Donegal GAA thread

The thing about it is that Declan Bonners commitment to Donegal and the great career he had as a player is not in question, but I think it's obvious to anyone that his time as manger should come to an end now for the good of Donegal football, it's just atrocious stuff to watch and I can only imagine how the players are feeling, these fellas are busting their guts for Donegal and they deserve better leadership, something has to give here, I think we can nearly write off 2022 at this stage.
I wonder how much say Rochford really has? I'm surprised he has stuck around so long tbh.
I think we need to look outside the county for a young hungry management team with fresh ideas, I think we have some fantastic players, we just need better management, something to add that bit of X factor to the thing,
it's like watching a car crash in slow motion watching Donegal play now, sad to say.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3332 - 21/02/2022 19:23:51    2401721

Replying To rorysboys:  "It's clubs like yous that have killed Donegal football. I wudnt cross the road to watch it. You expect players to come out of an environment like that and be expected to play attacking football with the county.. Mc Guinness had Murphy at 21 years of age an important fact may I add in us Winning an all ireland. Go away now and try find a manager like a good boy. Ha."
I wouldn't normally reply to your childish comments and insults but would you for God's sake just dry up, I think we are all sick of your childish bs at this stage,
we are all genuine Donegal fans here, this is not personal against Declan Bonner, it's for the good of Donegal football that he calls it a day at this stage, it's just not working, simple as that.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3332 - 21/02/2022 19:27:34    2401722

09-02 down at half time, after playing against the gale, come out then and play keep ball in your own defence for large chunks of second half, Kerry couldn't believe their eyes ide say, when Donegal decided to push up, the got a few scores which obviously was the way to go..the mind boggles what management and tactician and all that do ne looking at or thinking, Kerry scored 9 points with the gale, Donegal scored 5..such negative thinking is beyond me..I like Donegal and always have but ime missing something after yesterday's second half 'performance'..if your going to lose go down at least trying to win, not playing some sort of mini game among themselves within the main game, as what was on view yesterday was strange to put it mildly..and to think players go along with such an approach..

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1037 - 21/02/2022 21:25:05    2401742

Do people honestly think that Bonner and rochford don't know what there doing. Rochford has taken mayo to all Ireland finals and almost beat the unbeatable dubs and Bonner has played and managed at the highest level. And there's people on here who have never managed at any level and have all the answers. There in every town and parish and by the looks of it a good few on here too. Get a life lads if they met Bonner or rochford they'd run a mile. Im not saying I know much about football but I know a fool anyway.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 21/02/2022 21:26:13    2401743

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "I wouldn't normally reply to your childish comments and insults but would you for God's sake just dry up, I think we are all sick of your childish bs at this stage,
we are all genuine Donegal fans here, this is not personal against Declan Bonner, it's for the good of Donegal football that he calls it a day at this stage, it's just not working, simple as that."
Genuine fans yes don't make me laugh , your on a crusade against management this good few years. Your like the majority of the posters who don't be seen when we win but come out of the woodwork when we lose. And yes I won't go away I don't suffer fools. A lot of people on here thinking we're up with the top teams get a life we are not far behind with everyone available but when we're 4 or 5 we're well down the pecking and will be when Murphy retires. Il guarantee that.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 22/02/2022 10:06:08    2401780

Replying To The keeper:  "Clubs like ours were successful, thats the difference between mcguinness and bonner. One is a winner, who improved every player, mcguinness.
The other has players losing confidence game by game. And has a poor record in management of improving players, bonner.
Now i am not going to reply for a while now, you know adult things like work and family.
So enjoy mid term, and dont spend all your time off school on the computer."
You know your wasting your time lad. Wee question who lost the 2014 all Ireland final for us. I'm not expecting an answer. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 22/02/2022 10:09:17    2401781

