Longford GAA thread

Replying To TurnipAyter:  "
Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "Don't think anyone would begrudge hurling getting a separate cut. The letter from JP (i.e. the leaked Roscommon one which you can google) seemed clear on the split... "to be evenly divided and distributed amongst the GAA, Camogie and Ladies clubs". Handball & Rounders are sections of the GAA Club and in Longford the three clubs that play hurling are dual club, so that's all 1 GAA club. If CB decided to treat the hurling as separate, I don't think that's a bad thing. It's not like anyone else is going to be coming with bags of money for hurling in Longford anytime soon, and if those clubs are making that extra effort year-on-year then fair enough. Since we don't have Camogie clubs, and assuming the Forgney stuff above is true, that means the split would be 22 football and 3 hurling and 16 ladies clubs sharing the pot. That would mean clubs getting around €24k each (or €48k each for Clonguish, Slashers and Mostrim GAA clubs) and it would be up to each club to then decide how to flow it down to each section of their club (including handball & rounders). I don't know what any club got, so that is just a guess at the numbers."
22 football (including Forgney), 3 hurling, and 15 ladies' clubs, leaving €25,000 per cheque."
Is that how it ended up?

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 08/03/2024 18:21:58    2530362

Replying To Clonee_Kicker:  "I can't understand Forgney putting in a claim for a cut of the money at all. They're not competing and haven't got the usual costs clubs have like physios, manager or mileage. A lot of clubs work hard to raise funds to keep going.
Fair play to any club who continue to promote any or all of our GAA games. Should hurling and football teams be counted separately? They pride themselves on being 'dual clubs' but are separate when it suits."
If you have an issue with the way the money was split, you should write to JP McManus to inform him how the 32 million should be correctly divided.

He quite clearly stated that football, hurling, ladies football and camogie clubs should each receive this funding.

backtoback2 (Longford) - Posts: 26 - 08/03/2024 21:48:02    2530382

I think Lios Breac is right and CloneeKicker is a bit sour over the whole lot. The 3 hurling clubs facilitate players from other clubs who want to play hurling because their own clubs couldn't be bothered trying to get hurling started. So why should these clubs not get a bit extra for the extra work they put in?

You also came at Lios Breac about handball and rounders. Just for your info, Clonguish started rounders and handball for underage players 2 years ago!!!

I think you'd be better off trying to get even one of these extra 3 sports set up in Killoe and ye might get a better split of the next pot. Ye just want all the other clubs do all the work and you pick up the same cheque at the end of the day. You're the typical class dosser involved in a joint project that goes awol and then shows up at the last minute to take a share of the marks!!!

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 111 - 09/03/2024 01:25:50    2530394

FYI, the split ended up being:

22 football
3 hurling
16 ladies

So each got €24,360. There was a piece in the Indo about it a couple of weeks ago by Colm Keys. He noted that the deadline for allocation was Jan 31st and he had info on the split because boards had informed the Foundation as to their distribution breakdown by the time of his article. There was no five-way split as mentioned by someone earlier. Handball and rounders are sections of the GAA club, so it is up to each club how they want to flow their €24,360 down to their respective sections. The article also mentions that Longford was one of a number of counties which made separate payments to hurling clubs that are part of the same GAA club - that decision was not driven by the fact that lads from other areas play for those three hurling clubs, which has been the case for decades.

Here's the article for anyone interested: link

PS - Killoe had hurling back when almost nobody did back when the game began in Longford at the start of the last century and won a senior championship. Was involved in schools hurling in the late 1950's when that began and took part in the U14 Championship at end of the 1970's when there was a revival of hurling at underage in Longford (most clubs didn't keep it going though). Then had a team in U12 competition and schools indoor hurling in the late 1990's when another revival happened and hosted a hurling blitz at the time in Emmet Park involving teams from multiple counties to try and promote and grow the game in the parish. It didn't take hold, but that is the same for most clubs in the county. The local school continues to make attempts to get kids into the game, and a club meeting was held late last year to look at the possibility of starting up hurling again. But you take you swipe!

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 09/03/2024 11:40:40    2530429

I can't understand how a club can be seen to be an active football club if they don't play any games. Seems bizarre from the outside.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1016 - 09/03/2024 12:57:50    2530442

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "FYI, the split ended up being:

22 football
3 hurling
16 ladies

So each got €24,360. There was a piece in the Indo about it a couple of weeks ago by Colm Keys. He noted that the deadline for allocation was Jan 31st and he had info on the split because boards had informed the Foundation as to their distribution breakdown by the time of his article. There was no five-way split as mentioned by someone earlier. Handball and rounders are sections of the GAA club, so it is up to each club how they want to flow their €24,360 down to their respective sections. The article also mentions that Longford was one of a number of counties which made separate payments to hurling clubs that are part of the same GAA club - that decision was not driven by the fact that lads from other areas play for those three hurling clubs, which has been the case for decades.

