Roscommon GAA thread

Didn't deserve anything from that game. It was like 15 lads who never played together. The shooting was awful and decision making was worse at times. Well done Sligo fully deserved.

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 13/04/2022 19:51:44    2410901

God we fairly threw that one away. Leave a team in it and you invariably get stung. Our miss count mist be out of this world. Some real easy chances too. Questionable that some star players who were probably just having a poor day weren't changed. Well done Sligo and best of luck in the final but I reckon we should be in it tonite.

moros (Roscommon) - Posts: 1078 - 13/04/2022 20:10:38    2410904

Accuracy of our highly rated forwards wasn't near the level required tonight. Can't expect to win any championship match when that wasteful in front of the posts.

Such a frustrating loss and looking at the manner that Mayo overcame Leitrim we probably left another Connacht title behind us tonight. Hard lessons to be learnt there and a number of them have a lot of improving to do before making the step up to senior.

Finally i wish Sligo the best of luck in the final, a very tough month for them losing Red Óg.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 13/04/2022 20:19:09    2410905

Congratulations first of all to the Sligo team on winning tonight, after facing very difficult circumstances in the last couple of weeks, which should put everything into perspective. Eoghan Smith effectively won the game for his team, kicking about 8 points.
Rather than blaming individual players who did not perform up to their usual high standards, I think that some players can hold their heads high. Jack Tumulty kicked three good points from play, Conor Hand was very good with his direct running and Paddy Gavin also played well. Apart from one error while trying to carry the ball out, I though that our 6'7" goalkeeper Darren Quinn played well, and mixed up his kickouts well. His height also helped him to save a shot that was going over the crossbar. Some other players also played well.
While we lost two of our full back line to injury which did not help, on the negative side I felt that:
1. Our shot selection by several players were very poor at times. I think we had about 16 wides including some frees, and kicked about another four shots into the keepers hands.
2. I don't like saying it, but I thought that a player or two were a little greedy at times by going for glory when better options were available. (This included some of the wides, but also included having shots blocked down under pressure). Hopefully the players involved will learn a lot from this disappointing result and experience better days in a Roscommon shirt in the future
3. The Sligo goalkeeper was given an easy and uncontested target for several kickouts.

As all the players are very young and tend to read social media, I do not think it is a good idea to criticize individual players after this defeat. Anyone who has ever played the game knows that you have good and bad days and that the breaks can go either way. Roscommon lead for about 90% of the match but just were not ahead when it counted. The fact that Leitrim put it up to Mayo (also losing by one point) in the other semi final makes the defeat even more disappointing.

On a general point, I do not think that it is a good time of the year to run this competition. Most of the players from all under 20 teams are third level students, some of whom are doing important level 6 and level 7 examinations around this time and others doing important examinations in order to progress into the next year of their level 8 courses. Travelling to training and representing their various counties takes up an awful lot of time and limits their ability to complete assignments, do revision for their examinations (about this time) and do part time work to help pay for their studies.

Therefore I would like to thank all the players who committed to the cause this year. Tonight was not a great night for you all, but hopefully you will experience many good days representing the Rossies in the future.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 494 - 13/04/2022 21:47:12    2410913

Hard luck to all concerned last night but as previously stated here its not a huge shocknas tgis sligo team have beaten Ross twice at minor level in past 3 years. I didn't make it to Sligo but again Tg4 provided brilliant coverage with their streaming service. Fantastic little channel.

Not sure what match some posters here were watching if they thought Sligo deserved their win. Roscommon were the better team by a long distance for a lot of the match particularly in first half when they were 5 up 1- 7 to 5pts and had kicked 9 wides at that stage all very scoreable so should have been out of sight. Appeared to be a bit of debate about one of those wides as it seemed to be a pt from the TV coverage and lot of players appealing which is always a true indication.

The game turned on the penalty 3 minutes before half time as Roscommon were on the attack lost possession and sligo ran straight down middle and got a penalty and it was a blatant one. For Sligo to go in level after been outplayed was huge for them.

It was very even for a lot of second half but Roscommon again took over half way through and went 2pts up coming down the stretch. A giveaway 45 allowed sligo back into it again and Sligo hit the front for the only time on 60 mins. Even with that Roscommon had a great chance to level but out ball in keepers hands. Did that on at least 4 occasions along with 16/17 wides always leaves the opposition in a match and they paid the ultimate price.

