Donegal GAA thread

Complete overreaction here on yesterday's game. I was up at it in the terrace and can't tell you how difficult the conditions were for 20 minutes of the second half. Some things to note
1. Mc Brearty shipped a very heavy knock in the first half by two Mayo players and wasn't right after.
2. We played some great passages of play especially when we kicked the ball in.
3. We need to be more clinical for goals. We missed the peno and a number of other goal chances. Our overall shooting was good.
4. We didn't have a man marker to mark Tommy Conroy.
5. Eoin Ban needs to be out of the full back line.
6. As big as Murphy is, he needed to let the ball go quicker in the second half but overall he was immense.
7. We should have either went long with second half kick outs or pulled some of our bigger men to sweep and drive out with short kick outs.
8. Langan is top quality.

Overall I was disappointed we lost a point but thought our transition play has improved since the Mc Kenna Cup. It's the first game, big one now at home v Kildare. It's a must win.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1677 - 31/01/2022 12:25:47    2397438

I actually though we did well yesterday bar the last 15 mins. If Ryan mchugh gives a better pass to patton from the free at the end then we would of won the game. You could see a few players gassed out near the end and that's when mistakes happen. A win this weekend would put us in a decent position.

crnm (Donegal) - Posts: 101 - 31/01/2022 12:29:46    2397440

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "I don't quite remember the League game that year but if you are referring to the championship game we did not cave in we got a 16 point hammering.

As for yesterday not much I can add that is not already been mentioned its just very disappointing and a shame that we just can't see out games. Personally looking at the other teams and considering we are going to Dublin and Kerry I believe we will be playing Division 2 football next year.

**SEASON TICKET HOLDERS**
I would recommend looking at your online account as my ticket was definitely not scanned yesterday and I believe multiple other were not either."
I thought they have now done away with minimum attendance now for the €150 season ticket?

Commodore (Donegal) - Posts: 1405 - 31/01/2022 13:23:30    2397464

Replying To naomh_conaill_4:  "I don't quite remember the League game that year but if you are referring to the championship game we did not cave in we got a 16 point hammering.

As for yesterday not much I can add that is not already been mentioned its just very disappointing and a shame that we just can't see out games. Personally looking at the other teams and considering we are going to Dublin and Kerry I believe we will be playing Division 2 football next year.

**SEASON TICKET HOLDERS**
I would recommend looking at your online account as my ticket was definitely not scanned yesterday and I believe multiple other were not either."
Hi naomh _conaill_4: Attendance records are irrelevant this year as regards the ST and games quota for All Ireland final ticket. There's a criteria on opt out levels come championship time but they will have a record of that anyway through the purchase payments. I'd say Croker's head was done in with the whole attendance thing.

AudiMan (Donegal) - Posts: 687 - 31/01/2022 13:36:00    2397469

That was a crazy game, we played brilliant for the first 50 minutes or so but terrible the last 20. It was the mirror opposite of last week when we finished strongly. If we could put a full 70+ minutes together then we would be difficult to beat. I thought we were doing great in the first half, just didn't take our goal chances. We played a few direct balls into Murphy and McBrearty and it was working a treat. Conor O'Donnell was very good and thought Jason McGee looked more like himself when he came on. Michael Langan is simply outstanding, he is man-of-the-match or thereabouts in every game these past few years. Michael Murphy looks back to near his best which is great, spent a lot of time at full forward and its clearly his best position.

Why did we revert back to type in the final 15 minutes, trying to keep the ball and not going forward? Did the management tell them to do this or was it the players themselves? Its easy to blame the manager but I think the players have to take some responsibility, especially our experienced lads. It ultimately cost us the win. Any time we won a free, we just looked to kick it backwards and invite pressure on ourselves. Hugh McFadden was a miss in the latter part of the game I felt as he always makes himself available for a short free kick. I still think we will survive in Div one with winnable home games to come.