PS - Killoe had hurling back when almost nobody did back when the game began in Longford at the start of the last century and won a senior championship. Was involved in schools hurling in the late 1950's when that began and took part in the U14 Championship at end of the 1970's when there was a revival of hurling at underage in Longford (most clubs didn't keep it going though). Then had a team in U12 competition and schools indoor hurling in the late 1990's when another revival happened and hosted a hurling blitz at the time in Emmet Park involving teams from multiple counties to try and promote and grow the game in the parish. It didn't take hold, but that is the same for most clubs in the county. The local school continues to make attempts to get kids into the game, and a club meeting was held late last year to look at the possibility of starting up hurling again. But you take you swipe!"
No swipe was taken. Cloneekicker trying to be smart about no handball and rounders when there is. These 3nclubs got extra and derlserve it. CloneeKicker wants Killoe to get an extra cut when they are doing nothing to get that extra cut. If they did, then no problem!!!

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 111 - 09/03/2024 15:05:44    2530460

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "FYI, the split ended up being:

22 football
3 hurling
16 ladies

PS - Killoe had hurling back when almost nobody did back when the game began in Longford at the start of the last century and won a senior championship. Was involved in schools hurling in the late 1950's when that began and took part in the U14 Championship at end of the 1970's when there was a revival of hurling at underage in Longford (most clubs didn't keep it going though). Then had a team in U12 competition and schools indoor hurling in the late 1990's when another revival happened and hosted a hurling blitz at the time in Emmet Park involving teams from multiple counties to try and promote and grow the game in the parish. It didn't take hold, but that is the same for most clubs in the county. The local school continues to make attempts to get kids into the game, and a club meeting was held late last year to look at the possibility of starting up hurling again. But you take you swipe!"
Is this a joke post? You are trying to claim credit for having a hurling team 120 years ago and a bit of u14 half a century ago. Next you will be claiming you know someone who hurls in their esker garden. I have heard it all on this website

liosbreac6265 (Longford) - Posts: 212 - 09/03/2024 15:36:57    2530467

I notice that one third of the longford hurling team that defeated Leitrim yesterday are from outside the county(4 from Westmeath).Any reason 4 from Westmeath?

joeman123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 463 - 10/03/2024 10:01:58    2530559

Replying To joeman123:  "I notice that one third of the longford hurling team that defeated Leitrim yesterday are from outside the county(4 from Westmeath).Any reason 4 from Westmeath?"
It's a joke. Why would any young lad want to go in and hurl with the county when there's lads coming in from Westmeath, Dublin and on previous occasions Offaly and Limerick.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 888 - 10/03/2024 11:51:19    2530568

We started off our Leinster League campaign with a win over Clonbollogue from Offaly last night. Good to see 4 more minors making the step up to senior and also good to see Ciaran Williams back playing after a few years of bad luck with injuries. Killoe, Dromard and Slashers are also competing in this competition.

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 111 - 10/03/2024 12:11:09    2530570

Parentage rule. The same reason that Jack Duggan is now playing football for Roscommon.

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1016 - 10/03/2024 12:35:30    2530572

Replying To Frank74:  "We started off our Leinster League campaign with a win over Clonbollogue from Offaly last night. Good to see 4 more minors making the step up to senior and also good to see Ciaran Williams back playing after a few years of bad luck with injuries. Killoe, Dromard and Slashers are also competing in this competition."
Carrickedmond also have a team playing in Division 2 and Killoe have a second team playing in Division 2 also.
Carrickedmond beat Slane by 7 points on Thursday night.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 11/03/2024 10:26:43    2530708

Replying To Oddball:  "It's a joke. Why would any young lad want to go in and hurl with the county when there's lads coming in from Westmeath, Dublin and on previous occasions Offaly and Limerick."
There were 7 outsiders playing for Longford at the weekend, Mullane (Limerick) and Buckley (Tipp) are now hurling locally with Wolfe Tones and Slashers respectively. They are allowed 3 outsiders to declare (which is taken from Burke, Lynam, Flynn and Lancaster-all Westmeath clubs) while Eamonn Allen plays under the parentage rule. I'm not sure which of the four lads from Westmeath qualifies under the parentage rule.
Whatever about parentage rules being used its not a good look for the county team to have so many outsiders playing. Hopefully this trend can be reversed sooner rather than later

keepitlit (Longford) - Posts: 33 - 11/03/2024 13:32:59    2530743

Replying To keepitlit:  "There were 7 outsiders playing for Longford at the weekend, Mullane (Limerick) and Buckley (Tipp) are now hurling locally with Wolfe Tones and Slashers respectively. They are allowed 3 outsiders to declare (which is taken from Burke, Lynam, Flynn and Lancaster-all Westmeath clubs) while Eamonn Allen plays under the parentage rule. I'm not sure which of the four lads from Westmeath qualifies under the parentage rule.
Whatever about parentage rules being used its not a good look for the county team to have so many outsiders playing. Hopefully this trend can be reversed sooner rather than later"
This isn't new though. There were a handful from outside the county on the Longford team when we won Division 3B in 2017 and back in 2013, and when we won Lory Meagher in 2014 and 2010. Been a consistent pattern for over a decade now of having a handful of lads from clubs outside the county playing for the county team.

