Donegal GAA thread

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Sure you were threatening not to renew your season ticket a few weeks back - make your mind up"
You told me you wernt responding to my posts. It's the effect I have on people. As I said before I only like debating a game with someone who was at it. So that'll probably rule alot of yous out.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2424 - 04/02/2023 15:58:12    2456384

Replying To TheFlaker:  "One person in particular from the county board executive decided he should be calling the shots despite Lacey doing a great job on the ground. He was not able to do his job properly because of interference from the coaching officer who was stalling any plans that were in place. He had to walk as he was unable to go ahead with plans unless they were approved by the chief coaching officer who was kicking his umbrella review down the road which left Lacey with no choice but to stand down.

He has full support from all the coaches who worked under him and the same people who have forced Lacey to step away are the same people who were heavily involved in the selection process of the senior management team and the backroom team. This will all come out before the season is over and I have no doubt there will be a massive reshuffle in Donegal to get the right men involved like Lacey, Murphy, Jim etc."
I hope all academy coaches support Lacey fully. Only way to do this is walk away in solidarity. Short-term pain for long-term gain.

ryan (Donegal) - Posts: 728 - 04/02/2023 16:02:01    2456387

Replying To rorysboys:  "You told me you wernt responding to my posts. It's the effect I have on people. As I said before I only like debating a game with someone who was at it. So that'll probably rule alot of yous out."
Told u no such thing - I think you'll find it's the other way around.

When you have as many accounts as you - you'll find it difficult to remember most of the waffle

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/02/2023 16:10:32    2456390

Replying To TheFlaker:  "One person in particular from the county board executive decided he should be calling the shots despite Lacey doing a great job on the ground. He was not able to do his job properly because of interference from the coaching officer who was stalling any plans that were in place. He had to walk as he was unable to go ahead with plans unless they were approved by the chief coaching officer who was kicking his umbrella review down the road which left Lacey with no choice but to stand down.

He has full support from all the coaches who worked under him and the same people who have forced Lacey to step away are the same people who were heavily involved in the selection process of the senior management team and the backroom team. This will all come out before the season is over and I have no doubt there will be a massive reshuffle in Donegal to get the right men involved like Lacey, Murphy, Jim etc."
The lack of support he is referring to is the vacant Games Development role which was vacated 5 months ago.

peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 818 - 04/02/2023 16:18:47    2456393

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Told u no such thing - I think you'll find it's the other way around.

When you have as many accounts as you - you'll find it difficult to remember most of the waffle"
Hop you have the flask ready for tomorrow. Heading away myself at noon. Who knows we might even cross paths lol and even better we might even meet the famous no show keeper .

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2424 - 04/02/2023 16:19:11    2456394

Replying To ryan:  "I hope all academy coaches support Lacey fully. Only way to do this is walk away in solidarity. Short-term pain for long-term gain."
That's not necessary - anyone close to the gaa in the county knows why this happened - exact same reason he left senior panel set up and turned away from Roscommon few years back - only so much gravy to go around…

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 04/02/2023 16:24:48    2456396

paying Managers, coaches, trainers etc is going to destroy the GAA.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 412 - 04/02/2023 16:54:48    2456404

The majority of fans of any sport are casual fans. Push them away and Donegal will be broke. The number of people deeply invested in any sport is very small. That's way all the various review shows and podcasts get such little attention. It's a pretty stupid approach given the amount of alternatives for people today including professional sport such as rugby. I wonder how many of the real supporters were in Letterkeny today to watch Donegal beat Sligo.

Rolo2010 (Donegal) - Posts: 739 - 04/02/2023 17:17:54    2456406

Playing really poorly here in a biter biter cold Omagh.

Can't see a turnaround like last week second half.

Peader Mogan named on the bench is a bit strange for a lad who hasn't trained with the squad yet

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 05/02/2023 14:46:34    2456548

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Playing really poorly here in a biter biter cold Omagh.

Peader Mogan named on the bench is a bit strange for a lad who hasn't trained with the squad yet"
Just back from Omagh, not overly concerned with the result, very concerned with the performance. Our defence was good in the first half but we're overrun in the second half. We have an ongoing issue with our forward division, going back over a number of years the movement is horrendous, especially inside where I thought mcbrearty and Brennan were particularly poor and offer no out ball with poor or static movement, more often than not fumbling ball or losing ball in tackle. There was a total collapse in performance in second half which is worrying.

We also have an issue with free taking, who are our designated free takers?? Brennan is not an option at this level, going forward even of the players to return who is an option on the left side?

Alot of these failings have littered the last 2 years of Bonner's reign, they are resurfacing again.

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 925 - 05/02/2023 17:23:12    2456627

Poor game but Tyrone were desperate for the two points so we will take it. If we were beat we were as good as down. Galway and Mayo away next which will be difficult to get points from.

