Roscommon GAA thread

Bridgets still odds on to win,Gaels won easily yesterday but Pearses were useless so wouldnt read much in to win,as for Oran,i expected them to lose,bottled it last year and didnt learn from it,beat a weak Gaels outfit earlier in championship and still havnt won a championship knock out game!!Fair play to Strokestown team,always a hard team to beat in knock out games.

Gaelrossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 70 - 02/10/2022 17:07:53    2442515

Replying To Gaelrossie:  "Bridgets still odds on to win,Gaels won easily yesterday but Pearses were useless so wouldnt read much in to win,as for Oran,i expected them to lose,bottled it last year and didnt learn from it,beat a weak Gaels outfit earlier in championship and still havnt won a championship knock out game!!Fair play to Strokestown team,always a hard team to beat in knock out games."
Is Flanagan's appointment imminent now.

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 02/10/2022 17:39:05    2442520

After watching all four games the weekend Im disappointed with the standard to be honest. Slow sloppy football full of stupid mistakes. Thought Roscommon G were the best overall team. The four games were very hard watch.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1044 - 02/10/2022 17:39:11    2442521

Boyle prevail 1-11 to 0-9 dullest match of the weekend I've watch. Boyle goal was a gift and Glaveys missed a penalty that might have made the finish to the game more interesting if it was scored. Mckeon was the stand out for Boyle while Glaveys although he missed the penalty was best for Glaveys.

Brigids v Boyle and Roscommon Gaels v Strokestown semi finals. I'd fancy a Brigids v Gaels final with the Kiltoom cam men to win.

Elsewhere i see Éire Óg needed a sudden death penalty shootout to beat Brigids B and Dominics as expected won comfortably. Still looking like the winner of Fuerty v Dominics next Saturday will win that title.

Junior A has two B teams on one side of the draw Strokestown and Pearses and two A teams in Ronans, Ballinameen.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 02/10/2022 17:49:15    2442522

Replying To Gaelrossie:  "Bridgets still odds on to win,Gaels won easily yesterday but Pearses were useless so wouldnt read much in to win,as for Oran,i expected them to lose,bottled it last year and didnt learn from it,beat a weak Gaels outfit earlier in championship and still havnt won a championship knock out game!!Fair play to Strokestown team,always a hard team to beat in knock out games."
I'd still have Bridgets down to win it. Oran lack the physicality and cuteness you get with having a few county players. Glaveys unlucky with injuries to key players this year.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 02/10/2022 17:50:26    2442523

Replying To Jack L:  "Is Flanagan's appointment imminent now."
I hope not,his tactics and team preparation yesterday were brutal and his game plan playing with stong breeze was non existant!!

Gaelrossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 70 - 02/10/2022 18:11:58    2442526

Replying To Gaelrossie:  "I hope not,his tactics and team preparation yesterday were brutal and his game plan playing with stong breeze was non existant!!"
In hindsight Pearses would have been better off if they and Pat had gone their separate ways this season.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1402 - 02/10/2022 19:57:07    2442552

Who do ye think are the stands out so far from lads making a case to get onto the county team or into the panel? Daire Cregg and young McGann look like lads that definitely should be given game time next year. I haven't seen any Bridgids games but sounds like Ben O'Carroll and probably a few others putting their hands up. Any backs really impressing? Be great if Sean Mulloolly was available for county again.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 03/10/2022 12:55:48    2442634

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Who do ye think are the stands out so far from lads making a case to get onto the county team or into the panel? Daire Cregg and young McGann look like lads that definitely should be given game time next year. I haven't seen any Bridgids games but sounds like Ben O'Carroll and probably a few others putting their hands up. Any backs really impressing? Be great if Sean Mulloolly was available for county again."
Mcgann has had his chances I feel and probably not good for county. Cregg, O'Carroll and think Paul McGrath is worth a look

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1044 - 03/10/2022 14:53:08    2442657

Replying To dave1988:  "Mcgann has had his chances I feel and probably not good for county. Cregg, O'Carroll and think Paul McGrath is worth a look"
If we only had a management......
McGann must be late 20s?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1402 - 03/10/2022 15:21:23    2442664

I dono about what everyone else thinks but I took in all senior games at the weekend and I thought the standard was extremely poor no one stood out really

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 03/10/2022 16:08:35    2442673

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "If we only had a management......
McGann must be late 20s?"
For some reason I thought he was younger but you're right.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 771 - 03/10/2022 16:27:00    2442677

He's 27. Made his county debut this year and got 3 appearances against Sligo, Galway in the FBD and v Cork in the NFL all starts he then got a bad injury that ruled him out of the rest of the league.

To Dave Is that classed as having his chances? If a manager was to be picking players on club form McGann would be on the panel and probably should have been called in much sooner.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3742 - 03/10/2022 16:46:51    2442682

By all accounts new manager is waiting to be ratified!!!As a Gaels man im glad he has agreed to take over.

Gaelrossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 70 - 03/10/2022 17:29:22    2442693

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "I dono about what everyone else thinks but I took in all senior games at the weekend and I thought the standard was extremely poor no one stood out really"
Dont be so negative,plenty of fine individual performances on most teams,id say new manager saw enough to be happy.

Gaelrossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 70 - 03/10/2022 18:41:53    2442699

Minor in '14 I think ...

spion7 (Roscommon) - Posts: 55 - 03/10/2022 18:56:02    2442701

I see that Tanaiste Leo Varadkar visited Fitzgerald stadium in Killarney and spoke about government capital grants for developing the ground. What about Hyde Park. Is there government funding available for developing the Hyde or does anybody know what's the story with that.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2155 - 03/10/2022 19:00:36    2442702

27ish

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 03/10/2022 19:34:55    2442708

Bought all 4 matches at weekend as I wasn't down the country. Bridgids were very comfortable v Clann and 3 pts flattered Clann. Hard to believe they were in a county final last year amd semi previous year. Be interesting to see what all the Liam Kearns bashers earlier have to say now. I see their intermediates were relegated also.

Gaels were impressive in 2nd half of their victory but pearses had chances in first half to bury them especially Paul Careys goal chance when 3pts up. Gaels ha e experience and power but may be caught in certain areas with age.

Strokestown were full value for their win. Got a great start and should have been further ahead but let Oran back into it amd at ht Oran looked the winners but were extremely disappointing in 2nd half and strokestown took the gane to them and Iran had no answer to the 14 mens hunger.

Last game was very ponderous amd Glaveys will have a few tinges of regret. Sloppy goal to gibe away and penalty miss when 3 down would have levelled it up with all the momentum. Boyle will have to improve to beat Bridgids.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 03/10/2022 20:15:43    2442712

So it's looking like Ciaran donaghy and Paul Galvin as selector

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1044 - 03/10/2022 20:46:22    2442713