Roscommon GAA thread

We can complain all we like about mgt/players coming and going. The fact is we don't have players who have the necessary S&C to compete at D1 level. We have top quality players who can compete at this level but until we address this issue, I can't see where we are going as a county. Derry were competing in D4, not that long ago while we have been consistently being in D1/D2. From what I gather today Derry just upped the tempo and we fell apart. So frustrating as 4 points would have saved us. Hoping mgt have a plan for championship or change will be needed.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 24/03/2024 20:34:13    2533309

Replying To letsgetgoing:  "After 42 minutes, the score was 1-8 to 1-8 having gifted Derry a goal and missing a couple of goal chances ourselves. Then Derry outscored us 1-11 to 0-1. Hard to make sense of that. I certainly can't!
Fair play to Derry for proving what an outstanding team they are in that second half and to our near neighbours Leitrim on getting promotion."
You aren't alone struggling to make sense of it. Derry and Mickey Harte showed us the upmost respect by starting with a strong side and I think just two of their All-Ireland semi final starting didn't didn't feature today and that was because of injury.

Conceded a goal from individual error 1st half and apart from that we defended well for 42 mins the other end of the field we were let done by wasting goal chances and not even getting a point from them was very frustrating.

After that 42 mins it went pear shape once we fell five points behind. Defensive shape and structure was gone the making it all too easy for Derry to pick off easy scores. A shame about the margin of defeat and total conceded as it wasn't a true reflection but it's a timely reminder of what top division 1 opposition can do to you if nodding off.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 24/03/2024 20:45:26    2533313

Replying To hontherossie:  "We can complain all we like about mgt/players coming and going. The fact is we don't have players who have the necessary S&C to compete at D1 level. We have top quality players who can compete at this level but until we address this issue, I can't see where we are going as a county. Derry were competing in D4, not that long ago while we have been consistently being in D1/D2. From what I gather today Derry just upped the tempo and we fell apart. So frustrating as 4 points would have saved us. Hoping mgt have a plan for championship or change will be needed."
This is related to other posts by Jazzyjeff and Dave. Hopefully the summer can change this opinion but we seem to have stagnated. Derry GAA seem to have had clear goals and targets and huge ambition and have done all they can to bring that to fruition. We have been very good in developing under age in Roscommon but it seems like we just hope that will be enough. Get to Div 1 and then win a Connacht here and there. The S and C thing is like a broken record. McGuinness within a year will have Donegal up to the necessary standard we've been trying to achieve for ten years. Derry were playing Div 4 4 years ago and are one of the best conditioned and fit teams in the country.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 24/03/2024 21:46:59    2533347

Replying To hontherossie:  "We can complain all we like about mgt/players coming and going. The fact is we don't have players who have the necessary S&C to compete at D1 level. We have top quality players who can compete at this level but until we address this issue, I can't see where we are going as a county. Derry were competing in D4, not that long ago while we have been consistently being in D1/D2. From what I gather today Derry just upped the tempo and we fell apart. So frustrating as 4 points would have saved us. Hoping mgt have a plan for championship or change will be needed."
I don't think S&C has a big part to play in league football Roscommon finished 3rd in division 1 last year a prime example. It most certainly does for the championship and the last 4 teams this summer will likely have the best strength and conditioning so Roscommon's celing is a quarter final.

You are right four points would have kept Roscommon up so it was before today why relegation has happened. This year with players opting out, injuries or whatever it's highlighted the strength in depth isn't there and from what I've seen of Roscommon this year they aren't defending as well and if that defence isn't shored up Roscommon will face simliar margin of defeats in the championship as that match today.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 24/03/2024 21:56:36    2533353

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "This is related to other posts by Jazzyjeff and Dave. Hopefully the summer can change this opinion but we seem to have stagnated. Derry GAA seem to have had clear goals and targets and huge ambition and have done all they can to bring that to fruition. We have been very good in developing under age in Roscommon but it seems like we just hope that will be enough. Get to Div 1 and then win a Connacht here and there. The S and C thing is like a broken record. McGuinness within a year will have Donegal up to the necessary standard we've been trying to achieve for ten years. Derry were playing Div 4 4 years ago and are one of the best conditioned and fit teams in the country."
The S and C thing is just another way of saying professionally ran off the field and having them in tip top shape on the field. In order to do that you need a County board that will spend big and still have a wealthly business man support it. Donegal under Jim McGuinness was always going to be that they were the opposite last year and Derry once they got their act together are top team, before they weren't taking county football serious at all and club came first.

