Longford GAA thread

Yes it is clear that Colmcille and St Columba are far superior to the rest of the teams. In saying that maybe Killoe will improve and Abbeylara are always tough to beat. Hopefully we have a great championship with some players emerging for the county team.

LslashersFanatic (Longford) - Posts: 22 - 11/07/2022 11:04:59    2431298

Fair play to Colmcille. Second ACFL1 title in three years is no mean feat. They should push on and give the Leader Cup a serious go now. They haven't won it for over 30 years and it would be a major confidence boost ahead of Championship. Colmcille and Mullinalaghta are the teams to beat this year, no question. If the draw breaks right it would be a great final pairing, and I wouldn't rule out this being Colmcilles year. Perhaps, like Kerry, they are learning how to push on and win games they might have lost in previous years. There is a title there for them if they can seize the opportunity, but Mullinalaghta as always will be hard bet in Championship. Well done to the county board for getting the ACFL and Leader Cup done before the Championship. I'm the first to criticise Leader Cup being played in the cold and dark Christmas season, so credit where it is due. I can't recall the last time it was all done before Championship. Lets make a habit of it.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 11/07/2022 12:23:04    2431340

Well done colmcille I wonder though are they like the teen at prom busting there nut too soon! They are contenders though. Its a three horse race now with them mullinlaghta and killoe. Killoe played that league with half a team for most of it and I hear will have everyone when it counts. Going to be interesting

slasher9 (Longford) - Posts: 233 - 11/07/2022 14:08:03    2431394

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Fair play to Colmcille. Second ACFL1 title in three years is no mean feat. They should push on and give the Leader Cup a serious go now. They haven't won it for over 30 years and it would be a major confidence boost ahead of Championship. Colmcille and Mullinalaghta are the teams to beat this year, no question. If the draw breaks right it would be a great final pairing, and I wouldn't rule out this being Colmcilles year. Perhaps, like Kerry, they are learning how to push on and win games they might have lost in previous years. There is a title there for them if they can seize the opportunity, but Mullinalaghta as always will be hard bet in Championship. Well done to the county board for getting the ACFL and Leader Cup done before the Championship. I'm the first to criticise Leader Cup being played in the cold and dark Christmas season, so credit where it is due. I can't recall the last time it was all done before Championship. Lets make a habit of it."
Agree... finally in all my years following local GAA I can praise the county board and say they got something right! to see all the leagues finish before championship starts is music to every clubs ears! no more trying to pull club players out in November after a long championship(for some)...
hopefully they will see this working and stick to it!

Garmin (Longford) - Posts: 87 - 11/07/2022 14:22:06    2431409

Great win for Colmcille over Mullinalaghta. They always put it up to them. Harkins getting a good response. Championship will tell if they have broken into the Killoe /Mullinalaghta two horse race of recent years

Rhyne_Stonecowboy (Longford) - Posts: 52 - 12/07/2022 08:43:51    2431569

It was a decent league final with two very good teams. I'd agree too that its best to have it finished before the championship. Too many league finals have been played at the time of year where the same interest isn't there from the players.

What are people's thoughts on the Senior Championship? I think the winners will be from the obvious Mullinachta, Killoe or Colmcille. I saw Killoe twice this year and they didn't look great but they were missing a lot of players on both occasions so league form is probably not a reflection on where they are at.

Outside of those three, I think this year's dark horses are Slashers, Dromard and Mostrim.

I think the top 4 from group 2 will be; 1. Colmcille 2. Killoe 3. Abbeylara 4. Clonguish
I think the top 4 from group 1 will be: 1. Mullinachta 2. Dromard 3. Slashers 4. Mostrim

Relegation will definitely be Killashee.

Intermediate Championship: Fr Manning Gaels
Junior Championship: Harder to guess here, but I think it'll be one of Ballymore, Grattan Óg, Killoe or Colmcille.

Mull93 (Longford) - Posts: 119 - 12/07/2022 16:27:12    2431724

Replying To Mull93:  "It was a decent league final with two very good teams. I'd agree too that its best to have it finished before the championship. Too many league finals have been played at the time of year where the same interest isn't there from the players.

What are people's thoughts on the Senior Championship? I think the winners will be from the obvious Mullinachta, Killoe or Colmcille. I saw Killoe twice this year and they didn't look great but they were missing a lot of players on both occasions so league form is probably not a reflection on where they are at.

Outside of those three, I think this year's dark horses are Slashers, Dromard and Mostrim.

