Roscommon GAA thread

Replying To Jack L:  "Dublin were not really up for it in group stage. Main aim was to top group which they achieved. Responded to first challenge they faced this year today."
1st challenge they got was from Kildare in Leinster SFC.
2nd Challengevthey gitvwas from Ros in the AIvseries.
3rd challenge.. Monaghan 2 weeks time.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1717 - 02/07/2023 18:46:03    2491460

Replying To Jack L:  "Three Connacht teams 1-2-3 in D1 of league but no Connacht side in last 4 of championship after this weekend."
The contenders were pacing themselves better to peak for the knockout games.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7529 - 02/07/2023 18:49:54    2491463

Replying To Jack L:  "Dublin were not really up for it in group stage. Main aim was to top group which they achieved. Responded to first challenge they faced this year today."
I'd have to agree with you there

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1121 - 02/07/2023 18:51:22    2491465

Replying To dave1988:  "I'd have to agree with you there"
I'd disagree. Roscommon was more tactically astute against Dublin than Mayo was today. Dublin will hammer every team that set poorly against them that was even seen in the 2nd match against Kildare this year.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3439 - 02/07/2023 19:44:59    2491515

Replying To The_analyser:  "Cork ran out of steam today still only lost by 4 points. Dublin hammer Mayo in a match that was over 5 mins into the 2nd half.

Us drawing with Dublin and holding them to 1-11 in Croke Park to losing to Cork,Kildare by 1 and conceding 1-14,1-16 only one word for that. Inconsistent! and so frustrating that we are that inconsistent. On to next year with plenty of room for improvement."
We are 4 defenders at least short and Carroll had a meltdown in our first actual knockout game.
All well playing out system but better actual defenders needed for it to get us to a semi

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1767 - 02/07/2023 19:45:02    2491516

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "We are 4 defenders at least short and Carroll had a meltdown in our first actual knockout game.
All well playing out system but better actual defenders needed for it to get us to a semi"
It's a different Dublin team today to team we played in group, they have the ability to move up a gear and it's looking like a showdown with Kerry. Don't think we are short 4 defenders. If Mulloolly and R Daly were to come back then that would be 2 of the 4.

roscommon1944 (Roscommon) - Posts: 275 - 02/07/2023 20:15:12    2491536

Replying To OhtobeARossie:  "We are 4 defenders at least short and Carroll had a meltdown in our first actual knockout game.
All well playing out system but better actual defenders needed for it to get us to a semi"
Carroll having a meltdown a bit overplayed at this stage matter of fact most of his kick outs was on target during a sticky period in the 2nd half and instead some of our best performers and experienced players (good defenders at that) were making mistakes they didn't all year. Fumbling the ball gifting scores and opportunities to Cork. Last two games certainly had tired minds and bodies whereby uncharacteristic mistakes happen mostly.

Next year if we reach the last eight it will be about giving ourselves the best possible chance of winning that match and to do that we cannot have tired minds and bodies. That will probably mean just doing enough to stay up in Div 1,hopefully only playing one of Galway,Mayo in Connacht (not both as happened this year) and topping the group.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 02/07/2023 20:19:35    2491541

Replying To The_analyser:  "Carroll having a meltdown a bit overplayed at this stage matter of fact most of his kick outs was on target during a sticky period in the 2nd half and instead some of our best performers and experienced players (good defenders at that) were making mistakes they didn't all year. Fumbling the ball gifting scores and opportunities to Cork. Last two games certainly had tired minds and bodies whereby uncharacteristic mistakes happen mostly.

Next year if we reach the last eight it will be about giving ourselves the best possible chance of winning that match and to do that we cannot have tired minds and bodies. That will probably mean just doing enough to stay up in Div 1,hopefully only playing one of Galway,Mayo in Connacht (not both as happened this year) and topping the group."
I don't get the "Carroll meltdown" theory at all.
People weren't making runs for him, 1 lad stood waiting for the ball and got beaten to it, long ones were being broken and won by Cork till Doyle caught a few.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1717 - 02/07/2023 20:42:23    2491554

McStay last three games as Roscommon manager in Croke Park he set you up badly and conceded 4-24 twice to Tyrone, Dublin and 4-19 to Mayo

Today showed he learnt very little from those bad experiences and set up Mayo badly which allowed Dublin score 2-17 and in truth in could and should have conceded a lot more.

Plenty of soul searching for the top 3 Connacht teams over the next seven months after a promising start and finishing 1st, 2nd and 3rd in division 1.

Yondu (UK) - Posts: 845 - 02/07/2023 20:48:46    2491557

Replying To Yondu:  "McStay last three games as Roscommon manager in Croke Park he set you up badly and conceded 4-24 twice to Tyrone, Dublin and 4-19 to Mayo

Today showed he learnt very little from those bad experiences and set up Mayo badly which allowed Dublin score 2-17 and in truth in could and should have conceded a lot more.

Plenty of soul searching for the top 3 Connacht teams over the next seven months after a promising start and finishing 1st, 2nd and 3rd in division 1."
Mayo incredibly open and learned nothing from the games Dublin struggled in this year. You can't be just relying on chaos with the way the game is played now.