I did think it was time for a change of manager at the end of last year but I don't think there is any point discussing his position now after one league game. Nobody sacks their manager mid season in GAA, its far too early to judge, let the season pan out. The championship is going to tell us how good we are and its a tough opener against Armagh.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1916 - 31/01/2022 18:51:24    2397589

Replying To rorysboys:  "Yea I didn't see bonner or rochford missing the penalty. I feel the best players are there bar gallen Brennan and mc menamin who are injured. Maybe we're not as good as the posters on here think. I think management are doing well, must say we were set up well and if hennelly hadn't kicked that last point the fools wudnt be on here ha. I must say most of the posters are knowledgeable but it's the few idiots that wudnt know how to kick a ball you know who's are that turn this forum into a joke."
Ifs, buts and maybes you must be related to bonner lol...all he could say for yesterday was that he thought one of mayos scores were wide.
Shocking...everyone now is tired of these excuses.
If you think that mgt team doing well with talent and players at disposal, your knowledge of fball is very poor.

marty234 (Donegal) - Posts: 158 - 31/01/2022 20:06:48    2397600

We've learned nothing. In Castlebar 2019, we couldn't adapt our style to the conditions. The ball was far too slippery to build up with handpasses, and while we'd been having success with off the shoulder runs, it was like carrying a bar of soap into contact. Even Murphy fell victim that day, often getting softened up by a big Shoulder from O'Shea with Keegan swooping in to make off with the ball.

Why then in the last 15 minutes yesterday are we handpassing around the backs and the keeper? When you eliminate the threat of a ball over the top, that just invites Mayo to press with all 14 men. The only way that gets resolved then is to either boot it back to them or to get turned over. How many times did we see our lads getting turned over by 3 men out by the touchline? That's no accident like. In every game we play we struggle with momentum, it's just against weaker teams we are able to leverage our superb squad. It's very much under a manager's remit to be responsible for riding those storms, and time again this managerial ticket has shown an inability to do it. Ye can blame the players but if it was as simple as that there'd be no need for a manager. Whatever about Bonner, Rochford couldnt see out a match when it mattered down in Mayo either, despite having quite possibly the second best panel of players to ever play the game at his disposal.

Look at Dublin. Under Jim Gavin, if a game was getting away from them he'd always know who to bring on or what to say. Dublin are rudderless under Farrell with much the same panel.

Positives from yesterday: Murphy was unplayable, and we were much more productive in the tackle and looked more assured in our marking. That is important progress that we need to make and have needed to make for some time. Unfortunately it'll count for nothing if we can't start seeing out important games.

papa_pump (Donegal) - Posts: 79 - 31/01/2022 21:38:57    2397611

Replying To marty234:  "Ifs, buts and maybes you must be related to bonner lol...all he could say for yesterday was that he thought one of mayos scores were wide.
If you think that mgt team doing well with talent and players at disposal, your knowledge of fball is very poor."
It was the second last score of the game, I was directly in line with it, and it was wide. Poor officiating decided the outcome of the game. The narrative would be very different if the correct decision had been made.

themaddog (Wicklow) - Posts: 165 - 01/02/2022 08:46:59    2397623

Replying To marty234:  "Ifs, buts and maybes you must be related to bonner lol...all he could say for yesterday was that he thought one of mayos scores were wide.
If you think that mgt team doing well with talent and players at disposal, your knowledge of fball is very poor."
I don't need to be connected to bonner to appreciate what he has done for Donegal football. I am a follower of Donegal football whether it's Gary Duffy the Barrets or maxi I support and back them all. I don't have agendas I want Donegal doin well. In my eyes bonner is doing a good job . You see clubs all over Ireland struggling to get managers. I tell you one thing too bonner is probably getting little financial reward for doing it, he comes across as being in it for the right reasons. So Marty low balll just climb back under your rock like a good boy. If you want to discuss Donegal football I'm quite willing to debate with you although any question I asked you before you cudnt answer. Fool ha. Wee question what manager has win every under age title in ulster from 15 s to senior plus an intermediate and a senior club championship.

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 01/02/2022 08:58:33    2397624

Firstly, you would naturally have to be disappointed after giving away the victory on Sunday. But it wasn't unexpected, our tactics in these situations over the years almost always turn into a kind of self fulfilling prophecy. I thought what was also evident on Sunday was that we didn't have the legs for the full 70 - 75 minutes, and when you combine these tactics with the lack of energy we were always going to come under pressure. We will have to develop a new system for when these situations occur in the future. I see Brendan Devenney in the Democrat online with an article on this, and advocates kicking the ball in long to Michael Murphy. While I feel that this would not have worked on Sunday, due to the wind and rain blowing in our faces at that stage. But, it may be the basis of a tactical plan in the future. It's a bit like the scenario in rugby, where a team coming under pressure kicks for territory, or in soccer going for the corner flag to take time off the clock. At least then the opposition have to break over 100 metres, and not 30 metres like on Sunday. Going back to my original thoughts, we just made it too easy for Mayo to turn us over, and in the wrong areas.
But it's not all doom and gloom, we played very well for a good period of the match on Sunday, and we have been progressing with every game, and each game has been a nice stepping stone in terms of the ability of the teams we faced. Down were shocking, Antrim were much improved, Derry a step up in class on them, Monaghan a step up in intensity, and Mayo a step up in terms of ability and intensity. So, hopefully this Sunday we should secure the 2 points from Kildare.
On individual performances, Ryan McHugh and to a lesser extent Ciaran Thompson have not been themselves, but it is January. Jason McGee is a monster, but is too passive, he needs to use his size and strength to influence the play. I thought that Tony McClenaghan was poor on Sunday after some impressive displays in the McKenna Cup. Caolan Ward has been playing very well, whilst Brendan McCole, Odhrán McFadden Ferry have been developing, and Peadar Mogan very impressive. Much to ponder, great to have competitive foot all back.

