone game in Clones?

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 21/04/2024 19:40:44    2539594

Surely, they'll move the game to Cavan or Clones. I can't see the Ulster council turning away 10,000 supporters.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 78 - 21/04/2024 20:28:31    2539607

Looks like a lot of lads who didn't get playing on Saturday were playing club football today, Great to see Jim doing that, nothing better than playing football and lads shouldn't be denied playing time for their club if they didn't get any minutes for the seniors.

NPadraigAbu (Donegal) - Posts: 42 - 21/04/2024 20:39:31    2539611

Replying To joeteor:  "Why isn't the Tyrone game in Clones?"
I would guess sales in Tyrone and Donegal weren't stellar for the quarter finals and they think 14k is big enough. Yesterday did go well too with it being a lovely day though early indications are for rain next week. They can also leave the tv gantrys in place for another week. Though I sense an awakening in Donegal (for this week anyway) and demand will increase. I would be surprised if tickets don't go on sale online so I suppose keep an eye out

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 697 - 21/04/2024 21:49:34    2539636

Replying To Tyrion:  "Not going say much today here just sitting like a Cheshire cat here all morning. Is it just me but all I can see is mcgonagle is a copy of rambo in yrs gone bye."
McGonagle is a great asset at centre back, has it all, height, physicality, can field, great engine, good marker, can track back and dispose, can attack and take a score.

Rambo was some player, you always felt we could battle anyone when he was playing. I remember being at a Donegal v Dublin game in I think the mid 90's, think it was a league match in Croke Park. Rambo came on as a sub and what I can remember he went over to Keith Barr and kept shouldering him repeatedly until he put him over the sideline. I think Keith was doing what he normally does to one of the Donegal players & Rambo was send on to persuade him otherwise.

The_viewer (Donegal) - Posts: 7 - 22/04/2024 00:45:54    2539675

Stunning performance by Donegal, tactically we ruthlessly exposed a Derry weakness and it paid off. Although aside from the 4 goals, I think 11 points was a poor enough return considering the display and something that we need to look at.

Feel bad for Derry's Odhran Lynch, as his name was in every article after the match as the reason Derry lost, he is an young amateur player following tactical instructions from the sideline and shouldn't be getting direct blame. That game will have taught Derry valuable lessons ahead of the All Ireland Series, McGuinness exposed a weakness that Dublin, Kerry, Galway or Mayo probably would have definitely exposed and exploited at a more critical stage of the season.

Derry still All Ireland title contenders, Donegal still in with a shout for Ulster, although expecting a tough assignment next Sunday against Tyrone.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1121 - 22/04/2024 09:09:47    2539700

Replying To Tyrion:  "Not going say much today here just sitting like a Cheshire cat here all morning. Is it just me but all I can see is mcgonagle is a copy of rambo in yrs gone bye."
Rambo was al all-star centre back who was proven over many years. McGonagle had had a handful of games at centre-back and done ok. He has a long way to go before he can be compared to one of the greatest centre backs Donegal ever produced.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 474 - 22/04/2024 09:12:10    2539701

What a performance from Donegal. I must admit I didn't think we could win this game and feel bad for ever doubting Jim. He really is something else, tactics were spot on and we just looked so confident. We had to stop Derry scoring goals and I'm not sure they even had a goal scoring chance. I keep telling myself to calm down but its hard not to get excited about this team.

We have been talking for a few years about Langan and McGee potentially being a great midfield partnership and they came of age in Celtic Park. Ciaran Thompson was a great help in there as well. I was really impressed with our tackling and intensity, even our full forwards Aaron Doherty and Gallen were tackling like their lives depended on it. As a supporter, you can ask no more of a team. Ryan McHugh was immense, the O'Donnell brothers, Peadar Mogan, Ciaran Moore likewise. McCole and Curran real rocks in defence.

Derry seemed a bit shell shocked by what unfolded. They start the game well but once Donegal starting running at the heart of their defence they had no answers. We finally got the goals that we had been missing during the league campaign.I still think Derry are a top team and will be serious contenders for the All Ireland, just a bad day at the office. Their supporters were very gracious and stuck with their team to the end.

Tyrone up next, they mixed brilliant scoring with some poor defending against Cavan, very difficult to tell how good they will be. If they can shore up a bit at the back, they will be a formidable team, they have some great players. I am happy with Celtic Park but a little surprised given the capacity issues.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1876 - 22/04/2024 09:35:52    2539716

The dust has well settled after Saturday's great win.
Some of the highlights for me were.

- Patton. Excellent kicking as usual, but also a clear improvement in dealing with high balls into the square. Whether by accident or design Derry landed a few in the sqaure but Patton dealt with them all decisively. Great to see. Hopefully his injury isn't too serious as he is vital to our prospects.

- McGee. The potential has always been there, but a combination of injury and infrequent game time has probably held him back. Physically he's a monster and he is well equipped to dominate any midfield if he's going well. Dare I say it, he's like a big Neil mark 2. He has a bit to go to reach those levels but no harm planting that seed in his head.

- Ryan McHugh - looks rejuvenated after a year away. Took his scores well and got through a heap of work.

- McGonagle - the man is like a train when he gets going. Very difficult for opposition to stop. Unlucky with his goal chance. He will open up gaps with those driving runs as it will take 2 if not 3 men to stop him.

The quick turnaround to the Tyrone game isn't ideal but it's worse for them. Extra Time and an absolute ding dong with Cavan on a hot day. No Tyrone team is easy to beat, but I'm quietly confident we can make the Ulster final.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9155 - 22/04/2024 09:56:58    2539735

Replying To joeteor:  "Why isn't the Tyrone game in Clones?"
Cos Derry is between both counties? Obvious choice.

PeterQ92 (Donegal) - Posts: 105 - 22/04/2024 10:44:17    2539758

Celtic park correct choice no point in taking it to clones to play in a half empty stadium

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2410 - 22/04/2024 11:34:25    2539788

I think something that was overlooked a little in mainstream media before and after the Derry game was the serious athleticism/pace in the Donegal starting lineup and also the high fielding ability of a players like Jason McGee, Michael Langan, Caolan McColgan, Ciaran Thompson, Ciaran Moore, Oisin Gallen and even Brendan McCole, which offers more options for long-range kick-outs.

Peadar Mogan and Ryan McHugh were off the chart, Mark Curran, Brendan McCole and Ciaran Moore were outstanding and Caolan McGonigle is a power house who takes some stopping. This is starting to feel like a strong team.

Interesting to see how far McGuinness can take this team, as I think the combination of Division 2 title and beating this powerful Derry team on their home turf will really bring Donegal together as a team.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1121 - 22/04/2024 11:56:55    2539801

reading the match report from cavan v tyrone. No Con Kilpatrick - is he injured? Himself and Brian Kennedy are a dangerous pair in midfield but maybe he's not going to be available

High_and_wide (Donegal) - Posts: 76 - 22/04/2024 12:03:02    2539807