Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Not so sure if they've gone backwards but a bit static for sure this year. League start was very disappointing but rallied when it mattered, will reserve judgement on McEntee until the end of the TC campaign.

The reason I reference minor and u20 is that there's a breed of player being created in the county that no longer fears playing the bigger 3 in Connacht as they have had the better of them in years gone by. It would be good for all counties in Connacht if Leitrim could start to lift their levels too. I know minors won the shield which is good for them but need to be beating one of the other 3 on a regular basis.

As for the other bucks comments about Div4 titles I'd say there's plenty of footballers in Leitrim that'd love to have it. I'd dare say he'd tell a Kerryman they were as bad as Leitrim at present because they haven't an All Ireland since 22. But sure carry on blame NY for not having a game this weekend."
We would certainly love to win a Div 4 title next year. I think the majority of Leitrim people like seeing Sligo do well. We had a terrible year but there are some very positive signs since the end of the league. I think we will see a much better Leitrim in 2026.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 425 - 06/06/2025 22:52:36    2615432

Replying To bláthach:  "We beat ye at minor level this year so steady on a little bit and we were very close to doing so at under 20 also. So come down off your high horse like a good lad. Ye ain't that far ahead. Both of us were division three this year too. Granted we were relegated but don't pretend like ye are miles ahead of us when quite obviously ye are not. It's tiresome. Thanks"
Minor was a good result yes and hopefully there'll be more competitive games in future at underage. Stats don't lie though, it must be nearly 15/16 years since Leitrim beat Sligo seniors in a game in either league or championship. How long since a senior final appearance or indeed a provincial win apart from London/Leitrim? In underage ya have to be getting to finals to win them and I don't mean shield ones. When was the last time a Leitrim minor or u20 were in one, that's not a shield which ya get into by default by coming 4th or 5th. It might be perceived to some as kicking someone when you're down but it's not it's merely to show that these are objectives that should be set to demonstrate progress. Losing to teams in moral victories are damn all use when you're losing to them all the time and the same applies to Sligo in that regard.

If Leitrim take this tough opportunity to strongly look at themselves from top to bottom at county and club level they could implement change that'd make them a competitive force within the province which in turn would lift the levels of everyone else as they could no longer be seen as the handy game. Others like yourself seem content to batten down the hatches and defend accepting poor standards.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 536 - 07/06/2025 10:26:17    2615456

Well worth bringing over New York anyway by the looks of things! Huge positive

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 07/06/2025 15:22:14    2615512

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "Minor was a good result yes and hopefully there'll be more competitive games in future at underage. Stats don't lie though, it must be nearly 15/16 years since Leitrim beat Sligo seniors in a game in either league or championship. How long since a senior final appearance or indeed a provincial win apart from London/Leitrim? In underage ya have to be getting to finals to win them and I don't mean shield ones. When was the last time a Leitrim minor or u20 were in one, that's not a shield which ya get into by default by coming 4th or 5th. It might be perceived to some as kicking someone when you're down but it's not it's merely to show that these are objectives that should be set to demonstrate progress. Losing to teams in moral victories are damn all use when you're losing to them all the time and the same applies to Sligo in that regard.

If Leitrim take this tough opportunity to strongly look at themselves from top to bottom at county and club level they could implement change that'd make them a competitive force within the province which in turn would lift the levels of everyone else as they could no longer be seen as the handy game. Others like yourself seem content to batten down the hatches and defend accepting poor standards."
Oh I'm not battening down any hatches. You asked how many finals have we got to and then you go on to say that moral victories are no good. Which I agree with indeed. No point getting to finals or being competitive with teams so I'd assume you mean? Therefore as I've already said you are not much different to us really at all are you? You haven't been winning many finals either!! An odd one here and there isn't exactly setting the world alight either but if you're happy thinking it is so be it. Enjoy your weekend. Thanks.

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 07/06/2025 15:26:01    2615515

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "Why play them in Iceland? That's a bit silly as there wouldn't be a gaa pitch there. However the gaa could promote the game there too as it is closer to bring players than America.