I think the top 4 from group 2 will be; 1. Colmcille 2. Killoe 3. Abbeylara 4. Clonguish
I think the top 4 from group 1 will be: 1. Mullinachta 2. Dromard 3. Slashers 4. Mostrim

Relegation will definitely be Killashee.

Intermediate Championship: Fr Manning Gaels
Junior Championship: Harder to guess here, but I think it'll be one of Ballymore, Grattan Óg, Killoe or Colmcille."
Abbeylara need to be included in the dark horses, moreso than Dromard or Mostrim I reckon. Abbey will fancy themselves able to take down a couple of 'big' sides this year, and they very well might. Can't see beyond Colmcille or Mullinalaghta for the title, both are in superb form. Killoe have shown no form so far and will be hoping a return to full strength for the first time come championship, gives them an edge. But i'm not convinced.

Ardagh Moydow might be a good bet for Intermediate. Been knocking on the door for a couple of years now, so if they can get themselves together I would fancy them for it.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 12/07/2022 20:30:04    2431764

Disappointing to see a couple of walkovers at the weekend in games you would think were important. Colmcille conceded the playoff at the top of ACFL3 to Ballymore, while in Patsy Reilly Cup semi-final Ardagh Moydow conceded to Kenagh. Long way to get into those competitions to then not compete when you are on the cusp of silverware.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 12/07/2022 20:38:35    2431767

The senior championship looks to be exciting this year, as per 1.Mullinalaghta 2.Colmcille 3. Killoe - full team back and they will be strong 4. Slashers - young team with a few experience heads 5. Dromard - are going well this year 6. Abbeylara - always around for the business end of championship! after that its 100% Killashee for relegation, there could be some embarrassing score lines put up against them! are we looking at them possibly handing walk overs?

Intermediate will be one of fr manning gaels, ardagh/moydow or connellys, with the gaels in my opinion probably coming through! but this could also be a good championship with ballymahon and kenagh looking to do well!

Junior will be Ballymore or grattans front runners as they are 1st teams but Colmcille looking strong at junior level in the league and also Killoe are always strong at this level!

Garmin (Longford) - Posts: 87 - 13/07/2022 09:54:37    2431786

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Disappointing to see a couple of walkovers at the weekend in games you would think were important. Colmcille conceded the playoff at the top of ACFL3 to Ballymore, while in Patsy Reilly Cup semi-final Ardagh Moydow conceded to Kenagh. Long way to get into those competitions to then not compete when you are on the cusp of silverware."
Agree about the walkovers... very disappointing to see this! especially when its still 3 weeks out from championship, what is the point in trying to do well in the league when you are going to hand a walkover at the final stages? surely there is reason for this? I see last weekend in Roscommon strokestown handed a walkover to creggs in the Div 3 League final because strokestown had something planned for the weekend of the final! surely this can be avoided with so much time before championship starts? or could it be teams not wanting to step up a division?

Garmin (Longford) - Posts: 87 - 13/07/2022 10:03:55    2431795

What is going on with kilashee? They are relegated from division 2! That says theyd be struggling at junior. this is going to be car crash. Usual killoe heads here talking down there chances this year Killoe havent won the league in years never took it seriously there a championship team and with everyone back which they will have they will be right there in contention as always. Mostrim had the bite off the cherry last year it will not happen again for them

slasher9 (Longford) - Posts: 233 - 13/07/2022 10:49:02    2431806

I'm not convinced about Colmcille. They more or less have had all their players during the league and nothing more to add for championship. Great club with a great tradition but I don't think they have anything to trouble the top two in the championship.
Both Killoe and Mullinalaghta might not be fully as strong as they were, but they are the best teams ever to come out of their parishs. It'll take something special for Colmcille to oust what most consider to be two of the greatest teams to play club football n Longford.

Rhyne_Stonecowboy (Longford) - Posts: 52 - 13/07/2022 11:45:17    2431822

Replying To Rhyne_Stonecowboy:  "I'm not convinced about Colmcille. They more or less have had all their players during the league and nothing more to add for championship. Great club with a great tradition but I don't think they have anything to trouble the top two in the championship.
Both Killoe and Mullinalaghta might not be fully as strong as they were, but they are the best teams ever to come out of their parishs. It'll take something special for Colmcille to oust what most consider to be two of the greatest teams to play club football n Longford."
Colmcille has always the potential and will put on great displays throughout the year. However they seem to bottle it on the big day. Last year's semi final an example of that.
This has been a re-occuring theme.
They have the players and bring on new players each year and only have one title to show for it.

