Galway Football thread

Replying To anotheralias:  "The build up is exciting . Looking forward to Sunfay week more than any time ever before.
I have 3 wishes regarding Sunday week.
1. That everyone who travels return safely.
2. That we, Galway supporters, do ourselves proud. Roar our team on like never before. Do so respectfully toward opposition players and supporters. Respect the residents of Dublin whose city we will be invading. Be equally gracious in victory or defeat , whichever is bestowed on us. To be honest I would rather our county be recognised as being sporting, respectful people than ignorant yobs who happen to be from a county that wins the All Ireland.
3. That we win.

Number 3 is obviously important but not if the first 2 fail."
That is a very sensible idea for AI Final day. Best of luck to both teams and their supporters. Nice to see new teams in the final.

thelongridge (Offaly) - Posts: 1866 - 17/07/2024 10:56:50    2559704

For some reason we are obsessed in Galway re the Eircode of players. Is this unique to Galway football. I spent many years in Dublin and was involved in promoting Gaelic football and language. The Eircode of players was never discussed. The great St. Vincent's team at one the only provider of county senior players. Even during the 70s and 80s there was a strong Vincent's representation. That changed during their golden era 2012-2023, even when Vincent's were AI club champions they had Diarmuid Connolly only on the team. It didn't matter to the Dubs, players sprung from new clubs Castleknock for example. The great John O'Mahony go ndéana Dia maith air had the same policy, players club or grade didn't matter to him, if you were good enough, there no barriers. I always admired Pádraic Joyce, a very intelligent man who has adopted the same policy, which is regardless of your Eircode or grade if you are good enough he will give players fair play. I read a recent post about city representation a total load of b..s. Who cares where they are from? The writer included Maigh Cuilinn and Bailey Chláir and
Bearna as city clubs. For example Maigh Cuilinn is a breach Ghaeltacht and broadly rural/farming. When Dessie Connelly took the county cup he made his victory speech in Irish ( native speaker) and welcomed the cup to Conamara. Bailey Chláir is definitely not a city club, I have farming contacts there where my great friend lived Pádraic Noone Rip Creig Bhui a native Irish speaker. Bearna is a mixed community, old Bearna stock still small farmers and obviously many new residents settled there. Pádraic Joyce model is more like a Jim Gavin project, a modern back up team and we cannot but recognise Cian O'Neills contribution. The team is now a 26 member, even when the likes of the mighty Walsh and Comer are curtailed other players from the full back line up can and will score. Die hard Unionism in the occupied 6 counties is now a dying entity it's about time we left ours in Galway GAA in the history bin and move on into a new era.
Moladh go deo le Gaillimhí agus beannacht Dé orthub.

Padraiciarchonnacht (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 17/07/2024 11:11:17    2559710

Replying To Salthillsham:  "Armagh fans will be loving this talk of homecoming...easy to get some of you folk getting ahead of yourselves. There were 6000 live fans at Pearse for Monaghan game...60 per cent from Monaghan.., focus on the game and just beating them. Nothing else."
You do realise that no one in this thread is actually playing for Galway right?

MaroonedinDublin (Galway) - Posts: 35 - 17/07/2024 11:16:59    2559712

Replying To Salthillsham:  "So you are Mayo NOT Galway. Why are you hiding under a maroon skirt? Is there no uber Mayo forum for you to beat your chest and tell the world how great Mayo are...were...Will be?"
Thankfully im not Mayo. Do you not agree that mayo fans were a bit delusional in 2021 given the team they had at their disposal? Google that final, there was "young" players on that mayo team that have disappeared. Why? Not up to the standard of the players they replaced, simple as. Our young lads are far superior to those - look at the our full back line! This final is ours to lose

Letitinnow (Galway) - Posts: 17 - 17/07/2024 11:23:22    2559715

Replying To anotheralias:  "I'm not really a fan of distinguishing the regions in Galway , but since it is brought up I looked at the stats , more to make the point that its not a City / West/ North issue. I know the players dont think of any segregation and for sure there is no management bias.

