Donegal GAA thread

Replying To Emmetsboy:  "As a Donegal fan who has lived away from home for forty years , like a lot of Gaels we depend on Gaa Go or our local Irish pub to watch our county
I really enjoy hearing the views of the supporters on the " Donegal thread " here . I appreciate the effort that you all put in to following our team all year round . I can only see them when at home
I feel that recently on the posts there seems to be intolerance to different views from some . We all have our views on the management and players and I do defer to you supporters who go to every game and know what is happening in the club scene .
I do not believe that anyone should be called " a fool " for having a different opinion
Maybe I'm missing some sort of club rivalry
Anyway we won today . My first memories of supporting Donegal was going to watch Donegal best Derry in the Dr Lagan cup final at Irvenstown in the 60!s. I think we kept it as we won it 3 years in a row
I will continue to enjoy the postings on this forum ,no matter how differing they are"
Excuse me I am a Donegal supporter of 40 years. You go back to last Sunday and and the usual fools giving out about donegal management we win today and the usual fools are. Conspicuous by there absence. Fair play to Donegal today showed a lot of heart in the absence of there captain fantastic and definitely the best player that ever played for Donegal.. don't lecture me you of two posts.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 06/02/2022 21:58:56    2398760

Important win today and still plenty to work on. It was very important for this team to win without having Michael Murphy.
We dropped way too many shots short today and were all at sea with second half kick outs. That might have been due to losing Mc Gee. Can't understand why we don't go very long for kick outs!!
Michael Langan and Eoin Ban excellent again. Great performance by Mc Cole. He was given a big task today and won his battle hands down. Great also to see Mc Menamin back. He looks like he needs plenty of training.
I think county football is a step too far for Charlie Mc Guinness.
I think Kildare will go down so this was a vital 2 points and takes the pressure away from the Kerry game. Hopefully we get injuries cleared up.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 06/02/2022 22:04:16    2398761

After terrible day of weather on Saturday and bad start to Sunday the weather ended up not too bad and pitch held up fine.

It was good to win and maybe donegal were fortunate that it was kildare who were not good, particularly in the second half with the wind.

Donegal did learn some lessons from last week which was good. They kicked their frees long into the forwards near the end when kildare put the press on. They had langan taking more of the restart frees.

I think brendan mccole was very good at fb. Their main man is Daniel flynn and he didn't do anything with mccole on him.
Ban carried the ball great, he set up the first goal and got donegal out of trouble in the second half when donegal needed it. He's great endurance and them plays really eased the pressure on donegal. I'd like to see him freed up even more from his marking roles and to try to have him in the ball even more as he causes the opposition all sorts of problems.
Langan is a great ban to kick points. I doubt there is a more free scoring half forward in the game. Conor o'donnell had a fine game too and shane o'donnell hit a nice point near the end to close it out.

The injuries are quite a concern, there's at least half the team out. I suppose that creates opportunity for fringe players. Some are taking their chances and some not so much.

There was though a lot of basic errors, dropping uncontested catches from a kick out, hand passing the ball away, carrying the ball into contact and being turned over. Some players seemed to getting in each others ways and there was poor skill execution in going for points. The important thing though was the win. Kerry in two weeks with half a team will certainly be a nice challenge.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 895 - 07/02/2022 08:27:22    2398772

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Great to hear you are still supporting the county after so many years away, you never forget your roots if you are a true Irishman, great win today alright and well done to all involved for their efforts, main thing from the league is to avoid relegation and hopefully learn some lessons and be ready for the Ulster Championship, the inter county games are coming thick and fast with the new format so hope we can have the squad in good shape and rearing to go come the Armagh game. Think it's Kerry away next in 2 weeks time, that will be a tough test for sure and one to look forward to.
There is only one poster on here calling other posters fools, it's childish behaviour and it's better to ignore him than get involved, we are all entitled to an opinion, express it and if you can learn something from other posters well and good, no need for childish name calling, when you start that craic you have lost all credibility imo."
I'm entitled to my opinion as much as you are. Do you think your posts have any credibility there all anti management Same as your friends who take over social media when ever we lose a game. As for yesterday it wasn't perfect by any means it's two points which is important. We are well down number wise. From the starting team we were down Neil Mc gee. Mc menamin. Daire I baoill. Hugh Mc fadden. Jamie Brennan. Oisin gallen. Ciaran Thompson and Niall o donnell most of these players if fit will start championship and then to lose Murphy and Mc gee the younger lads showed up good against a good team. We need to get players back for the remainder of the league. I might not be a lot of posters number one I don't care I'm a Donegal supporter foremost who respect everyone involved in Donegal football. Good people who deserve success from underage up to senior.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 07/02/2022 08:47:54    2398777

