Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Yondu:  "In 2019 under Terry Hyland Leitrim gained promotion which included a 13 point win against Wexford, beat Wicklow by 4 in Aughrim and were competitive against Derry in the league final in Croke Park.

Now under Andy Moran into his 2nd season they have lost to both Wicklow and Wexford by a bit to spare and with Laois, Sligo to play its unlikely promoted will be gained this year instead could well finish 5th in the table. And yet this current management seem to be getting a lot of praise in national media for the "improvement" they have brought which is a bit puzzling"
Where in national media is moran being praised for improvements? I'd like to read the article to see what they say so if you don't mind will you provide the link? Thanks.

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 16/03/2023 09:56:05    2464138

Replying To Square_B:  "I never agreed with the appointment for various reasons and was slated at the time. I hate to say it but I'm being slowly proving right. I was prepared to give them a chance but to be honest if promotion isn't secured, I think it will be time for Moran & Solan to move on. I've always said that Hyland was unlucky with Covid and it unfortunately hampered the progress that was make in 2019. Promotion should have been secured last year as I'm still convinced that we were good enough to be promoted; it certainly was a missed opportunity for Moran and his management team. He'll not be in an asses roar of the Mayo job in the future that's for sure."
I understand this viewpoint as Moran had no experience etc. However, the reality even if it isn't portrayed this way in Public is that Sloan is the manager and Moran is the main coach. Sloan's CV alone would be good enough to get the Leitrim job.
The players love the set-up and say its the most professional they have had.
I do think that Moran/Sloan underestimated the levels at Division four and may have been a small bit over confident that they would just stroll through the division with the processes they would put in place. This was shown in the decision to allow the league game in Bekan to go ahead last year in my opinion.
They have been so unlucky not to have had Ryan O'Rourke for large swathes of their tenure and losing other key players to emigration etc.
However, they have not helped themselves with inconsistent team selections and in-game substitutions. which have clearly not worked along with alienating players.
I do agree with the fact that things under Hyland started off really well but there was always going to be a bounce when you consider the low base we were coming from but the quality of players Hyland had available to him. By the end of Hyland's tenure things were toxic between management and players and the unfortunate fact is that if he had of stayed on their would have been a huge amount of players dropping off.

There's a feeling the same thing may happen with this group of players next year if we do not show progress in the summer as many of their friends/peers have emigrated and it will be hard for many of them not to do the same. The carrot of NYC have kept a few of them involved this year along with the fact that they are loving the set up etc.

We have had 2 terrible results against Wexford and Wicklow but we have no right to be beating these teams at the same time.
That being said we have more than enough talent required to win our remaining two games.
We need a huge improvement in our kickouts this weekend and we cant allow Beirne to be as isolated in attack we need to be able to link play better in the middle third.
I hear Pearce Dolan is back fit which is a huge bonus and theres a chance Tom Prior could feature. Its win or bust time.

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 297 - 16/03/2023 10:16:05    2464145

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "I understand this viewpoint as Moran had no experience etc. However, the reality even if it isn't portrayed this way in Public is that Sloan is the manager and Moran is the main coach. Sloan's CV alone would be good enough to get the Leitrim job.
The players love the set-up and say its the most professional they have had.
I do think that Moran/Sloan underestimated the levels at Division four and may have been a small bit over confident that they would just stroll through the division with the processes they would put in place. This was shown in the decision to allow the league game in Bekan to go ahead last year in my opinion.
They have been so unlucky not to have had Ryan O'Rourke for large swathes of their tenure and losing other key players to emigration etc.
However, they have not helped themselves with inconsistent team selections and in-game substitutions. which have clearly not worked along with alienating players.
I do agree with the fact that things under Hyland started off really well but there was always going to be a bounce when you consider the low base we were coming from but the quality of players Hyland had available to him. By the end of Hyland's tenure things were toxic between management and players and the unfortunate fact is that if he had of stayed on their would have been a huge amount of players dropping off.

There's a feeling the same thing may happen with this group of players next year if we do not show progress in the summer as many of their friends/peers have emigrated and it will be hard for many of them not to do the same. The carrot of NYC have kept a few of them involved this year along with the fact that they are loving the set up etc.

We have had 2 terrible results against Wexford and Wicklow but we have no right to be beating these teams at the same time.
That being said we have more than enough talent required to win our remaining two games.
We need a huge improvement in our kickouts this weekend and we cant allow Beirne to be as isolated in attack we need to be able to link play better in the middle third.
I hear Pearce Dolan is back fit which is a huge bonus and theres a chance Tom Prior could feature. Its win or bust time."
Agree, to be honest I don't see any real difference between Moran and Hyland time in charge. Still all comes down to S&C. 2019 we started off good with wins against Wexford and Wicklow. Struggled at home to Antrim and away to Limerick. Winning both by 1 point but Antrim had something like 12 bad wides that day and limerick keeper let 2 balls bounce in front of him over the bar. We got promoted yes but to be fair anyone who went to those games would say we were lucky. Roll onto 2020 bad games against Longford and Offaly cost us our place in Division 3.