People in Sligo can't exactly be too cocky about their neighbours performance. Not as if youse will win a trophy soon either in fairness"
How many u20 and minor titles have Sligo won recently?

southleitrim_mafia (Leitrim) - Posts: 149 - 09/06/2025 10:41:34    2616016

Replying To southleitrim_mafia:  "How many u20 and minor titles have Sligo won recently?"
They've had a decent underage run, however it is senior level we are talking about

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 350 - 09/06/2025 16:03:43    2616168

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "What problems are they? You have no issue discussing the financial problems caused by NY in the competition? Every county in Connacht and beyond has no issue in going to NY cap in hand for fundraising so I see no issue in them participating in more competitions. There were comments made here about why don't other international boards organise, look at the number of clubs in NY alone. 52 a quick google says now I'm not sure how many of them are football ones but no other international board has as many so it makes perfect sense from a number point of view.

Blaming NY for Leitrim not qualifying for the next round is missing the target altogether. It's been known for years now how the TC Prelim QFs operate. Perhaps ye'd prefer to play NY in a Prelim Prelim QF in neutral Iceland to see who gets the chance to be beaten well by Offaly in Tullamore? Although given how Leitrim faired the last time in 23 against them perhaps gracefully leaving the competition now and reflecting critically on the year gone by is a better solution. Poacher may thank his lucky stars he got a win over Tipp as it glosses over a lot of cracks."
More negativity. Best performance of the season by Leitrim - should have scored more. Next season we will have Honeyman,Ryan. Pearse. Radek back plus new new players such as Jack Kelly . Leitrim favourites for promotion so if you have nothing positive to offer keep your opinions to yourself. Oh do you go to Leitrim games?

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 156 - 09/06/2025 16:23:23    2616172

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Of course, you bring in players, but only good ones. What do you think would be brought in? Donkeys?

It is great to have NY in the competitions and particularly now that we are in the hurling, too. Won it, actually.

I'll tell you what we'll do that might you stop cribbing and crying. We'll bring an extra footballing coach next year and give him to Leitrim for the week while we're in Ireland to show youse how it is done!

Would that help you, blah?"
You shouldn't be in the competition- no benefit to Development of Connacht hurling.. Should be in Leinster . Let's see how you do in Nicky Rackard.As for football ,paying players to play for NY especially when you meet Leitrim doesn't do much for development of game Stateside.

leitrimabu1 (Leitrim) - Posts: 156 - 09/06/2025 16:31:46    2616175

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "More negativity. Best performance of the season by Leitrim - should have scored more. Next season we will have Honeyman,Ryan. Pearse. Radek back plus new new players such as Jack Kelly . Leitrim favourites for promotion so if you have nothing positive to offer keep your opinions to yourself. Oh do you go to Leitrim games?"
How do you reckon they're favourites for promotion? Who is taking a book for 2026 League in June 2025?! Antrim, Wicklow, Carlow, Leitrim any of those four will be in the mix but you couldn't exactly pick a favourite out of it, especially when ya don't know home or away fixtures. Ya I've gone to an enough Leitrim games to know that it's backwards things have gone in the last few years.

Hopefully ye do get players back and blood some of the young lads you mention but what will it do to the lads who "filled in" when the county was at its lowest ebb, many of whom are fairly young themselves? They deserve credit in fairness for sticking with it throughout. It's the structures around them that I'd be querying. Poacher while I think he's a man on the manager merry go round said one thing the time of the Fermanagh fiasco that mightn't be far off the truth, paraphrasing him now but someone along the lines of a culture of accepting low standards. Non competitive clubs in provincial championship as well as relatively non competitive underage teams in provincial championship is symptom enough for even the outsider to see it's an issue.

Sligoman1234 (Sligo) - Posts: 536 - 09/06/2025 23:35:07    2616275

Replying To leitrimabu1:  "You shouldn't be in the competition- no benefit to Development of Connacht hurling.. Should be in Leinster . Let's see how you do in Nicky Rackard.As for football ,paying players to play for NY especially when you meet Leitrim doesn't do much for development of game Stateside."
Agree 100% with whay you said here but don't be fooled- this poster is no more in New York than we are. I have a strong suspicion they are much much closer to us than that!!!

