Leitrim GAA thread

disappointed for the lads last night they didn't seem to perform to the level they can. not sure Guckian is a midfielder at the is level, Roscommon had their homework done for sure, and they've some serious ballers in fairness, fair play to our lads, they have a great future, disappointed with Cox, silly thing to do, hopefully he learns from it but not sure he will,

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 64 - 18/04/2024 12:45:44    2538834

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I know every one on here goes on about Andy in and Andy out. I personally have always said assess the situation at the end of the year. I still stand by that. I've also seen many Mayo folk in national media saying recently that Andy is a shoe in for the next Mayo manager.

I've noticed though he is extremely slow to make changes in games. Tactics I don't think is his strong point. Although that is not all that makes a good manager. Inspiring players and training are also equally important. With a good backroom team behind him he could be a good manager but I don't think you can have as a one man band like a McGuinness or a Jim Gavin. He'd do more of a similar role as a Colm O'Rourke or Kevin McStay.

Last night I would have had serious questions over him though. Bobby Nugent was tearing us apart and we never made a change. Arguably our best man marker was on the bench instead of marking him (I understand he has been out with illness for most of this championship). He persisted with leaving McNulty inside and Guckian seemed to spend a lot of time inside too. Meanwhile we were getting torn apart in midfield. Darren Cox was playing too far out from goal to make any real threat. Majority of these things seemed fairly obvious to most watching the game at half time but no real changes were made."
I agree with last post. A manager needs to be able understand what's happening on front of him from tactics side, and be able to make appropriate changes with players to at the right time. Don't think manager has that experience.

Leitrim36 (Leitrim) - Posts: 59 - 18/04/2024 15:18:33    2538866

Replying To Leitrimforliam:  "I know every one on here goes on about Andy in and Andy out. I personally have always said assess the situation at the end of the year. I still stand by that. I've also seen many Mayo folk in national media saying recently that Andy is a shoe in for the next Mayo manager.

I've noticed though he is extremely slow to make changes in games. Tactics I don't think is his strong point. Although that is not all that makes a good manager. Inspiring players and training are also equally important. With a good backroom team behind him he could be a good manager but I don't think you can have as a one man band like a McGuinness or a Jim Gavin. He'd do more of a similar role as a Colm O'Rourke or Kevin McStay.

Last night I would have had serious questions over him though. Bobby Nugent was tearing us apart and we never made a change. Arguably our best man marker was on the bench instead of marking him (I understand he has been out with illness for most of this championship). He persisted with leaving McNulty inside and Guckian seemed to spend a lot of time inside too. Meanwhile we were getting torn apart in midfield. Darren Cox was playing too far out from goal to make any real threat. Majority of these things seemed fairly obvious to most watching the game at half time but no real changes were made."
Andy Moran a forward as player and as a manager he's offensive thinking with little focus on defending. Leitrim finished the group with an average of 20 points conceded per game and that alone probably tells you why Leitrim have missed out on a semi final spot. What the two semi finalist have conceded per game Sligo 14, Galway 13, Roscommon 11.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 18/04/2024 15:24:23    2538867

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Andy Moran a forward as player and as a manager he's offensive thinking with little focus on defending. Leitrim finished the group with an average of 20 points conceded per game and that alone probably tells you why Leitrim have missed out on a semi final spot. What the two semi finalist have conceded per game Sligo 14, Galway 13, Roscommon 11."
There's not much evidence in the last senior and u20 game he is offensively minded. The ball was going back and forth across the field via handpasses between both 45s whenever we nearly got it.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 18/04/2024 15:53:27    2538874

I really hope Andy has another year with leitrim and then he gets mayo job.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 18/04/2024 16:15:02    2538879

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "I really hope Andy has another year with leitrim and then he gets mayo job."
He should go back to his home county. He might be an improvement on your current boss.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 18/04/2024 16:21:44    2538883

