Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To Oddball:  "Our forwards were non-existent yesterday. Connolly, Lennon and Cox didn't get a look in. Apart from scoring the goal I thought Donie Smith had a very poor game and only for frees I thought the same for Murtagh.
I'd be making 3 maybe 4 changes to that forward line for the Galway game."
Name all the forwards Roscommon currently have available to them to make all of those changes?

Tyrone defended very well yesterday, gave little time for any forward to shoot or create. At the other end Roscommon was far too loose and defend in that manner against Galway next Sunday and it will be another defeat regardless of what forwards Roscommon choose.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 29/01/2024 11:18:01    2522942

Enda Smith in the half forwards and Ben O'Carroll and Jack Duggan on the inside.
Not that hard to come up with 3 names who could be worth a shot!!

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 904 - 29/01/2024 11:39:07    2522949

Our lads looked extremely leggy yesterday i wonder was the 3 games in the dome a factor a different kettle of fish playing on a grass pitch. Lads looked wrecked out on their feet.

We have too many similar type forwards, hopefully ben ocarroll is back sunday badly needed. Cian connolly is not a wing forward he is an inside forward has been his whole career.

Evan flynn and Glennon got a harsh lesson yesterday from canavan but they will learn from it. Colin walsh is not a 6 - a 6 needs to be a good distributer of a ball and colin is not.

If brigid lads are available id go

Carroll

Murray Stack Higgins

R Fallon Eoin Mccormack Niall Daly

Dylan Ruane Keith Doyle

Daire Cregg Donie Smith Enda Smith

Diarmuid Murtagh Ben O'Carroll Robbie Dolan (to Come out)

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 764 - 29/01/2024 12:25:02    2522969

Very disappointing result yesterday, more the manor of the result. Yes we had a goal wrongly ruled out but also the red card was very harsh to be fair, although the same player could and maybe should have got a black in the first half for dragging Connolly down as he tried to support Donie. Anyway, in all reality we didn't deserve to win the game or even draw. As has been pointed out, the ease at which Tyrone got their kickouts away after the red card was baffling. If we didn't push up with the extra man, where was he deployed as Tyrone ran through us at ease. Our transition is still too slow. A number of players didn't perform but they will know that themselves, no need to be pointing fingers here. One thing I would say we need to remember is while we have a lot of young players finding their way at this level, we also have a young manager who is still learning too and coming up against mangers with a number of All Ireland's already on their CV. Hopefully we have the Brigids lads available at least on the bench for Sunday. I would have loved to have seen how Stack would have fared against Canavan yesterday, who was superb. That would have been an interesting match up. Anyway, on to Sunday. A game we must win and a game we have a right chance in but it will take a huge improvement from yesterday

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 204 - 29/01/2024 12:35:06    2522975

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "A dire second half but I wouldn't make any rash judgements based on the first league game of the season. Omagh is always a tough place for any team and it was going to be a game Tyrone targetted considering how poor they've been in the years since winning the All Ireland. It will be worrying however if we see a trend in loose defending which we had made huge progress on last year. The only game in the league where I think we conceded more than 15 points last year was against Mayo after a nightmare start by us."
We were loose enough when it counted last June too.
That's 3 Competitive (real games) on the trot lost.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1717 - 29/01/2024 12:36:26    2522976

Has Pearce frost been asked into panel. Think he's a very good aggressive defender and I'd be shocked if he wasn't brought in

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1121 - 29/01/2024 12:52:22    2522985

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "We were loose enough when it counted last June too.
That's 3 Competitive (real games) on the trot lost."
That is true, we conceded too much to Kildare and Cork but I was putting some of that down to a tiredness that seemed to creep in at that stage of the championship. Big improvement needed next week on that front.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 975 - 29/01/2024 12:52:57    2522986

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Our lads looked extremely leggy yesterday i wonder was the 3 games in the dome a factor a different kettle of fish playing on a grass pitch. Lads looked wrecked out on their feet.

We have too many similar type forwards, hopefully ben ocarroll is back sunday badly needed. Cian connolly is not a wing forward he is an inside forward has been his whole career.

Evan flynn and Glennon got a harsh lesson yesterday from canavan but they will learn from it. Colin walsh is not a 6 - a 6 needs to be a good distributer of a ball and colin is not.

Carroll

Murray Stack Higgins

Dylan Ruane Keith Doyle

Diarmuid Murtagh Ben O'Carroll Robbie Dolan (to Come out)"
That's a good starting team but I can't see that many Brigids lads starting, possibly some to come off the bench. Any word when Harney is coming back or Conor Hussey?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 975 - 29/01/2024 13:03:06    2522988

Replying To Tarismelting22:  "Our lads looked extremely leggy yesterday i wonder was the 3 games in the dome a factor a different kettle of fish playing on a grass pitch. Lads looked wrecked out on their feet.

Carroll

Murray Stack Higgins

Dylan Ruane Keith Doyle

Diarmuid Murtagh Ben O'Carroll Robbie Dolan (to Come out)"
Where would you play Colin Walsh. He was full back on the U20 team that got to the All Ireland final in 2021 but I read at the time that he said his preference was to play further out the field. I agree with you that a lot of changes are needed for the Galway game. I wonder will the Brigid's lads be available.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2264 - 29/01/2024 13:06:49    2522990

Good to see a healthy crowd from Roscommon up at Healy Park yesterday. Fair play given the conditions and drive.