SouthOfTheGap (Donegal) - Posts: 831 - 01/02/2022 10:34:08    2397643

A frustrating result given the position we found ourselves in second half. If McBrearty nailed the penalty it was lights out for Mayo. I wonder are penalties being practiced at training? Obviously there are more fundamental things to be worked on but I couldn't help but think of what may lie ahead in the Championship. Ulster will be even more competitive than usual and I believe games must finish on the day. No harm having 5 designated lads taking 10 or so a session in preparation.

We do seem to have a problem with ruthless conviction. There have been several instances over the years e.g. Tyrone at home in 2018, Mayo away in Castlebar in 2019, Ulster final in 2020 etc where we've found ourselves in a great position to really push on. But for whatever reason we seem unable to bridge the gap. I'm not sure if that's management, player mindset or what. But in the eyes of the pundits we've definitely regressed back into that nice Donegal team with plenty of talent but when it comes down to the nitty gritty we're found wanting.

Until we discover that edge, nastiness, know-how or whatever you want to call it we'll continue to the be the ones with our faces against the window looking in at the Dublins, Kerrys, Tyrones and Mayos competing for the biggest prizes.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9869 - 01/02/2022 10:45:03    2397644

Interesting listening to Brendan deveny , Cassidy and Keith Higgins on dvs podcast last night. Him and Cassidy were saying that the way club football is played in Donegal this last 10 years is a contribary factor in why we're not producing defenders like Karl Lacey and the mc gees anymore . Club football is too defensive and young defenders are not having to go man to man . Then when we play the top county teams we are not fit to go man to man. I totally agree instead of blaming management and players all the time the demise of man to man marking is entirely down to how our clubs play. This years county final a prime example. It's time clubs get back to playing attacking football because club football in Donegal is a bore fest..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 01/02/2022 12:17:50    2397672

Replying To rorysboys:  "Interesting listening to Brendan deveny , Cassidy and Keith Higgins on dvs podcast last night. Him and Cassidy were saying that the way club football is played in Donegal this last 10 years is a contribary factor in why we're not producing defenders like Karl Lacey and the mc gees anymore . Club football is too defensive and young defenders are not having to go man to man . Then when we play the top county teams we are not fit to go man to man. I totally agree instead of blaming management and players all the time the demise of man to man marking is entirely down to how our clubs play. This years county final a prime example. It's time clubs get back to playing attacking football because club football in Donegal is a bore fest.."
Agreed. Kick passing the ball is another facet of the game that has been neglected I think. Some players wouldn't dare attempt a kick pass inside to an inside forward becuase possession is king.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9869 - 01/02/2022 13:18:12    2397693

I have been reading the above posts over the last of couple of days and i have to say that while club football is the way it is in Donegal the reality is that over the last two years we have regressed. We have absolutely no kicking game whatsoever and how we are not able to keep at least two players up to act as target men is beyond me.
Our unwillingness to counter attack when we do turn ball over is extremally frustrating, even when we win it in good areas and have numbers we alls alls turn back and keep the ball. I know it seems to be a tactic to control the ball a lot but not every single time. Lastly there are a couple of experienced players that need a couple of big months. Especially up front.

IN_THRU (Donegal) - Posts: 23 - 01/02/2022 13:42:55    2397705

Any word on Gallen,Mc Menamin,Hugh Mc Fadden and Jamie Brennan.We could do with them.

I thought we done ok on Sunday,We had difficulty breaking the high Mayo press in the second half.

