Leitrim GAA thread

Replying To eoinog:  "It appeared to be a very enjoyable game. It clashed with games in Sligo so I couldn't see it. I was very disappointed that neither teams were on WTS. It's a brilliant way to follow a game if you can't get to it. For a Co final not to have the teams on the app is very disappointing"
It was all there on the Score Beo app

SeanMacDiarmada (Leitrim) - Posts: 407 - 06/10/2024 20:44:07    2573344

An exciting county final no doubt...but littered with errors and I wouldn't like to be trying to pick a county squad fro the best 2 teams in leitrim

totalrecall (Leitrim) - Posts: 989 - 06/10/2024 22:29:12    2573368

Very good game of football today I thought. I was surprised at the amount of times the ball was kicked which is great to see.. SOH will have great regret about not closing out that game but they have their keeper to thank for that brilliant save right at the end so they were lucky also not to loose it also. I would question the black card near the end I thought it was a red card and tbh a very dangerous tackle.

Inatfullforward (Longford) - Posts: 101 - 06/10/2024 22:40:56    2573373

Replying To Square_B:  "Look I was fairly confident that SOH would win a close game given their form into today (although I did say don't be suprised of a draw) but after seeing them earlier, they're a fairly light team, very open at the back and lets be honest were lucky enough with how the first 5 minutes of the game panned out for then and given all the wides that Mohill kicked. If Mohill sort that out by next week, they'll win of that I'm sure. Now of course you could say if SOH tighten up the backline they'll win also but I always feel the team that level up the first day has the advantage & confidence going into the replay. I thought Wayne McKeon had a great game, a testament to his spirit given his long service to club & county. Hopefully the replay will be a decent game also."
With no disrespect to Honeyman as it's a great achievement at such a young age and he has a great future ahead of him, I still think McKeon should have got man of the match. He's an exceptional player and has been as long as I remember him.

If he had been in a different county, would he have been better handled I wonder.. guess we'll never know.

Anyway, looking forward to a great weekend of football next week.. all 3 finals on the same weekend like the old days. And a women women's finals to top it off iswell

leitrimlad15 (Leitrim) - Posts: 108 - 06/10/2024 22:47:57    2573374

Replying To leitrimlad15:  "With no disrespect to Honeyman as it's a great achievement at such a young age and he has a great future ahead of him, I still think McKeon should have got man of the match. He's an exceptional player and has been as long as I remember him.

If he had been in a different county, would he have been better handled I wonder.. guess we'll never know.

Anyway, looking forward to a great weekend of football next week.. all 3 finals on the same weekend like the old days. And a women women's finals to top it off iswell"
Its such a pity Wayne McKeon inter County career was so short. He was/is a fantastic player.

3rdmidfielder (Australia) - Posts: 322 - 07/10/2024 09:05:15    2573393

Replying To Tirchonaill1:  "Very enjoyable game for the neutral, some lads will be rueing some bad misses tonight but they live to fight another day."
Agree 100%!! Great advertisement for Leitrim GAA. I thought the battle between Domhnaill Flynn and Shane Moran was intriguing!! Looking forward 2d replay now!! Bmore pitch looked great too!!

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 51 - 07/10/2024 09:10:56    2573396

Great county final at the weekend, very entertaining stuff. Think Mohill hung on well and deserved the draw at least. I think Mohill should win the replay but it will be a tight affair. In regards to the other 2 games, here are my predictions.

Melvin Gaels vs Allen Gaels
I can't imagine this game will be too good because of Melvin's slow and boring style of play but I do think it will help them frustrate Allen Gaels enough to get a result. Allen Gaels by 2.

Eslin vs Bornaculla
I think this should be an easy enough win for the boors. Eslin in my opinion are very lucky to be even playing in this final.

MarysMan123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 14 - 07/10/2024 10:52:03    2573421

Replying To MarysMan123:  "Great county final at the weekend, very entertaining stuff. Think Mohill hung on well and deserved the draw at least. I think Mohill should win the replay but it will be a tight affair. In regards to the other 2 games, here are my predictions.

