Donegal GAA thread

Replying To totalrecall:  "Just back from armagh, trying to make sense of the game, could have been well home had we taken 1 or 2 of the goal opportunities we had, was delighted we hot out with a point in the end, armagh had all their big guns on by the end. Great fight from the lads, alot of poor turnovers and misplaced passes from us, the league is the place for them, hopefully thuis will be rectified come championship. Ryan mchugh very good again, mcgonigle too. Paddy good in first half less effective in second. Shane O donnel made a difference in second half too."
I was down in Armagh early, bit frustrating that they wouldn't open the gates earlier, huge crowds standing outside the ground for a long time.

Patrick McBrearty seems to be getting better game by game, Ciaran Thompson covered every blade of grass on the pitch, and Ryan McHugh was my man of the match, his conditioning and pace has changed, Ryan is consistently looking phemomenal...new player. I was a bit frustrated at Michael Langan sitting deep for much of the match, but can understand the logic.

There were aspects of this performance I wasn't happy with, such as sloppy passing etc, but overall I was impressed with how we dealt with Intensity and physicality that Armagh bring and I thought we were marginally the better team for the best part. This was an acid test for Jim's new look Donegal and I think we passed.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 26/02/2024 08:02:57    2528186

Replying To Commodore:  "I was down in Armagh early, bit frustrating that they wouldn't open the gates earlier, huge crowds standing outside the ground for a long time.

Patrick McBrearty seems to be getting better game by game, Ciaran Thompson covered every blade of grass on the pitch, and Ryan McHugh was my man of the match, his conditioning and pace has changed, Ryan is consistently looking phemomenal...new player. I was a bit frustrated at Michael Langan sitting deep for much of the match, but can understand the logic.

There were aspects of this performance I wasn't happy with, such as sloppy passing etc, but overall I was impressed with how we dealt with Intensity and physicality that Armagh bring and I thought we were marginally the better team for the best part. This was an acid test for Jim's new look Donegal and I think we passed."
Happy enough with the result . Overall we should have win it. But armaghs goal is very worrying I still feel that our full back line is a worry. Murnin should never have been left inside. The long ball inside to opposing full forward lines is a big worry for us especially against the better teams. But better to concede yesterday and to work on it.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 26/02/2024 08:33:26    2528193

Replying To rorysboys:  "Happy enough with the result . Overall we should have win it. But armaghs goal is very worrying I still feel that our full back line is a worry. Murnin should never have been left inside. The long ball inside to opposing full forward lines is a big worry for us especially against the better teams. But better to concede yesterday and to work on it."
Yeah I think Stephen McMenamin misjudged that ball, and it slipped through to Murnin who was straight in on goal.

I suppose in fairness yesterday was our first proper test this year, I mean Cavan certainly tested us physically and the first half against Fermanagh was challenging, but this was the first game against a top side who bring serious physicality and intensity, who have serious talent and depth.

I was watching Jason McGee, Eoghan Ban, Conor and Niall O'Donnell, didn't see them take part in warm up drills, they are running out of runway now to get sufficient fitness built up to make it back for Ulster Championship. Lot of quality players now available at the moment.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 26/02/2024 09:57:18    2528221

Replying To Commodore:  "I was down in Armagh early, bit frustrating that they wouldn't open the gates earlier, huge crowds standing outside the ground for a long time.

There were aspects of this performance I wasn't happy with, such as sloppy passing etc, but overall I was impressed with how we dealt with Intensity and physicality that Armagh bring and I thought we were marginally the better team for the best part. This was an acid test for Jim's new look Donegal and I think we passed."
A little cheat for the next time it's a general admittance ticket. Go in the terrace entrance and walk over to the stand. No queue and a great seat! A lot closer walk from the car as well.
On a general point in the crowd. The Armagh support is a credit to them. Loads of families, old and young alike. A mascot and children loving it. Fair play to them.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 693 - 26/02/2024 10:21:23    2528228

Replying To Scenicparish:  "Shocking support for top of table clash. A few Donegal supporters in Stand but very dissappointing. If €20 keeps fans away, thats awful. Supporters that were in Armagh today should be first to get Tickets for Celtic Park......"
It's not surprising though. €20 a head for a league match in Armagh is unthinkable to vast majority of Donegal families in 2024. That's a big chunk of our general attendances through the last 30 years home and away. Who's left to attend? Most Gaels under 30 who have any expendable income are in Oz, Dubai, or Dublin.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 378 - 26/02/2024 10:31:44    2528240

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "It's not surprising though. €20 a head for a league match in Armagh is unthinkable to vast majority of Donegal families in 2024. That's a big chunk of our general attendances through the last 30 years home and away. Who's left to attend? Most Gaels under 30 who have any expendable income are in Oz, Dubai, or Dublin."
Ok but surely every county has the same problem finance etc. what you must take into account is the size of Donegal compared to a lot of the other counties. Excuses running out I'm afraid. I can tell you this I'm not a wealthy man but I go because I want to support my county. I could have sat in my local watching the caraboo cup yesterday and probably spend more money but I feel I owe it to Jim and the lads to go and support them. They put in a huge effort.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 26/02/2024 10:40:53    2528245

Why did u-16 have to pay this time and not the previous few games ?