Replying To Tir Conaill Abu:  "Important win today and still plenty to work on. It was very important for this team to win without having Michael Murphy.
We dropped way too many shots short today and were all at sea with second half kick outs. That might have been due to losing Mc Gee. Can't understand why we don't go very long for kick outs!!
Michael Langan and Eoin Ban excellent again. Great performance by Mc Cole. He was given a big task today and won his battle hands down. Great also to see Mc Menamin back. He looks like he needs plenty of training.
I think county football is a step too far for Charlie Mc Guinness.
I think Kildare will go down so this was a vital 2 points and takes the pressure away from the Kerry game. Hopefully we get injuries cleared up."
Long kick-outs are inaccurate in windy or blustery conditions, and top teams are pushing their keeper out to their own 45 to try and counter long precision kicks by the like of Patton and Beggan. This however leaves one potential weakness, currently seen as a low probability, which is if the Keeper aims for the full forward at kick-out who drops deep to the oppositions 45. Its then a 50:50 ball between the full forward and the opposing full back and no keeper in goal if the full forward wins it.

However on days when we have Langan, McGonigle, Murphy, Thompson, McGee, McFadden etc all on the pitch, we should be hitting long into midfield and contesting those balls well.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1406 - 07/02/2022 08:53:01    2398780

Replying To rorysboys:  "Excuse me I am a Donegal supporter of 40 years. You go back to last Sunday and and the usual fools giving out about donegal management we win today and the usual fools are. Conspicuous by there absence. Fair play to Donegal today showed a lot of heart in the absence of there captain fantastic and definitely the best player that ever played for Donegal.. don't lecture me you of two posts."
Plenty people , good donegal gaa supporters have had to emigrate over the years and cannot attend every game. Plenty good gaa supporters have other reasons why they cannot attend every game due to work commitments and other responsibilities. Maybe their health isn't good enough. They're still entitled to express their opinion without being called fools. Just because someone has time to build up over 1000 posts on Hogan Stand doesn't give them the right to attack everyone else who espresses their opinion.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 705 - 07/02/2022 09:17:32    2398790

Great to get win the win yesterday. Like last week, we were excellent in the first half but fell away badly in the second half. There were some really positive performances, Brendan McCole was outstanding and Caolan Ward good. Ban struggled a bit marking Jimmy Hyland but was brilliant going forward, hopefully with Stephen McMenamin back we can release him to the half back line which is his best position. Jason McGee had a towering first half, it was a real turning point when he had to go off, hopefully nothing serious. Caolan McGonagle had another good performance and Conor O'Donnell was excellent. He is really positive in his movement and not afraid to shoot. Another game and another man of the match display from Michael Langan, does this man ever have a bad game? We would be lost if he got injured. I think the move of Ryan McHugh to the forward line is the correct one, although he is still not at his best he picks up some great positions and will get loads of scores.

The second half display was worrying, instead of continuing to push on and put the game to bed we started trying to play keep ball at the back and invited Kildare on to us. It was very similar to last week against Mayo only Kildare missed a lot of good scoring chances. It looks like this is the way we are going to play which in my opinion means we are unlikely to beat one of the big guns in the championship. For a start we are terrible at playing this type of game, secondly the opposition teams know we are vulnerable when we go negative and they are ready to pounce. Its a real shame as there are so many positives and we are so close to being a top bracket team challenging for an All-Ireland. Its quite a while since I retired from playing myself and probably don't understand modern day tactics but its just seems common sense not to change your style of play mid game when you are well ahead. What are the reasons for this - is it too difficult to maintain that momentum for an entire match or are we just trying to be too clever and close out the game? I wouldn't mind if we were good at it but we just aren't, also it drains the life out of the supporters.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1916 - 07/02/2022 09:38:32    2398794

Looking at the top 10 sides (8 x Division 1 teams and Derry/Galway from Division 2), there isn't really a lot between them this year so far. This could be the toughest year to call for some time, I think Donegal are in with a decent shout.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1406 - 07/02/2022 09:40:10    2398795

I would say that was one to just get the win and move on. I think a better team than Kildare would have reeled us in with that 2nd half showing. They were very wasteful. But we had to contend with a lot of injuries and with the likes of Thompson and Niall O'Donnell not available, the support from the bench was inexperienced. I also wouldn't blame Kildare fans for feeling hard done by from the ref - I thought he was very fussy and called frees for things like over carrying against Kildare but not against us. He also missed a blatant black card for Donegal, gave the free but no black - unless the rules have changed again but it was as clear a cynical rugby tackle as you'll see? Had to be done from a Donegal POV as they were breaking on goal after we coughed up possession cheaply but I was sure it should be a black? It was at a key moment in the game as well as Kildare were within a goal of us.