I can't imagine this game will be too good because of Melvin's slow and boring style of play but I do think it will help them frustrate Allen Gaels enough to get a result. Allen Gaels by 2.

Eslin vs Bornaculla
I think this should be an easy enough win for the boors. Eslin in my opinion are very lucky to be even playing in this final. They are more of a pub team, perhaps they should consider playing darts instead."
Disgusting of you to snigger at a team like Eslin with such great tradition. Eslin don't have 4 parish areas to pull from and a population of 5,000 like some. They also don't have 30k a year to throw at a manager and his extensive backroom team of stats men, s and c and coaches. Show some grace and decorum, townies need to get out of the fog.

Backing the Beirne brothers to turn on the style and show the Bors what they're made of. Bornacoola have too much class to be in this division nonetheless, Bors by 6.

Intermediate Championship: Can the loud Northeners pip a young energetic Dbo side, it depends on the day. Tight affair, can see this being a draw.

Leitrim01 (Leitrim) - Posts: 11 - 07/10/2024 11:51:10    2573444

Replying To MarysMan123:  "Great county final at the weekend, very entertaining stuff. Think Mohill hung on well and deserved the draw at least. I think Mohill should win the replay but it will be a tight affair. In regards to the other 2 games, here are my predictions.

Eslin vs Bornaculla
I think this should be an easy enough win for the boors. Eslin in my opinion are very lucky to be even playing in this final."

2 points between the teams in both games they played this year

Also, I notice your a 'Marysman'.. one championship in your so called golden generation and lucky to win it. More one Mohill lost than Carrick won. Boring lateral football and great that you didn't get to a final or the country would be criticising the standard of football in Leitrim. Thankfully two actual football teams got there. I hope ye keep your sideways footballing manager.

leitrimlad15 (Leitrim) - Posts: 108 - 07/10/2024 12:29:08    2573451

Replying To Leitrim01:  "Disgusting of you to snigger at a team like Eslin with such great tradition. Eslin don't have 4 parish areas to pull from and a population of 5,000 like some. They also don't have 30k a year to throw at a manager and his extensive backroom team of stats men, s and c and coaches. Show some grace and decorum, townies need to get out of the fog.

Backing the Beirne brothers to turn on the style and show the Bors what they're made of. Bornacoola have too much class to be in this division nonetheless, Bors by 6.

Intermediate Championship: Can the loud Northeners pip a young energetic Dbo side, it depends on the day. Tight affair, can see this being a draw."
Marysman123 is clearly a Mohill person. Their posts about the county final being in Balinamore and having a cut at Eslin make that clear. Some deflection tactics going on here.

Dan_Toal (Leitrim) - Posts: 243 - 07/10/2024 12:50:24    2573456

Eslin vs Bornaculla
I think this should be an easy enough win for the boors. Eslin in my opinion are very lucky to be even playing in this final."
Is Bornaculla a new parish? Don't know it.

Eslin will never be defeated

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 274 - 07/10/2024 12:55:43    2573457

Replying To Dan_Toal:  "Marysman123 is clearly a Mohill person. Their posts about the county final being in Balinamore and having a cut at Eslin make that clear. Some deflection tactics going on here."
Didn't see previous posts but possibly right. Petty whoever it is. Must be from the old stock because as far as I understand the players from both teams get on well. I suppose why wouldn't they considering they all went to school together. Granted you have your local rivalries but they were never in my day anyway, in the same grades.

I'd imagine Mohill would have more of a rivalry over the years with Gortlettragh considering they were in the same grade over the years and a lot of Gortlettragh's would go to school in Mohill. Obviously Mohill are way ahead now and Gortlettragh gone back to intermediate but 90's/ 00's there would have been a big rivalry.

leitrimlad15 (Leitrim) - Posts: 108 - 07/10/2024 13:16:56    2573460

Eslin vs Bornaculla
Typical townie attitude towards rural clubs, looking down their noses at culchies. It it is bizarre to me that Carrick are still whinging about the location of the game and about how most of their players coming down with ligma. Should be ashamed of yourself and I think a lot of growing up needs to be done!