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "He should go back to his home county. He might be an improvement on your current boss."
Which one the manager that battered ye last night or the won that's previously an all ireland winner at u20 level

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 18/04/2024 17:34:33    2538895

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Which one the manager that battered ye last night or the won that's previously an all ireland winner at u20 level"
I'm sorry, I'm not sure. I don't follow other lower level counties progress too much. But I don't believe that Roscommon have a recent u20 all Ireland victory, but I might be wrong there.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 18/04/2024 18:54:57    2538907

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "I really hope Andy has another year with leitrim and then he gets mayo job."
that would be good for Roscommon alright

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 133 - 18/04/2024 20:16:14    2538915

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "I'm sorry, I'm not sure. I don't follow other lower level counties progress too much. But I don't believe that Roscommon have a recent u20 all Ireland victory, but I might be wrong there."
The auld maryland tastes good. Just saying.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1079 - 18/04/2024 23:03:59    2538944

watched the minor game tonight, negative football is the blight thats destroying our game, negative from both teams but especially Sligo, we were very unlucky not to get something out of the game, these managers though need to have a serious look at themselves, they're stunting the development of players in these vital years.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 64 - 19/04/2024 20:51:03    2539121

9-8 on a evening where conditions were very favourable.

Did we only score once from play?

Results matter, especially when you've four games on the hop and no break, but that's a very conservative way of playing.

Dodgy_Pass (Leitrim) - Posts: 374 - 20/04/2024 00:01:36    2539150

Replying To meathbasedfan:  "watched the minor game tonight, negative football is the blight thats destroying our game, negative from both teams but especially Sligo, we were very unlucky not to get something out of the game, these managers though need to have a serious look at themselves, they're stunting the development of players in these vital years."
Agree, from a neutral view it was a shocking game of football. All behind the ball, side to side and then backwards. Seems to be a fear of losing rather than go for it. In fairness Leitrim were very unlucky, got punished for a couple of mistakes/indiscipline in the tackle at the end. Thought the sideline could have made earlier and more changes as some serious talent on the bench.

Big game next week, it is a must win.

Bingojack (Leitrim) - Posts: 1 - 20/04/2024 12:52:31    2539207

A modicum of consolation for our main sponsor as their horse Macdermott squeaks home in the Scottish Grand National. The wet Spring hasn't been a total write-off. There won't be a cow milked etc…….
Hearty congratulations to all the connections. Up the Neddies…..

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 689 - 20/04/2024 18:22:49    2539260

Replying To gaelsboy:  "I think this is the first year in a lifetime we had a competitive team at this level, anyone expecting too much of these young lads is a fool, when you come from a county with a tradition of being beaten out the gate on your first day out and back to the club straight after you have a slim chance of getting to or winning a provincial final the first year you are competitive. Now we have see a glimpse of what these lads can do vs Sligo and Mayo, key thing is to keep the squad together for the remainder of the b championship (however long that may be) and keep developing the lads who are underage next year to kick on and come back stronger plus whoever comes up from minor next year.
Shame on anyone calling this young lads overhyped or a disgrace, show us all your provincial medals you have won and then you can talk. This is essentially a development age grade"
While disappointed with results of Sligo & Rossies games I agree with all the points made with our poster. After years of poor results we are finally producing teams at underage who can compete. Am gutted for our Minors who were by far the better footballing side but fell to soft frees and a deadly accurate Sligo player. Felt particularly sorry for Jack Kelly who had his frees held on the line probably due his youth and strength which can only improve. A measure of our progress is that we can beat Mayo in the U20 B & are still in the Minor Championship.Plenty to be hopeful for.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 131 - 20/04/2024 23:54:38    2539419

Replying To sourmilk93:  "Which one the manager that battered ye last night or the won that's previously an all ireland winner at u20 level"
I hope your current man gets another five years with yourselves ;)

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 33 - 21/04/2024 18:34:54    2539574