Galway Football thread

Great to be back in a final again, some proper resilience shown by the boys in the last 15 minutes yesterday to get over the line. Some of our perceived lesser lights stood up and made the difference down the stretch. Full credit too to management and the S&C team, for all the pre match chat about Donegals fitness we looked the fitter side during the final third and our substitutions were more impactful than theirs.

Hard to predict the Armagh game, should be a corker and probably won't be more than a kick or the ball between us at the end of it. Gaillimh Abú time to bring Sam back west after a 23 year absence.

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 39 - 15/07/2024 13:32:56    2559278

Unbelievable day in croke park yesterday. Thought we always had an extra gear to get the scores we needed when it mattered. The hunt for tickets is on. Anyone have any idea of when they are being distributed to clubs?

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 15/07/2024 13:39:24    2559281

When are the tickets available to season ticket holders?

bollocks (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 15/07/2024 14:19:25    2559292

Galway in the last two matches especially have proved their fitness is off the charts. Strength in depth is as good as it's been for Galway and that's in no small part to the successful underage teams which Joyce himself also managed.

Makes for interesting final but I expect Galway to edge it.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3456 - 15/07/2024 14:28:34    2559298

I though Conor Gleeson's kick outs were a key factor in Galway's win yesterday. If he has a decent final he is nailed on for an All Star, hope he gets it.

tireoghainabu (Tyrone) - Posts: 312 - 15/07/2024 14:30:34    2559300

Replying To centrefield99:  "I think Conor Gleeson deserves some recognition. He's turned into a fine goal keeper and if he has a decent final he could be in line for an All Star. People will still say he has a mistake in him but its become very evident that after the weekend that the position can be very unforgiving. The mistake the Kerry keeper made really swung momentum in Armagh's favoure."
Ive been critical of the kick outs in the past(not just of him as there is a variety of factors in successfully winning kick outs) but to be fair, the kick outs were really excellent yesterday. Well done to Conor Gleeson, outfield players and managers for getting it right when it really mattered! Bar one mistake when he was dispossessed, he was outstanding. I think one or two of those Donegal point efforts he plucked from the sky could have either gone over or hit the bar for a rebound scenario had he not confidently claimed them and his restarts from open play for those balls were really progressive too. I'm delighted for him, seems a really sound lad, he seems to be constantly looking to improve and managements faith in him and his talent has proven justified. Fair play to them

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 392 - 15/07/2024 14:50:48    2559307

Replying To centrefield99:  "I think Conor Gleeson deserves some recognition. He's turned into a fine goal keeper and if he has a decent final he could be in line for an All Star. People will still say he has a mistake in him but its become very evident that after the weekend that the position can be very unforgiving. The mistake the Kerry keeper made really swung momentum in Armagh's favoure."
I agree he has grown into the goal keeper role after a very shaky start and also to the 3 masterful giants in then middle of the field who carried us through when others were falling like flies all year, namely Maher ,Conroy and most of all Tierney
yesterday. C & T conjured a goal from a 'possible' point chance ...difference in the end.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 103 - 15/07/2024 15:32:23    2559322

Gleeson, Maher and McHugh Galway's best. Great to see Galway not over-reliant on Walsh and Comer.
Heaney, Daly, Tomo, Flaherty and Molloy are excellent subs to have available to bring on with Sean Kelly and Sweeney hopefully available for final also.
Good move at half time bringing back five forwards in 2nd half. We left three up in 1st half and Donegal seemed to score very easily.
Should be a cracker against Armagh with plenty of recent rivalry between the teams!

hopballref (Galway) - Posts: 399 - 15/07/2024 15:59:43    2559331

Replying To Gaa_lover:  "Galway in the last two matches especially have proved their fitness is off the charts. Strength in depth is as good as it's been for Galway and that's in no small part to the successful underage teams which Joyce himself also managed.

Makes for interesting final but I expect Galway to edge it."
Both Armagh and Galway has raised the bar in fitness this season.
Seeing Dublin and Kerry lose their legs towards the end of their games, showed just how fit the 2 Finalists are this year.

Also, both benches have really strengthened their teams.
Huge quality in depth of the 2 squads.