Few observations and I noted from the programme courtesy of Ross GAA on twitter was it looked very light. The team itself is very small. Two big losses were midfielders from last year at different stages Ronan Garvin injured and Ruairi Fallon rugby. We struggled in midfield in 2nd half yesterday.

Roscommon started with just 6 of last years u20 team when it could possibly have been 9 but for injuries and rugby. Looking at other provinces and I note last years champions in Ulster didnt even make semis. Roscommon beaten in semis. Offaly lucky to get by Louth last weekend and Cork may be the only ones who make their provincial final but likely to lose to Kerry so the following year always sees changes.

The folly of bringing the three u20s into the senior set up came home to roost. Don't look half the players they were last year and their confidence is shot. I read Cormac Egan Offaly also had the same issues and he actually suffered a career threatening injury last week v Louth. Hopefully his recovery goes well but all these young lads are still developing physically amd being exposed to training that their body isn't ready for. Wish the GAA would wake up. Not everyone will be an exception like David Clifford.

Finally and it should be taken into context what these young lads go through as stated by a previous poster. A lot of these players were doing Leaving Cert oral exams for past 3 days and I believe at least one Ross player had an exam yesterday afternoon and then got on bus to go to a match and playing. I'm sure some Sligo lads did also but at least they were at home so fair play to them all.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 14/04/2022 08:17:48    2410918

Can't add much to what's been said already.
We really did it away.
As for timing this Competition....it was being played Feb/March 2020 till Covid arrived.
In 2021 it was in July/August this year April/May.
Is there any optimum time?
Or are we back to HQ wanting it abolished and going u19?
When would be the best time to have a u 19 Championship?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 14/04/2022 09:22:30    2410923

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "Hard luck to all concerned last night but as previously stated here its not a huge shocknas tgis sligo team have beaten Ross twice at minor level in past 3 years. I didn't make it to Sligo but again Tg4 provided brilliant coverage with their streaming service. Fantastic little channel.

Not sure what match some posters here were watching if they thought Sligo deserved their win. Roscommon were the better team by a long distance for a lot of the match particularly in first half when they were 5 up 1- 7 to 5pts and had kicked 9 wides at that stage all very scoreable so should have been out of sight. Appeared to be a bit of debate about one of those wides as it seemed to be a pt from the TV coverage and lot of players appealing which is always a true indication.

The game turned on the penalty 3 minutes before half time as Roscommon were on the attack lost possession and sligo ran straight down middle and got a penalty and it was a blatant one. For Sligo to go in level after been outplayed was huge for them.

It was very even for a lot of second half but Roscommon again took over half way through and went 2pts up coming down the stretch. A giveaway 45 allowed sligo back into it again and Sligo hit the front for the only time on 60 mins. Even with that Roscommon had a great chance to level but out ball in keepers hands. Did that on at least 4 occasions along with 16/17 wides always leaves the opposition in a match and they paid the ultimate price.

Few observations and I noted from the programme courtesy of Ross GAA on twitter was it looked very light. The team itself is very small. Two big losses were midfielders from last year at different stages Ronan Garvin injured and Ruairi Fallon rugby. We struggled in midfield in 2nd half yesterday.

Roscommon started with just 6 of last years u20 team when it could possibly have been 9 but for injuries and rugby. Looking at other provinces and I note last years champions in Ulster didnt even make semis. Roscommon beaten in semis. Offaly lucky to get by Louth last weekend and Cork may be the only ones who make their provincial final but likely to lose to Kerry so the following year always sees changes.

The folly of bringing the three u20s into the senior set up came home to roost. Don't look half the players they were last year and their confidence is shot. I read Cormac Egan Offaly also had the same issues and he actually suffered a career threatening injury last week v Louth. Hopefully his recovery goes well but all these young lads are still developing physically amd being exposed to training that their body isn't ready for. Wish the GAA would wake up. Not everyone will be an exception like David Clifford.