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 276 - 13/07/2022 13:03:17    2431846

Replying To Rhyne_Stonecowboy:  "I'm not convinced about Colmcille. They more or less have had all their players during the league and nothing more to add for championship. Great club with a great tradition but I don't think they have anything to trouble the top two in the championship.
Both Killoe and Mullinalaghta might not be fully as strong as they were, but they are the best teams ever to come out of their parishs. It'll take something special for Colmcille to oust what most consider to be two of the greatest teams to play club football n Longford."
Think Colmcille have a few lads missing from last year, Macken, Reilly and the 2 McKeons who were all starters. Not sure if any of them will be back. They probably have the best record against Mullinalaghta over the past few years as any team but do generally mess up against someone else when not expected to.

GAALONGFORD (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 13/07/2022 13:56:23    2431869

Looking at the fixtures for next week and wondering how do the county board manage it!!
Slashers and Colmcille play the Leader cup on Tuesday next week, then 3 days later Colmcille have to play in the championship and Slashers the following day while a load of teams who don't play during the week, don't start championship till Sunday. Colmcille's next match is then the following Sunday! So the break is 3 days and then 9 days. Is there a reason for this strange schedule?

GAALONGFORD (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 14/07/2022 12:43:48    2432040

Replying To GAALONGFORD:  "Looking at the fixtures for next week and wondering how do the county board manage it!!
Slashers and Colmcille play the Leader cup on Tuesday next week, then 3 days later Colmcille have to play in the championship and Slashers the following day while a load of teams who don't play during the week, don't start championship till Sunday. Colmcille's next match is then the following Sunday! So the break is 3 days and then 9 days. Is there a reason for this strange schedule?"
Leader Cup semi final (Colmcille Vs Longford Slashers) is on Tues July 19th. Championship R1 Colmcille Vs Clonguish is on Fri July 29th - 10 days break for Colmcille while Slashers is out Saturday July 30th - 11 days break.
Where is this 3 day break??????
Great to see the Leader Cup semi finals played prior to championship at least.
The reason the Leader Cup match is on the tuesday is that Slashers are playing the weekend before in the hurling championship.

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 276 - 14/07/2022 16:05:28    2432101

Is there any need for the leader cup? The skelly cup pits the top 2 from the division. Are these unnecessary games?

LslashersFanatic (Longford) - Posts: 22 - 14/07/2022 21:32:41    2432137

Replying To B&G:  "Leader Cup semi final (Colmcille Vs Longford Slashers) is on Tues July 19th. Championship R1 Colmcille Vs Clonguish is on Fri July 29th - 10 days break for Colmcille while Slashers is out Saturday July 30th - 11 days break.
Where is this 3 day break??????
Great to see the Leader Cup semi finals played prior to championship at least.
The reason the Leader Cup match is on the tuesday is that Slashers are playing the weekend before in the hurling championship."
Oh yep, my mistake. Read it completely wrong. Thought it couldn't make sense.

GAALONGFORD (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 14/07/2022 21:41:37    2432139

Replying To LslashersFanatic:  "Is there any need for the leader cup? The skelly cup pits the top 2 from the division. Are these unnecessary games?"
the leader cup is the oldest cup in the county, for the sake of three games requiring two extra dates it would be madness to scrap it. With the league the way it's structured in groups and rounds without county players it makes more sense now to have it to get a better picture of who the league champions are as teams can drop points when restricted without their best players but claw it back to get a second place finish and still qualify. we are fine as it is with the three cups we compete for and what better preparation is it for championship, teams would only be playing in house games or challenges on these weekends!

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 212 - 15/07/2022 11:46:08    2432171

Replying To liosbreac6265:  "the leader cup is the oldest cup in the county, for the sake of three games requiring two extra dates it would be madness to scrap it. With the league the way it's structured in groups and rounds without county players it makes more sense now to have it to get a better picture of who the league champions are as teams can drop points when restricted without their best players but claw it back to get a second place finish and still qualify. we are fine as it is with the three cups we compete for and what better preparation is it for championship, teams would only be playing in house games or challenges on these weekends!"
As it stands now, there is no free slot to play the Leader Cup Final until after the championship ( unless the finalists are knocked out early)
What they could do is if the Leader Cup finalists clash in the championship, they might double that fixture as a championship and Leader Cup final match.
Stranger things has happened

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 276 - 15/07/2022 13:38:04    2432216