Replying To rorysboys:  "Do people honestly think that Bonner and rochford don't know what there doing. Rochford has taken mayo to all Ireland finals and almost beat the unbeatable dubs and Bonner has played and managed at the highest level. And there's people on here who have never managed at any level and have all the answers. There in every town and parish and by the looks of it a good few on here too. Get a life lads if they met Bonner or rochford they'd run a mile. Im not saying I know much about football but I know a fool anyway."
To be honest Rory I don't understand why you're going the other extreme from some of the posters you're responding to. I don't mind losing, I'm a Donegal man for God sake I'm well used to losing. Following the county and club is about much more than winning for me. But I'm exasperated and frustrated by the tactics on show, the 2nd half in Killarney was a horror show but we invited Mayo and Kildare on to us with negative safety first stuff as well. The 2nd half in Killarney, what would you have done? Are you happy with what you saw? Would you not say ok, 7 points is a big lead but that's a fierce gale out there, we did ok for 15 minutes there in the first half but they got a bit of a run on us, now let's use the conditions to our advantage and get up the pitch at pace and press their kickouts straight away? We did that for maybe 10 minutes in that 2nd half and got plenty joy and most of our scores in that period. Why not keep at it?

From what I can tell, there are one of two things going. Either number one: management are telling the players to retain possession at all costs, which results in the keep ball we are seeing in all three matches and led to us getting caught by Mayo, letting Kildare back into it and getting nowhere against Kerry. Or, number two, management aren't telling the players to do this at all, but the players are doing it off their own back either through fear or whatever else.

Either scenario does not paint management in a good light in my view.

I don't think you're being fair in accepting there are fair criticisms to be laid at the feet of management at the moment. I thought we played well with all things considered against Tyrone in championship last year, and I've been pretty easy about giving Bonner more time because the COVID years were full of so much disruption. But this year things have to improve or I don't know what we're at. I know there are some posters on here who have had an agenda since day one but I don't know why you're lumping everyone in with one or two trolls.

It's only the league and we're still in a good spot to stay up, we have plenty of talent and no I don't think management are clueless, but I would worry for that championship game against Armagh considering the style of football both teams are playing at the moment. And then that's another year gone.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 22/02/2022 10:57:28    2401805

Replying To rorysboys:  "You know your wasting your time lad. Wee question who lost the 2014 all Ireland final for us. I'm not expecting an answer. Lol"
Declan Bonner of course. Overseen a heroic 4 point defeat to Kerry in the minor lol.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 79 - 22/02/2022 10:58:31    2401806

Replying To rorysboys:  "You know your wasting your time lad. Wee question who lost the 2014 all Ireland final for us. I'm not expecting an answer. Lol"
At least we were in a all Ireland final in 2014 and competing with the top tier teams, look where we were before mcguinness took over, due to a succession of average manager's, where bonner was one of them.
Good management instills confidence in a team, discipline, improving each player and has them playing and fighting as a team. Instills a stubbornness of refusing to accept defeat.
Have we seen that in any of the years bonner has been in charge, the answer is in all the big games we were involved in where when the going got tough, we came up short each time.
Bonner will get this year, and i can predict whats going to happen, when we meet a top tier team, we will give them a decent game until the last quarter, and then the opposition will raise there intensity and win the game because there players believe in what there doing.
99% of supporters of Donegal do not want bonner in charge, nothing personal against the man as he puts in a lot of time into donegal gaa. Its just purely because we expect and deserve better and believe we have the players to compete with the top tier teams with the right management.
I can honestly not take you seriously with your unyielding support for bonner after the last few years, add to that the fact you finish with a lol

The keeper (Donegal) - Posts: 711 - 22/02/2022 11:19:01    2401817

Replying To rorysboys:  "Do people honestly think that Bonner and rochford don't know what there doing. Rochford has taken mayo to all Ireland finals and almost beat the unbeatable dubs and Bonner has played and managed at the highest level. And there's people on here who have never managed at any level and have all the answers. There in every town and parish and by the looks of it a good few on here too. Get a life lads if they met Bonner or rochford they'd run a mile. Im not saying I know much about football but I know a fool anyway."
they man know what they are at in a big winner takes all game, but you have to get there first, little steps along the way etc...opting for caution 7 points down, with the wind at your back in a divisional game that is the place to be trying out "what ifs" etc..playing their own little passing pattern in their own half the field not even looking like breaking out to attack if there was any sign of opposition danger at all..there will be no "almost winning big games with that approach"..if you fall far behind their is only one place to rectify that...the scoreboard, or at least try seriously anyway...

