Galway Football thread

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "Anyone else looking forward to Sundays county final?"
I doubt it......feels like we're looking at Corofin year in and year out, since about 1991.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3852 - 26/10/2024 11:50:50    2576998

Replying To JimB1991:  "Dunno about Bdonegal1991 but I haven't been following the Mayo championship."
It's Clare from the deluded blog, did you get out of the nanny duties in Dublin to see your beloved Ballina Stephenities tonight or are you staying in Dublin with your mates!!!!

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 768 - 26/10/2024 12:28:11    2577003

Replying To hopballref:  "
Replying To Square_B:  "[quote=Dunmore10:  "[quote=Square_B:  "[quote=hopballref:  "[quote=onthebog:  "Mickey G was appointed with Leitrim - 06 Aug.
Cian O Neill officially goes to Kerry - 06 Sep.
Mickey G departed Leitrim - 08 October for circumstances beyond his control. Yet 2 weeks later he is in Joyces backroom team......
Looks like someone came calling while appointed as Leitrim manager with a more attractive proposal!! If so, bad form on both parties."
Cian O Neill did pretty much the same thing to Galway as Mickey G did to Leitrim. Kerry was more attractive to Cian, and Galway was more attractive to Mickey.
That's life - get over it."
Cian O'Neill did nothing of the sort... and if you're equating his circumstances to what Graham did to Leitrim and see nothing wrong with it, well I can't help you."]Being involved with galway is alot more attractive than slugging away with leitrim.hard on leitrim who thought they had a manager sorted for next year.its bad form on the man himself to do what he has done but it's done now and time to move on."]If that was the case would you encourage every lad to do what Shane Walsh did (play with Kilmacud) because they're the better team? I know you wouldn't. Every little thing that happens likes this further devalues and chips away at the overall ethos of the GAA. It won't be long before professionalism will be talked about again and once that comes, you may forget about the GAA as an organisation with values etc."]Players have been transferring to clubs in Dublin for years. Its not a new phenomenon, and is tough on small rural clubs in areas where work is not plentiful, but that is life. Players today give an unbelievable amount of their time. You are talking rubbish."]Na man, you're talking rubbish.

Square_B (Leitrim) - Posts: 1015 - 26/10/2024 19:15:49    2577066

Caltra to go up, would fear for them in senior though. The gap between senior and intermediate is now as big as it's ever been IMO. If Naughton gets marked well which he will in senior, they have nobody else to score.

Middlin (Galway) - Posts: 2 - 27/10/2024 11:01:01    2577124

Replying To Middlin:  "Caltra to go up, would fear for them in senior though. The gap between senior and intermediate is now as big as it's ever been IMO. If Naughton gets marked well which he will in senior, they have nobody else to score."
Senior has been reduced to 16 from 20 over the past 5 years, so there are fewer 'hangers-on' at the lower level of senior now.
If Michael's go up, I think they can be competitive. I do think Caltra have a great chance though.
Leitir Móir aren't long up senior and they were very competitive this year.
That's how you'd want your championships. There should be nothing soft.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2178 - 27/10/2024 12:20:19    2577133

I would be surprised if Michael's do not win the final, conditions were poor yesterday so hard to get a true reflection of Caltra, I wasn't impressed from what I saw yesterday.

I thought Glenamaddy were very poor, once Caltra got to grips with Duffy they never looked like scoring. The second goal was a terrible mistake from the Caltra defender to give possession straight to Duffy.

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 356 - 27/10/2024 12:53:17    2577142

I would expect Michael's win final by min of 7 they looked different class and Oranmore are a decent team though Glan very poor scored 1-01 in 3 mins and only 2 more scores in next 60 mins and Caltra gifted them a goal with loose pass intermediate is poor bar 2-3 teams mostly rural clubs Thars the big issue in my opinion

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 947 - 27/10/2024 13:36:50    2577145

Replying To Jellybaby:  "I would be surprised if Michael's do not win the final, conditions were poor yesterday so hard to get a true reflection of Caltra, I wasn't impressed from what I saw yesterday.

I thought Glenamaddy were very poor, once Caltra got to grips with Duffy they never looked like scoring. The second goal was a terrible mistake from the Caltra defender to give possession straight to Duffy."
Michael's definitely favourites but Caltra seem to be going in the right direction again. They've been good this year. Think the final might be a step too far for them though.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2284 - 27/10/2024 13:43:51    2577146

Worst goalman error ever! Poor man.

BarneyGrant (Dublin) - Posts: 3052 - 27/10/2024 14:43:03    2577148

Replying To BarneyGrant:  "Worst goalman error ever! Poor man."
As much of the issue with the error was the fact he's wearing hard ground boots in wet weather.

It's rife in GAA and also any amatuer sports(I don't see it in LOI but do see the same issue in Junior soccer) where Irish lads will wear HG boots year round "as they are more comfortable" than SG studs.

Find it absolute baffling that managers don't insist players have two pairs of boots, why train for a year only to be out done over something so trivial?.