Under Moran 2021 that game against London ended our chances of promotion. Our own keeper was at fault for both London Goals. In 2022, I still see alot of players carrying balls into tackles and coming out second best in division 4. Until S&C is improved from minor up it doesn't matter who the manager is. We don't have a massive pool of player. I like that we seem to have a backroom team put together outside of Moran and Solan but for me you could put Rory Gallagher in charge or Leitrim and he would struggle. Easily a 5 year project until minor and under 20 start being more competitive and senior team improve S&C.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 16/03/2023 11:27:11    2464172

Replying To Leitrim_12:  "Agree, to be honest I don't see any real difference between Moran and Hyland time in charge. Still all comes down to S&C. 2019 we started off good with wins against Wexford and Wicklow. Struggled at home to Antrim and away to Limerick. Winning both by 1 point but Antrim had something like 12 bad wides that day and limerick keeper let 2 balls bounce in front of him over the bar. We got promoted yes but to be fair anyone who went to those games would say we were lucky. Roll onto 2020 bad games against Longford and Offaly cost us our place in Division 3.

Under Moran 2021 that game against London ended our chances of promotion. Our own keeper was at fault for both London Goals. In 2022, I still see alot of players carrying balls into tackles and coming out second best in division 4. Until S&C is improved from minor up it doesn't matter who the manager is. We don't have a massive pool of player. I like that we seem to have a backroom team put together outside of Moran and Solan but for me you could put Rory Gallagher in charge or Leitrim and he would struggle. Easily a 5 year project until minor and under 20 start being more competitive and senior team improve S&C."
Don't see any real difference? Leitrim were promoted with two games to spare in 2019. Lose on Sunday and the current slim hopes of promotion will be officially over with 1 game to play.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 16/03/2023 16:14:16    2464259

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Don't see any real difference? Leitrim were promoted with two games to spare in 2019. Lose on Sunday and the current slim hopes of promotion will be officially over with 1 game to play."
2019 the same year Waterford won 3 games in division 4. How is Waterford doing this year? From what I've seen is they haven't progressed or went went backwards, it just happens teams around leitrim have improved. Still all massive way to go on S&C and defensively. Until that's fixed we'll be staying in division 4.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 63 - 16/03/2023 18:14:16    2464281

There's a number of issues Coach Moran should have addressed by now. We're not strong or conditioned enough to take the ball into contact at the level we do. We get turned over too easily. Secondly, apart from possibly the Carlow match, we drift out of games for 10/15 minutes all too easily. Surely these well remunerated experts on the sideline can see and address this within 2/3 minutes rather than gazing at it falling asunder in front of them.

We're about 5 weeks out from the championship and the formation of the half-back line remains a mystery……
I could go on but irrespective of the next 2 results, the management team need to get a grip of these issues.
The players themselves must shoulder a good share of responsibility too, they're the ones that need to front up.
Nobody wants to name names but as a collective they seem to be promising more than delivering.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 689 - 17/03/2023 19:37:51    2464392

Knock out championship game in all but name today. We need to grind out a victory today nothing else will do time for everyone to step up to the plate and perform for 70 minutes there can be no excuses anymore. If we want to progress these are the sort of games we need to be winning. In all honesty Laois look the better team on all known form they have good forwards in Kingston and O Carroll especially who we will find hard to contain. We need a huge crowd to roar us on today and the team and management need to perform today no excuses this is a pivotal game for this squad and management. Best of luck lads

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 19/03/2023 12:22:40    2464671

I feel that this game could be a huge turning point in coach morans tenure. Win this and who knows where it could lead. Lose it and we could spend years in the wilderness.

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 19/03/2023 13:45:17    2464710

Unbelievable win for Leitrim! After Leitrim's second goal at the start of the second half, Laois got the next six points of the game to take the lead, but Leitrim dug deep and didn't lie down again. Amazing stuff.

Last round of games, unless someone messes with them like last year:
Wexford v Carlow, Chadwicks Wexford Park, 1pm
London v Laois, Ruislip, 1pm
Waterford v Wicklow, Fraher Field, 1pm
Leitrim v Sligo, Avant Money Páirc Seán MacDiarmada, 1pm

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1030 - 19/03/2023 15:51:14    2464762

Yes lads well done, dug it out today when the pressure was on ,massive game next Sunday now . I've been critical in the past of this team but in fairness today we stood up when it mattered. Nothing achieved yet next Sunday will be a massive test again.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 182 - 19/03/2023 15:58:18    2464768

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "I feel that this game could be a huge turning point in coach morans tenure. Win this and who knows where it could lead. Lose it and we could spend years in the wilderness."
Fair play to the lads today, pulled it out of the fire in the 2nd half when it was starting to look like Laois might take control. Sets it all up nicely for a winner takes all game next weekend.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 844 - 19/03/2023 16:07:35    2464775

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "Unbelievable win for Leitrim! After Leitrim's second goal at the start of the second half, Laois got the next six points of the game to take the lead, but Leitrim dug deep and didn't lie down again. Amazing stuff.