At least we have Ballybofey for most of our home games.No a great Donegal support on Sunday,I think all our games should be in Ballybofey as it suites all Donegal supporters and get people back in droves supporting out team

ifindoubt (Donegal) - Posts: 133 - 01/02/2022 14:35:54    2397728

Replying To IN_THRU:  "I have been reading the above posts over the last of couple of days and i have to say that while club football is the way it is in Donegal the reality is that over the last two years we have regressed. We have absolutely no kicking game whatsoever and how we are not able to keep at least two players up to act as target men is beyond me.
Our unwillingness to counter attack when we do turn ball over is extremally frustrating, even when we win it in good areas and have numbers we alls alls turn back and keep the ball. I know it seems to be a tactic to control the ball a lot but not every single time. Lastly there are a couple of experienced players that need a couple of big months. Especially up front."
Having Rochford joining management team coincided with Donegal regressing. Got lucky as Mayo manager. Won absolutely nothing with them not even a provincial title. Cost them an All Ireland with goalkeeper change. Cant understand how Donegal have him still involved.
The talent in that Donegal panel and ye are miles below where they should be. Drawing with a Mayo B team at the weekend. Potential to win an All Ireland in Donegal but can not see it with current management. Bonner should have had a sake up of his team

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1217 - 01/02/2022 14:52:15    2397734

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Agreed. Kick passing the ball is another facet of the game that has been neglected I think. Some players wouldn't dare attempt a kick pass inside to an inside forward becuase possession is king."
In modern day gaelic football, if a player misplaces a kick pass its a hanging offence but you can get turned over multiple times and somehow that is ok. I find it very frustrating looking at club games in Donegal, you would be lucky to see a kick pass at all. Look at Armagh at the weekend, trying to kick pass the ball into Cian O'Neill at every opportunity. Its great to watch and also really effective. If he played for Donegal he would be toiling out the pitch. We have numerous men who can play target man alongside McBrearty - Murphy, Langan, Jason McGee, McGonagle and Thompson could all play that role. Why not try something different?

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1916 - 01/02/2022 15:25:21    2397747

Replying To Green_Gold:  "In modern day gaelic football, if a player misplaces a kick pass its a hanging offence but you can get turned over multiple times and somehow that is ok. I find it very frustrating looking at club games in Donegal, you would be lucky to see a kick pass at all. Look at Armagh at the weekend, trying to kick pass the ball into Cian O'Neill at every opportunity. Its great to watch and also really effective. If he played for Donegal he would be toiling out the pitch. We have numerous men who can play target man alongside McBrearty - Murphy, Langan, Jason McGee, McGonagle and Thompson could all play that role. Why not try something different?"
Definitely. We've always traditionally been a running team. But surely when you possess one of the best full forwards to ever play the game a strategy could be developed to isolate him inside and hit him with good early ball? Exhibit A - All Ireland Final 2012.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9869 - 01/02/2022 16:08:53    2397762

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Definitely. We've always traditionally been a running team. But surely when you possess one of the best full forwards to ever play the game a strategy could be developed to isolate him inside and hit him with good early ball? Exhibit A - All Ireland Final 2012."
Teams will not let Murphy get isolated inside. I think it was Thompson that him him a high ball in to him early in the game on Sunday last but he had at least three men round him. That's the way county football has gone if they lose possession they funnel back in numbers and Michael seems to sense this and that's why I think he doesn't stay long at full forward. Any game he started this year he started full forward but never seems to stay there long. I would love to see him stay there but he's such a valuable player that he does a lot of great work out the pitch too.. I would love to see us trying to get a full forward who can win his own ball and can kick a score. Michael langan fits the bill but then you would be losing his ability to kick long range points. If only we could unearth a Kieran donaghy..

rorysboys (Donegal) - Posts: 2643 - 01/02/2022 16:47:01    2397772

Replying To rorysboys:  "Teams will not let Murphy get isolated inside. I think it was Thompson that him him a high ball in to him early in the game on Sunday last but he had at least three men round him. That's the way county football has gone if they lose possession they funnel back in numbers and Michael seems to sense this and that's why I think he doesn't stay long at full forward. Any game he started this year he started full forward but never seems to stay there long. I would love to see him stay there but he's such a valuable player that he does a lot of great work out the pitch too.. I would love to see us trying to get a full forward who can win his own ball and can kick a score. Michael langan fits the bill but then you would be losing his ability to kick long range points. If only we could unearth a Kieran donaghy.."
Think thats what they were trying with mcguinness at the mckenna cup, he got a fair run at it but it just doesn't happen over night. He's definitely physical enough for full forward position just his handling let him down at times, wouldn't be atall surprised yet to see him on Sunday.

Tyrion (Donegal) - Posts: 170 - 01/02/2022 18:00:26    2397789