Roscommon GAA thread

Kevin Stritch is not mentioned because he's a coach and whoever is appointed the manager could add him to his management team.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 17/10/2022 15:57:43    2444364

Replying To Yondu:  "Flanagan record at club level is not in question he's done well at every club he's managed but it has to be a concern for Roscommon supporters if he was appointed with his poor championship record with county teams. Burke in comparison won inter County All-Ireland title."
Burke has a poor championship record at the one senior inter county job he has had. People seem to be basing all on him having one good year managing a underage team. Plenty of managers have won underage all Irelands and done nothing at senior level. In any case it beyond time we appoint someone

ros1 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1211 - 17/10/2022 17:02:56    2444384

Replying To ros1:  "Burke has a poor championship record at the one senior inter county job he has had. People seem to be basing all on him having one good year managing a underage team. Plenty of managers have won underage all Irelands and done nothing at senior level. In any case it beyond time we appoint someone"
Would Solan not be a better and more local option to go for if we are talking recent underage success?

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 17/10/2022 17:33:04    2444391

Replying To ros1:  "Burke has a poor championship record at the one senior inter county job he has had. People seem to be basing all on him having one good year managing a underage team. Plenty of managers have won underage all Irelands and done nothing at senior level. In any case it beyond time we appoint someone"
The draw for Connacht championship next year is not appealing to the new candidate.
If relegated to D2 next season then Roscommon will be fourth seads (unless they qualify for Connacht Final). Again not very appealing

Jack L (None) - Posts: 3099 - 17/10/2022 18:42:14    2444403

Replying To Jack L:  "The draw for Connacht championship next year is not appealing to the new candidate.
If relegated to D2 next season then Roscommon will be fourth seads (unless they qualify for Connacht Final). Again not very appealing"
I don't think the seedings matter as much as people are making out to be honest. Even if we are 4th seeds, with the draw the way it is then one of Leitrim/Sligo, Meath/Westmeath and Cork/Clare (most likely) will be coming in as second seeds as they will be the provincial runners up. Ros would probably go in as favourites against any of those. At least one of Mayo or Galway is a guaranteed third seed and you'd take any second seed over them so the whole thing is flawed. Apart from the obvious top few teams, anyone in those groups will be capable of beating each other on a given day and if Ros aren't good enough to win at least one group game regardless of seeding (which is all you need essentially to get a preliminary quarter final) then we don't deserve to be there.

As much as people will make them out to be important, the reality is the provincials next year are a glorified FBD league and they won't matter a bit come the group stages.

Primrose_and_blue (Roscommon) - Posts: 68 - 17/10/2022 20:04:32    2444413

Replying To Jack L:  "The draw for Connacht championship next year is not appealing to the new candidate.
If relegated to D2 next season then Roscommon will be fourth seads (unless they qualify for Connacht Final). Again not very appealing"
The 4th seeds will be Westmeath and the 3 lowest placed NFL teams.
Lowest League ranking Ros can get is 10th so at worst we'll be 3rd seeds.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1416 - 17/10/2022 20:19:34    2444418

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Would Solan not be a better and more local option to go for if we are talking recent underage success?"
Solan himself has confirmed he's staying on in his coaching role with Leitrim and Mayo seniors seems to be the only outright management position that will interest him, Mayo county board have turned him down twice now. Highlight of his management career was winning the 2016 U21 AI and were pure lucky to beat us in the Connacht final. Mark Dowd the U21 manager we had then and he's currently involved with Strokestown.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 17/10/2022 20:56:29    2444426

Replying To Primrose_and_blue:  "I don't think the seedings matter as much as people are making out to be honest. Even if we are 4th seeds, with the draw the way it is then one of Leitrim/Sligo, Meath/Westmeath and Cork/Clare (most likely) will be coming in as second seeds as they will be the provincial runners up. Ros would probably go in as favourites against any of those. At least one of Mayo or Galway is a guaranteed third seed and you'd take any second seed over them so the whole thing is flawed. Apart from the obvious top few teams, anyone in those groups will be capable of beating each other on a given day and if Ros aren't good enough to win at least one group game regardless of seeding (which is all you need essentially to get a preliminary quarter final) then we don't deserve to be there.

As much as people will make them out to be important, the reality is the provincials next year are a glorified FBD league and they won't matter a bit come the group stages."
I think your mixing up proposal B that HQ wanted to be voted in and the green proposal as will be in place from 2023.

Proposal B would have made the provincials glorified pre season comps, managers especially ones with eyes on the latter stages of the All Ireland would not be playing close to their strongest starting 15 and supporters would not turn up in their many thousands for those games

Next years provincials the top teams will care about them as they'll know winning it means top seed in a group,first match at home and then topping that group means avoiding a preliminary quarter final. With the bust schedule a week off will prove a big difference in winning or losing those last 8 matches and then in better shape for the AI semi final.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3346 - 18/10/2022 08:26:13    2444447

No posts on the unique all Northern Co Final!
As the forecast seems for a wet day I'd fancy the more dogged Strokestown to prevail.
Will the Co manager be announced before the Final?

