Galway Football thread

We turned Armagh over so many times in second half but couldnt make it count at the other end. Some poor shots and some terrible decision making with final pass. Why did we leave it so late to press up and make their keeper go long? Why was Tierney pushed into CF for Finnerty? Walsh was outside the range today so why did he keep shooting from that distance? Anyway a tough defeat to take but congrats to Armagh, they took their scores and thats the name of the game.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 448 - 28/07/2024 18:03:25    2562225

Another heartbreaking day for Galway and could sense it would be Galway's day with top scorer Rob Finnerty going off injured after ten minutes. Awful day on free Walsh should have been taken off them early on. Never looked like scoring a goal the one given away how and why Campbell was given so much space is a mystery.

Back to the well again for Galway and simply have to take that hurt today on the chin, still a young team average age 27 so can be there or thereabouts in 2025. Armagh have bounced back from penalty shootout heartbreaks to win the All Ireland some story for them and well done to them.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 199 - 28/07/2024 18:09:04    2562229

Hate to be harsh, but when I saw one player who imo, is nowhere near the required standard, listed on the 26 panel, I said to myself it's not going to happen. Quite simply, it smacks of favouritism. Also, Hernon would have been a great player to break the lines.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 619 - 28/07/2024 18:09:07    2562230

Replying To The_analyser:  "Hard luck lads, such a shame the wait to see Sam returns to Connacht goes on. Galway much like ourselves v Armagh will look back on injuries and kicking so many poor wides and other efforts kicked short."
If youse were playing them still yee wouldn't beat them, Lets be honest here.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 28/07/2024 18:09:49    2562232

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "If youse were playing them still yee wouldn't beat them, Lets be honest here."
Classy comment not from neighbours but Roscommon weren't good enough against Armagh and today Galway had their chances but didn't take them. There's no great team around now so the margins are tight as they were in both semis and the final. Armagh are worthy champions and the best of luck to them.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2282 - 28/07/2024 18:16:00    2562235

Replying To Really:  "Hate to be harsh, but when I saw one player who imo, is nowhere near the required standard, listed on the 26 panel, I said to myself it's not going to happen. Quite simply, it smacks of favouritism. Also, Hernon would have been a great player to break the lines."
Hernon couldn't play with the wrist injury. Wouldn't have been far off stating.

On the subject of the panel, I'll be interested to see the Moycullen team in the championship. The lad that would have slotted those frees that Walsh missed and actually has a proper boot on him is probably on his way over from New York to play for them. That's the one we badly missed all year on the county panel but unfortunately he couldn't commit.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 764 - 28/07/2024 18:18:40    2562237

Had a bad feeling when Finnerty went off after 10 minutes. No way is Comer right either. He might be 60% fit at best. Walsh had a nightmare on the frees. Despite all that they got it back to a 1 point game after the Armagh goal but missed about 4 or 5 decent chances to equalise or even go ahead. Armagh finally get a chance and score it to go 2 up again. Forwards weren't in the game really as Armagh had everyone defending deep behind the ball. We were reliant on the middle third players to get scores. Very disappointing that they lost Soupy Campbell a minute after he came on for the goal. I'm sure they talked for 2 weeks about what they would do on his introduction.

That was the chance for Galway. Not sure this team will get another one. Conroy, Comer and Walsh getting on and picking up knocks. Will PJ and Cian O'Neill even stay on? Done 5 years now.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2264 - 28/07/2024 18:20:35    2562238

Replying To Really:  "Hate to be harsh, but when I saw one player who imo, is nowhere near the required standard, listed on the 26 panel, I said to myself it's not going to happen. Quite simply, it smacks of favouritism. Also, Hernon would have been a great player to break the lines."
Only trouble with that is Hernon wasn't available through injury

Knocknadrough (Galway) - Posts: 30 - 28/07/2024 18:32:38    2562245

Replying To Marooned:  "Had a bad feeling when Finnerty went off after 10 minutes. No way is Comer right either. He might be 60% fit at best. Walsh had a nightmare on the frees. Despite all that they got it back to a 1 point game after the Armagh goal but missed about 4 or 5 decent chances to equalise or even go ahead. Armagh finally get a chance and score it to go 2 up again. Forwards weren't in the game really as Armagh had everyone defending deep behind the ball. We were reliant on the middle third players to get scores. Very disappointing that they lost Soupy Campbell a minute after he came on for the goal. I'm sure they talked for 2 weeks about what they would do on his introduction.

That was the chance for Galway. Not sure this team will get another one. Conroy, Comer and Walsh getting on and picking up knocks. Will PJ and Cian O'Neill even stay on? Done 5 years now."
Surely to god after Shane missed three frees you give Gleeson a chance to hit one off the ground. We didn't perform to our best today and fair play to Armagh they stuck to their gameplan and barely hit any wides can't begrudge them

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 28/07/2024 18:32:42    2562246

That's going to sting a long time lads. Scoring only 13 points in an All Ireland final is a serious poor return even if Armagh defended well.