Red flags was raised for Roscommon when All Ireland medalist McHugh left the Roscommon coaching ticket after one year was he even replaced?

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 96 - 24/03/2024 23:04:51    2533387

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "The S and C thing is just another way of saying professionally ran off the field and having them in tip top shape on the field. In order to do that you need a County board that will spend big and still have a wealthly business man support it. Donegal under Jim McGuinness was always going to be that they were the opposite last year and Derry once they got their act together are top team, before they weren't taking county football serious at all and club came first.

Red flags was raised for Roscommon when All Ireland medalist McHugh left the Roscommon coaching ticket after one year was he even replaced?"
Most common rumour is McHugh left because we wouldn't do the training schedule he'd drawn up.
The "we" can be the players, the Co Board, the manager depending on who you hear it from.
Rumour is McHugh felt the "we" hadn't enough ambition so he jumped ship.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 26/03/2024 10:00:39    2533802

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Most common rumour is McHugh left because we wouldn't do the training schedule he'd drawn up.
The "we" can be the players, the Co Board, the manager depending on who you hear it from.
Rumour is McHugh felt the "we" hadn't enough ambition so he jumped ship."
Christ almighty, we finally had someone that knows the standards required to be competing in the top tier working with the team and that's how it ends. That is daming if true but not surprising given how we seemed to have hit a ceiling over the past number of years. I would actually be surprised if that was from the players. I would imagine anyone involved in the county set up and the commitments it involves is very ambitious. Add to that you have Enda and D Murtaghs generation who I would say want to push to the next level before they hang up the boots and compete with teams they were right up there with when underage. Likewise the lads from the most recent u20 AI final. You have lads playing at the top of Sigerson and a big Brigids contingent who worked under Jerome Stack and the standards he would have expected. There is no way that team is happy to be up and down from Div 1 and 2 and a few big performances in the Connacht championship every few years.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 26/03/2024 12:16:12    2533850

Replying To The_analyser:  "Very harsh scoreline in a match we were very competitive in for 50 mins and created four big goal chances in that period and wasted them all without even getting a point. Last 20 minutes we most certainly ran of of stream against a Derry team with all of their big hitters on the field who were clinical as we dropped the heads once going 5 points behind.

To be honest I feared relegation and the writing was on the wall when we lost to Tyrone and only drew with Galway. Mad to think we would have stayed up with a win over Galway so a very similar relegation as 2019 and hopefully we bounce back with promotion next year.

Four weeks to prepare for the championship now whereby we'll be big underdogs against Mayo, how we do in the upcoming championship is where we'll be judged for the year Ben O'Carroll,Keith Doyle should be back for the opener is one bit of good news."
Games last 70 plus minutes. Do your point makes no sense

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 26/03/2024 12:31:17    2533852

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Most common rumour is McHugh left because we wouldn't do the training schedule he'd drawn up.
Rumour is McHugh felt the "we" hadn't enough ambition so he jumped ship."
Ya most of that is true he wanted to up strength and conditioning massively but not sure weather burke was on board with his ideas

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1057 - 26/03/2024 13:57:21    2533876

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Games last 70 plus minutes. Do your point makes no sense"
The point was the final scoreline was harsh and most that was in attendance including Derry people would agree. For example if Derry give up 6 goal chances opportunities this Sunday as they did against us Dublin will score most of them instead of waste them.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 26/03/2024 15:13:29    2533904

U20 team and subs for Tomorrow night. A few changes in personal and positioning. James Brady who started last week is out injured.

Seán Allen (Kilbride)
Eden Kerins (Boyle) Daniel Casey (Boyle) Tommy Morris (St. Aidan's)
James McGreal (Éire Óg) Senan Lambe (Roscommon Gaels) Eoghan Carthy (Roscommon Gaels)
Conor Ryan (Pádraig Pearses) Shane Walsh (Oran)
Rory Hester (Western Gaels) Bobby Nugent (captain, St. Brigid's) Robert Heneghan (Michael Glaveys)
Shane McGinley (Strokestown) Ryan Dowling (Kilbride) Ryan Conlon (Roscommon Gaels)

