Roscommon GAA thread

The selection committee of our county board have never kicked a ball in their lives and don't know much about football truth be known. Rinse and repeat I fear.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1163 - 30/07/2025 00:14:55    2629167

Replying To Ros2013:  "To be fair to the Board they have the candidates lined up for interviews next week. This all takes time and if you've someone got by end of August it's not bad going."
Have they?
Any hints as to who they are?

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 27 - 30/07/2025 00:24:27    2629169

We will have the usual preffered candidate and he will hmm and haw.
Do a bit of thinking about it see if a better offer comes in the 48 hours he asks to form a backroom team.

Michaelbeag (Roscommon) - Posts: 15 - 30/07/2025 06:25:08    2629178

Replying To Seanfan:  "Have they?
Any hints as to who they are?"
Donaghy is a story doing the rounds

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3187 - 30/07/2025 08:32:32    2629185

Some amount of begrudgers is in this forum. Its the end of July if there is a man in place by the end of august i would be happy enough. Thankless job and fair play to the 6 who put their name forward to find someone - plenty here wouldn't do it. On the manager front i dont think noel dunning is the man unless there was and extremely strong ticket with him. The backroom team is nearly more important than the actual manager especially with the new rules. I wouldn't be hiring a manager without a full set up being in place from selectors right through to S&C, Nutritionist and physiologist. has to be the whole package

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 794 - 30/07/2025 09:29:41    2629194

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Some amount of begrudgers is in this forum. Its the end of July if there is a man in place by the end of august i would be happy enough. Thankless job and fair play to the 6 who put their name forward to find someone - plenty here wouldn't do it. On the manager front i dont think noel dunning is the man unless there was and extremely strong ticket with him. The backroom team is nearly more important than the actual manager especially with the new rules. I wouldn't be hiring a manager without a full set up being in place from selectors right through to S&C, Nutritionist and physiologist. has to be the whole package"
Who's begrudging?
The history of our last few managerial appointments wasn't great to say the least.
Hopefully a better process this time and a more timely appointment.

Donaghy had the job 3 years ago too.......

According to a Mayo newspaper!!!

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 27 - 30/07/2025 09:49:34    2629198

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Some amount of begrudgers is in this forum. Its the end of July if there is a man in place by the end of august i would be happy enough. Thankless job and fair play to the 6 who put their name forward to find someone - plenty here wouldn't do it. On the manager front i dont think noel dunning is the man unless there was and extremely strong ticket with him. The backroom team is nearly more important than the actual manager especially with the new rules. I wouldn't be hiring a manager without a full set up being in place from selectors right through to S&C, Nutritionist and physiologist. has to be the whole package"
Backroom team is absolutely crucial. Hopefully they will be able to get someone on board who is tactically astute and who can prduce a well coached set up. Now I know we weren't the only county but you didn't need to be a genius to work out that some form of a blended kicking game would be advantageous under the new rules. How we persisted with a slow handpassing game is still mind boggling and infuriating when you think back on a wasted summer.

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 282 - 30/07/2025 10:04:47    2629202

Replying To Seanfan:  "Who's begrudging?
The history of our last few managerial appointments wasn't great to say the least.
Hopefully a better process this time and a more timely appointment.

Donaghy had the job 3 years ago too.......

According to a Mayo newspaper!!!"
Tarismelting22 is correct. There is a huge amount of negativity on this forum and I think that it is getting worse.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 780 - 30/07/2025 10:42:00    2629217

A quick look forward to the weekend of club football ahead as the Roscommon Senior Club Championships kick off:

Senior:

St. Faithleach's v Padraig Pearses: Hard to look anything past a comfortable victory for Pearses here. Rumour of them missing Niall Daly which could be a factor but with Declan Kenny, Carey, Tumultey, Murray and the rest Pearses should be comfortable winners by 8/9 points.

Clan na Gael v St. Dominics: I expect this to be a tighter game than people may think. Clan to win by 3 or 4 points but I think Dominics will really test the Johnstown men. Will just have a bit too much strength and depth

Western Gaels v Michael Glaveys: Tough one to call here. Western Gaels have been unlucky in the last few years losing their group games by a mere few points. Andy Glennon leaving Glaveys is a huge hot for them to take and they are now going to rely on the Heneghan brothers for their scores. I'm going to say Western Gaels by 2 points but a draw could be on the cards.

Elphin vs St. Brigit's: The favourites meet the Intermediate champions. Orchard Park is a tough ground to go to but Brigits starting 15 (and beyond) is just too packed with quality. Brigits by 10. But I expect Elphin to get out of the group.

Boyle vs Roscommon Gaels: The Gaels are off the back of a very good league campaign with players to come back into the fold. Boyle will be out to avenge the clipping Roscommon Gaels gave them at home last time around and will need huge performances from their outstanding forward line. A very tight affair but I think Boyle will edge this by 1/2 points. The 2 point frees could be the deciding factor in this game with both sides having excellent set piece takers

Oran vs Castlerea: Another good game where Castlerea will look to show everyone their senior status is here to stay. Predicting oran by 5 points but if Castlerea can keep a solid shape at the back, they will really fancy an early win in this group.

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 79 - 30/07/2025 12:15:30    2629244

Thanks a million to Donie, great servant to the county. Will always remember the equalising score under serious pressure at the end of the first QF against Mayo in Croker to earn a replay.