Conor O'Donnell looks like he has been playing for Donegal for years however. Really impressed with him the past 2 weeks. Brendan McCole also, really impressive I thought. It's a long way from that Meath game. The Kildare folks around me were calling for Flynn to be subbed off at half time which is testament to McCole's job. It was also great to see McMenamin come on as well, he definitely needs the training and game time. With McCole seemingly coming into his own and OMFF in the backline too, I feel like we're slowly getting a bit more steel and good individual defenders there.

I think Eoghan Bán and Langan are now are two most important players. When we fall into that slow lateral play, they are the only two that seem to be able to burst with the ball in hand and make a play. On Eoghan Bán, what a joy it is to watch him in full flight. I hope we make a run in the summer if only to see him on the dry, faster pitches.

Murphy didn't look right from the off, there was one long ball in from Mogan in the first 10 minutes that he was on his heels for, and I think he touched the ball maybe twice before coming off. I hope to god it wasn't another case of him playing with an injury and making it worse. Also feel for Jason McGee, he was having a fine game before his injury, I hope it's not serious.

Overall good to get the win and in a good position in the league now, tough game coming against Kerry and hopefully we'll have lads back and firing with the 2 week break.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 07/02/2022 09:56:03    2398803

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Great to get win the win yesterday. Like last week, we were excellent in the first half but fell away badly in the second half. There were some really positive performances, Brendan McCole was outstanding and Caolan Ward good. Ban struggled a bit marking Jimmy Hyland but was brilliant going forward, hopefully with Stephen McMenamin back we can release him to the half back line which is his best position. Jason McGee had a towering first half, it was a real turning point when he had to go off, hopefully nothing serious. Caolan McGonagle had another good performance and Conor O'Donnell was excellent. He is really positive in his movement and not afraid to shoot. Another game and another man of the match display from Michael Langan, does this man ever have a bad game? We would be lost if he got injured. I think the move of Ryan McHugh to the forward line is the correct one, although he is still not at his best he picks up some great positions and will get loads of scores.

The second half display was worrying, instead of continuing to push on and put the game to bed we started trying to play keep ball at the back and invited Kildare on to us. It was very similar to last week against Mayo only Kildare missed a lot of good scoring chances. It looks like this is the way we are going to play which in my opinion means we are unlikely to beat one of the big guns in the championship. For a start we are terrible at playing this type of game, secondly the opposition teams know we are vulnerable when we go negative and they are ready to pounce. Its a real shame as there are so many positives and we are so close to being a top bracket team challenging for an All-Ireland. Its quite a while since I retired from playing myself and probably don't understand modern day tactics but its just seems common sense not to change your style of play mid game when you are well ahead. What are the reasons for this - is it too difficult to maintain that momentum for an entire match or are we just trying to be too clever and close out the game? I wouldn't mind if we were good at it but we just aren't, also it drains the life out of the supporters."
I am the same as you GG in that I don't understand it. I can understand probing with possession when the opposition are set in defence, but so often yesterday there was lads turning back to play keep ball when there was acres of space and opportunity to go forward. It's something I struggle to understand at times in terms of tactics but I also feel we will struggle against the big guns in championship if we revert to that sort of game. It's great to play that sort of game and engineer a score as it is very deflating for opponents to have been chasing shadows and then conceded anyway, but very often we end up coughing up the possession anyway.

However it's early days in the league and hopefully if we get lads back with a clean bill of health we will see improvements. I have seen more of a willingness to look for a kick pass inside the past 2 weeks, it's not a frequent tactic but it's definitely one they are looking for when it's on which is good.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 07/02/2022 10:26:21    2398817

Replying To Commodore:  "Of course we have the answer to our defensive problems, stop playing Ryan McHugh and Peadar Mogan as wing backs, leaving our full back line exposed.