Subs: Conor Morris (St. Aidan's), James Connolly (Roscommon Gaels) David Flanagan (Boyle), Conor Harley (Pádraig Pearses), Oisín O'Flaherty (Clann na nGael), Niall O'Donnell (Boyle),Adam McGreal (Pádraig Pearses), Rory Carthy (Roscommon Gaels), Daniel Hagney (Michael Glaveys)

Tough challenge awaits against Sligo outfit with the majority of All Ireland final team from last year still available for selection. Important that we don't repeat last weeks slow start and perform like we did for the last 40 minutes. Best of luck to the young rossies.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3757 - 26/03/2024 15:27:58    2533911

Reading between the lines, it's looks we have not done any adequate work for the league and putting all our eggs into championship. All we can do now is move on and hope for a good run into championship.

hontherossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 100 - 26/03/2024 15:31:11    2533912

Replying To The_analyser:  "U20 team and subs for Tomorrow night. A few changes in personal and positioning. James Brady who started last week is out injured.

Seán Allen (Kilbride)
Eden Kerins (Boyle) Daniel Casey (Boyle) Tommy Morris (St. Aidan's)
James McGreal (Éire Óg) Senan Lambe (Roscommon Gaels) Eoghan Carthy (Roscommon Gaels)
Conor Ryan (Pádraig Pearses) Shane Walsh (Oran)
Rory Hester (Western Gaels) Bobby Nugent (captain, St. Brigid's) Robert Heneghan (Michael Glaveys)
Shane McGinley (Strokestown) Ryan Dowling (Kilbride) Ryan Conlon (Roscommon Gaels)

Subs: Conor Morris (St. Aidan's), James Connolly (Roscommon Gaels) David Flanagan (Boyle), Conor Harley (Pádraig Pearses), Oisín O'Flaherty (Clann na nGael), Niall O'Donnell (Boyle),Adam McGreal (Pádraig Pearses), Rory Carthy (Roscommon Gaels), Daniel Hagney (Michael Glaveys)

Tough challenge awaits against Sligo outfit with the majority of All Ireland final team from last year still available for selection. Important that we don't repeat last weeks slow start and perform like we did for the last 40 minutes. Best of luck to the young rossies."
I see you have a Sligo man in your backroom team he involved two years ago with Sligo, should be a close game, ye probably need a win after last week but big advantage that Sligo coming in cold.

onthefortyfive (Sligo) - Posts: 27 - 26/03/2024 16:08:46    2533924

Replying To dave1988:  "Ya most of that is true he wanted to up strength and conditioning massively but not sure weather burke was on board with his ideas"
Upping strength and conditioning massively would cost a lot more money and is it money the Roscommon county board have? seen the figures last winter and the biggest money spent was on traveling expensive will so many players traveling to and from training from long distances. Coaches come and go but not even replacing McHugh seems very odd.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 96 - 26/03/2024 16:23:45    2533930

Replying To Drax_the_destroyer:  "Upping strength and conditioning massively would cost a lot more money and is it money the Roscommon county board have? seen the figures last winter and the biggest money spent was on traveling expensive will so many players traveling to and from training from long distances. Coaches come and go but not even replacing McHugh seems very odd."
I can't find a breakdown for 2022 or 2023 onine for every county. I found one for 2021 and Roscommon were spending more than Derry and Monaghan and roughly similar to Donegal. Just taking 2023, Roscommon (1.9 million approx) spent something similar to Derry (1.6 million sterling). I can't find a list of all the counties for better comparison. Be interesting to see what percentage Derry, Monaghan and Donegal are spending on expenses. Derry's success for their expenditure is serious bang for buck when you consider what Galway, Mayo, Armagh and others are putting in.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 26/03/2024 19:22:57    2533975

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "I can't find a breakdown for 2022 or 2023 onine for every county. I found one for 2021 and Roscommon were spending more than Derry and Monaghan and roughly similar to Donegal. Just taking 2023, Roscommon (1.9 million approx) spent something similar to Derry (1.6 million sterling). I can't find a list of all the counties for better comparison. Be interesting to see what percentage Derry, Monaghan and Donegal are spending on expenses. Derry's success for their expenditure is serious bang for buck when you consider what Galway, Mayo, Armagh and others are putting in."
Most Derry players probably live at home?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 26/03/2024 23:40:46    2534027

What we feared in the league came to pass unfortunately. Some tepid display (Tyrone, Dublin, Mayo) really cost us. We do look a bit naive in games and don't seem to have a plan of any kind. Diarmuid Murtagh should be left inside and is not a dropping forward while we need to utilise Daire Cregg more.