Starting 15 the last day
6 North/East Galway
2 North/East Galway currently playing in Dublin
3 City
2 City suburbs ( as described by previous post...Barna/Moycullen/Claregalway/Oranmore
2 West

5 subs introduced
2 North/East Galway
2 City
1 West

So of the 20 who saw action on Sunday, if you count the West/City/City Suburbs as one group and include the Dublin based lads with their home region there is 10 in each group.

So all in all a good spread and thats whats nice to see. I guess we dont expect players from the South of the county ( could argue that McDaid falls into that category) but hopefully that may change in the future with the work being done in places like Kinvara. What is disappointing is that we dont get many from the East anymore ( Ballinasloe / Caltra/ St Brendans/St Gabriels).... maybe relates to population but it cant be just that. Thats one thing that stands to Mayo , no matter where you are in Mayo you dont live too far from a county player"
I just find it interesting as an outsider looking in on the demographics of Galway football and hurling.

What happened Ballinasloe GAA?

Where they once strong at both codes?

Are they now more hurling?

drumalee11 (USA) - Posts: 315 - 17/07/2024 11:25:35    2559717

Replying To Padraiciarchonnacht:  "For some reason we are obsessed in Galway re the Eircode of players. Is this unique to Galway football. I spent many years in Dublin and was involved in promoting Gaelic football and language. The Eircode of players was never discussed. The great St. Vincent's team at one the only provider of county senior players. Even during the 70s and 80s there was a strong Vincent's representation. That changed during their golden era 2012-2023, even when Vincent's were AI club champions they had Diarmuid Connolly only on the team. It didn't matter to the Dubs, players sprung from new clubs Castleknock for example. The great John O'Mahony go ndéana Dia maith air had the same policy, players club or grade didn't matter to him, if you were good enough, there no barriers. I always admired Pádraic Joyce, a very intelligent man who has adopted the same policy, which is regardless of your Eircode or grade if you are good enough he will give players fair play. I read a recent post about city representation a total load of b..s. Who cares where they are from? The writer included Maigh Cuilinn and Bailey Chláir and
Bearna as city clubs. For example Maigh Cuilinn is a breach Ghaeltacht and broadly rural/farming. When Dessie Connelly took the county cup he made his victory speech in Irish ( native speaker) and welcomed the cup to Conamara. Bailey Chláir is definitely not a city club, I have farming contacts there where my great friend lived Pádraic Noone Rip Creig Bhui a native Irish speaker. Bearna is a mixed community, old Bearna stock still small farmers and obviously many new residents settled there. Pádraic Joyce model is more like a Jim Gavin project, a modern back up team and we cannot but recognise Cian O'Neills contribution. The team is now a 26 member, even when the likes of the mighty Walsh and Comer are curtailed other players from the full back line up can and will score. Die hard Unionism in the occupied 6 counties is now a dying entity it's about time we left ours in Galway GAA in the history bin and move on into a new era.
Moladh go deo le Gaillimhí agus beannacht Dé orthub."
One of the best posts I've seen here- agree with all points made. I agree entirely regarding Maigh Cuillin as a Gaeltacht rural village in Connemara. As mentioned before, Dessie Connellys speech's were all as gaelgie. I'd obviously place Matthew Tierney, Johnny Heaney, Sean Kelly, Eoghan Kelly, Paul Kelly, Liam O Conghaile as all within 5-10km of each other - that's six of them. How you're throwing Moycullen in with Claregalway and Oranmore is the ridiculous. Totally different & nowhere near each other to anyone who knows anything about Galway GAA.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 17/07/2024 12:28:43    2559727

Replying To Tribes88:  "Far too much talk about homecomings and the races. Galway are playing a team they haven't beaten in three attempts.
Another thing re Gleeson, the abuse he was getting earlier in the year was way over the top, but now also he is being talked up about best in the country and guarantee all star, I think Croke Park has helped with short kick outs as theres more space but also the outfield players are making better runs for short kickouts now, and the long kickouts the only thing that has changed is they are winning alot more of them and have improved on winning breaking ball. This was reason Gleeson was there from the start was his long kickout, but this will be seriously tested by Armagh who will like to see the long kickout coming.

There's alot of similarities between the way both teams setup and play, so will come down to who executes better on the day and also neither team can have an off day with the long range shooting as its important to both sides.