In fairness Declan Bonner has worked on this and despite the poor quality punditry on League Sunday, I think we aren't actually that bad defensively, last season I thought we looked fine and it was injury and sending off against Tyrone that really cost us.

This is round 2 of the National League, we have conceded an average of 11.5 points so far, scoring 1-11 on average. Yes significant improvement is needed, but I would expect us to improve as we move towards Championship."
Very much agree with this assessment. Particularly when you consider that our average number of points conceded in last years league was 19.75 between our four games. And by the time we got to championship, while I believe we didn't look great at the back against Down (we didn't have to!) by the time we played Derry and Tyrone it wasn't our defending that lost us those matches, it was stuttering forwards against Derry and it was playing 40 minutes with 14 men in 30+ heat against Tyrone.

Part of that is that McCole looks a lot more settled now at full back, McFadden Ferry has had more time training and playing this year and Caolan Ward is a class act. I like McMenamin but you'd start to worry that injuries will hold him back. If we can be blessed with a clean bill of health I think we have a more than capable group of men from 2-7. We don't need them to be like the mayo backs from the 2010's, we just need a defensive structure that is competent enough to keep us in games and I think we're close to having that.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 79 - 07/02/2022 10:27:49    2398818

Replying To rorysboys:  "I'm entitled to my opinion as much as you are. Do you think your posts have any credibility there all anti management Same as your friends who take over social media when ever we lose a game. As for yesterday it wasn't perfect by any means it's two points which is important. We are well down number wise. From the starting team we were down Neil Mc gee. Mc menamin. Daire I baoill. Hugh Mc fadden. Jamie Brennan. Oisin gallen. Ciaran Thompson and Niall o donnell most of these players if fit will start championship and then to lose Murphy and Mc gee the younger lads showed up good against a good team. We need to get players back for the remainder of the league. I might not be a lot of posters number one I don't care I'm a Donegal supporter foremost who respect everyone involved in Donegal football. Good people who deserve success from underage up to senior."
Nobody has said anything about your right to have an opinion… your man only saying that people on here should be able to express the opinions with less animosity.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 79 - 07/02/2022 10:29:43    2398820

Firstly, great to get the 2 points, they were gladly received.
The Kildare full forward line caused us a fair few problems at times yesterday. They were quite good. But saying that, I thought we done quite well defensively, especially Brendan McCole and Caolán Ward. But we were slightly exposed by good movement from the Kildare inside line, but I think the root of this was further out the field, giving the Kildare player in possession the time and space to pick the pass. Number 7 for Kildare (Archbold) caused us a lot of problems in the first half, but was snuffed out in the 2nd.
Offensively, Kildare probably limited our ability for a more direct attack by keeping at least 3 defenders back at all times when they were in possession. When we did turn them over, this allowed us to move the ball out through the hands more easily. Kildare did not put the same pressure on the ball carrier as Mayo did last week. Thank God for that. That was the difference in us seeing out the game yesterday as opposed to last week. Eoghan Ban deserves a mention for the quality of his ball carrying.
And although we came under pressure at kick out time, one must remember the options that were missing in the last 15 minutes, not only Jayo and Michael, but also Hughie and Ciaran Thompson who would normally provide a good option.
So, now on to Kerry, and another big step up needed especially in terms of physicality. I would love to see a good Donegal support down there, cos the Kerry crowd are a hostile bunch, and we could do with as many on board as possible. And unlike yesterday, I doubt we will get through that game without as much as a yellow card. That was remarkable.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 832 - 07/02/2022 10:36:26    2398825

Replying To greenfan:  "Plenty people , good donegal gaa supporters have had to emigrate over the years and cannot attend every game. Plenty good gaa supporters have other reasons why they cannot attend every game due to work commitments and other responsibilities. Maybe their health isn't good enough. They're still entitled to express their opinion without being called fools. Just because someone has time to build up over 1000 posts on Hogan Stand doesn't give them the right to attack everyone else who espresses their opinion."
Hang on there these people I called fools are just total keyboard warriors you go through there posts and you might realise what I mean. Didn't see one of them putting up a post yesterday. This forum is about discussing Donegal football not abusing people who have given Donegal football a lot. The majority posters on here are knowledgeable about Donegal football and know what's happening on here.? Standing up for the warriors doesn't shed you in good light my friend. Have a nice day?