I think its evident how much we are missing Cian McKeon and Ciarain Murtagh. We underestimated how much they guys pulled the strings. I took the trip to Ballyleague a few weeks ago and watched Murtagh play Oran in the League Round 1 game, and he was involved in every score and ran the game. Hard to blame the manager if a player takes some time out but after the performance in the league, I would be trying my hardest to get a player like that back in.

What are people's thoughts on how we can turn this around in 4 weeks? Mayo will be targeting every weakness we showed in the league so something has to change.

Also, what happens in terms of the championship if we are beaten by Mayo in our 1st game? Does it depend on how far the recently promoted Div 3 teams go in their own respective championships?

Rossfan93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 22 - 27/03/2024 09:16:34    2534050

Replying To Rossfan93:  "What we feared in the league came to pass unfortunately. Some tepid display (Tyrone, Dublin, Mayo) really cost us. We do look a bit naive in games and don't seem to have a plan of any kind. Diarmuid Murtagh should be left inside and is not a dropping forward while we need to utilise Daire Cregg more.

I think its evident how much we are missing Cian McKeon and Ciarain Murtagh. We underestimated how much they guys pulled the strings. I took the trip to Ballyleague a few weeks ago and watched Murtagh play Oran in the League Round 1 game, and he was involved in every score and ran the game. Hard to blame the manager if a player takes some time out but after the performance in the league, I would be trying my hardest to get a player like that back in.

What are people's thoughts on how we can turn this around in 4 weeks? Mayo will be targeting every weakness we showed in the league so something has to change.

Also, what happens in terms of the championship if we are beaten by Mayo in our 1st game? Does it depend on how far the recently promoted Div 3 teams go in their own respective championships?"
We're 9th in League listing.
Unless all the Provincial Finalists are from D3 and D4 we'll be in Sam.
Possibly be 2 Finalists (Munster/Leinster) from the lower divisions.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1419 - 27/03/2024 12:54:28    2534082

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "We're 9th in League listing.
Unless all the Provincial Finalists are from D3 and D4 we'll be in Sam.
Possibly be 2 Finalists (Munster/Leinster) from the lower divisions."
"We'll be in Sam." With the way Roscommon played in the League, we're as well being in Liam or in the carabao cup for all the good it will do unless there's a dramatic improvement. Division 1 was quite weak this year. Monaghan were poor but so also were Galway minus so many players and Tyrone hammered out the gate by the Dubs. We couldn't beat either of the latter and Roscommon deserved to go down. I agree that Ciaran Murtagh in particular is a big loss. However, we still have quality players who excelled in some cases in Sigerson cup or who reached an All Ireland club final this year or the All Ireland U20 Final in 2021. Roscommon undershot in the League and it needs to be corrected very quickly. We showed no strategy or pattern to our play whatsoever. I know I'll be criticised for saying this but I'm concerned that Davy Burke is out of his depth managing at this level. His post match interviews do not inspire confidence and I do wonder why Mark McHugh left ( not a good sign and McGowan gone as well). I hope it all comes right in the championship but it's very hard to just suddenly flick on the switch.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2164 - 27/03/2024 15:21:01    2534116

Replying To endgame:  ""We'll be in Sam." With the way Roscommon played in the League, we're as well being in Liam or in the carabao cup for all the good it will do unless there's a dramatic improvement. Division 1 was quite weak this year. Monaghan were poor but so also were Galway minus so many players and Tyrone hammered out the gate by the Dubs. We couldn't beat either of the latter and Roscommon deserved to go down. I agree that Ciaran Murtagh in particular is a big loss. However, we still have quality players who excelled in some cases in Sigerson cup or who reached an All Ireland club final this year or the All Ireland U20 Final in 2021. Roscommon undershot in the League and it needs to be corrected very quickly. We showed no strategy or pattern to our play whatsoever. I know I'll be criticised for saying this but I'm concerned that Davy Burke is out of his depth managing at this level. His post match interviews do not inspire confidence and I do wonder why Mark McHugh left ( not a good sign and McGowan gone as well). I hope it all comes right in the championship but it's very hard to just suddenly flick on the switch."
We should give the Tailteann cup a good rattle in 2025. Assuming we improve a good bit.

Rossieforever (Roscommon) - Posts: 85 - 27/03/2024 18:33:16    2534158