FullOfPorter (Roscommon) - Posts: 282 - 30/07/2025 14:00:42    2629264

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Tarismelting22 is correct. There is a huge amount of negativity on this forum and I think that it is getting worse."
That's correct. Let's get a man in place do that we can discuss the club championship

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3187 - 30/07/2025 14:01:28    2629267

Replying To FullOfPorter:  "Thanks a million to Donie, great servant to the county. Will always remember the equalising score under serious pressure at the end of the first QF against Mayo in Croker to earn a replay."
He's given some service to Roscommon. Going back to 2009 when he stood out on the Fr Manning cup U16 winning team. Was one of our star forwards on the Connacht U18 winning team in 2011 and again for the next three years with the U21s that brought two Connacht titles and two All-Ireland final appearance.

13 years a long time nowadays with a senior team and when he started out we were a middle or the road Div 3 team. One of his best individual performances for me was last year when we beat Tyrone against the odds in Omagh to reach the last 8.

Happy and healthy retirement to Donie.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 4133 - 30/07/2025 14:41:26    2629280

Replying To FullOfPorter:  "Thanks a million to Donie, great servant to the county. Will always remember the equalising score under serious pressure at the end of the first QF against Mayo in Croker to earn a replay."
Sometimes I wish he put that wide .. great player and gave everything for roscommon. Thought he would give it another year or two. But best of luck to him and his family

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1302 - 30/07/2025 14:52:16    2629284

Replying To The_analyser:  "He's given some service to Roscommon. Going back to 2009 when he stood out on the Fr Manning cup U16 winning team. Was one of our star forwards on the Connacht U18 winning team in 2011 and again for the next three years with the U21s that brought two Connacht titles and two All-Ireland final appearance.

13 years a long time nowadays with a senior team and when he started out we were a middle or the road Div 3 team. One of his best individual performances for me was last year when we beat Tyrone against the odds in Omagh to reach the last 8.

Happy and healthy retirement to Donie."
15 or 16 years playing at a high level for various Roscommon teams is some commitment given that Donie primarily lived away from Roscommon. Donie was a very talented footballer who gave it everything he had, and that is all you can ask of anybody. Hope you and your wife/young family fully enjoy your retirement Donie.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 780 - 30/07/2025 16:05:20    2629311

https://www.rte.ie/sport/football/2025/0730/1526153-roscommon-stalwart-donie-smith-announces-retirement/

A hell of a player.
Donie retiring from Inter County Football.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 4545 - 30/07/2025 16:18:50    2629316

Best wishes to Donie on his well earned inter County retirement.
Part of those good Minors and u21s between 2011 and 14 who lifted us out of the lower Divisions and made us at least a top 10 team at Senior.
Thanks for the memories Donie.

Seanfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 27 - 30/07/2025 16:34:06    2629322

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "Tarismelting22 is correct. There is a huge amount of negativity on this forum and I think that it is getting worse."
Cop on..posters here are entitled to express their views. If the truth hurts so be it. The Senior team haven't reached their potential and it's not the posters here or loyal supporters that have let the job down. Reality is that we are well off it and if there is negativity it's the way that the team is misperforming in a time when we've the best wave of talent since the early 90s.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1163 - 30/07/2025 18:56:41    2629346

Replying To Rossfan93:  "A quick look forward to the weekend of club football ahead as the Roscommon Senior Club Championships kick off:

Senior:

St. Faithleach's v Padraig Pearses: Hard to look anything past a comfortable victory for Pearses here. Rumour of them missing Niall Daly which could be a factor but with Declan Kenny, Carey, Tumultey, Murray and the rest Pearses should be comfortable winners by 8/9 points.

Clan na Gael v St. Dominics: I expect this to be a tighter game than people may think. Clan to win by 3 or 4 points but I think Dominics will really test the Johnstown men. Will just have a bit too much strength and depth

Western Gaels v Michael Glaveys: Tough one to call here. Western Gaels have been unlucky in the last few years losing their group games by a mere few points. Andy Glennon leaving Glaveys is a huge hot for them to take and they are now going to rely on the Heneghan brothers for their scores. I'm going to say Western Gaels by 2 points but a draw could be on the cards.

Elphin vs St. Brigit's: The favourites meet the Intermediate champions. Orchard Park is a tough ground to go to but Brigits starting 15 (and beyond) is just too packed with quality. Brigits by 10. But I expect Elphin to get out of the group.

Boyle vs Roscommon Gaels: The Gaels are off the back of a very good league campaign with players to come back into the fold. Boyle will be out to avenge the clipping Roscommon Gaels gave them at home last time around and will need huge performances from their outstanding forward line. A very tight affair but I think Boyle will edge this by 1/2 points. The 2 point frees could be the deciding factor in this game with both sides having excellent set piece takers

Oran vs Castlerea: Another good game where Castlerea will look to show everyone their senior status is here to stay. Predicting oran by 5 points but if Castlerea can keep a solid shape at the back, they will really fancy an early win in this group."
Very good read this

Donie retiring. What a brilliant servant to the county.

BrigidsToom (Roscommon) - Posts: 33 - 30/07/2025 19:28:27    2629350

If he was with another former underage manager going back to u21 days
Would you think there your man

Michaelbeag (Roscommon) - Posts: 15 - 30/07/2025 19:45:11    2629355

I have to say I felt a bit sad seeing Donie's announcement of his retirement today. What a player he has been for Ros. I watched him all the way through the different grades and he was just a silky, classy baller but also had a bit of steel about him. As another poster said he was part of those wonderdul underage teams of the late noughties and early twenty tens that gave us plenty of great days out. A shame that they never clinched an All Ireland title. Also sad that its nearly that generations time gone at senior level. Where has those years gone. All the best to Donie and his family for the future. He's certainly a Ros legend who'll be fondly remembered by all Ros and Gaa fans for years to come

ComainRos (Roscommon) - Posts: 152 - 30/07/2025 19:57:22    2629358