Feel so sorry for Conroy. He deserved better.

Not sure how critical to be. Comer and Kelly should probably have missed rest of the season some time ago, Walsh clearly not right and Finnerty was killer blow.

Galway has depth but not sure if you had it in the full forward line.

Hard luck Galway. Great chance missed unfortunately but credit to Armagh.

shaggykev (Donegal) - Posts: 285 - 28/07/2024 18:41:29    2562250

Replying To Knocknadrough:  "Only trouble with that is Hernon wasn't available through injury"
That's what I intimated.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 619 - 28/07/2024 18:47:10    2562254

Replying To Really:  "Finnerty going off and Walsh's self-indulgence cost us the AI."
Ah would ye stop. It was always a 50:50 game with Armagh, what mames the Gakway fans think any different?

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 28/07/2024 18:48:08    2562258

Replying To eslinchickenmaryland:  "If youse were playing them still yee wouldn't beat them, Lets be honest here."
Grow up a bit.We threw it away.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 339 - 28/07/2024 18:56:10    2562264

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Ah would ye stop. It was always a 50:50 game with Armagh, what mames the Gakway fans think any different?"
Correct. We did miss 7 frees though, to Armaghs 2 sitters missed. That's a lot in a one point loss, but it's a movie we've seen many times before, when Shane takes to the 'ambidextrous' freetaking caper.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3830 - 28/07/2024 18:56:43    2562266

Replying To Bdonegal1991:  "Ah would ye stop. It was always a 50:50 game with Armagh, what mames the Gakway fans think any different?"
We lost that game.Too many mistakes.While Armagh didn't make many.That was difference.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 339 - 28/07/2024 18:57:04    2562267

Horror show of a game. We left it behind us with some awful misses and Comer well out of the game and should have been whipped at half time. When Finnerty went off we were fecked on the frees as Shane's freetaking ability seems to have nosedived. We need a few good players to come through at 13-15. Another All-Ireland chance gone but the age profile is still good apart from the great Paul Conroy who gave it his all again today. Another player who has dramatically improved is Cian Darcy.
McDaid, Comer, Walsh to all have bad days and Finnerty off injured and that was that. I thought John Maher played really well and was unlucky to be awarded a free against him after making it seemed like 3-4 solo tackles to prevent Armagh breaking down the field. It's a pity Dylan McHugh's one came off the post but that's the cruelty of sport.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 28/07/2024 19:07:19    2562274

Replying To Marooned:  "Had a bad feeling when Finnerty went off after 10 minutes. No way is Comer right either. He might be 60% fit at best. Walsh had a nightmare on the frees. Despite all that they got it back to a 1 point game after the Armagh goal but missed about 4 or 5 decent chances to equalise or even go ahead. Armagh finally get a chance and score it to go 2 up again. Forwards weren't in the game really as Armagh had everyone defending deep behind the ball. We were reliant on the middle third players to get scores. Very disappointing that they lost Soupy Campbell a minute after he came on for the goal. I'm sure they talked for 2 weeks about what they would do on his introduction.

That was the chance for Galway. Not sure this team will get another one. Conroy, Comer and Walsh getting on and picking up knocks. Will PJ and Cian O'Neill even stay on? Done 5 years now."
Heartfelt commiserations. I was pretty neutral, wasn't shouting for anyone but I'm frustrated for ye at the way Galway lost it.

Walsh drives me mad. We know how good he can be but between today and the preliminary QF last year he had 2 nightmares and went a long way to costing Galway both games.

Fitzy going on about how normally he's so reliable? Has he really done anything for Galway football since he moved to Kilmacud? I would question is he even good to have in the camp.

Special mention for Paul Conroy. 3 brilliant points today. But aside from that, he plugged away with ye for a long time without much glory. I'm sure when ye lost to Tipperary in 2016 QF he was questioning if he'd ever get a win in CP. Some servant to the game.

Cbar (Mayo) - Posts: 331 - 28/07/2024 19:08:22    2562275

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "We lost that game.Too many mistakes.While Armagh didn't make many.That was difference."
Ye Armagh were better.

Bdonegal1991 (Donegal) - Posts: 88 - 28/07/2024 19:11:56    2562279

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Grow up a bit.We threw it away."
Galway had the chances for sure, I never said they didn't.

eslinchickenmaryland (Leitrim) - Posts: 241 - 28/07/2024 19:20:53    2562284

Stick to the Leitrim thread you wum.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3863 - 28/07/2024 19:29:01    2562289