A lot to improve on from all the western counties. One thing with Roscommon's style of play, we saw it with Donegal in the past, Galway last year and you can see it with Derry now, is you need quick counter attacks to really make use of that system. We currently seem to lack a sufficient number of players with a lot of pace to make that work.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 975 - 03/07/2023 00:01:25    2491618

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Not at all, just telling it like it is. Galway were going nowhere this year. I'm delighted for Monaghan, if you're happier with a condescending assessment."
Pope to be fair it is not true to say we were going nowhere this year. We were well in this championship until the calamity in Carrick on Shannon. Should have been home and dry that day at half time. Yes the wheels came off since with injuries to two of best three players while the other has been off form since hos cameo appearance on his return in the league against Monaghan. Every 2nd person I spoke to across the country thought it was an open all ireland. That narrative has conveniently changed due to Dublin and Kerry's demolition jobs over the weekend.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 03/07/2023 08:02:55    2491631

Replying To Jjoniel79:  "I have to say I slightly disagree. Roscommon men should be very proud of where they're at when you look at the numbers and tangible advantages that the likes of Cork, Galway, Westmeath, Meath, Armagh, Kildare have over yourselves and ourselves.

Monaghan and Roscommon don't have any big big towns and aren't commuter counties close to Dublin - yet they're in mixing it with the big boys with what they have. In Division 1 and absolutely deserved of their place there.

A few more years with the same hard work and momentum in the county, a few more players coming through and a rub of the green with fixtures and there's no reason Roscommon can't be in an All Ireland. On the big day anything can happen.

Hats off to yourselves and hopefully yous can go a step or two further next year"
Tbh half of Galway is hurling anyhow and the City is hit and miss for GAA largely. That dilutes the population argument to some extent. Mayo and Kerry are better barometers for football as they have decent numbers playing largely one sport only. Most GAA resources in those counties are in football. But yes Monaghan and Roscommon are competitive and not without a chance in most years. Ultimately most of us want to see a spread of success and not the 'media' darling final of Kerry Dublin.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1973 - 03/07/2023 08:09:43    2491633

Replying To kiloughter:  "Tbh half of Galway is hurling anyhow and the City is hit and miss for GAA largely. That dilutes the population argument to some extent. Mayo and Kerry are better barometers for football as they have decent numbers playing largely one sport only. Most GAA resources in those counties are in football. But yes Monaghan and Roscommon are competitive and not without a chance in most years. Ultimately most of us want to see a spread of success and not the 'media' darling final of Kerry Dublin."
That is true on the division of Galway but you have one of the top football clubs in the county in SK. One of the big commuter areas for the city is Moycullen who are the top club team, Annaghdown, Corofin also bit commuter areas to the city. Football seems to be strong at underage now in Claregalway. But agree Galway still has to split its resources fielding a top level hurling team and a top level football team.

In fairness to Derry it has about the same size of population as Galway but you can say just under half the county population will have no interest in GAA and it's all soccer in Derry city and its surounds.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 975 - 03/07/2023 10:35:20    2491703

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "That is true on the division of Galway but you have one of the top football clubs in the county in SK. One of the big commuter areas for the city is Moycullen who are the top club team, Annaghdown, Corofin also bit commuter areas to the city. Football seems to be strong at underage now in Claregalway. But agree Galway still has to split its resources fielding a top level hurling team and a top level football team.

In fairness to Derry it has about the same size of population as Galway but you can say just under half the county population will have no interest in GAA and it's all soccer in Derry city and its surounds."
It certainly used to be. Don't get me wrong soccer is still King in Derry City as having a club that size demands it but in regards GAA it has grown massively in the city. The fruits of that work may not become apparent for another 5-10 years as the youngsters work their way through the systems but there has been a sea change in Derry City and hopefully we see a good few guys getting in the team.

Jazzyjeff (Derry) - Posts: 205 - 03/07/2023 14:42:30    2491862

Replying To Jazzyjeff:  "It certainly used to be. Don't get me wrong soccer is still King in Derry City as having a club that size demands it but in regards GAA it has grown massively in the city. The fruits of that work may not become apparent for another 5-10 years as the youngsters work their way through the systems but there has been a sea change in Derry City and hopefully we see a good few guys getting in the team."
That will be huge for Derry GAA if football grows in a big population centre like Derry city. Going by the way yer underage is going ye will be at the top table in Ulster for a long time to come.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 975 - 03/07/2023 16:17:22    2491902

Right now lads and lasses,.
Now that the County has ended who do we think will win the 3 grades of championships?
Whose for relegation and who could spring a surprise?
Lets see what everyone is thinking.

Oddball (Roscommon) - Posts: 904 - 04/07/2023 15:56:21    2492209

Replying To Oddball:  "Right now lads and lasses,.
Now that the County has ended who do we think will win the 3 grades of championships?
Lets see what everyone is thinking."
As of now

Senior - Brigids
Intermediate - Fuerty
Junior - St Michael's

Relegation Tulsk from Senior (down on a lot of players) Intermediate Shannon Gaels they have been falling for a few years and Junior only a B team can get relegated so flick a coin there.

Could be thinking different come August when I seen the strength of panels each team has.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 04/07/2023 19:11:24    2492262

Davy Burke on Tomás O'Sé's pod. 2 sound men.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7529 - 04/07/2023 21:02:11    2492288

Replying To Oddball:  "Right now lads and lasses,.
Lets see what everyone is thinking."
Brigets to win senior and possibly Faithleachs to drop.
Brigids or Fuerty to win intermediate. Pearses to drop.
Strokestown for junior

reffingmad (Roscommon) - Posts: 371 - 04/07/2023 21:43:04    2492298

I am curious to know why there's so much positivity with Davy Burke at the moment. He is hailed as the new messiah by most followers of Roscommon football. A quick look at your achievements this year doesn't reflect this new found popularity. He's maintained your Div 1 status which was great but you were in Div 1 before he arrived, beat Mayo in the Championship but Lost to Galway in Connacht final. In the next 4 games you just managed to beat one team ( yes that was us) . All other teams were Div 2 teams. You exited the championship at preliminary quarter finals, basically the same stage as last year when you lost to Clare. However last year there was a queue to dump Anthony Cunningham. Am I missing something ???

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1808 - 05/07/2023 08:42:12    2492316