The goalie tried to turn, started to slip, and tried to kick the ball while still off balance.
It wasn't an error as much in his play as his preparation.

As an aside, let anyone raving for Cooke to come back, watch that game and try to say he's worth a place.

Moycullen needed a goal, they get a goal chance and he kicks it wide.
He reminds me of the football version of Conor Cooney, just hits bad wide after bad wife and makes too many mistakes with the ball. Coupled with a lazy demeanor and work rate it's not something that warms to me.

Gilberto_Eire (Galway) - Posts: 78 - 27/10/2024 15:36:23    2577152

Awful game.Moycullen kicked it away.Could have been right in it if they hadn't put so many wide.Th3 sooner they being in the disappearing spray for refs the better.Lads getting frees at sideline and bringing it in 5 or 6 steps in their run up to make it scoreable and lads going down holding their faces like they had been hit in the hand when no one was near their head at all and refs falling for it.Hard to watch.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 366 - 27/10/2024 15:49:18    2577157

Replying To Gilberto_Eire:  "As much of the issue with the error was the fact he's wearing hard ground boots in wet weather.

It's rife in GAA and also any amatuer sports(I don't see it in LOI but do see the same issue in Junior soccer) where Irish lads will wear HG boots year round "as they are more comfortable" than SG studs.

Find it absolute baffling that managers don't insist players have two pairs of boots, why train for a year only to be out done over something so trivial?.

The goalie tried to turn, started to slip, and tried to kick the ball while still off balance.

As an aside, let anyone raving for Cooke to come back, watch that game and try to say he's worth a place.

He reminds me of the football version of Conor Cooney, just hits bad wide after bad wife and makes too many mistakes with the ball. Coupled with a lazy demeanor and work rate it's not something that warms to me."
I wouldn't blame Cooke not wanting to play with fools like you around. He'd a poor game today but Moycullen wouldn't of got to a final without him. He is a talented footballer and athlete and the Galway senior football panel would be better with him in it than with him not.

Flemenstar200 (Galway) - Posts: 59 - 27/10/2024 15:49:54    2577158

Replying To Gilberto_Eire:  "As much of the issue with the error was the fact he's wearing hard ground boots in wet weather.

He reminds me of the football version of Conor Cooney, just hits bad wide after bad wife and makes too many mistakes with the ball. Coupled with a lazy demeanor and work rate it's not something that warms to me."
Men v boys.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 385 - 27/10/2024 16:05:26    2577167

A well deserved win for Corofin. While the conditions were very poor, they played the more positive football. They looked to get the ball forward more quickly and we're rewarded. I was seriously impressed with how well they did around the middle against Maigh Cuilinn's big men.
Only 3 points from play in the whole game for Maigh Cuilinn. They played a very risk free game, which is enough against teams with less talent, but you need to show a bit more to take down a team like Corofin.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2178 - 27/10/2024 16:07:22    2577168

Great win...
Moycullen were very poor, Paul and Eoghan Kelly must be looking over their shoulder regarding involvement with Galway in 25..
Cooke clearly carrying a knock..
More medals in the bag and hopeful of a clear shot at Connacht

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 105 - 27/10/2024 16:22:11    2577173

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Awful game.Moycullen kicked it away.Could have been right in it if they hadn't put so many wide.Th3 sooner they being in the disappearing spray for refs the better.Lads getting frees at sideline and bringing it in 5 or 6 steps in their run up to make it scoreable and lads going down holding their faces like they had been hit in the hand when no one was near their head at all and refs falling for it.Hard to watch."
Dessie Conneely would never steal a yard on a free. Ye won a Co Final with a poxy goal. We'll call it even. No leaders or decision makers there today for Moycullen.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 385 - 27/10/2024 16:22:13    2577174

Thought Cooke was one of the better players for Moycullen myself. Worked hard, scored a couple, pity he missed a few more at important times. Egan definitely one for the future. What was Sice black-carded for? Was fuming coming off.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 157 - 27/10/2024 16:27:15    2577176

Replying To StopTheLights:  "Dessie Conneely would never steal a yard on a free. Ye won a Co Final with a poxy goal. We'll call it even. No leaders or decision makers there today for Moycullen."
Did I mention Corofin?You are the one naming people.As always You are so gracious in victory.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 366 - 27/10/2024 16:31:43    2577178

Replying To Triffic:  "Thought Cooke was one of the better players for Moycullen myself. Worked hard, scored a couple, pity he missed a few more at important times. Egan definitely one for the future. What was Sice black-carded for? Was fuming coming off."
Was he giving out to ref for bringing ball forward?

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 366 - 27/10/2024 16:32:46    2577179

Replying To StopTheLights:  "Dessie Conneely would never steal a yard on a free. Ye won a Co Final with a poxy goal. We'll call it even. No leaders or decision makers there today for Moycullen."
And I am not talking about yard.I am talking about 3 or 4.No one can deny its happening so needs to be sorted with spray and punished if player goes beyond it....for everyone.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 366 - 27/10/2024 16:35:39    2577181