Leitrim GAA thread

I hope to god Eslin are beaten tommorrow

MarysMan123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 14 - 13/10/2024 01:09:04    2574453

As a County you would want to wise up, no reason for penalties tonight could've done a replay. Plenty of time until provincial tie.

Rockshorecider (Longford) - Posts: 47 - 13/10/2024 01:17:23    2574454

O Hara saw red yesterday, expect plenty of those if you give him the Leitrim job

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1923 - 13/10/2024 09:22:24    2574470

Replying To Rockshorecider:  "As a County you would want to wise up, no reason for penalties tonight could've done a replay. Plenty of time until provincial tie."
That's rich now with all the controversy with your own championship this year. Worry about your own championship and how its run.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 995 - 13/10/2024 09:29:50    2574474

Well done to Mohill,they finally do back to back championships after several near misses. They had the game won twice but Ballinamore never went away and the way they clawed it back twice was a credit to the character of them. Penalties is a terrible way to decide a county final but them are the rules and Mohill took their Penalties well to be fair. Hope they knuckle down and put in a big performance in Connacht now. Ballinamore have a championship in them if they stick together.

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 233 - 13/10/2024 10:29:21    2574477

Great match yesterday, it was nail biting. You know overall Mohill were the better of the 2 teams over the 2 games but Ballinamore should and could've won both games. Brilliant nerve held by both teams to draw level. Penalties add to the occasion massively and it's a pity this week wasn't shown on tnag. It's a very tough way to lose but Harkins penalty to win it pure class. Mohill are the best team this generation, consistency, hunger desire after all the agony and ectascy of their finals in recent years. This one is special for them and they will defo enjoy it and it's well deserved. Ballinamore will be back I've no doubt if they stick together, Tom Prior different gravy yesterday

Taytofoley83 (Leitrim) - Posts: 22 - 13/10/2024 10:53:02    2574481

Replying To MarysMan123:  "I hope to god Eslin are beaten tommorrow"
did the Eslin lads bully you as a child?
May not be my favourite club but they fight tooth and nail to stay in existence and would not be if not for the hard work of a few that are probably only putting off the inevitable. They may have a last kick in them yet

gaelsboy (Leitrim) - Posts: 557 - 13/10/2024 12:32:51    2574493

Have that eslinchickenmaryland. Up the Bores!!!!!

leitrimfan123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 13/10/2024 14:32:02    2574524

Replying To gaelsboy:  "did the Eslin lads bully you as a child?
May not be my favourite club but they fight tooth and nail to stay in existence and would not be if not for the hard work of a few that are probably only putting off the inevitable. They may have a last kick in them yet"
Well that's it, Eslin are finished. They may aswell take the 164,000 and put it behind the bar is cusacks

MarysMan123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 14 - 13/10/2024 14:48:58    2574528

Congratulations to Bornacoola on winning a championship with their first team for the first time in my memory. Better team on the day, fitter and had younger legs too. Eslin battled hard as they always do but needed another 2 or three Conor Beirnes to have won. I hope they have some youth coming through as at least 5 lads there around the 40 mark and there's no long term future in that. Great to see Gary McCloskey come in a finally get a championship medal after all his years service .

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 233 - 13/10/2024 15:06:42    2574532

Replying To Square_B:  "That's rich now with all the controversy with your own championship this year. Worry about your own championship and how its run."
Just because that was a mess doesn't mean this isn't

Rockshorecider (Longford) - Posts: 47 - 13/10/2024 15:09:15    2574534

Was at Junior final in Cloone, and in fairness Bornacoola probably deserved it in the end. The Eslin fight back came to late but the standout performer was Conor Beirne for me. Scored some great frees in second half and Eslins only down fall was the panic to get him the ball at times. Thought Vincent McMorrow had a decent game in the middle didn't get everything right but who does in these games? Cloone looked great in fairness the only downfall has been the same for yrs was the PA system.

Weaternpro (Leitrim) - Posts: 62 - 13/10/2024 16:03:57    2574541

Congratulations to Allen Gaels. Massive achievement for them!! Melvin were embarassing to watch and gave up with 20 mins to go. I can't see Melvin ever getting out of intermediate especially with the carry on in the dugout!

leitrimfan123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 15 - 13/10/2024 17:02:35    2574549

Replying To Rockshorecider:  "Just because that was a mess doesn't mean this isn't"
How it is a 'mess'? A replay went to penalties which is the format at national level. Level your criticism at Croke Park not us gaels in Leitrim.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 995 - 13/10/2024 17:11:47    2574555

Replying To leitrimfan123:  "Congratulations to Allen Gaels. Massive achievement for them!! Melvin were embarassing to watch and gave up with 20 mins to go. I can't see Melvin ever getting out of intermediate especially with the carry on in the dugout!"
Great to see for the young outfit. Surprised Melvin went out with such a whimper. Great showing from all 3 finals, Whoever takes the Leitrim job will be spoiled for choice for quality players no doubt.

Overtheblackspot (Leitrim) - Posts: 6 - 13/10/2024 17:17:14    2574557

Replying To eoinog:  "O Hara saw red yesterday, expect plenty of those if you give him the Leitrim job"
It will sit well with his 8 county championship medals as a player and 7 county championships as a manager…….remind me how many you have beside your keyboard?

leyny (Sligo) - Posts: 70 - 13/10/2024 17:28:23    2574565

Replying To leitrimfan123:  "Congratulations to Allen Gaels. Massive achievement for them!! Melvin were embarassing to watch and gave up with 20 mins to go. I can't see Melvin ever getting out of intermediate especially with the carry on in the dugout!"
You'll need to wait till the end of the final next time

Thejampot (Leitrim) - Posts: 332 - 13/10/2024 18:07:38    2574582

Replying To Thejampot:  "You'll need to wait till the end of the final next time"
Young lads only starting out are allowed a little leniency. You were very gentle with your wisdom.
That Twitter yoke can give a false impression of actual events…..

Boxtyeater (Leitrim) - Posts: 709 - 13/10/2024 18:43:32    2574593

God Allen Gaels will be sick tonight, fair play to Melvin Gaels for pulling it out of the fire but to lose such a big lead so late in the game will haunt them for a long time. Didn't see the game at all anyone at it?

JimmyNail (Leitrim) - Posts: 233 - 13/10/2024 19:00:43    2574600

Can you believe the scenes in Dromod?You'd share the won the senior!! They should be ashamed to have been in Junior, good to see them back in Intermediate but I feel they will yo yo for quite a number of years not much coming through there!

blackpuddin (Leitrim) - Posts: 89 - 13/10/2024 19:16:46    2574608