Longford GAA thread

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Hearing now Christie won't be returning niot conformed but that's talk from some"
You must have a person on the inside. Official now, let's just see if we could secure Mickey Graham before leitrim do.

Look beyond that then if not successful.

Rockshorecider (Longford) - Posts: 23 - 23/07/2024 19:57:08    2561067

PC gone. Time for longford to go internal ?

Bluelake (Westmeath) - Posts: 89 - 23/07/2024 20:32:44    2561074

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Hearing now Christie won't be returning niot conformed but that's talk from some"
Yes he has informed the County executive that he is stepping down.
The search now begins

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 313 - 23/07/2024 20:44:29    2561079

Replying To B&G:  "Yes he has informed the County executive that he is stepping down.
The search now begins"
Lots of talk about mickey Harte incoming

drunkensailor (Longford) - Posts: 80 - 23/07/2024 22:04:17    2561084

Replying To Bluelake:  "PC gone. Time for longford to go internal ?"
Give Mickey Graham a shot he knows Longford football well. That's if he wants the job.

Hitachi (Longford) - Posts: 15 - 24/07/2024 05:38:58    2561116

I wonder why he left it this late to resign? There was no reason in his statement for resigning like work commitments or family reasons. He must be tuning into the hoganstand and reading the comments on here lol With the championship already started and this will likely be a long drawn out process the choices the CB only really have is Mickey Graham or someone local......I can't see Mickey taking it as I think Leitrim will try and nail him down, so who are our options?

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 161 - 24/07/2024 07:20:02    2561117

Replying To Rockshorecider:  "You must have a person on the inside. Official now, let's just see if we could secure Mickey Graham before leitrim do.

Look beyond that then if not successful."
No no just heard from someone yesterday they had heard.

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 391 - 24/07/2024 10:53:21    2561160

Replying To drunkensailor:  "Lots of talk about mickey Harte incoming"
Your name is quite apt

Clonbonnyrabbitt (Longford) - Posts: 36 - 24/07/2024 10:56:28    2561161

Would a certain retirement announcement last weekend be priming himself for an opportunity to follow in the footsteps of Raymond Galligan??
No matter who the CB go for I think it needs to be done and nailed down before knock-out stages of Championship, very important that if its outside or local the full set-up is in place with at least 2 local men/women on the ticket driving it from within, at the moment locally is their any standouts or key figures that could lead it and build a good coaching group m/personell around that.
We need a group that will bring our 20s and seniors together, we have 25/30 good footballers in this county that just need to be encouraged to bring back the pride and honour in playing for your county and the success will come after.
I'd love to see a senior manager with his no.2 being 20s manager and working with a group of 45 lads from 18-35 age profile and building that with S+C structure and coaching from people who care about longford football.

#Putitup (Longford) - Posts: 38 - 24/07/2024 11:53:40    2561187

Replying To #Putitup:  "Would a certain retirement announcement last weekend be priming himself for an opportunity to follow in the footsteps of Raymond Galligan??
No matter who the CB go for I think it needs to be done and nailed down before knock-out stages of Championship, very important that if its outside or local the full set-up is in place with at least 2 local men/women on the ticket driving it from within, at the moment locally is their any standouts or key figures that could lead it and build a good coaching group m/personell around that.
We need a group that will bring our 20s and seniors together, we have 25/30 good footballers in this county that just need to be encouraged to bring back the pride and honour in playing for your county and the success will come after.
I'd love to see a senior manager with his no.2 being 20s manager and working with a group of 45 lads from 18-35 age profile and building that with S+C structure and coaching from people who care about longford football."
Get our man/ your man Peter Foy in as S&C coach with Mickey Quinn. The work he's done with St. Lomans over the past 5 years has been phenomenal.

WmeathWarrior (Westmeath) - Posts: 27 - 24/07/2024 13:54:22    2561226

Inevitable that PC was going to go. Might take a while to fill the role. Very unlikely to be anyone from outside the county. Not a job many would want at the moment.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 533 - 24/07/2024 16:43:08    2561283

Replying To WmeathWarrior:  "Get our man/ your man Peter Foy in as S&C coach with Mickey Quinn. The work he's done with St. Lomans over the past 5 years has been phenomenal."
Before we start appointing a dream management team, remember the County board will appoint a cost effective team (hence the last two appointments). The fact that PC walked rather than been pushed gives an indication for the CB thinks about the county senior team. It's a box ticking exercise to compete and no more. Looking at the attendances at the league matches should raise alarm bells, but didn't.

We are a long way behind everyone else in relation to S&C. That unfortunately will not improve any time soon. Get a local person in who will encourage players to commit and start from there.