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 26/02/2024 10:45:08    2528249

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Why did u-16 have to pay this time and not the previous few games ?"
Apparently they were expecting a possible sellout in advance.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 7896 - 26/02/2024 10:49:29    2528252

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Why did u-16 have to pay this time and not the previous few games ?"
Welcome back lad any more word on Patton . Did he play in Ulster club or not before he played for Donegal. You must be right seeing your a eunans man???

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 26/02/2024 11:04:06    2528259

Replying To rorysboys:  "Ok but surely every county has the same problem finance etc. what you must take into account is the size of Donegal compared to a lot of the other counties. Excuses running out I'm afraid. I can tell you this I'm not a wealthy man but I go because I want to support my county. I could have sat in my local watching the caraboo cup yesterday and probably spend more money but I feel I owe it to Jim and the lads to go and support them. They put in a huge effort."
In fairness Geography has an impact, Armagh North to South is 60kms. Naomh Columba to Four Masters is 50kms. Everyone in Armagh could be at the game in 40 minutes. Many of us haven't left the county after 40 miles. When Shane hit the equaliser you think we had 8 eight or 9 thousand at the game.

Ulsterchamps72 (Donegal) - Posts: 77 - 26/02/2024 11:11:46    2528261

Replying To Ulsterchamps_32:  "A little cheat for the next time it's a general admittance ticket. Go in the terrace entrance and walk over to the stand. No queue and a great seat! A lot closer walk from the car as well.
On a general point in the crowd. The Armagh support is a credit to them. Loads of families, old and young alike. A mascot and children loving it. Fair play to them."
I was over on the terrace side, and during a five minute period I saw at least 25 - 30 young lads about 16 or 17 climbing a fence to get in, not a steward in sight. And it was dangerous enough, I wouldn't like to be trying it myself.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 585 - 26/02/2024 11:22:35    2528269

Replying To SurelyToGod:  "It's not surprising though. €20 a head for a league match in Armagh is unthinkable to vast majority of Donegal families in 2024. That's a big chunk of our general attendances through the last 30 years home and away. Who's left to attend? Most Gaels under 30 who have any expendable income are in Oz, Dubai, or Dublin."
Another factor that nobody on here considers is the fact that the type of football being served up for years is extremely boring and difficult to watch. People have more options for multiple sports nowadays at their fingertips on multiple devices. Sitting in a car for up to 6 hours on a Sunday travelling to and from a game that was no more than shadow boxing isn't attractive to everyone. This is the world we live in, the days of blind loyalty are gone.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 471 - 26/02/2024 11:35:11    2528279

Replying To TheFlaker:  "Apparently they were expecting a possible sellout in advance."
Roughly 11,300 fans in attendance, atmosphere felt more like an early round Ulster Championship match rather than a Division 2 league match.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 26/02/2024 12:29:23    2528302

Replying To rorysboys:  "Ok but surely every county has the same problem finance etc. what you must take into account is the size of Donegal compared to a lot of the other counties. Excuses running out I'm afraid. I can tell you this I'm not a wealthy man but I go because I want to support my county. I could have sat in my local watching the caraboo cup yesterday and probably spend more money but I feel I owe it to Jim and the lads to go and support them. They put in a huge effort."
Yes, every county has a problem to some extent, but Donegal in particular is the county with the least amount of disposable income per person of the 26 counties.

It's not really a question of "excuses running out", because nobody owes the GAA their support. Support is given freely though always at a cost to the supporter. That cost is hardly felt by some, bearable to many, but insurmountable to the majority now.

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 378 - 26/02/2024 12:48:04    2528306

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "In fairness Geography has an impact, Armagh North to South is 60kms. Naomh Columba to Four Masters is 50kms. Everyone in Armagh could be at the game in 40 minutes. Many of us haven't left the county after 40 miles. When Shane hit the equaliser you think we had 8 eight or 9 thousand at the game."
Totally. And by following the same logic - Being involved in, and supporting your club side is more expensive in Donegal than in most counties.