Both teams missing players, Tyrone had the star man in Darragh Canavan, who made the difference. Its not all doom and gloom, last year Tyrone lost 3 out their first 4 games including an absolute hammering to Mayo. We still stayed up by winning the last 3. More players will filter back, McCarroll looks like a star in the making and Stack is your best player. I wouldnt panic yet.

Tyrone away to Derry next week so but this time next week we could be on the same points as you.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2092 - 29/01/2024 13:47:22    2523005

Replying To dave1988:  "Has Pearce frost been asked into panel. Think he's a very good aggressive defender and I'd be shocked if he wasn't brought in"
Yeah I agree, he was extremely impressive

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 29/01/2024 13:50:06    2523007

Replying To D.Hyde:  "Very disappointing result yesterday, more the manor of the result. Yes we had a goal wrongly ruled out but also the red card was very harsh to be fair, although the same player could and maybe should have got a black in the first half for dragging Connolly down as he tried to support Donie. Anyway, in all reality we didn't deserve to win the game or even draw. As has been pointed out, the ease at which Tyrone got their kickouts away after the red card was baffling. If we didn't push up with the extra man, where was he deployed as Tyrone ran through us at ease. Our transition is still too slow. A number of players didn't perform but they will know that themselves, no need to be pointing fingers here. One thing I would say we need to remember is while we have a lot of young players finding their way at this level, we also have a young manager who is still learning too and coming up against mangers with a number of All Ireland's already on their CV. Hopefully we have the Brigids lads available at least on the bench for Sunday. I would have loved to have seen how Stack would have fared against Canavan yesterday, who was superb. That would have been an interesting match up. Anyway, on to Sunday. A game we must win and a game we have a right chance in but it will take a huge improvement from yesterday"
The goal at the end ? It was a square ball…pretty clear in the replays.

veterngaa (Monaghan) - Posts: 492 - 29/01/2024 13:53:45    2523009

Replying To dave1988:  "Has Pearce frost been asked into panel. Think he's a very good aggressive defender and I'd be shocked if he wasn't brought in"
Should be, One of the best corner backs in the county but i have heard he wasn't called in.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1174 - 29/01/2024 14:05:33    2523011

Replying To veterngaa:  "The goal at the end ? It was a square ball…pretty clear in the replays."
It wasn't a square ball, clearly shown in league highlights last night. Saying that Ros deserved nothing from the game, very poor. Need Brigid's contingent back ASAP and Enda Smith to have a chance in staying up. Tyrone were not much better but Daragh Canavan was a class apart.

maximus02 (Longford) - Posts: 175 - 29/01/2024 15:03:25    2523028

Replying To endgame:  "Where would you play Colin Walsh. He was full back on the U20 team that got to the All Ireland final in 2021 but I read at the time that he said his preference was to play further out the field. I agree with you that a lot of changes are needed for the Galway game. I wonder will the Brigid's lads be available."
If i was to be completely honest i dont think Colin is good enough to be starting for the county team - plays midfield for oran but he wouldnt cut it there for county. A squad player is where i see him. Would like to see senan lambe and declan kenny get good game time in the league two very good footballers/.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 764 - 29/01/2024 15:22:05    2523032

Replying To veterngaa:  "The goal at the end ? It was a square ball…pretty clear in the replays."
It was absolutely not a square ball come on now, a ridiculous call

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 29/01/2024 15:36:00    2523040

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Good to see a healthy crowd from Roscommon up at Healy Park yesterday. Fair play given the conditions and drive.

Both teams missing players, Tyrone had the star man in Darragh Canavan, who made the difference. Its not all doom and gloom, last year Tyrone lost 3 out their first 4 games including an absolute hammering to Mayo. We still stayed up by winning the last 3. More players will filter back, McCarroll looks like a star in the making and Stack is your best player. I wouldnt panic yet.

Tyrone away to Derry next week so but this time next week we could be on the same points as you."
Ye won all yer home games in the league last year so it was always going to be a challenge to get points up there. Canavan is unreal. That'll be an interesting encounter next week with Micky!

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 975 - 29/01/2024 15:42:54    2523044

Replying To Oddball:  "Enda Smith in the half forwards and Ben O'Carroll and Jack Duggan on the inside.
Not that hard to come up with 3 names who could be worth a shot!!"
Enda Smith will probably be used in midfield given how light on options in that area Roscommon are at the moment. Jack Duggan is coming from Div 3/4 level football if forwards that started Sunday with Div 1 experience found the going tough one can hardly expect him to do much better.

Will Ben O'Carroll even be available for selection?

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 29/01/2024 15:49:45    2523050

So clear that neither panel on RTE or TG4 could see it? There was no square ball.

D.Hyde (Roscommon) - Posts: 204 - 29/01/2024 16:38:32    2523066

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "That's a good starting team but I can't see that many Brigids lads starting, possibly some to come off the bench. Any word when Harney is coming back or Conor Hussey?"
Harney probably won't be back for a few weeks. He was at the game with Enda smith. Harney will be a massive addition to the team. Just hope the Brigid's lads are back Sunday

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1121 - 29/01/2024 16:39:15    2523068