Comer and Walsh are not fully match fit and hard to know will much change in next week and a half, trying to get the balance between rest and fitness/sharpness will be tough, Comer especially doesn't look sharp and you cant be if not fully training."
Re Gleeson, has he changed his run up? Seems to be shorter hence he can react quicker to a run. Maybe I'm wrong, but he seems to be only going back a few steps lately. Also, for his 45 on Sunday, he took a very short run up.

Comer was in oceans of space on loads of occasions. You would imagine that if he was flying fit the ball would have been put in front of him. Doesn't seem to have the normal acceleration at the moment. Looks like he is minding the hammer. Hopefully with 2 more weeks that will improve.

Kelly looked ok on the sideline and must be close if he was named on the bench. I'd be hopeful he is ok.

Won't be a lot between the teams but I think if we avoid "giving" them a goal we will win.

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1878 - 17/07/2024 12:31:47    2559728

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "One of the best posts I've seen here- agree with all points made. I agree entirely regarding Maigh Cuillin as a Gaeltacht rural village in Connemara. As mentioned before, Dessie Connellys speech's were all as gaelgie. I'd obviously place Matthew Tierney, Johnny Heaney, Sean Kelly, Eoghan Kelly, Paul Kelly, Liam O Conghaile as all within 5-10km of each other - that's six of them. How you're throwing Moycullen in with Claregalway and Oranmore is the ridiculous. Totally different & nowhere near each other to anyone who knows anything about Galway GAA."
I apologise It was another poster who first suggested that Moycullen was pseudo-city. To be be honest I leveraged off that suggestion to try to smudge the lines between North and West and highlight that we are not a polarised county. most underage and junior competitions have a logistical split between West and East ( aka North) in order to minimise travel across a large county but plenty of teams from what is technically one region end up in the competitions for the other region. Headford, Annaghdown and Claregalway often play in West comps. Likewise St James have played in North. This is good as it reduces any tendency towards polarisation. We are not obsessed with EirCodes, but unlike Dublin, we do apply some level of address code to enforce loyalty at club level , and I think that this is good too.
In terms of Moycullen, Oranmore, Claregalway, Barna. These are 4 traditionally very rural areas and I would not want to confuse them with the city. However they are the 4 parishes that border the city ( I stand to be corrected ...does Annaghdown border also?) and all 4 have been encompassed in a bit of urban sprawl . All 4 parishes have some commonalities. The village/town centre associated with the parish are all within 10km of the city, they all have experienced massive population growth over the last 50 years and as such enjoy much of the advantages of city clubs in terms of population/ pick/. Moycullen is gaeltacht and is rightly proud of its rural/Gaeltacht history and fair play to Dessie re the speech. But the Moycullen catchment area ( officially or otherwise) does extend in to Bushy Park and realisticilly what percentage of the population of any of these parishes are either native speakers or are from traditional rural ( farming) local backgrounds?

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 923 - 17/07/2024 15:57:42    2559768

Demographics and the demise of rural Ireland are evident when you look at the clubs.
In 1998, Moycullen were intermediate, Barna the same and Claregalway were junior.
The flip side of that is Fr Griffins just didn't have any young families in the city(doing great work now with Eire Og) and I would imagine even now James' are not pulling from Renmore and Mervue but mostly the newer developments, interestingly they were also Junior in the late 90s. Then you have the likes of Williamstown, Renvyle, Clonbur, Carna where there is nothing being done to attract families into the area in terms of employment.
Before anyone shoots me, just look at the demise of some of the clubs in North Mayo.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 17/07/2024 20:24:11    2559802

Replying To MaroonedinDublin:  "You do realise that no one in this thread is actually playing for Galway right?"
I hadn't actually. But I will get you to edit my posts in future to make sure no one (like you) is confused. Will I try again? Fans should be thinking about actually going in person to the games (3500 Galway at Monaghan match!!!) Would you agree that it was a very poor turnout? Now you have fans trying to organise a homecoming before the final is even played...I just think we should be focused on getting to the games, winning the games ( obviously I won't be togging off...you understand that...when I write 'winning' I mean we get behind the team and we support them strongly to perhaps help them to win.) Then when the team is victorious...and fans do have an impact...even you may have noticed the role of the fervent Armagh fans versus the non existent Kerry fans...we can think about the rest. Is that better bossman?