Finally and it should be taken into context what these young lads go through as stated by a previous poster. A lot of these players were doing Leaving Cert oral exams for past 3 days and I believe at least one Ross player had an exam yesterday afternoon and then got on bus to go to a match and playing. I'm sure some Sligo lads did also but at least they were at home so fair play to them all."
What a hilarious post. Reading itt will lift me for the day. You didn't win because you weren't good enough. Simple as that. You can have all the possession in the world but it's the scoreboard that counts. As I was at the match I can say that we actually went in front 4 pts to 3 after approx 20 mins not in the 60th minute as you said. Bizarrely at this level you had a lot of forwards who were left footed players and nothing to offer with the right foot. That obviously hampered your shot selection. Your goal had a touch of good fortune. An excellent save from our keeper but the rebound fell straight into the hands of a rossie forward who had simple task of scoring. That was your only attempt at as goal. Sligo scored one goal, Henry had a goal chance blocked down and substitute Duffy was one on one with the keeper and kicked it wide! Both of your midfielders started off at 100 miles an hour, a pace they couldn't stick so it was no surprise when they moved out of the fast lane and pulled into the hard shoulder with the hazard lights on. They ran out of gas. Indeed by the end of the match the Roscommon team were dead on their legs. Their fitness wasn't at the same level as Sligo. Finally I would have let your post run unopposed but you lacked the decency to wish us we'll in the final. In fairness most rossies did

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1649 - 14/04/2022 09:54:55    2410931

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Can't add much to what's been said already.
We really did it away.
As for timing this Competition....it was being played Feb/March 2020 till Covid arrived.
When would be the best time to have a u 19 Championship?"
Summer time would be ideal after exams but you then run into issues with clubs. U19 would bring more leaving certs into it.

What was interesting was Roscommon starting 15 came from 12/13 clubs while last night was came from 6 clubs.

At times it looked like they played as individuals rather than a team where certain players only passed to each other. A lot of shots were taken under pressure.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 14/04/2022 10:11:53    2410935

Replying To eoinog:  "What a hilarious post. Reading itt will lift me for the day. You didn't win because you weren't good enough. Simple as that. You can have all the possession in the world but it's the scoreboard that counts. As I was at the match I can say that we actually went in front 4 pts to 3 after approx 20 mins not in the 60th minute as you said. Bizarrely at this level you had a lot of forwards who were left footed players and nothing to offer with the right foot. That obviously hampered your shot selection. Your goal had a touch of good fortune. An excellent save from our keeper but the rebound fell straight into the hands of a rossie forward who had simple task of scoring. That was your only attempt at as goal. Sligo scored one goal, Henry had a goal chance blocked down and substitute Duffy was one on one with the keeper and kicked it wide! Both of your midfielders started off at 100 miles an hour, a pace they couldn't stick so it was no surprise when they moved out of the fast lane and pulled into the hard shoulder with the hazard lights on. They ran out of gas. Indeed by the end of the match the Roscommon team were dead on their legs. Their fitness wasn't at the same level as Sligo. Finally I would have let your post run unopposed but you lacked the decency to wish us we'll in the final. In fairness most rossies did"
I think his point was Roscommon looked in control in the first half and that probably contributed to their downfall ..he's also correct about Sligo being a physically stronger side..however you are correct in that when the tide turned the best and most composed team won ..we had wides but so did Sligo and coming down the stretch I only saw one winner ..Ye have plenty to improve on and most of not all Roscommon people will be wishing Sligo well in the final.

spion7 (Roscommon) - Posts: 55 - 14/04/2022 10:26:58    2410942

Replying To eoinog:  "What a hilarious post. Reading itt will lift me for the day. You didn't win because you weren't good enough. Simple as that. You can have all the possession in the world but it's the scoreboard that counts. As I was at the match I can say that we actually went in front 4 pts to 3 after approx 20 mins not in the 60th minute as you said. Bizarrely at this level you had a lot of forwards who were left footed players and nothing to offer with the right foot. That obviously hampered your shot selection. Your goal had a touch of good fortune. An excellent save from our keeper but the rebound fell straight into the hands of a rossie forward who had simple task of scoring. That was your only attempt at as goal. Sligo scored one goal, Henry had a goal chance blocked down and substitute Duffy was one on one with the keeper and kicked it wide! Both of your midfielders started off at 100 miles an hour, a pace they couldn't stick so it was no surprise when they moved out of the fast lane and pulled into the hard shoulder with the hazard lights on. They ran out of gas. Indeed by the end of the match the Roscommon team were dead on their legs. Their fitness wasn't at the same level as Sligo. Finally I would have let your post run unopposed but you lacked the decency to wish us we'll in the final. In fairness most rossies did"
I agree. Sligo were deserving winners in the end. They were better coached and miles better prepared for the game. Our management had a shocker. The set up was wrong and they changed F all as the game was going against us. Some of the players they dropped are miles better than lads on the panel.
Best of luck to Sligo in the final.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 14/04/2022 10:42:01    2410947

SmokieRoss, Roscommon had the opportunities and the game was there to be won however when you only score 12 times from 34 chances you simply don't deserve to win any championship match.

