Joyce has better players than McStay.
Seanfanbocht (Roscommon) - Posts: 2256 - 22/04/2025 10:49:18 2603584 Link 0 |
1/5 yesterday seems weird.
jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1457 - 22/04/2025 11:05:39 2603591 Link 0 |
Conor kickouts were much better at weekend long flat passes similar to Patton rather than blasting it. For first two or three Roscommon kickouts we seemed to have a bit of a malfunction rossies players ended up totally wide open unmarked but was sorted quicker Watching back game I'd prob have Maher motm adding a few scores to game he's total package. Won't see many changes for final bar maybe Cooke coming onto bench I'd start comer if fully fit get 40 45 minutes it's very difficult who would be unfortunate to drop out would have to be one of Glynn Fitzgerald mulkerrins or Thompson jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1457 - 22/04/2025 11:12:38 2603592 Link 0 |
It might be a good thing to rest up Shane Walsh for while to heal properly. Sean Kelly would want to watch himself as well. No point getting injured and being out for another year.
Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 146 - 22/04/2025 11:31:45 2603600 Link 0 |
We don't know how bad Roscommon were. I'd expect Mayo to make the Connacht Final competitive in McHale park. Joyce , however good Galway are after last Sunday, deserves huge credit for building and developing the Galway panel of players since they lost the '22 Final to Kerry. Shane Walsh didn't play on Sunday and Comer only came on late but these two big players for Galway weren't missed at all. Compare that to Kerry who'd be easy to talk to if the two Clifford's were out.
endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2368 - 22/04/2025 11:36:25 2603602 Link 0 |
B Team ?? Clare ye have one team that's it! Mc Stay has failed to find any new talent and without 35 year old AOS and the little boxer in the corner who likes to deliberately injure players ye would be out of the championship already.. Mayo don't have a B team.... hardly have an A team Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 231 - 22/04/2025 11:38:31 2603603 Link 0 |
He has.... but he got the important one last year for that definite foul by the Mayo defender in the dying seconds.....
Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 231 - 22/04/2025 11:40:48 2603604 Link 0 |
There's an argument he has made better players out of Maher, Darcy, McHugh and a few more. Some Mayo players have gone backwards under McStay.
hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 430 - 22/04/2025 12:27:31 2603614 Link 0 |
AFAIK he's missed every attempt since last years Connacht final!
The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 758 - 22/04/2025 12:36:16 2603615 Link 0 |
Hi Clare from the MayoGaablog who follows and is influenced the most arrogant supporters in Ahref and Enda. You calling any one from Galway arrogant is humorous. As for a B team all you were missing from who started in that stunning display against Lovely Leitrim was Coyne,Flynn and Big Aidan O'Shea who managed a single point from a free. Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 386 - 22/04/2025 13:23:51 2603627 Link 1 |
Haha that reminds me! I remember one of the chaps on the AhRef pod after we beat them in 2022 saying that if they played us again they would beat us "5-10 points" or something to that effect. Got a good chuckle over that and gave a good insight into the arrogance/mindset of some of their support. Mind you, I've been told the buck in question is a Cavan man, he may be better off putting his energy and opinions into them.
ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1660 - 22/04/2025 13:44:04 2603635 Link 1 |
Would you stop.It will be tough game as always.I would always have shouted for Mayo if Galway not playing but with attitude like yours it makes it harder and harder.I work with lovely Mayo people and the slagging is always mighty when we play each other but you are another level altogether
Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 416 - 22/04/2025 14:06:10 2603641 Link 0 |
This is actually an issue. We beat Mayo in Castlebar in 22 because Walsh nailed all the frees including the 45s. Tierneys 2 pointer from the hands Sunday was outside the 45 so I presume there is some issue with him kicking from the ground otherwise it made no sense to give the 45 to Gleeson
smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 494 - 22/04/2025 14:08:25 2603642 Link 1 |
The odds are a bit mad aren't they? Historically all form goes out the window in Mayo-Galway games (aside from 13 and 14 when they gave us a good going over), I can't see this being any more than a one score game. ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1660 - 22/04/2025 14:38:02 2603656 Link 0 |
Absolutely just like Kerry and Cork.Local derby all on the day.
Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 416 - 22/04/2025 15:25:44 2603668 Link 0 |
I'm not sure about that. Galway are making the most of what they have
JimB1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 20 - 22/04/2025 15:55:17 2603674 Link 0 |
Clare, your musings are nonsensical at this stage.
GDL (Galway) - Posts: 791 - 22/04/2025 16:39:20 2603684 Link 1 |
Claire ,... back to the mayo blog for you...
Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 231 - 22/04/2025 16:54:47 2603694 Link 0 |
There's no arrogance in Galway football, certainly not from any genuine supporters that know their football. We've, as always, great respect for the strength of Mayo football and will be preparing accordingly, that's for sure. This will be a battle in Castlebar. These Galway lads are around a while for the most part and didn't come down in the last shower of rain, and are under no illusions otherwise. They'll know what's coming with the green and red and they'll be primed for a great battle. Either team can beat the other on their day. Now who wants it more? We'll see. Should be a great game.
togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 1044 - 22/04/2025 17:06:52 2603699 Link 0 |
Can't complain at all, when you're making the most of what you have.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4085 - 22/04/2025 17:22:04 2603706 Link 0 |