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 18/07/2024 00:03:56    2559822

One of the things I'm not in favour of is discussing All stars and player of Year awards before the All Ireland final. These things are nice to have and good fun discussion points when its all over but they are so irrelevent in comparison to the real honours in a team sport. However I'm going to break my self imposed rule on this occasion in order to make an important point and to acknowledge the positive evolution of this Galway team.
In 2022 we received 5 All Stars + Young player of the year,
This year we will receive a number of All Stars probably somewhere between 3 and 7 depending on final result and performances. It is a strong possibility that the 2022 and 2024 honours list will be mutually exclusive from a Galway perspective and this stat, if it comes to pass, in itself, says it all about our team progression.
Over the last 10 years winners have received between 5 and 9 awards, average just under 7. Losers have received between 2 and 6, average just under 4. So lets assume that we get 4 if we lose and 7 if we win.
Jon Mcgrath and Dylan McHugh are All stars regarldless of result or performance in AI.
If we lose the 2 extra will likely be from the following 4 depending on AI final performance..Conor Gleeson, Paul Conroy, John Maher, Rob Finnerty.
If we win, and all 6 above named above, do well in final they are more than likely award winners. Additional awards would require exceptional performances in final from Shane Walsh or others. But barring the scenario in the last sentence there would be no overlap in award winners , and as I said above that speaks volumes in itself. I think its also noteworthy to point out the difference in the type of standout players that we have this year , less of the well known established "superstar" types and more of the unsung, hard working, consistent types.
One thing for certain if we are to win we are going to need massive All Star like performance from both of the lists referenced above as well as others. Armagh have also evolved amd they too are a far superior outfit to the one we met in 2022.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 923 - 18/07/2024 08:50:51    2559828

Replying To Salthillsham:  "I hadn't actually. But I will get you to edit my posts in future to make sure no one (like you) is confused. Will I try again? Fans should be thinking about actually going in person to the games (3500 Galway at Monaghan match!!!) Would you agree that it was a very poor turnout? Now you have fans trying to organise a homecoming before the final is even played...I just think we should be focused on getting to the games, winning the games ( obviously I won't be togging off...you understand that...when I write 'winning' I mean we get behind the team and we support them strongly to perhaps help them to win.) Then when the team is victorious...and fans do have an impact...even you may have noticed the role of the fervent Armagh fans versus the non existent Kerry fans...we can think about the rest. Is that better bossman?"
Fair Play to you changing the meaning of what you actually wrote which was

"Armagh fans will be loving this talk of homecoming...easy to get some of you folk getting ahead of yourselves. There were 6000 live fans at Pearse for Monaghan game...60 per cent from Monaghan.., focus on the game and just beating them. Nothing else."

Your suggesting that Fans enjoying themselves and talking about homecomings will somehow define the outcome of the game. "Focus on the game and just beating them" Grand we will all stop enjoying ourselves and focus very hard on sending match winning mental energy to the plays. Would you stop with your *****.

MaroonedinDublin (Galway) - Posts: 35 - 18/07/2024 09:17:22    2559836

Replying To Salthillsham:  "I hadn't actually. But I will get you to edit my posts in future to make sure no one (like you) is confused. Will I try again? Fans should be thinking about actually going in person to the games (3500 Galway at Monaghan match!!!) Would you agree that it was a very poor turnout? Now you have fans trying to organise a homecoming before the final is even played...I just think we should be focused on getting to the games, winning the games ( obviously I won't be togging off...you understand that...when I write 'winning' I mean we get behind the team and we support them strongly to perhaps help them to win.) Then when the team is victorious...and fans do have an impact...even you may have noticed the role of the fervent Armagh fans versus the non existent Kerry fans...we can think about the rest. Is that better bossman?"
Well said talking about homecoming and where they should be held is putting the cart before the horse win first and worry about other things later

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 231 - 18/07/2024 10:01:48    2559842