Fairplayalways (Offaly) - Posts: 1037 - 22/02/2022 12:29:45    2401836

I forgot that. was that in our first all Ireland minor final in over 100 years. Not bad for somebody that knows nothing about football. Has the keeper gone to ground. Ha

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 22/02/2022 12:31:14    2401837

Replying To The keeper:  "At least we were in a all Ireland final in 2014 and competing with the top tier teams, look where we were before mcguinness took over, due to a succession of average manager's, where bonner was one of them.
Good management instills confidence in a team, discipline, improving each player and has them playing and fighting as a team. Instills a stubbornness of refusing to accept defeat.
Have we seen that in any of the years bonner has been in charge, the answer is in all the big games we were involved in where when the going got tough, we came up short each time.
Bonner will get this year, and i can predict whats going to happen, when we meet a top tier team, we will give them a decent game until the last quarter, and then the opposition will raise there intensity and win the game because there players believe in what there doing.
99% of supporters of Donegal do not want bonner in charge, nothing personal against the man as he puts in a lot of time into donegal gaa. Its just purely because we expect and deserve better and believe we have the players to compete with the top tier teams with the right management.
I can honestly not take you seriously with your unyielding support for bonner after the last few years, add to that the fact you finish with a lol"
Answer my question lad I thought you had work to do. Like most people you can't answer questionsHave a nice day any word of a manager down there. Lol

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 22/02/2022 12:35:30    2401839

It's no secret that Murphy is ready to step into the Bainisteoir bib when he retires. When that will happen no one knows for sure but until then we will have Bonner. All we hope is that his team will 'go for it' more than they did in the second half on Sunday.

As a previous poster said, we can take being beat with the team giving their all. What is not acceptable is displaying an abundance of caution when we had the elements at our back like on Sunday.

"It is better to die on your feet than live on you knees"

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1265 - 22/02/2022 12:37:12    2401841

Replying To JoeSoap:  "To be honest Rory I don't understand why you're going the other extreme from some of the posters you're responding to. I don't mind losing, I'm a Donegal man for God sake I'm well used to losing. Following the county and club is about much more than winning for me. But I'm exasperated and frustrated by the tactics on show, the 2nd half in Killarney was a horror show but we invited Mayo and Kildare on to us with negative safety first stuff as well. The 2nd half in Killarney, what would you have done? Are you happy with what you saw? Would you not say ok, 7 points is a big lead but that's a fierce gale out there, we did ok for 15 minutes there in the first half but they got a bit of a run on us, now let's use the conditions to our advantage and get up the pitch at pace and press their kickouts straight away? We did that for maybe 10 minutes in that 2nd half and got plenty joy and most of our scores in that period. Why not keep at it?

From what I can tell, there are one of two things going. Either number one: management are telling the players to retain possession at all costs, which results in the keep ball we are seeing in all three matches and led to us getting caught by Mayo, letting Kildare back into it and getting nowhere against Kerry. Or, number two, management aren't telling the players to do this at all, but the players are doing it off their own back either through fear or whatever else.

Either scenario does not paint management in a good light in my view.

I don't think you're being fair in accepting there are fair criticisms to be laid at the feet of management at the moment. I thought we played well with all things considered against Tyrone in championship last year, and I've been pretty easy about giving Bonner more time because the COVID years were full of so much disruption. But this year things have to improve or I don't know what we're at. I know there are some posters on here who have had an agenda since day one but I don't know why you're lumping everyone in with one or two trolls.

It's only the league and we're still in a good spot to stay up, we have plenty of talent and no I don't think management are clueless, but I would worry for that championship game against Armagh considering the style of football both teams are playing at the moment. And then that's another year gone."
Take your point I don't have any problem with you. The people I respond too are the faceless low life people, who never appeared after we beat Kildare but as soon as last Sundays game was over attacking a real Donegal gaa man. I don't take that and some of my posts have been omitted since Sunday. To answer a few of your questions I know we should have pushed up more in the second half. That half was crying out for a Murphy langan type player. I don't know why Mc brearty was coming out the field in second half looking for ball. Ryan has completely gone off his game. He spend a while shouting at the line last Sunday to get a few balls down to the bottom goals, I was hoping management would take him off, I respect Ryan but worry about your own game. Another point going to Kerry without at least 5 regulars did we honestly think we would beat them. I'm sick saying it our squad is not good enough we can't afford to be missing big players .. we need Murphy Jamie Brennan caolan and langan plus the lads who played there first game at weekend back playing at full fitness to have a chance then you can judge managers not in a thunderstorm in Killarney..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 22/02/2022 13:01:28    2401853