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 07/02/2022 10:50:19    2398831

Replying To Green_Gold:  "Great to get win the win yesterday. Like last week, we were excellent in the first half but fell away badly in the second half. There were some really positive performances, Brendan McCole was outstanding and Caolan Ward good. Ban struggled a bit marking Jimmy Hyland but was brilliant going forward, hopefully with Stephen McMenamin back we can release him to the half back line which is his best position. Jason McGee had a towering first half, it was a real turning point when he had to go off, hopefully nothing serious. Caolan McGonagle had another good performance and Conor O'Donnell was excellent. He is really positive in his movement and not afraid to shoot. Another game and another man of the match display from Michael Langan, does this man ever have a bad game? We would be lost if he got injured. I think the move of Ryan McHugh to the forward line is the correct one, although he is still not at his best he picks up some great positions and will get loads of scores.

The second half display was worrying, instead of continuing to push on and put the game to bed we started trying to play keep ball at the back and invited Kildare on to us. It was very similar to last week against Mayo only Kildare missed a lot of good scoring chances. It looks like this is the way we are going to play which in my opinion means we are unlikely to beat one of the big guns in the championship. For a start we are terrible at playing this type of game, secondly the opposition teams know we are vulnerable when we go negative and they are ready to pounce. Its a real shame as there are so many positives and we are so close to being a top bracket team challenging for an All-Ireland. Its quite a while since I retired from playing myself and probably don't understand modern day tactics but its just seems common sense not to change your style of play mid game when you are well ahead. What are the reasons for this - is it too difficult to maintain that momentum for an entire match or are we just trying to be too clever and close out the game? I wouldn't mind if we were good at it but we just aren't, also it drains the life out of the supporters."
It was not that similar to mayo last week. Donegal are winning and playing into a breeze though kildare are playing with most players back. In that circumstance you have to be a bit more cautious on how you attack. The defensive team want to draw you in and turn it over and the use the wind. It's boring and a little frustrating though it make sense.

What was annoying against mayo was when they pushed up Donegal kept trying to play it around at the back and never looked to go long. When Kildare pushed up yesterday Donegal started going long and that was clear. McHugh missed a very simple score near the end from such a play. There were other long kick pass frees from the back as well.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 895 - 07/02/2022 11:45:44    2398853

Replying To JoeSoap:  "I would say that was one to just get the win and move on. I think a better team than Kildare would have reeled us in with that 2nd half showing. They were very wasteful. But we had to contend with a lot of injuries and with the likes of Thompson and Niall O'Donnell not available, the support from the bench was inexperienced. I also wouldn't blame Kildare fans for feeling hard done by from the ref - I thought he was very fussy and called frees for things like over carrying against Kildare but not against us. He also missed a blatant black card for Donegal, gave the free but no black - unless the rules have changed again but it was as clear a cynical rugby tackle as you'll see? Had to be done from a Donegal POV as they were breaking on goal after we coughed up possession cheaply but I was sure it should be a black? It was at a key moment in the game as well as Kildare were within a goal of us.

Conor O'Donnell looks like he has been playing for Donegal for years however. Really impressed with him the past 2 weeks. Brendan McCole also, really impressive I thought. It's a long way from that Meath game. The Kildare folks around me were calling for Flynn to be subbed off at half time which is testament to McCole's job. It was also great to see McMenamin come on as well, he definitely needs the training and game time. With McCole seemingly coming into his own and OMFF in the backline too, I feel like we're slowly getting a bit more steel and good individual defenders there.

I think Eoghan Bán and Langan are now are two most important players. When we fall into that slow lateral play, they are the only two that seem to be able to burst with the ball in hand and make a play. On Eoghan Bán, what a joy it is to watch him in full flight. I hope we make a run in the summer if only to see him on the dry, faster pitches.

Murphy didn't look right from the off, there was one long ball in from Mogan in the first 10 minutes that he was on his heels for, and I think he touched the ball maybe twice before coming off. I hope to god it wasn't another case of him playing with an injury and making it worse. Also feel for Jason McGee, he was having a fine game before his injury, I hope it's not serious.

Overall good to get the win and in a good position in the league now, tough game coming against Kerry and hopefully we'll have lads back and firing with the 2 week break."
As much as it probably should be a black card the rule is to be deliberately" pulled down, tripped or collided with an opponent. The Kildare lad was not deliberately collided with or tripped. He was pulled and tackled illegally but was not pulled down so it's not a black card. Gaa should change the definition as it clearly cynical play but until they do it's not a black card.

