Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To blackpuddin:  "Can you believe the scenes in Dromod?You'd share the won the senior!! They should be ashamed to have been in Junior, good to see them back in Intermediate but I feel they will yo yo for quite a number of years not much coming through there!"
Of course they should celebrate as much as they can, Dromod will be hopping tonight (well one side of it anyway!) . They found themselves in Junior and made the most of it by winning the competition this year.

They played some great football today, I think the standard of the junior final was excellent. Eslin fight back was too late, but in fairness Bornacoola were superior throughout. Conor Beirne was immense and Mossy was lording midfield for long periods what players they are. Bornacoola's Moran and Croghan were sheer class throughout also. Bornacoola should hold their own within the Connacht championship. Out of all the Leitrim teams they might just progress the furthest. Well done to them.

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 663 - 13/10/2024 20:28:36    2574631

Mohill could do okay too depending on the draw, which I assume is made just waiting to see who's qualified. Bors probably too good to be down in Junior but the Cloone semi might say otherwise, that's sport.

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 557 - 13/10/2024 21:10:04    2574644

Replying To leitrimfan123:  "Congratulations to Allen Gaels. Massive achievement for them!! Melvin were embarassing to watch and gave up with 20 mins to go. I can't see Melvin ever getting out of intermediate especially with the carry on in the dugout!"
As a kinlough man, it took us 10 minutes after this to get promoted. Never count us out

Leitrimman05 (Leitrim) - Posts: 6 - 13/10/2024 22:10:39    2574659

Replying To Square_B:  "How it is a 'mess'? A replay went to penalties which is the format at national level. Level your criticism at Croke Park not us gaels in Leitrim."
County board should be setting dates for the final in line with any provincial obligation and working back allowing fit a replay.

Having 4 weeks spare after a replay and deciding to go to penalties is a mess.

Penalties should only be alternative if its time restrictive, that's from croke park. This lies at your feet.

Rockshorecider (Longford) - Posts: 47 - 13/10/2024 23:18:07    2574680

Replying To blackpuddin:  "Can you believe the scenes in Dromod?You'd share the won the senior!! They should be ashamed to have been in Junior, good to see them back in Intermediate but I feel they will yo yo for quite a number of years not much coming through there!"
you must be from Annaduff, fair play to Bornacoola and best of luck to them. its not easy winning any championship at any level. fair play to them.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 117 - 14/10/2024 08:05:11    2574696

Replying To leyny:  "It will sit well with his 8 county championship medals as a player and 7 county championships as a manager…….remind me how many you have beside your keyboard?"
Nobody can question what he has achieved as a player or club manager. There are loads of managers who have won lots of titles but they show respect to officials. That disrespect is a blight on his C.V

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1923 - 14/10/2024 09:31:49    2574712

Great entertainment in Ballinamore on Saturday. Both teams could argue they were deserving winners. Mohill showing the bottle which for a good few years nobody thought they had. Some of the score taking on both sides was excellent in contrast to the first game.

Tom Prior and Paul Honeyman were excellent for Ballinamore and Shane, Conor Quinn and Domhnail Flynn were suberb for Mohill.
To be fair to Ballinamore to be as competitive as they are without the sheer amount of players they have missing through injury and emigration is impressive - They should be right in contention for the next few years if they can keep that group together.

On a side note. The behaviour of Eamon O'Hara all throughout the game was disgraceful and an embarrassment to himself and the Mohill club. The ref was fine - although theres no doubt Wayne McKeown should have been sent off for opening Keith Beirne.

Does anyone know what Team/County will be matched up with in Connacht?

Leitrim1234 (Leitrim) - Posts: 307 - 14/10/2024 10:04:26    2574720

Can anyone enlighten me as to how Dromahaire were in the Minor A group stage, got an awful kicking and then ended up in the Minor B semi final and went on to win the Minor B competition? Seems unfair to the teams that entered the Minor b from the start! Is this the norm?

blackpuddin (Leitrim) - Posts: 89 - 14/10/2024 11:09:59    2574748

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "Great entertainment in Ballinamore on Saturday. Both teams could argue they were deserving winners. Mohill showing the bottle which for a good few years nobody thought they had. Some of the score taking on both sides was excellent in contrast to the first game.

Tom Prior and Paul Honeyman were excellent for Ballinamore and Shane, Conor Quinn and Domhnail Flynn were suberb for Mohill.
To be fair to Ballinamore to be as competitive as they are without the sheer amount of players they have missing through injury and emigration is impressive - They should be right in contention for the next few years if they can keep that group together.

On a side note. The behaviour of Eamon O'Hara all throughout the game was disgraceful and an embarrassment to himself and the Mohill club. The ref was fine - although theres no doubt Wayne McKeown should have been sent off for opening Keith Beirne.

Does anyone know what Team/County will be matched up with in Connacht?"
Mohill play the winners of Galway/roscommon in the senior.