Last round of games, unless someone messes with them like last year:
Wexford v Carlow, Chadwicks Wexford Park, 1pm
London v Laois, Ruislip, 1pm
Waterford v Wicklow, Fraher Field, 1pm
Leitrim v Sligo, Avant Money Páirc Seán MacDiarmada, 1pm"
It is all set up for a very exciting finish. Laois and Wicklow should win and if Leitrim also beat Sligo, all 4 teams would finish level on 10 points and then it comes down to scoring difference.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 19/03/2023 16:10:28    2464776

Leitrim did well today in brutal conditions so many players from both teams slipping at vital times. Leitrim came with a game plan to press Laois high up the pitch so they could not thread easy balls into the dangerous forwards that they have. The goal at the start of the second half was exactly what we needed Laois were always going to have their purple patch in the game and when they did we had that 5 point buffer and boy was it needed. We finished really strong which was very pleasing considering how badly we faded in the games v Wexford and Wicklow. Sligo will be a huge test again. Great to see us getting some of our injured players back as well. Tom prior cillian Mcgloin and also looked like we got through the game injury free which is a help. Should be a great occasion in Páirc Sean next Sunday and one which these lads deserve

Champotime18 (Leitrim) - Posts: 442 - 19/03/2023 17:33:04    2464830

Fair play Leitrim, when I saw Laois clawed back to go in front I thought they'd see it out but brilliant resilience to get the win. Hopefully ye can get the win on the last weekend.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 19/03/2023 17:53:57    2464841

Replying To Gaillimh_Abu:  "It is all set up for a very exciting finish. Laois and Wicklow should win and if Leitrim also beat Sligo, all 4 teams would finish level on 10 points and then it comes down to scoring difference."
Well done today, Huge improvement in the Aughrim performance.

Based on the table after Round 6 the permutations are straightforward.
If Leitrim beat Sligo they are promoted, and
If Laois win the will leapfrog Sligo on scoring difference
Wicklow's scoring difference suggests they need both Leitrim and Laois to draw or lose to have any chance of promotion.

So let's get behind the team next Sunday and give them them the support they need.

EddieMatt (Leitrim) - Posts: 9 - 19/03/2023 18:04:34    2464847

Replying To EddieMatt:  "Well done today, Huge improvement in the Aughrim performance.

Based on the table after Round 6 the permutations are straightforward.
If Leitrim beat Sligo they are promoted, and
If Laois win the will leapfrog Sligo on scoring difference
Wicklow's scoring difference suggests they need both Leitrim and Laois to draw or lose to have any chance of promotion.

So let's get behind the team next Sunday and give them them the support they need."
Not the full picture.

Wicklow well in it. Sligo win, Wicklow win - then tied 2nd with Laois and have h2h on them. Doesnt impact us - mind you i prefer one of the d4 regulars to go up.

Its more or less in Sligo, Leitrim hands. Win and Leitrim there ( not withstanding Wicklow winning by over 20 in waterford). Draw good enough for Sligo.

Its not completely inLaois's hands any more. Even if they win, they need sligo or wicklow to lose

Solo Run (None) - Posts: 316 - 19/03/2023 18:52:40    2464866

Glad to say James glancy has been no loss to the thing and didn't add much to Longford either as they are a shambles. Very poor form from him to abandon his own county and it would be sweet to be promoted while they go the other way.

Leitrimdivide (Leitrim) - Posts: 84 - 19/03/2023 21:01:36    2464926

Well, well, well a fantastic result yesterday. I must say when Laois kicked 6 points on the spin to put them a point ahead after our 2nd goal i feared the worst given the manner of the defeats to Wexford and Wicklow but credit to the lads they dug in and went again. Serious nerve shown towards the end.

If we had have been offered a winner takes all clash at home v Sligo before a ball was kicked i am sure everyone would have taken that. It is going to be a huge occasion in Carrick next Sunday and i'd expect a big crowd. I'm sure the bookies odds will have Sligo as favs and probably correctly so but can't help but think that win yesterday will just give us that extra lift and confidence going into the game.

I wouldn't say there is a whole pile between us and Sligo. They do have some serious quality operators so we will need to be at our very best to come away with the points. Home advantage could be key. Win and we will go up i think and just shows how crucial those big winning margins v Waterford & Carlow could be.

juande_ramos (Leitrim) - Posts: 78 - 20/03/2023 09:33:53    2464984

Replying To Leitrimdivide:  "Glad to say James glancy has been no loss to the thing and didn't add much to Longford either as they are a shambles. Very poor form from him to abandon his own county and it would be sweet to be promoted while they go the other way."
Threw the toys out of the pram because he wasn't more involved under Andy Moran. He doesn't have enough done to be the main football coach at inter county level, he needs to go away and get experience but I think he can get there as he lives and breeds it but was given the longford gig with his close relationship to Paddy Christie.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 341 - 20/03/2023 14:44:37    2465220

Couldnt make the game at the weekend but by all accounts it was a galant performance and nerves of steel to see it out. Another big one coming so hopefully we keep riding that wave.

williesboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 341 - 20/03/2023 14:47:19    2465223