Going to throw this out there from what I viewed on Sunday, is the kilcar boys sulking because they feel let down by the county board. Ryan was strolling about head down most of the game Sunday made a few runs when team was forward most of the time wasn't interested in helping out,
as for his goal/pass it just stinks of a man with no confidence in himself. Paddy was brutal on Sunday patton had as many shots as him at scores, when he went out all he was committed to doing was roaring at the two young odonnells for not giving him the ball, oisin cut in along the line at one point but couldn't see paddy as he was static behind two kerry defenders, so oisin had no option but to try from a tight angle on goal. What I do see about management is that the kilcar fellas seem untouchable to be whiped off for some reason.
Paddy had a great game in Portglenone but is far too inconsistent.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 170 - 22/02/2022 13:31:32    2401862

I haven't been overly critical of Bonner to date, and probably blamed the players more so. But looking at the contents of the thread in the last little while, there appears to be a clear divide, Rory against the rest.

Actually, the way we have been playing lately reminds me of Rory Gallaghers reign, which was something I hoped had been consigned to history. It was terrible, negative stuff. Bonner had us playing good stuff, but the evidence is that we were soft when faced with adversity, Tyrone 2018, Mayo 2019, Cavan 2020. We didnt appear to know how to react when the pressure was applied. As for 2021, it was just one of those days, missing penalty, 14 men, 28 degrees, can't blame a manager for that.

As I said a couple of weeks ago, we appear to be over coached, or at least over coached in terms of how we move the ball from back to front, or should I say from side to side. I'd love to believe that during the week that we're developing tactics for games ahead. But I remember at the time watching us under Jim, especially in Division 2 in 2014, where we were road testing different strategies, kick out routines etc in the league. I haven't seen any evidence this year in the 7 games I have attended to suggest that we have any other plan. And fair enough, the weather conditions for the majority of those games wouldn't be conducive to expansive football, but I think I would be able to recognise a pattern. The 2nd half against Monaghan was more about Monaghan retreating (like us) than us improving.

So, I'd genuinely like to ask Rory, do you see improvement in what we are doing? Do you see a belief in the players that we have a plan in place?

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 836 - 22/02/2022 13:50:54    2401874

Replying To Green_Gold:  "That was a truly awful performance yesterday, the second half was shocking. Even being 7 points down at half time wasn't that bad but with a gale force wind in the second half, we decide to play the ball around the back and take no shots from distance. We were talking a few weeks back about the lack of noise our supporters make but the team has to give us something to cheer. We look like a Div 2 team without Michael Langan. I thought Brendan McCole had another great game and some positive displays from the younger lads Conor O'Donnell, Shane O'Donnell and Jason McGee. Worryingly our experienced players look dead on their feet.

I was very enthusiastic about Bonner in the first two years, not just because we won Ulster titles but we were playing exciting football. Where has that team gone? We seem to have abandoned that attacking game plan for a more negative keep-ball strategy. Some day soon we might even see a free kick passed forward lol. We are terrible at playing keep ball, it would give you a heart attack watching it. Structurally the team was all over the place yesterday, Patton was out in midfield and Conor and Shane O'Donnell back tackling in our full back line. Patton looks really uncomfortable out the field and just needs to stay on his line and concentrate on goalkeeping.

The good news is that its a short turnaround to the Tyrone game. We could do with a good performance, even if we lose, we just need a good 70 plus minute performance."
I'm in the same camp as you here. Bonner's first two seasons we were playing a really attractive brand of football, but we were vulnerable at the back. At the beginning of his run we could hold our own in a shootout with anybody, we had brought a lot of young men into the panel and the signs were looking good. To Bonner's credit, you won't find a better man for blooding young talents and getting them prepared for senior football. I made a flippant comment a few posts ago about his 2014 minor team, but that was tongue in cheek. Take a look at some of the players on that team and the impact they went on to have at senior level. Bonner certainly played his role in their development.

The problem I think that has arisen for Bonner is that he's realised that we weren't able to compete with the top top teams if we were defending in the way we were in 2017 and 2018. Maybe even that's why Rochford came in, as his Mayo team had the best defensive structure in the country. The problem since has been about balancing defence and attack. How much of Bonner's attacking philosophy has to give way in order to keep us competitive at the other end of the field? The problem is for any manager that it is awful difficult to make overarching changes tactical changes like that on the fly. A lot of the scores against us in previous years has been due to lads being out of position, using numbers 5 and 7 as extra forwards. To Bonner's credit this year we've been much more solid defensively, which is a plus. The consequence of that however is that moving up the pitch our attacking buildup play has been septic.