I posted on the Sligo thread the other day that it would be 50/50 hard game to call in reply to one lad wondering if they had a chance at all. Looking at the casual way of a number of efforts at posts and errors all over the field was the attitude mindset ever right/tuned in to the challenge ahead? Who was the three U20s brought to senior? McDermott, O Carroll that i know of whom were always work in progress, need to bulk up etc before making the step up and remember the likes of Diarmuid Murtagh isn't starting for the seniors and Paul Carey will do well to make the championship 26.

Best of luck to Sligo in the final and seeing that Mayo just beat Leitrim by 1 it should be a competitive final.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 14/04/2022 10:43:12    2410949

Replying To sourmilk93:  "I agree. Sligo were deserving winners in the end. They were better coached and miles better prepared for the game. Our management had a shocker. The set up was wrong and they changed F all as the game was going against us. Some of the players they dropped are miles better than lads on the panel.
Best of luck to Sligo in the final."
Roscommon had enough quality on the pitch to win and of the 19 that featured last night there was none IMO that was better sitting at home. The reason why they didn't win will leave plenty of regret however and we have nobody but ourselves to blame for that defeat.

The biggest question on management would be why Daire Cregg was chosen to play midfield. Duggan a midfielder played at wing half back and probably our best midfielder Greene not used at all.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 14/04/2022 10:50:50    2410950

Sligo were definitely better coached team and deserved the win. Made better decisions on the ball but also had some shocking wides to so best team won and best of luck to them. I remember against mayo last year they kicked wide after wide very similar to yesterday for us but No1 was saying mayo deserved to win. One of our forwards took a mark in the first half under no pressure from out near the sideline and I couldn't understand why then kicked the mark wide. It was an impossible shot to take on. Something has to come back on the management we didn't look fit we had no game plan and it was just hectic football from the start. We have 5/6 lads that are brilliant footballers but as I said without proper coaching that's what you will get. Daire cregg is a joy to watch. He might be my own club man and didn't have a great game yesterday but he has a massive future ahead. Think McDermott above everyone on the team just needs coaching and guidance. His speed would scare any defender but makes silly decisions at times. Cunningham will probably call McDermott Cregg Gavin O'Carroll back up to the development squad and work with these lads over the next few months. We will need a big panel Available for next year's league

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1046 - 14/04/2022 11:21:43    2410956

As a neutral i tuned in to watch what i expected to be a high scoring, quality match played in idea conditions.

What i seen was a error ridden low quality match. Some here talking about coaching, fitness yet i seen neither from the winners Sligo that wowed me that much.

Sligo had one top performing forward that gave them the edge at the end while the 4 forwards Roscommon had from last years All-Ireland final none of them performed to their high standards

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 14/04/2022 12:19:52    2410967

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Can't add much to what's been said already.
We really did it away.
When would be the best time to have a u 19 Championship?"
HQ will abolish the U20 grade, educated guess says next year will likely be the last year of the U20 grade.

HQ won't admit it in public that they got it very wrong by abolishing the U21 championship. The sensible option is returning to what wasn't broken than running with a U19 grade that won't last much longer than U20.

All inter County championship competitions should be played in the summer after exams but HQ has made a mess of that too with their split season

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 14/04/2022 12:48:28    2410972

Replying To sourmilk93:  "I agree. Sligo were deserving winners in the end. They were better coached and miles better prepared for the game. Our management had a shocker. The set up was wrong and they changed F all as the game was going against us. Some of the players they dropped are miles better than lads on the panel.
Best of luck to Sligo in the final."
I'm not sure how you can say management had a shocker when they created 33 scoring chances over 64 mins of football. To me that suggests they were well coached and very fit. Obviously execution was lacking and if you go back to my earlier point whwre i say some players played as individuals rather than as a team.