DowraMart123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 9 - 07/10/2024 14:38:58    2573469

The senior final was a decent watch but the games only was awful goalkeeping turning a attempted pass into a goal. Why wasn't extra time used?

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 220 - 07/10/2024 15:13:28    2573481

It has appeared that the post I have made today has caused lots of upset in the forum. So I would like to take this moment to apologise…. to absolutely nobody.
I am not going to apologise for giving my opinion.

MarysMan123 (Leitrim) - Posts: 14 - 07/10/2024 15:59:58    2573487

good game yesterday, littered with mistakes could've gone either way. bad mistake for ballinamores goal but mohill came back well and were always there or thereabouts and in fact could have had their own lucky goal with flynns big boomer in towards the end. maybe a draw was a fair result. mohill i'd say will have to be happier with their performance but there's room for improvement from both teams. i'm going for mohill in the replay.

meathbasedfan (Leitrim) - Posts: 117 - 07/10/2024 21:26:33    2573543

Replying To meathbasedfan:  "good game yesterday, littered with mistakes could've gone either way. bad mistake for ballinamores goal but mohill came back well and were always there or thereabouts and in fact could have had their own lucky goal with flynns big boomer in towards the end. maybe a draw was a fair result. mohill i'd say will have to be happier with their performance but there's room for improvement from both teams. i'm going for mohill in the replay."
Yes an exciting game. Evenly enough balanced with Mohill for me looking the stronger of the two. They will be relived to have full a compliment of players too with a black rather than a red given at the end. Their experience showed as they were the more composed team in the second half. Well done to both teams and management for their positive attitude and style of play.

Backheel (Leitrim) - Posts: 162 - 07/10/2024 23:29:53    2573561

Good game yesterday very hard to know who will be most happy. Thought Bmore lucky that Liam Ferguson wasn't black carded and penalty given dragged down mohill attacker who was in on goal in first half, if Mohill got a goal it would've been hard to see ballinamore coming back. I think SOH will be quietly confident the next day to take Mohill people will say Mohill because of there wides but alot will depend on mohill full backs Injury. He nullified Tom and if he's out Mohill won't handle Tom. Thought man if the match yesterday was Mohill 12 the Harkin fella he was brilliant, words here for Mc Keon to get it, he made a couple of bursts, kicked 2 boomers no doubt goal was poxy but apart from being ok on the ball and positive with his passing he didn't go up the field much or wasn't able to. From being at the pitch he just sat in front of Maxwell really marking noone. It could be a shootout of a final looking forward to it SOH by 6

Taytofoley83 (Leitrim) - Posts: 22 - 08/10/2024 00:56:00    2573568

Very tight county final last Sunday, ballinamore the more clinical going forward but Mohill with more possession and looked the better team at times. Honeyman and Berne both performed quite well last weekend but I feel it's now who out of prior and Reynolds is better this week along with the other two who will get across the line. Hopefully we get a high scoring game next weekend and get to see the top qualify forwards on show at there best. Ballinamore by 2.

I see the u17 final is fixed for 12 in Drumshambo, should be an intriguing game between two clubs that are going well underage. Manor gave Carrick an almighty hammering last week but annaduff also had a substantial win over Brigids. Hard game to call, both teams have top players and were well represented on u17 and u16 county teams this year. Manor by 3

Don't forget lads it's not all about the men the senior ladies final is 2 in cloone on Saturday, pity it's so close to the senior mens as they deserve a big crowd after the amazing year the county team had. I think manor are going for 5 in a row but any final I've been at between the two is always close. Some real county stars on show here who lit up croke park a few months ago,Manor have three real standout forwards whereas I feel st Joseph's are a better rounded team. St Joseph's by 1.

Leitrim007 (Leitrim) - Posts: 5 - 08/10/2024 10:11:36    2573612

What's the story with Mickey Graham, He hasn't named his backroom team yet and I along with others didn't see him in Ballinamore last Sunday. Wouldn't be surprised if he's having second thoughts and decided to walk out.

Leitrim_12 (Leitrim) - Posts: 69 - 08/10/2024 13:16:18    2573660