Galway Football thread

Replying To GreenandRed:  "You can do that when you learn how to read."
74 years and counting Mr Green and Red.

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 266 - 30/06/2025 18:57:05    2622737

Replying To jm25:  "Ah Shtop Shane is a fabulously talented footballer but he's not in same league as Clifford, not many are.

We won Connacht without him and went to the wire for an all Ireland with him on the periphery.

Shane just hasn't had the consistency to be put in with the top forwards even before his injury issues in last few years.

Even in 2022 we got past Armagh and Derry where he didn't perform before he turned in the all time great final performance.

Hopefully again kilmacud don't win Dublin and he's well rested for next year."
Walsh is not in the same class as Clifford and never has been. Clifford is one of the all time greats and Walsh is not.

crafty (Galway) - Posts: 266 - 30/06/2025 19:01:02    2622739

Is that the end of the road for Conroy, Comer, Walsh and Joyce.

jacktheboy (Donegal) - Posts: 488 - 30/06/2025 19:06:08    2622741

Replying To jm25:  "This seems to be an issue with tierney starts season well and fades off.

Is he becoming a bit of a flat track bully great in Connacht but ineffective in croke park.

The next group aged around 23 disappointing this year.

Hernon the O'Neills LOC COC Tomo did not kick on this year. McLaughlin injured in warm up for first league game and never seen again"
We'd be gone weeks ago, only for Tierney in Derry. I don't like the term flat track bully, it's unnecessarily derogatory. On the subject of player 'form' dropping off in Croker though, I feel that Finnerty is exhibiting at least as much falloff as Tierney at HQ. I think this issue is not unrelated to real pace too. Players with real pace often flourish in Croker. Players like Tierney and Finnerty, who don't have absolute top notch pace imo, might always be challenged to flourish in Croker.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4282 - 30/06/2025 19:47:08    2622746

Replying To Scantermediate69:  "Martin. you said a couple of points & listed four,

where did I say Leitrim were in a quarter final? i just said Meith were the worst team since Leitrim 94.

if you want some advice: please just Google one word:

Padraig Joyce, 2001, Sam McGuire."
Well well well...

Martinr5399 (Meath) - Posts: 21 - 30/06/2025 19:55:48    2622747

Replying To Ros2013:  "Not coming on here to stick the knife in but I was gobsmacked ye lost. We should have beaten them
In the Hyde a month ago and Galway have a much better side than Roscommon who have been void of any consistency, confidence all year. Connacht football needs to regroup . A bit of collaboration between the five counties would be no harm."
Yee could have won a game and stayed in the group but didn't. Meath beat Cork and Kerry and Roscommon got beat by both. That's fact.

5 two-pointers in 2 half and still couldn't score with the wind for last 15 minutes - save me breath on Rossies

Royalio11 (Meath) - Posts: 802 - 30/06/2025 20:28:13    2622757

Replying To ruckrover:  "It's nice to view some of the posts and comments , really soak in the misery"
Some ppl, no more than yourself, aren't happy unless they're miserable! I'm glad Galway lost yesterday, those players need a well earned rest.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 242 - 30/06/2025 20:45:12    2622759

Replying To FullOfPorter:  "Should McGeeney have went after years 6? He had actually done less than Joyce at that point.

It wasn't like Galway had been knocking on the door for the years leading up to Joyce. Ye hadn't been in a final for over twenty years. Mayo were the dominant Connacht force with the odd Nestor cup win for Galway. Even the years ye haven't reached the final under Joyce ye are now considered contenders. That hadn't happended with Galway for a long time."
Why are people on about mcgeeney? Did he have a great bunch of players early on? It's completely different why didn't Roscommon keep Davy burke for 10 years?

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 228 - 30/06/2025 21:03:41    2622761

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "We'd be gone weeks ago, only for Tierney in Derry. I don't like the term flat track bully, it's unnecessarily derogatory. On the subject of player 'form' dropping off in Croker though, I feel that Finnerty is exhibiting at least as much falloff as Tierney at HQ. I think this issue is not unrelated to real pace too. Players with real pace often flourish in Croker. Players like Tierney and Finnerty, who don't have absolute top notch pace imo, might always be challenged to flourish in Croker."
I would totally disagree on finnerty his assist for mcdaid goal was outstanding also very clever creating the mchugh goal chance.

Was on one leg for games last year but would still argue did ok in croker games

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1611 - 30/06/2025 21:41:46    2622766

Replying To Royalio11:  "Yee could have won a game and stayed in the group but didn't. Meath beat Cork and Kerry and Roscommon got beat by both. That's fact.

5 two-pointers in 2 half and still couldn't score with the wind for last 15 minutes - save me breath on Rossies"
Roscommon still needed to avoid defeat against Cork even had they beaten Meath and as Robbie Brennan said himself afterwards Meath was left thankful Roscommon missed a host of chances in the final ten minutes.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3684 - 30/06/2025 21:51:15    2622767

Replying To crafty:  "Walsh is not in the same class as Clifford and never has been. Clifford is one of the all time greats and Walsh is not."
Walsh in his prime was equally as good as Clifford big difference is Clifford never had 2 track back the field carry ball score Walsh kept galwa in division 1 this year Kerry gave Clifford a rest for lots matches I've watched galwar fir many years and watching Shane Walsh in his prime was an joy I know he prob coming to end of his career hopefully he comes back again he is sort player that young kids aspire to be never gets booked plays with skill

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 1095 - 30/06/2025 22:33:12    2622772

Regarding my earlier post, I wasn't trying to do down Donál O'F. He is an excellent manager. However, I am nearly sure that he said he wouldn't be interested in senior inter county management on an appearance he made on the Maroon and White podcast. Hence, my statement that there isn't a better option currently within Galway.

gaillimhboy (Galway) - Posts: 374 - 30/06/2025 22:38:27    2622776

Replying To crafty:  "Walsh is not in the same class as Clifford and never has been. Clifford is one of the all time greats and Walsh is not."
Sorry but I put swan oshea also above walsh

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 751 - 30/06/2025 22:39:38    2622779

Galway fan on x shouting kerry only veat armagh cause they were in group death not kerry fault I'd lost people would say oh kerry not tested. It's all bull you can only bwat what's in front of you kerry didn't lose the game when mattered Galway stuttered in the group

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 751 - 30/06/2025 22:40:57    2622780

Replying To crafty:  "74 years and counting Mr Green and Red."
Worked that out by yourself. Aptly named and original.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 8138 - 30/06/2025 22:43:13    2622781

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "So as a Corofin man would you think that Kevin O'Brien could take over Galway as manager or maybe Kevin Johnson who of the 2 would you pick if any?
What about Gary Delaney has he potential to be involved soon (in a coaching roll)or is it 2 early for the likes of him? I think it needs to be a Galway man or someone who's living in Galway like Kevin Johnson,"
First if Joyce wants to stay on that would be my first pick. I don't think we've been really badly beaten tactically by any team since 2021. 2022 just ran out of gas, 2023 goal finishing let down, 2024 general scoring, this year too many unforced errors.
Too early for gary. I heard OB in for a different line but not sure if that particular rumor is true. O Brien if he wants it I would be in favour. Johnson I really like he's really personable wants to get on with all the lads which is a different management style. He's only over the road in turloughmore so he'd jump at being involved. Definitely needs to be a Galway man. Thought PJ and the rest of lads did that very well basically everyone there is a Galway head or otherwise closely connected.
Outside managers will charge too much and the last thing we need is to throw too much money at a new manager.

systematic (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 30/06/2025 23:42:55    2622785