The optimist in me wants to say we'll find the balance between the gung ho of early Bonner and the absolute risk aversion of this league campaign in time for championship. However if we don't and Bonner has to go in the summer, it won't be a reflection of his ability as a coach -sometimes its just appropriate for a new man to come in with a fresh perspective to breathe a bit of life into a team again.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 79 - 22/02/2022 14:07:45    2401881

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "I haven't been overly critical of Bonner to date, and probably blamed the players more so. But looking at the contents of the thread in the last little while, there appears to be a clear divide, Rory against the rest.

Actually, the way we have been playing lately reminds me of Rory Gallaghers reign, which was something I hoped had been consigned to history. It was terrible, negative stuff. Bonner had us playing good stuff, but the evidence is that we were soft when faced with adversity, Tyrone 2018, Mayo 2019, Cavan 2020. We didnt appear to know how to react when the pressure was applied. As for 2021, it was just one of those days, missing penalty, 14 men, 28 degrees, can't blame a manager for that.

As I said a couple of weeks ago, we appear to be over coached, or at least over coached in terms of how we move the ball from back to front, or should I say from side to side. I'd love to believe that during the week that we're developing tactics for games ahead. But I remember at the time watching us under Jim, especially in Division 2 in 2014, where we were road testing different strategies, kick out routines etc in the league. I haven't seen any evidence this year in the 7 games I have attended to suggest that we have any other plan. And fair enough, the weather conditions for the majority of those games wouldn't be conducive to expansive football, but I think I would be able to recognise a pattern. The 2nd half against Monaghan was more about Monaghan retreating (like us) than us improving.

So, I'd genuinely like to ask Rory, do you see improvement in what we are doing? Do you see a belief in the players that we have a plan in place?"
My honest opinion I keep saying it is if we have all our key players available we could win ulster but injuries happen so I feel management used Kerry to get players like Hugh , Stephen Mc menamin Niall o donnell Daire o baoill game time. If we went there needing points to stay up I think we would see langan Playing. I feel management are being cautious and won't risk anybody with niggles. And rightly so. At the end of the day Bonner is a Donegal man and wants the best for his county. Tactic's don't come into it on days like last Sunday. You hold the ball against the breeze . I agree we should have attacked more in second half but from my vantage point very few forwards were making them selves available. Il pose this question do you think if Murphy was available on Sunday that we would not use him inside in second half on Sunday. Of course they would. I'm not saying I'm an expert but people slamming management for not hoofing ball in . In second half. You need the tools there for that to happen and simple as we were missing the players to make that happen. Jamie Brennan always slated by most of the warriors is one man we're totally missing. He can win a ball, take a score and take a man on. Name one player who could do that last Sunday. Keep the faith.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 22/02/2022 14:21:35    2401887

Suppose all we can do at this stage is hope for the best for the season ahead, I think the Kerry fellas were nearly laughing in our faces after that performance, McGuinness used to say Donegal got no respect until he made a team of us, the party boys of the noughties era were wasted years for some very talented footballers with no focus or leadership.
Looks to me like we have now wasted the talents again of some very good players and the last few years of Murphy's intercounty career with clueless management and no ambition from the county board.
How Donegal play football is a joke these days, hard to believe how we have regressed.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3332 - 22/02/2022 14:40:42    2401893

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Suppose all we can do at this stage is hope for the best for the season ahead, I think the Kerry fellas were nearly laughing in our faces after that performance, McGuinness used to say Donegal got no respect until he made a team of us, the party boys of the noughties era were wasted years for some very talented footballers with no focus or leadership.
Looks to me like we have now wasted the talents again of some very good players and the last few years of Murphy's intercounty career with clueless management and no ambition from the county board.
How Donegal play football is a joke these days, hard to believe how we have regressed."
The supporters were not laughing in your face anyway. If Murphy wasn't happy with Bonner I don't think Bonner would be there. How does it feel to be a keyboard warrior abusing good people. Get a life clown

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 22/02/2022 15:14:05    2401909