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 10/06/2025 09:46:31    2616306

Replying To Sligoman1234:  "How do you reckon they're favourites for promotion? Who is taking a book for 2026 League in June 2025?! Antrim, Wicklow, Carlow, Leitrim any of those four will be in the mix but you couldn't exactly pick a favourite out of it, especially when ya don't know home or away fixtures. Ya I've gone to an enough Leitrim games to know that it's backwards things have gone in the last few years.

Hopefully ye do get players back and blood some of the young lads you mention but what will it do to the lads who "filled in" when the county was at its lowest ebb, many of whom are fairly young themselves? They deserve credit in fairness for sticking with it throughout. It's the structures around them that I'd be querying. Poacher while I think he's a man on the manager merry go round said one thing the time of the Fermanagh fiasco that mightn't be far off the truth, paraphrasing him now but someone along the lines of a culture of accepting low standards. Non competitive clubs in provincial championship as well as relatively non competitive underage teams in provincial championship is symptom enough for even the outsider to see it's an issue."
Nail on head.

You'll find that another symptom of our "culture" is the refusal to accept any input from those outside of our county, regardless of whether its well informed. We're certainly not in a position to pushback against the truth. Granted, it's difficult to hear, but it's time we started listening.

It's surprising that, coming from a county where most of us have had to move away, we appear to be so insular when it comes to football. We consistently bury our heads in the sand regarding our football. We accept low standards as the norm. I would have thought that our reality of having to leave Leitrim would broaden our horizons but, when it comes to football, we remain in the dark ages.
And, in advance of the standard responses, our recent moral victories merely emphasise the point that we have some talented footballers. Imagine where we'd be if we actually had decent structures in place.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 239 - 10/06/2025 11:22:12    2616335

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "Nail on head.

You'll find that another symptom of our "culture" is the refusal to accept any input from those outside of our county, regardless of whether its well informed. We're certainly not in a position to pushback against the truth. Granted, it's difficult to hear, but it's time we started listening.

It's surprising that, coming from a county where most of us have had to move away, we appear to be so insular when it comes to football. We consistently bury our heads in the sand regarding our football. We accept low standards as the norm. I would have thought that our reality of having to leave Leitrim would broaden our horizons but, when it comes to football, we remain in the dark ages.
And, in advance of the standard responses, our recent moral victories merely emphasise the point that we have some talented footballers. Imagine where we'd be if we actually had decent structures in place."
What are these "structures" people talk about?? It is like politicians using the word "infrastructure". It is all very bland and broad and nobody really knows what it is referring to at all. People need to be more specific.

What is wrong with the "structures" we have?? Please be specific- I am not trying to catch anyone out here- I genuinely do not know what this is referring to. I would assume all our underage players are getting coached in development squads, getting S and C etc so what are these "structures" that are missing please?

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 10/06/2025 12:01:51    2616348

Replying To ThePowerhouse:  "Nail on head.

And, in advance of the standard responses, our recent moral victories merely emphasise the point that we have some talented footballers. Imagine where we'd be if we actually had decent structures in place."
And we are entitled to push back against outside voices making a skit of out team, which is all too common on here too.

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 350 - 10/06/2025 12:12:41    2616353

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "And we are entitled to push back against outside voices making a skit of out team, which is all too common on here too."
I agree. Different story when it's well informed and is telling the truth.

ThePowerhouse (Leitrim) - Posts: 239 - 10/06/2025 13:25:57    2616382

Replying To bláthach:  "What are these "structures" people talk about?? It is like politicians using the word "infrastructure". It is all very bland and broad and nobody really knows what it is referring to at all. People need to be more specific.

What is wrong with the "structures" we have?? Please be specific- I am not trying to catch anyone out here- I genuinely do not know what this is referring to. I would assume all our underage players are getting coached in development squads, getting S and C etc so what are these "structures" that are missing please?"
One structures refer to how we are set up and spend our money to support the development of football (in this case). One example of how we could change is look at the salary's expenses and fees being paid out to individuals.

Yes our development squads are being coached (how well that can be debated elsewhere) and I am sure they are getting programs and plans for nutrition and strength and conditioning but the are not provided with as much as a drop of water is provided at the centre of excellence. Which location makes it even more difficult for proper recovery for players from the north of the county.