To say they changed nothing is a bit of a silly comment. Their full back went off after 5 minutes so they had to move their corner back across and bring on a sub. They changed their wing forward with their corner forward and both scored 5 pts between them. Changed their half back and their other corner back came off injured and they moved their wing back to corner back. Dara Heneghan who was a big loss and is only back in last two weeks came on at wing forward wnd they took off their centre forward Cathal Feely and put Conor Hand to centre forward so if anything did they change too much?. No manager in their right mind was going to take off Ben O Carroll or Adam McDermott so what other changes could they have made. It be interesting to hear your changes.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 14/04/2022 17:12:23    2411037

Replying To Yondu:  "SmokieRoss, Roscommon had the opportunities and the game was there to be won however when you only score 12 times from 34 chances you simply don't deserve to win any championship match.

I posted on the Sligo thread the other day that it would be 50/50 hard game to call in reply to one lad wondering if they had a chance at all. Looking at the casual way of a number of efforts at posts and errors all over the field was the attitude mindset ever right/tuned in to the challenge ahead? Who was the three U20s brought to senior? McDermott, O Carroll that i know of whom were always work in progress, need to bulk up etc before making the step up and remember the likes of Diarmuid Murtagh isn't starting for the seniors and Paul Carey will do well to make the championship 26.

Best of luck to Sligo in the final and seeing that Mayo just beat Leitrim by 1 it should be a competitive final."
Daire Cregg was the other one but he left himself early on. I'm sure there will be lots of them that go onto play senior but from.last night and the earlier league matches you couldn't definitely say who they will be.

U20 is not even the standard of club senior level so it's a huge step up. I can't see how Ross couldn't have been tuned in as Sligo have beaten this group twice at minor level and u16 level so it was always going to be a 50/50 game..I heard Liam Tully interviewed at weekend and he said they would do well to come out of it.

Lots of keyboard warriors on here who probably never played or kicked a ball in their life who know it all but nobody knows who is injured or not on panel or various reasons unless they have relations or someone close to the set up.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 272 - 14/04/2022 17:25:03    2411040

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "Daire Cregg was the other one but he left himself early on. I'm sure there will be lots of them that go onto play senior but from.last night and the earlier league matches you couldn't definitely say who they will be.

U20 is not even the standard of club senior level so it's a huge step up. I can't see how Ross couldn't have been tuned in as Sligo have beaten this group twice at minor level and u16 level so it was always going to be a 50/50 game..I heard Liam Tully interviewed at weekend and he said they would do well to come out of it.

Lots of keyboard warriors on here who probably never played or kicked a ball in their life who know it all but nobody knows who is injured or not on panel or various reasons unless they have relations or someone close to the set up."
Early on indeed if he left as he wasn't part of the Roscommon panel for the FBD. In a fairly average UCD team he showed no signs of lack of confidence but of course he wasn't played out of position in that team.

U20 level is a huge step up i agree it's one of the reasons why U21 should never have been scrapped. Past minor results should be heeded but at underage complacency and casual attitude during the match can be a killer.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 14/04/2022 18:42:51    2411046

Sligo as expected our semi final opposition on May 1st, Markievicz Park a less than happy hunting ground for us but unlike the U20s last Wednesday we'll bring hopefully bring our shooting boots to this championship game. The panel had a training weekend in Donegal with a useful challenge against the tir chonaill men.

Best of luck to our minors/U17 footballers on Friday in Tuam, its back to the group format with four certain games, i'd wonder how U20 would fare with that format?

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3744 - 19/04/2022 18:34:32    2411648

Replying To The_analyser:  "Sligo as expected our semi final opposition on May 1st, Markievicz Park a less than happy hunting ground for us but unlike the U20s last Wednesday we'll bring hopefully bring our shooting boots to this championship game. The panel had a training weekend in Donegal with a useful challenge against the tir chonaill men.

Best of luck to our minors/U17 footballers on Friday in Tuam, its back to the group format with four certain games, i'd wonder how U20 would fare with that format?"
As it's called a "Development grade" by the GAA (while trying to get rid of it with the other hand) a round Robin format is the logical way to go you would think.
Anyway good luck to the Minors Friday. Seems to be few if any from last year eligible this year.
Meanwhile 11 days out from the game we haven't been told the starting time for the Senior game v Sligo

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1403 - 20/04/2022 11:00:11    2411731