Kildare can't go blaming the ref. He didn't kick all them wides.

Ulsterchamps_32 (Donegal) - Posts: 895 - 07/02/2022 12:09:12    2398864

Replying To papa_pump:  "Very much agree with this assessment. Particularly when you consider that our average number of points conceded in last years league was 19.75 between our four games. And by the time we got to championship, while I believe we didn't look great at the back against Down (we didn't have to!) by the time we played Derry and Tyrone it wasn't our defending that lost us those matches, it was stuttering forwards against Derry and it was playing 40 minutes with 14 men in 30+ heat against Tyrone.

Part of that is that McCole looks a lot more settled now at full back, McFadden Ferry has had more time training and playing this year and Caolan Ward is a class act. I like McMenamin but you'd start to worry that injuries will hold him back. If we can be blessed with a clean bill of health I think we have a more than capable group of men from 2-7. We don't need them to be like the mayo backs from the 2010's, we just need a defensive structure that is competent enough to keep us in games and I think we're close to having that."
Yeah defensively a few players seem to be stepping up, McCole has definitely improved significantly in the last 2 years, McFadden Ferry seems to be regaining his pace and Caolan Ward is definitely looking at a Championship run based on his McKenna Cup and League performances so far. Tony McClenaghan is close at wing back, with Eoghan Ban Gallagher always in excellent form. If Stephen McMenamin and Paul Brennan are fully fit, I think we could have a really strong back six with cover.

Left Corner forward is a problem area, with Jamie Brennan and Oisin Gallen both having injuries, I think a lot will depend on those two getting fit again. They are very different types of forwards, meaning if you replace one with the other, it causes headaches in the oppositions full back line.

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1406 - 07/02/2022 13:13:03    2398892

Replying To papa_pump:  "Very much agree with this assessment. Particularly when you consider that our average number of points conceded in last years league was 19.75 between our four games. And by the time we got to championship, while I believe we didn't look great at the back against Down (we didn't have to!) by the time we played Derry and Tyrone it wasn't our defending that lost us those matches, it was stuttering forwards against Derry and it was playing 40 minutes with 14 men in 30+ heat against Tyrone.

Part of that is that McCole looks a lot more settled now at full back, McFadden Ferry has had more time training and playing this year and Caolan Ward is a class act. I like McMenamin but you'd start to worry that injuries will hold him back. If we can be blessed with a clean bill of health I think we have a more than capable group of men from 2-7. We don't need them to be like the mayo backs from the 2010's, we just need a defensive structure that is competent enough to keep us in games and I think we're close to having that."
Hi papa_pump: What is causing all these injuries that Donegal players have been picking up. It's happening too frequently to be just "unlucky".

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 07/02/2022 13:20:40    2398897

Replying To AudiMan:  "Hi papa_pump: What is causing all these injuries that Donegal players have been picking up. It's happening too frequently to be just "unlucky"."
Aye it's not entirely bad luck, but there's certainly elements of it in there. Big Hugh's injury is down to bad luck, and in the last 2 or 3 years Bán and Paddy have got major injuries that were freak incidents. Think Jamie Brennan and Neil McGee injuries are to do with the shoulder and the back respectively.

But then as you say there's a serious amount of muscle injuries. No easy answer to that. Front runners would be either the team are overtraining, management are rushing players back before they're ready, or players are letting on to management that they're fit to play when they're not. A lot of players are looking at a drive home of 1hr+ from Convoy after training, and while I'm no physio I'd say that wouldn't be great for the muscles.

We had a lot of ground to make up on the top teams in the last few years in terms of conditioning, so I'd wager it's overtraining/the lads pushing themselves a wee bit too hard. The reality is that to get up to the level of physicality of a Mayo or a Dublin doesn't happen over the course of one winter, it'll take a number of seasons to bear the fruits.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 79 - 07/02/2022 14:13:55    2398937

Replying To rorysboys:  "Hang on there these people I called fools are just total keyboard warriors you go through there posts and you might realise what I mean. Didn't see one of them putting up a post yesterday. This forum is about discussing Donegal football not abusing people who have given Donegal football a lot. The majority posters on here are knowledgeable about Donegal football and know what's happening on here.? Standing up for the warriors doesn't shed you in good light my friend. Have a nice day?"
Kinda ironic that someone with more than 1100 posts in an online forum calls people keyboard warriors.

greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 705 - 07/02/2022 14:18:35    2398939