These young players aren't thick and know that that there peers in surrounding counties are being supported in a much more advanced manner.

One example of structural issues.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 10/06/2025 13:56:14    2616398

Replying To Backheel:  "One structures refer to how we are set up and spend our money to support the development of football (in this case). One example of how we could change is look at the salary's expenses and fees being paid out to individuals.

Yes our development squads are being coached (how well that can be debated elsewhere) and I am sure they are getting programs and plans for nutrition and strength and conditioning but the are not provided with as much as a drop of water is provided at the centre of excellence. Which location makes it even more difficult for proper recovery for players from the north of the county.

These young players aren't thick and know that that there peers in surrounding counties are being supported in a much more advanced manner.

One example of structural issues."
Again that is not being specific!! Look at salary and expenses being paid out to people?! What people are you referring to?? Underage or adult?

That's very broad- look at salary/expenses and then do what?! If too high, we cut them back I assume and what then?? How does that help our teams?

Players don't get water at centre of excellence??? That's just a ridiculous thing to say.

Other counties don't have a centre of excellence, yet we have people whinging where ours is situated along the main N4 (I'm sure it was because it's conveniently accessed for those players living away from home).

People from north of the county's recovery isn't affected by where the COE is situated. That's just being silly. How do you think they manage in Kerry, Tyrone etc where players have to travel longer distances?!

Sometimes I think people whinge and blame "structures" just for the sake of it

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 10/06/2025 22:41:21    2616562

Replying To bláthach:  "Again that is not being specific!! Look at salary and expenses being paid out to people?! What people are you referring to?? Underage or adult?

That's very broad- look at salary/expenses and then do what?! If too high, we cut them back I assume and what then?? How does that help our teams?

Players don't get water at centre of excellence??? That's just a ridiculous thing to say.

Other counties don't have a centre of excellence, yet we have people whinging where ours is situated along the main N4 (I'm sure it was because it's conveniently accessed for those players living away from home).

People from north of the county's recovery isn't affected by where the COE is situated. That's just being silly. How do you think they manage in Kerry, Tyrone etc where players have to travel longer distances?!

Sometimes I think people whinge and blame "structures" just for the sake of it"
Must be no taps at the centre of excellence, and we probably should build two more coe's at Kinlough and Glenfarne to keep all happy up there!

boxtyburgerbuns (Leitrim) - Posts: 350 - 11/06/2025 10:02:50    2616594

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "Must be no taps at the centre of excellence, and we probably should build two more coe's at Kinlough and Glenfarne to keep all happy up there!"
They could always bring a tanker down to the Shannon there and fill it up and back it onto the pitch- might catch a few fish as well when they are at it to give them a bit of food.

bláthach (Leitrim) - Posts: 143 - 11/06/2025 12:03:00    2616625

Replying To bláthach:  "Again that is not being specific!! Look at salary and expenses being paid out to people?! What people are you referring to?? Underage or adult?

Sometimes I think people whinge and blame "structures" just for the sake of it"
I am talking about underage and the structures or lack of the them provided for player development. I am not going to refer to any individual or position by name. But most people with a real understanding or interest in player development should know what I am talking about. (WUMs generally have only a vague idea about the set up in the county).

Cut back in salaries and provided rehydration and protein to all players post sessions (minimum)

Provide transport to and from training for all players (minimum)

Kerry and Tyrone have catering companies at their centres of excellence to provide proper nutrition to their young players.
NB
The centre of excellence location has been a thorny issue for people from the north of the county for a long time.
If you think that a players recovery isn't effected by an hour and a half drive after a training session getting home at 11 o clock at night this probably explains why your views are so narrow.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 11/06/2025 12:55:10    2616637

Replying To boxtyburgerbuns:  "Must be no taps at the centre of excellence, and we probably should build two more coe's at Kinlough and Glenfarne to keep all happy up there!"
Why are you making it an us and them thing. There is a fantastic pitch not being used at St Osnatts how would the clubs in the south of the county react if their young players were brought there 3 times a week to train. Or even split the trading the would be a huge fuss.

In regards to taps it's about providing proper support for the players having stuff there for them ready to go.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 204 - 11/06/2025 12:59:34    2616638