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1416 - 19/10/2022 10:17:21    2444570

I hear the county board are running an trial competition in November where they are having regional teams made up of Junior and Intermiediate players playing of a competition. Mid, west, south and north roscommon which will be introduced next year proper if a success and they will play in the senior championship.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 760 - 19/10/2022 12:09:57    2444597

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "No posts on the unique all Northern Co Final!
As the forecast seems for a wet day I'd fancy the more dogged Strokestown to prevail.
Will the Co manager be announced before the Final?"
Great excitement in both towns. Hard to believe it's Boyle's first senior final in 95 years. Boyle are the bookie's favourites here but I'd expect a tight tough match particularly if it's wet as seems likely. Hopefully there's a big attendance in the Hyde in Sunday. All Northern Finals have become a rarity and it might be a while before we see one again.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2162 - 19/10/2022 13:44:29    2444613

We are doing a draw at half time.
Lucky or unlucky dip.

OhtobeARossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 1764 - 19/10/2022 14:08:32    2444618

What the local media tell us, county board style they'll likely reveal the new manager just before throw in on Sunday to the crowd. Interviews all done i here on candidates.

On Sundays game hopefully the poor weather doesn't ruin what has the potential to be a good competitive contest. i think Boyle will edge it 1-13 to 1-12.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 19/10/2022 15:53:58    2444629

Well done to Aoife O' Rourke sister of Roscommon footballer Lisa on winning another European Boxing medal tonight. Both are very impressive boxers. Hopefully she will go on and defend her European crown with another gold medal.
Up and Rossies!

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 505 - 19/10/2022 18:37:48    2444663

Replying To The_analyser:  "What the local media tell us, county board style they'll likely reveal the new manager just before throw in on Sunday to the crowd. Interviews all done i here on candidates.

On Sundays game hopefully the poor weather doesn't ruin what has the potential to be a good competitive contest. i think Boyle will edge it 1-13 to 1-12."
It's strange that no county board meeting has been called as we were told a couple of weeks back that the first communication of a new manager would be at one of these rather than through a statement. It's looking more unlikely that the manager will be in place this weekend.

Primrose_and_blue (Roscommon) - Posts: 68 - 19/10/2022 20:11:25    2444672

Replying To Primrose_and_blue:  "It's strange that no county board meeting has been called as we were told a couple of weeks back that the first communication of a new manager would be at one of these rather than through a statement. It's looking more unlikely that the manager will be in place this weekend."
Rumour is that people were being interviewed last few nights.

Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 1416 - 20/10/2022 09:57:24    2444703

Replying To Seanfanbocht:  "Rumour is that people were being interviewed last few nights."
The whole process of hiring the new manager seems to be a joke at this stage. Heading into the fourth week in October and still no manager. I wonder how the players feel about the situation? We are out of the championship for almost four months and still no one to take over. It doesn't bode well for the future if this is the way the county board operate.

imformed (Roscommon) - Posts: 163 - 20/10/2022 10:48:24    2444713

Replying To imformed:  "The whole process of hiring the new manager seems to be a joke at this stage. Heading into the fourth week in October and still no manager. I wonder how the players feel about the situation? We are out of the championship for almost four months and still no one to take over. It doesn't bode well for the future if this is the way the county board operate."
We can't start training back for another few weeks. Once one is appointed before then it doesnt matter a bit. Not sure what the addition of having one appointed 6 weeks ago would have really made. Not too many rough diamonds that he would have spotted unless you can name a few? Still expect plenty of lads will be given chances when we can start back training.

sourmilk93 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1144 - 20/10/2022 10:52:53    2444716

Replying To The_analyser:  "What the local media tell us, county board style they'll likely reveal the new manager just before throw in on Sunday to the crowd. Interviews all done i here on candidates.

On Sundays game hopefully the poor weather doesn't ruin what has the potential to be a good competitive contest. i think Boyle will edge it 1-13 to 1-12."
All interviews not done yet. Two were done yesterday namely Davy Burke and Bernard Flynn. Pat Flanagan inywrvidwed ladt week. Tom Cribbin did not unysrvire. The final interview is to take place this evening namely Brendan Hackett.

Hopefully a name will be announced for ratification by the clubs at next county board meeting.

Should be a crowd of about 4 k in Hyde on Sunday but looking at weather it could be a lot less. The atmosphere in hyde will be a damp squid either way not to mention the couple of hundred max that may go to the hurling.

SmokieRoss (Roscommon) - Posts: 273 - 20/10/2022 11:19:19    2444722

Replying To SmokieRoss:  "All interviews not done yet. Two were done yesterday namely Davy Burke and Bernard Flynn. Pat Flanagan inywrvidwed ladt week. Tom Cribbin did not unysrvire. The final interview is to take place this evening namely Brendan Hackett.

Hopefully a name will be announced for ratification by the clubs at next county board meeting.

Should be a crowd of about 4 k in Hyde on Sunday but looking at weather it could be a lot less. The atmosphere in hyde will be a damp squid either way not to mention the couple of hundred max that may go to the hurling."
Bernard Flynn?? Jesus Christ that's not good

dave1988 (Roscommon) - Posts: 1055 - 20/10/2022 11:53:15    2444737