Both our intermediate and junior champs play their Sligo counterparts first then Roscommon

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 663 - 14/10/2024 11:25:01    2574752

We're only one (1) game away from a rare Connacht final appearance in 2025. One game….
A Connacht final appearance will ensure our status as Sam Maguire candidates and avoid the Tailtean Cup.

We'll then be in a home/away/neutral venues conglomerate with the Kerrys/Armaghs etc….. The thoughts….

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 709 - 14/10/2024 11:54:12    2574764

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "We're only one (1) game away from a rare Connacht final appearance in 2025. One game….
A Connacht final appearance will ensure our status as Sam Maguire candidates and avoid the Tailtean Cup.

We'll then be in a home/away/neutral venues conglomerate with the Kerrys/Armaghs etc….. The thoughts…."
There's more chance of the Pope turning protestant or Brian Cody taking off his cap than us getting to a Connacht final boss.

Leitrim01 (Leitrim) - Posts: 11 - 14/10/2024 12:11:53    2574772

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "We're only one (1) game away from a rare Connacht final appearance in 2025. One game….

We'll then be in a home/away/neutral venues conglomerate with the Kerrys/Armaghs etc….. The thoughts…."
On a serious note, do you really want to avoid the Tailteann Cup ?

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1923 - 14/10/2024 12:18:23    2574776

Replying To Leitrim1234:  "Great entertainment in Ballinamore on Saturday. Both teams could argue they were deserving winners. Mohill showing the bottle which for a good few years nobody thought they had. Some of the score taking on both sides was excellent in contrast to the first game.

Does anyone know what Team/County will be matched up with in Connacht?"
Agree completely!! Until clubs are hit in the pocket 4d behaviour of management nothing will change I'm afraid.

O'Hara was a great player in his time but his decorum on the line leaves a lot 2b desired!!!

I thought both refs on each day gave excellent displays!! I dont think mckeon deserved a red.
Beirne is a hardy buck so I'd say he shook it off.

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 14/10/2024 12:37:17    2574781

Replying To eoinog:  "On a serious note, do you really want to avoid the Tailteann Cup ?"
I think the post was tongue in cheek.... Unless pigs fly between now and then, we'll be in the Tailteann.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 995 - 14/10/2024 12:46:42    2574783

Replying To eoinog:  "On a serious note, do you really want to avoid the Tailteann Cup ?"
It's the Monday after the county final and we're into a new dispensation. It's the hope that kills you..

My post was most definitely tongue in cheek but loosely paraphrasing Wilde 'we might be lying in the gutter but we're still looking at the stars'.
A Connacht final may be a bridge too far, but one big day when everything goes right isn't beyond us.

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 709 - 14/10/2024 12:55:03    2574784

Replying To TJH:  "Agree completely!! Until clubs are hit in the pocket 4d behaviour of management nothing will change I'm afraid.

O'Hara was a great player in his time but his decorum on the line leaves a lot 2b desired!!!

I thought both refs on each day gave excellent displays!! I dont think mckeon deserved a red.
Beirne is a hardy buck so I'd say he shook it off."
So if you hit a big hardy buck it's a yellow but a red if it's a small not so hardy buck?
Laythrum Rules?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1882 - 14/10/2024 13:06:04    2574786

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "Young lads only starting out are allowed a little leniency. You were very gentle with your wisdom.
That Twitter yoke can give a false impression of actual events….."
I thought Twitter gave a very accurate impression of actual events:
27mins 2nd Half
Melvin Gaels: 0-7(7)
Allen Gaels: 2-10(16)

That "27mins 2nd Half" meant the game wasn't over. Anyone who jumped the gun here has egg on their face.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1118 - 14/10/2024 14:09:47    2574808

Replying To Boxtyeater:  "An astounding confession. Drove past the county final to buy cheap toilet paper in Mullan market!!!!"
Ha! No need; I can just go into Murtagh's or Dunne's and stuff my coat with as much hole roll as will fit, all for €0.00. I don't even buy a pint; that would make for expensive toilet tissue.

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1118 - 14/10/2024 14:15:00    2574810

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "Who is Jessie Dolan?"
Jessie paint your pictures
About how it will not be
By now I should know better
You even left Westmeath
But tell us all how we can stay up in Division 3
Oh Jessie you can always kill any dream for me

Tacaí Liatroma (Leitrim) - Posts: 1118 - 14/10/2024 14:16:07    2574812

Replying To Tacaí Liatroma:  "I thought Twitter gave a very accurate impression of actual events:
27mins 2nd Half
Melvin Gaels: 0-7(7)
Allen Gaels: 2-10(16)

That "27mins 2nd Half" meant the game wasn't over. Anyone who jumped the gun here has egg on their face."
How on earth was this ALLOWED to happen?????? A lot to be said for "game Management"

Pushup567 (Leitrim) - Posts: 2 - 14/10/2024 14:25:44    2574813