Replying To anotheralias:  "One of the things I'm not in favour of is discussing All stars and player of Year awards before the All Ireland final. These things are nice to have and good fun discussion points when its all over but they are so irrelevent in comparison to the real honours in a team sport. However I'm going to break my self imposed rule on this occasion in order to make an important point and to acknowledge the positive evolution of this Galway team.
In 2022 we received 5 All Stars + Young player of the year,
This year we will receive a number of All Stars probably somewhere between 3 and 7 depending on final result and performances. It is a strong possibility that the 2022 and 2024 honours list will be mutually exclusive from a Galway perspective and this stat, if it comes to pass, in itself, says it all about our team progression.
Over the last 10 years winners have received between 5 and 9 awards, average just under 7. Losers have received between 2 and 6, average just under 4. So lets assume that we get 4 if we lose and 7 if we win.
Jon Mcgrath and Dylan McHugh are All stars regarldless of result or performance in AI.
If we lose the 2 extra will likely be from the following 4 depending on AI final performance..Conor Gleeson, Paul Conroy, John Maher, Rob Finnerty.
If we win, and all 6 above named above, do well in final they are more than likely award winners. Additional awards would require exceptional performances in final from Shane Walsh or others. But barring the scenario in the last sentence there would be no overlap in award winners , and as I said above that speaks volumes in itself. I think its also noteworthy to point out the difference in the type of standout players that we have this year , less of the well known established "superstar" types and more of the unsung, hard working, consistent types.
One thing for certain if we are to win we are going to need massive All Star like performance from both of the lists referenced above as well as others. Armagh have also evolved amd they too are a far superior outfit to the one we met in 2022."
Great points. Dangerous talking about all-stars before a final alright. I remember Micheal Francis Russell after HT in the 2002 final, butchering 3or4 very promising Kerry situations, playing for himself it seemed to me, and for motm and all-stars perhaps? A match that Armagh won by a point of course.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3820 - 18/07/2024 10:52:41    2559858

Replying To minor77:  "Well said talking about homecoming and where they should be held is putting the cart before the horse win first and worry about other things later"
Anyone talking about a homecoming is not a Galway man, obviously a windup merchant.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 68 - 18/07/2024 10:56:11    2559861

Replying To Gearoid1998ffowaed:  "One of the best posts I've seen here- agree with all points made. I agree entirely regarding Maigh Cuillin as a Gaeltacht rural village in Connemara. As mentioned before, Dessie Connellys speech's were all as gaelgie. I'd obviously place Matthew Tierney, Johnny Heaney, Sean Kelly, Eoghan Kelly, Paul Kelly, Liam O Conghaile as all within 5-10km of each other - that's six of them. How you're throwing Moycullen in with Claregalway and Oranmore is the ridiculous. Totally different & nowhere near each other to anyone who knows anything about Galway GAA."
I agree that it should not matter what part of county Galway a player is from, if he's good enough he should be on the panel. There was a time, esp from 1940s-1960s, that very few if any footballers west of the Corrib would be considered for selection on the Galway team. One of the reasons was logistics, most of the training was in Tuaim and most ppl didn't have cars and couldn't get there for the training. There were other reasons mostly to do with prejudice and sensitivities re language shift that I won't go into here. Maigh Cuilinn would have a good few native speakers up to the 1950s but English is the everyday language there for the past 60 or more years. It's officially in the Gaeltacht as are many other places but in reality English is the language that is spoken in shops, pubs, on the playing field etc.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 68 - 18/07/2024 11:18:15    2559870

Pedigree Chum!!!!, some lads just lack cop on.
There is a press night tonight, that will be carefully managed and scripted I'd imagine. Beyond that there shouldn't be a peep out of anyone.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 18/07/2024 12:19:33    2559888

Good luck in the final lads, hopefully you can go and win it now, I have no great love for a few of the characters on that Armagh team, they will be hard to beat and it could even go to extra time but I think Galway have got what to takes to win this All Ireland,
hopefully the few extra weeks will help Comer get back nearer full fitness.
Galway by 2, Shane Walsh MOTM.

Tirchonaill1 (Donegal) - Posts: 2934 - 18/07/2024 12:45:42    2559895

Who cares about all stars? Medals are what count.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 96 - 18/07/2024 13:37:00    2559910

Sean Hurson to ref the final

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 18/07/2024 13:42:23    2559912