This is as good and insightful a point that has been made in relationship to the management team/players. And its CONSTRUCTIVE criticism. What's more it is evident in a lot of county teams. What worrying is that this seeping down into club teams as well. Lets look at Donegal. Two of the most natural footballers we have produced in the last 10 years (Odhran McNiallais and Stephen McBrearty) don't play for the county because the set up doesn't support flair players, players that could win a game on their own with their unpredictability. Connolly in Dublin another example. The 'professionalism' of GAA in the last number of years has led to coaches coming in on big money pushing THEIR gameplan and THEIR ideas down players throats. Players are allowed to think for themselves. That is bad enough at county level but what is frightening is seeing it at club level i.e. the Donegal Senior Final last year. One to leave you with - the club that lost the Junior Final in Donegal last year (management) imposed a media band on their players after the semi final. A Junior club lads, where this going to end? peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1262 - 03/02/2022 14:40:13 2398142 Link 0 |
Odhran McNiallais and Stephen McBrearty natural footballers? When are comments like that going to end.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 838 - 03/02/2022 15:11:14 2398153 Link 0 |
Unfortunately we have managers at underage like Luke Barret who put too much emphasis on fitness and defensive football and the skillful players are overlooked cause they don't fit into the 'system'. It's true about it seeping down to clubs. Some of them are paying coaches thousands of euro per year and all these coaches do is work on fitness and set them up to defend zonally. Junior clubs recording games and doing video analysis sessions. The football is coached out of young players, they're afraid to make a mistake or try anything in case they lose the ball because there's a guy on the sideline writing down statistics.
greenfan (Donegal) - Posts: 705 - 03/02/2022 15:34:44 2398158 Link 0 |
Are you saying they're are not? Who would you define as a natural footballer?
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1262 - 03/02/2022 15:39:04 2398162 Link 1 |
Yep. Paralysis by analysis in a lot of cases.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9869 - 03/02/2022 15:48:20 2398166 Link 0 |
I remember reading an interview with MacNiallais after he landed in London pre Covid. Basically said (and fair play to him because I'd say plenty more are thinking it and not saying) that county football had become a chore and the enjoyment had gone out of it. As you say the coaches and managers are getting big bucks but the players are not. They do it and give up their time because they enjoy it, not for financial rewards. Some people would do very well to remember this. I have noticed my own club and neighboring clubs losing players to other sports and activities lately because the craic has been absolutely sucked out of it by these charlatan managers and coaches. And who would blame them? peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1262 - 03/02/2022 16:22:49 2398171 Link 0 |
Ya I was sure I seen him named in their squad so thanks for verifying I wasn't losing my mind. He was injured and picked up something in the McKenna Cup. He is definitely good enough to be at least the first option off the bench in that NUIG team granted their full forward line is probably their strongest. Be interesting to see if he gets any game time at the weekend and if so if he plays in the Sigerson weekend the following especially after Conroy's injury. As for Mark Curran I think you might be right, he is certainly one to watch over the next couple of months. He was very comfortable passing with his foot and is strong in the tackle. In fact he got wrongly penalised for a couple last night. In relation to the Derry game last year and how we set up towards the end. What happened Tuesday night was almost a carbon copy only in that instance it wasn't injury time, LYIT were a man up and NUIG punished with the goal.
panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2882 - 03/02/2022 16:31:52 2398174 Link 0 |
Not even going there, two robotic football players.
countyman2022 (Wexford) - Posts: 838 - 03/02/2022 16:45:40 2398178 Link 0 |
I think that tells us all we need to know. Stick to the hurling lad.
peiledoir20 (Donegal) - Posts: 1262 - 03/02/2022 17:07:50 2398186 Link 2 |
Jamie Brennan was out injured long term and didn't play for Bundoran in the champioship.He only came back in the McKenna cup and got a bang on the knee against Derry.Bonner hopes he might be fit for some game time this week.He is obviously being managed carefully at the momemt.I am sure he would walk on to a university team if he was fit and anxious to play.It is a pity because he was looking good against Derry.
gunman (Donegal) - Posts: 1179 - 03/02/2022 17:28:16 2398191 Link 0 |
Jamie Brennan is just coming back from a bad injury. Hopefully he's back this weekend. Jamie is a fantastic player who is a constant threat and scores a lot of important goals plus the fact that he works so hard . Can't wait to see him and Oisín back.
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 03/02/2022 19:10:49 2398212 Link 1 |
Why not go there if you brought it up? Are you looking for attention?
greatpoint (USA) - Posts: 454 - 03/02/2022 19:14:37 2398213 Link 1 |
This take definitely makes the scrapbook.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9869 - 03/02/2022 19:16:44 2398214 Link 3 |
You getting personal now calling me a fool.debate isn't about that you are obviuosly clutching at straws and know I'm right deep down .you are on here raving about how great a job mgt did on Sunday. They managed to blow a 5 point lead against 14 men way 13/14 mins left way backward passing. Every paper this week and pundits saying we are soft and throw in towel too quickly under current regime. If you don't like it being spelt out to you then stop getting personal. Not doing you any favours
marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 04/02/2022 09:35:41 2398253 Link 8 |
Stop behaving like a fool and I might reconsider lol. This forum is about Donegal football not a anti management forum. You can't answer one question I ask you. Il try again who's not on panel that should be and who's on you don't rate. I see your back liking your posts a bit childish every post you put up you like.ha
rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 04/02/2022 10:56:07 2398275 Link 0 |
Thanks gun. Yes I knew he missed the club campaign and only returned in the McKenna Cup just wasn't sure if he indeed was in NUIG. I doubt he be named in that squad if unavailable for them. But of course Donegal would be his priority. Maybe if he gets game time at the weekend he might play in the semi final. I am intrigued to see how he would do with NUIG.
panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2882 - 04/02/2022 12:17:18 2398294 Link 0 |
Yeah you'd imagine that especially now with Tommy Conroy out injured that Brennan would automatically slot into that forward position to replace him. Provided he's injury free of course.
Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9869 - 04/02/2022 16:22:52 2398326 Link 0 |
Hopefully we'll get plenty support behind the boys for Sunday, it'll be all needed, conditions will be poor but it's winter football. Passionate support have carried mayo over the line on many occasions so it's about time we support the lads from start to finish. rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 04/02/2022 17:16:17 2398336 Link 0 |
Vital we win this one at home on Sunday, Kildare are coming into this game confident and if we collapse again in the second half it's going to be a very tough league for us. Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 3316 - 04/02/2022 18:25:27 2398347 Link 0 |
I'm not going to start slating players, that's not my style , but I know we need Gavin mulreaney in as sub keeper, likes of Aaron deeney Liam Paul ferry in for man marking and bit of steel, Michael Carroll best midfielder in county, kane Barrett , Stephen mcbrearty is playing best ball ever and odhran macniallias but can't blame him as manager refused to start him in big games last year even thou he most skilful player in county. Mot bad picking from abd old fool lol . I don't proclaim to be an expert and know club fball inside out there is more than likely more from intermediate/junior but above names bring a bit of steel that our current set don't seem to think we need .we appoint a mgt team to find these players and attract them in. We have a softness and naivity, the whole country sees it apart from you and we know where it's coming from. And if you don't you know less about fball than I thought you did.
marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 04/02/2022 18:42:59 2398349 Link 2 |