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 313 - 24/07/2024 16:46:37    2561284

Replying To B&G:  "Before we start appointing a dream management team, remember the County board will appoint a cost effective team (hence the last two appointments). The fact that PC walked rather than been pushed gives an indication for the CB thinks about the county senior team. It's a box ticking exercise to compete and no more. Looking at the attendances at the league matches should raise alarm bells, but didn't.

We are a long way behind everyone else in relation to S&C. That unfortunately will not improve any time soon. Get a local person in who will encourage players to commit and start from there."
Agree . Its not s and c alone it's football generally quality etc and structure

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 391 - 24/07/2024 17:30:39    2561302

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Inevitable that PC was going to go. Might take a while to fill the role. Very unlikely to be anyone from outside the county. Not a job many would want at the moment."
Good maybe inside county be better most times inside helps Longford big names like Christie is not always needed and didn't help went worse if anything.

Can't see dubs ever wanting him with what he did here.

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 391 - 24/07/2024 17:34:01    2561304

Replying To B&G:  "Before we start appointing a dream management team, remember the County board will appoint a cost effective team (hence the last two appointments). The fact that PC walked rather than been pushed gives an indication for the CB thinks about the county senior team. It's a box ticking exercise to compete and no more. Looking at the attendances at the league matches should raise alarm bells, but didn't.

We are a long way behind everyone else in relation to S&C. That unfortunately will not improve any time soon. Get a local person in who will encourage players to commit and start from there."
Hard to disagree with any of that.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 533 - 24/07/2024 20:21:01    2561330

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Inevitable that PC was going to go. Might take a while to fill the role. Very unlikely to be anyone from outside the county. Not a job many would want at the moment."
Same as ours. Will be a titanic struggle to stay in div3. Can only hope our CB don't approach him, doesn't not seem to have brought ye on anything but if the price is right he will likely be considered.
An inside man is likely best as ye have good young lads coming through, right man would keep ye ticking over until they are ready. Sean O'Hagan or P Davis managing anyone these days?

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 534 - 24/07/2024 22:33:50    2561361

Unfortunately for Leitrim I think yee will take Mickey Graham from us. It's prob a better challenge than the Leitrim one at the moment. You had a really good run at minor level so the coaching structures are in place. Graham has worked in Longford club football and was really successful and obviously managed the Cavan senior team. I think if he is approach he will take it. It leaves Leitrim starting from scratch if it happens

lugdrum (Leitrim) - Posts: 350 - 24/07/2024 23:05:09    2561369

Is this not a huge embarrassment to the Co.Board? A week ago they ratified PC for another year (Obviously without speaking to each other), only for him to walk away this week. And he walked right after one of his main players announced his retirement (Possibly retired because of PC being there for another year). All these decision may be unlinked, but it leads to gossip and lies spreading, and is a damning refection on the Co.Board regardless. Again it is a lack of clarity which could be cleared up by a good PRO making a few announcements. Hopefully they can appoint someone with a reasonable record within the county, give them 3 or 4 years to build back up a bit of confidence with young players coming through, Whatever we try, we cannot go any further downhill.

botheyesclosed (Longford) - Posts: 117 - 25/07/2024 09:32:34    2561406

Who locally do you look for ? The manager needs to be someone that will be respected by club players and will put structures in place with county board from 1st meeting. I was speaking to a player yesterday who said they were waiting on a Tuesday afternoon to see if they had to go to Dublin to train or if it would be local, the week before meath championship they trained in Forgney, Pitch was only cut for them and loads of holes and bumps.
Who-ever comes in needs to Dictate the standards and not be a yes man, then the players will follow that and can have no excuses, the setanta group should be already workingwith any u20 and senior players that were involved to be screening as much as possible to see where they are through club season. He doesn't have to be a coach, there is 3r4 really good coaches in the county but also it can be a good outside coach.
If it was to be outside the county manager obviously Mickey Graham is no.1 but after that is it a Luke Dempsey, Fergal O'Donnell or Dermot McCabe that have been in Longford club football before and not just a name that has no real attachment.
Locally then you have a number of lads that have been in there at some level before selectors or u20s.

#Putitup (Longford) - Posts: 38 - 25/07/2024 13:29:53    2561490

Fergal O'Donnells time in charge of Killoe did not go well at all. Dermot McCabe would be an interesting choice but I don't see that happening. Locally I don't really know who the CB would be looking at. Hagan, Johnston, Twaddle, Coy. Would the bold Frankie be a wild card option? We could bring Kieran Donaghy back closer to Kerry lol

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 161 - 25/07/2024 15:08:46    2561528