Donegal were extremely poor. Physically beat in the tackle, Tyrone's midfield dominated. Hampsey was good on McB. Jaime Brennan was dangerous at times. Apart from that Donegal didn't show. Donegal missing so many quality players but they will be back come championship. Just about scrapping for enough points to stay up. I'd say your home form will keep you up, with the win against Kerry vital.

Won't worry about this result too much to be honest. One of them day ms from a young team.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2089 - 05/02/2023 17:31:59    2456633

Replying To eunans4ever:  "Playing really poorly here in a biter biter cold Omagh.

Peader Mogan named on the bench is a bit strange for a lad who hasn't trained with the squad yet"
Don't think mogans fitness was a problem , looked alot fitter than some of the others

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 925 - 05/02/2023 18:07:44    2456663

Replying To greenfan:  "I think in winter, when the weather's bad, you get 'supporters' at games and they will always back the team and try to support the lads as long as they are giving 100%, no matter what the result.
In championship you tend to get the 'fans' ..."
I am a fair weather fan but it doesn't bother me if I am insulted for it as it is only a sport. The association need people like me too as Clones wouldn't have looked as good last year if only the 3000 loyal Derry fans turned up.

PattyONeill (Derry) - Posts: 227 - 05/02/2023 18:35:48    2456680

Replying To totalrecall:  "Don't think mogans fitness was a problem , looked alot fitter than some of the others"
I wasn't referring to fitness - more the kick in the stones to other panel members not making bench and this lad just waltzes back in - that's not right - IMO that kind of stuff causes resentment among players..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 05/02/2023 18:51:57    2456692

Jesus, where do you start with that performance? Conor O'Donnell is the only man who could be happy with his performance.

We didn't lay a glove on Tyrone. How many times did they sidestep us and break through without being tackled?

On the other hand, they physically stopped all of our attacks at source. They got a hand, and mostly two hands on us every time.

And it was our experienced players who performed below the required level; McCole, Ward, Hughie, and midfield was wiped out. Maybe they were left exposed by those further out the field.

Management were very slow to make any changes, when it was clear, even from a very early stage, that we were away off the pace.

Our game in 2 weeks time against Monaghan is now a real 4 pointer. They've had 2 disappointing results, so expect a kick back from them.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 601 - 05/02/2023 18:53:25    2456695

On the game itself - think the hype of last week clearly seeped into the camp as most of the players were awful - apart from Conor O D , Stevie Mc and D o Baoil.

Finding scores is a real problem IMO - 8 points return in a div1 match v your nearest rivals is simply not good enough - score line last week was low too although we did win.

This side doesn't look capable of getting 20+ points to win a game which is what is needed these days.

This game is more of a gage of where we are at the minute - some people lost the run of themselves last week.

Same type of awful sideways and backwards on show today which is a revert to type - this is slowly and sadly destroying football in our great county - this all originated in glenties / Fintown in 2005 and is rampant around the county sadly - my own club included.

I can't see how we will move away from this type of horrible football anytime soon when it's firmly engraved in our players DNA.

We will fall further and further behind as the other counties have copped on that this style simply doesn't work anymore - the game has moved on from it , it's time we find a way to do so also…..

eunans4ever (Donegal) - Posts: 1595 - 05/02/2023 19:03:05    2456706

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I wasn't referring to fitness - more the kick in the stones to other panel members not making bench and this lad just waltzes back in - that's not right - IMO that kind of stuff causes resentment among players.."
Not many other defenders on bench with Ryan & Owen Ban injured. Jack injured now as well
Mogan obviously training well as he looked the part when he came on.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 302 - 05/02/2023 19:16:42    2456715

Replying To SouthOfTheGap:  "Jesus, where do you start with that performance? Conor O'Donnell is the only man who could be happy with his performance.

We didn't lay a glove on Tyrone. How many times did they sidestep us and break through without being tackled?

On the other hand, they physically stopped all of our attacks at source. They got a hand, and mostly two hands on us every time.

And it was our experienced players who performed below the required level; McCole, Ward, Hughie, and midfield was wiped out. Maybe they were left exposed by those further out the field.

Management were very slow to make any changes, when it was clear, even from a very early stage, that we were away off the pace.

Our game in 2 weeks time against Monaghan is now a real 4 pointer. They've had 2 disappointing results, so expect a kick back from them."
Totally agree with your post. Langan and Thompson are huge losses at the minute. I know Tyrone were always going to be hard to beat today 10 minutes into the second half the match looked over.

Scenicparish (Donegal) - Posts: 302 - 05/02/2023 19:22:22    2456718

Replying To eunans4ever:  "I wasn't referring to fitness - more the kick in the stones to other panel members not making bench and this lad just waltzes back in - that's not right - IMO that kind of stuff causes resentment among players.."
He's been in Liverpool ffs, what's he supposed to do fly home 3 times a week to train??.....can't question his commitment to Donegal, always been top class

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 925 - 05/02/2023 19:32:38    2456734

And you'd rather leave him out entirely!? Our best player last year. Who is commuting over and back from Liverpool to put the Jersey on.? Some craic

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1143 - 05/02/2023 19:34:39    2456737