LongfordgaaAbú (Longford) - Posts: 471 - 11/03/2024 15:20:25    2530765

Replying To LongfordgaaAbú:  "This isn't new though. There were a handful from outside the county on the Longford team when we won Division 3B in 2017 and back in 2013, and when we won Lory Meagher in 2014 and 2010. Been a consistent pattern for over a decade now of having a handful of lads from clubs outside the county playing for the county team."
This rule is in to help the so called weaker counties. Teams participating in the Lory Meagher and Nicky Rackard cup are allowed 3 outsiders in these competitions. If they are promoted to Christy Ring, this rule is removed.
In relation to the league, I'd imagine the same applies to Div 3 a & b.
Nothing new. It helps counties like Longford with only three clubs to participate in these competitions.

B&G (Longford) - Posts: 276 - 11/03/2024 16:47:39    2530782

Replying To Frank74:  "I think Lios Breac is right and CloneeKicker is a bit sour over the whole lot. The 3 hurling clubs facilitate players from other clubs who want to play hurling because their own clubs couldn't be bothered trying to get hurling started. So why should these clubs not get a bit extra for the extra work they put in?

You also came at Lios Breac about handball and rounders. Just for your info, Clonguish started rounders and handball for underage players 2 years ago!!!

I think you'd be better off trying to get even one of these extra 3 sports set up in Killoe and ye might get a better split of the next pot. Ye just want all the other clubs do all the work and you pick up the same cheque at the end of the day. You're the typical class dosser involved in a joint project that goes awol and then shows up at the last minute to take a share of the marks!!!"
God people from certain clubs are very touchy here. As soon as Clonguish are brought up Frank, Spinx and Liosbreac are waiting in the wings, even if it's complimentary. The three of you could do with chilling out a bit.
At no time did I bring up your club yet you took a swipe at mine. There is a lot of paranoia here. Straight away get defensive.
Not a word from any of you about how Clonbroney are the only rounders team in the county. Or that Abbeylara have a purpose built indoor handball alley which hosts provincial tournaments. Surely they are deservung of a 'cut'.
Frank waffled on about JPs money being split up "between men's football, ladies football, hurling, camogie and handball, so a five way split." Absolute nonsense. The hard working people of Abbeylara and Sean Connollys who promote some of our least popular games will wait to get a few quid out of the pot their clubs received. But sure, you go make it all about your club.
On a side, it was nice of you to acknowledge the contribution of players from other clubs to your clubs success down the years.

Clonee_Kicker (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 14/03/2024 21:12:16    2531176

Replying To Clonee_Kicker:  "God people from certain clubs are very touchy here. As soon as Clonguish are brought up Frank, Spinx and Liosbreac are waiting in the wings, even if it's complimentary. The three of you could do with chilling out a bit.
At no time did I bring up your club yet you took a swipe at mine. There is a lot of paranoia here. Straight away get defensive.
Not a word from any of you about how Clonbroney are the only rounders team in the county. Or that Abbeylara have a purpose built indoor handball alley which hosts provincial tournaments. Surely they are deservung of a 'cut'.
Frank waffled on about JPs money being split up "between men's football, ladies football, hurling, camogie and handball, so a five way split." Absolute nonsense. The hard working people of Abbeylara and Sean Connollys who promote some of our least popular games will wait to get a few quid out of the pot their clubs received. But sure, you go make it all about your club.
On a side, it was nice of you to acknowledge the contribution of players from other clubs to your clubs success down the years."
I said most counties have split it that way and longford must have done the same if '3 clubs have got extra'!! And it was you that came at Lios Breac about him having a blinkered view with hurling only as the small ball game been promoted in Clonguish when I have proved you wrong!! If you do a bit of research you will also see that Clonguish hosted a National Handball competition last year. I think you need to chill out when it took you a week to have this pathetic comeback!! I think it's about time now you got over your sourness about how the funds were distributed. Discussion with you on this topic is done!

Frank74 (Longford) - Posts: 111 - 14/03/2024 23:12:13    2531191

Replying To Clonee_Kicker:  "God people from certain clubs are very touchy here. As soon as Clonguish are brought up Frank, Spinx and Liosbreac are waiting in the wings, even if it's complimentary. The three of you could do with chilling out a bit.
On a side, it was nice of you to acknowledge the contribution of players from other clubs to your clubs success down the years."
Why would I be getting touchy about anything said about Clonguish? A bit of an odd statement that! I don't get touchy about anything said about Gaels so why would it bother me when anything is said about any other club.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 15/03/2024 09:44:55    2531211

Best of luck against Carlow. Will be a great achievement if they pull these final two games out of the bag. A win for Tipp in Semple would make things a bit easier.

Clonee_Kicker (Longford) - Posts: 17 - 16/03/2024 13:29:45    2531352

Replying To Clonee_Kicker:  "Best of luck against Carlow. Will be a great achievement if they pull these final two games out of the bag. A win for Tipp in Semple would make things a bit easier."
Agree with you there. After the Tipp game I was sure promotion was gone, but fair play to them they turned it around. Paddy Kiernan was a big addition to the team. The fact though that the Tipp game was switched to Wexford will swing it in Wexfords favour I would imagine.

Spinx (Longford) - Posts: 1236 - 16/03/2024 14:57:13    2531367