I'm not too worried about attendance numbers. Even though inter-county tickets have likely become too expensive, it's the travel costs that have become the deterrent. I'm more concerned about the effect of fewer families going to IC matches, and that's not Donegal-exclusive. It's created a long-term risk that inter-county football loses relevance amongst youth, which then becomes a club participation problem and more. Can't even think of it as a GAA v soccer v rugby thing anymore when it comes to kids. It's become a battle of GAA v Soccer v Fortnite v TikTok v Plenty of worse things in every community!

SurelyToGod (Donegal) - Posts: 378 - 26/02/2024 13:15:57    2528319

I'd imagine if a family from donegal was to attend yesterday in Armagh and take the kids for a bite anywhere they could be out anything from 120 to 150 out if you add fuel tickets and grub in, it's a fair cost for a day out supporting when it's on telly. It's okay for single men or women to accept the 20e ticket costs but we would need a lot of them types to come up on numbers anywhere near other counties. There was alot of families in the club house yesterday before the game so the majority of supporters there yesterday from Armagh you could say were families.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 160 - 26/02/2024 13:26:42    2528326

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "Best wishes to Abbey VS this afternoon. I just can't see them getting beat."
Another emphatic win and hopefully they can finish the job in the final. Big congratulations to all involved in what is certainly a golden generation of players. A question to all? How would they have faired at Hogan Cup level? I really wouldn't know much about schools football but with the winning margins involved surely they'd be competitive.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 26/02/2024 14:39:49    2528362

Replying To Ulsterchamps72:  "In fairness Geography has an impact, Armagh North to South is 60kms. Naomh Columba to Four Masters is 50kms. Everyone in Armagh could be at the game in 40 minutes. Many of us haven't left the county after 40 miles. When Shane hit the equaliser you think we had 8 eight or 9 thousand at the game."
It certainly sounded like there was more watching live. I presume again there was no cash accepted either? Probably not much of a factor but something else that could be a deterrent. On the game itself I felt Donegal were probably the better side but left a couple of goals behind them granted the penalty looked soft. Caught out wide open for their goal which was disappointing but overall again happy enough considering the gap after their goal and to pull out a draw after going a point down late on. Like others I thought Ryan McHugh was excellent and he's got himself in great shape. Also Caolan McGonigle really drove on the team when it was needed and he certainly looks to have gone up a level already with Jim in charge.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 26/02/2024 14:46:17    2528363

Replying To panamasam:  "It certainly sounded like there was more watching live. I presume again there was no cash accepted either? Probably not much of a factor but something else that could be a deterrent. On the game itself I felt Donegal were probably the better side but left a couple of goals behind them granted the penalty looked soft. Caught out wide open for their goal which was disappointing but overall again happy enough considering the gap after their goal and to pull out a draw after going a point down late on. Like others I thought Ryan McHugh was excellent and he's got himself in great shape. Also Caolan McGonigle really drove on the team when it was needed and he certainly looks to have gone up a level already with Jim in charge."
What do you make of the goal. Really like mc menamin was he ball watching. We can't afford giving Away bad goals in championship. Look at con o g Saturday night if we want to progress we need players who can put it up to him. Easier said than done but Shane mc guigan murnin daragh canavan are really good players . Who need to be man marked at certain times but these are the crucial times in a game.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2404 - 26/02/2024 15:56:06    2528381

Replying To panamasam:  "It certainly sounded like there was more watching live. I presume again there was no cash accepted either? Probably not much of a factor but something else that could be a deterrent. On the game itself I felt Donegal were probably the better side but left a couple of goals behind them granted the penalty looked soft. Caught out wide open for their goal which was disappointing but overall again happy enough considering the gap after their goal and to pull out a draw after going a point down late on. Like others I thought Ryan McHugh was excellent and he's got himself in great shape. Also Caolan McGonigle really drove on the team when it was needed and he certainly looks to have gone up a level already with Jim in charge."
I thought Caolan McGonigle had a quiet first half, but I did notice this game that he seems to play a big role in organizing the troops for opposition kick-outs, he had a much better second half.

Collectively the team played very well, high intensity and physical, lots of sloppy mistakes too, but I think consideration that it was their first big test is definitely allowed. I think it shows we're definitely back amongst the Tier 2 sides hoping to breakthrough into the Tier 1.

Tier 1 Rankings
Dublin, Kerry, Derry

Tier 2 Rankings
Mayo, Tyrone, Galway, Armagh, Donegal

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1115 - 26/02/2024 16:32:15    2528399