It has the makings of a cracker tbf.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 15/07/2024 16:30:27    2559341

What the story with some pubs in Galway city not letting people in wearing Galway GAA jerseys? Another reason to take games out of Galway city. Why give these people business when they prefer rugby

Kew (Galway) - Posts: 81 - 15/07/2024 16:33:31    2559343

Replying To Letitinnow:  "When was the last time a team had to beat two division 2 teams to win the all ireland? Il be waiting in athlone for sam boy!"
You're a WUM, we all know it. Slán.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 958 - 15/07/2024 16:38:46    2559346

Replying To Kew:  "What the story with some pubs in Galway city not letting people in wearing Galway GAA jerseys? Another reason to take games out of Galway city. Why give these people business when they prefer rugby"
That's disgraceful. Galway city is poor for sport I think. 2 years ago most of the big pubs were closing early and didn't have a late licence on the night of the All Ireland final. It never feels like a sporting town.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 167 - 15/07/2024 16:55:10    2559349

And then there were 2! A tremendous day in Croke Park again yesterday. An amazing atmosphere. A brilliant and dogged performance. We don't take it for granted. What's happening here is very special indeed and we hope and pray that there's even more to come on Sunday week from these mighty Galway men - as honest and teak tough and proud as any that have worn the beloved Maroon and White. We've watched leaders and tigers emerge all over the field, and on our sideline. Armagh are a great team and we'll have massive respect for them but we owe them one. Many of their supporters were around for our match yesterday and quite a few were bold enough to immediately comment to groups of us that 'they have our number' and will win Sam. Well, as the late great Johno once said "there's only one *#% answer for that, lads." Can't wait for the final. Let's festoon the county in the maroon and white. Exciting times. The Galway ship is rigging for full sail, boys, and the cannons are being loaded! Bring it on! Gaillimh Abú!!!

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 958 - 15/07/2024 16:57:01    2559350

Replying To hopballref:  "Gleeson, Maher and McHugh Galway's best. Great to see Galway not over-reliant on Walsh and Comer.
Heaney, Daly, Tomo, Flaherty and Molloy are excellent subs to have available to bring on with Sean Kelly and Sweeney hopefully available for final also.
Good move at half time bringing back five forwards in 2nd half. We left three up in 1st half and Donegal seemed to score very easily.
Should be a cracker against Armagh with plenty of recent rivalry between the teams!"
A great point made there about Galway bringing more forwards back in second half. When we left 3 up alongside 3 of their backs in first half, people say so what,.... the point is there is too much room then around our 45 for Donegal to work in and they opened us up far too easily in first half. Made a big difference in second half as they found it much harder to create an opening in the crowded area.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 448 - 15/07/2024 17:08:16    2559354

Replying To Kew:  "What the story with some pubs in Galway city not letting people in wearing Galway GAA jerseys? Another reason to take games out of Galway city. Why give these people business when they prefer rugby"
The barstaff are probably from Mayo or Donegal.....

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 503 - 15/07/2024 19:03:15    2559379

The bar staff don't matter - they only carry out what they're being told to do by management. They only want rugby heads. That said Taaffes bar & Front Door are hugely supportive of GAA. Regan's bar out in moycullen have been flying Galway flags since the very start of championship because I drive by it my way to work. I'm sure there are a few more around the county. Dew drop used to be great for the match's but it's gone down hill in recent years.

Gearoid1998ffowaed (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 15/07/2024 20:43:40    2559392

Any idea which pubs?
Haven't heard anything.

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1942 - 15/07/2024 21:14:22    2559398

Replying To jam83:  "That's disgraceful. Galway city is poor for sport I think. 2 years ago most of the big pubs were closing early and didn't have a late licence on the night of the All Ireland final. It never feels like a sporting town."
I think it is a sporting town and has been for many's a year. Would having a late licence the night of an All Ireland final make it any more or less of a sporting town?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7564 - 15/07/2024 21:16:38    2559399

Great to be in final again i for one coukd not see it happening early on this year ,, a few things on yesterday match watched it again this evening I know on Sunday game the defense structure got great praise but I actually thought it was one of poorer days Donegal missed at least 4 great chances score in second half though Galway let Donegal way to close to our goal before they were put undrr any pressure against Armagh can't let them get shots off inside 45 was happy see galway kept 2 up most of time it kept 2 and sometimes 3 Donegal defenders back ,,another point Galway need stop bring Gleason up to tske 45s he has taken 9 this year scored 4 not near good enough if Walsh not on field Tierney well able with games so tight need to be scoring them , in fairness since he stopped coming out with ball and doing the simple things he definitely improved unreal no doubt a lot of hard work snd many hours on training pitch with goal keeper coach is working fair play just 75 more mins needed ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 921 - 15/07/2024 22:30:08    2559410

Congrats to Galway on the win over Donegal. You were brilliant in the last 10 minutes and we had no answer. Maher and Dylan McHugh were fantastic. The fitness levels shown by Galway were something else. Hopefully these two teams will meet regularly over the next few years in the latter stages of the championship.

The atmosphere was brilliant, both sets of fans were really up for it. I didn't enjoy N17 blasting at the end as I was in such a huff lol. The place was rocking. Best of luck in the final.

Green_Gold (Donegal) - Posts: 1903 - 15/07/2024 22:47:29    2559415