Galway Football thread

I think Conor Gleeson deserves some recognition. He's turned into a fine goal keeper and if he has a decent final he could be in line for an All Star. People will still say he has a mistake in him but its become very evident that after the weekend that the position can be very unforgiving. The mistake the Kerry keeper made really swung momentum in Armagh's favoure.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 136 - 15/07/2024 02:18:44    2559178

Replying To Really:  "There is a term we use in Galway to describe a player who has achieved and "punched" above his weight, and it's called a "manufactured" footballer. However, the thing is Damien was well manufactured and has a resilience that other players feed off. His main attribute is physicality, and of course can also score, Strictly speaking, once he gains possession he tends to push opponents aside, and technically should be a free against. So far, he hasn't been called out."
Fair point.

Galway will defo need his physicality v Armagh.

Hopefully himself and Shane are fully fit for the final.

Difficult to know who are the favourites in the final tbh.

Looking forward to it - best of luck anyway.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 15/07/2024 08:38:21    2559185

Replying To Fionn:  "Well hopefully he proves me wrong in the final.

No doubt a good player but....

Anyway, hopefully both himself and Walsh are fully fit in 2 weeks."
He doesn't need to prove you or anyone else wrong. He's a massive player for Galway and has been doing the business for years for them. This isn't his best year because he is not fully fit. Walsh not fit either but both of them operating at 80% is probably better than most inter county player who are fully fit.

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 30 - 15/07/2024 08:40:29    2559186

Replying To Belclare7:  "Are Comer and Walsh injured??
Second half became a slogfest but I'm extremely happy to be proved wrong..
Dylan mc Hugh player of the year surely"
Dylan McHugh or Jon McGrath will be player of the year IF AND ONLY IF Galway win AI , and I think either of them would trade any individual honours for that.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 923 - 15/07/2024 09:01:05    2559191

Lads, enjoy the next 2 weeks and with the help of god we'll have a mighty Race Week. A lot of people mentioning different players and how they're going. One man that I absolutely love watching and one of the first names on the team sheet is Johnny McGrath.
Probably the best corner back now in the country and one of the best man markers. Crazy to think that he's 22. Regardless of people's views on Sean Kelly going to full back, I believe our FB line is now one of the strongest in the country.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 15/07/2024 09:10:22    2559194

Replying To Taypot:  "He doesn't need to prove you or anyone else wrong. He's a massive player for Galway and has been doing the business for years for them. This isn't his best year because he is not fully fit. Walsh not fit either but both of them operating at 80% is probably better than most inter county player who are fully fit."
Jeez - Take a chill pill there lad.... why so defensive...???

Ouch lol

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 15/07/2024 09:51:51    2559207

Comghairdeas mór daoibh uilig, from the Hogan Stand I thought that was a fierce game of football with brilliant scores on both sides. And I know he didn't have a huge impact yesterday but there's few sights better in football than Shane Walsh carrying the ball, majestic footballer. I have fancied Galway all year if you could get everyone fit, what I didn't see coming was Galway maybe not needing the big names on the pitch for the full 70 to still go on and win. Some fantastic footballers, a brilliant defence as well. Joyce is a legend!

Had great craic yesterday with Galway supporters and a very sore head maidin inniu - I'm gutted for our lads but can't help but admire Galway, ádh mór anois sa cluiche ceannais

CCFabu (Donegal) - Posts: 127 - 15/07/2024 10:08:11    2559214

Replying To Fionn:  "Jeez - Take a chill pill there lad.... why so defensive...???

Ouch lol"
I am chilled. You should see me when I get cross ))

Taypot (Sligo) - Posts: 30 - 15/07/2024 10:28:58    2559226

What a weekend.

Mchugh and Mcgrath just immense throughout. They have had brilliant campaigns. I couldn't pick between them.

Conroy and Tierneys teamwork is a joy to watch too. They have a great bond between them. They seem to read each other's minds.

Plenty of great things yesterday from a mighty bunch but those people stood out.

Armagh v Galway for the All Ireland football final. Who would've thought it. Absolutely brilliant.

Here we ******* go

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1692 - 15/07/2024 10:47:57    2559233

Replying To Taypot:  "I am chilled. You should see me when I get cross ))"
LOL ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 15/07/2024 10:58:55    2559236

Replying To Fionn:  "Super player.

But is it just me who thinks Comer is over-rated.?
No offence meant - but I just dont rate him that highly at all.
Give me Walsh any day of the week."
Definitely just you. You're basing your judgment off the last 2 games he's played when he hasn't been right. He's been brilliant for Galway for years and imo would walk onto the 6 in a row winning Dublin team. If you watch the Connacht final back this year you can see how good he is. He was brilliant in 2022 in every game bar the final. He's been brilliant for years.

centrefield99 (Galway) - Posts: 136 - 15/07/2024 10:59:56    2559238

Great intense game, it was hard to know which way it was going to go right up to the end.
Donegal's point taking was unreal, especially in the first half, but it deserted them in the second half.
Galway were poor defensively in the first half also, not pushing out no pressure really on the Donegal players.

Galway seem to be very well conditioned, but also I think this is coming from there tactics, in first half of games they are keeping it tight and not too many breaking forward, and then in the second of half of games it switches and its a lot more pressure further out and commit a lot more players to the attack for turnovers.

Both Armagh and Galway dominated the middle third and was big factor in why both teams won, so will a great battle there. The lack of height in both Kerry and Donegal teams were targeted especially in there half back lines.

Tribes88 (Galway) - Posts: 10 - 15/07/2024 11:03:10    2559239

Well done Galway. It was a ground out win. Thought the two teams looked a bit nervy in the second half and it became more like a game no one wanted to lose. But Galway just worked their attacks a bit better. Shane Walsh and Comer did not look fit, which makes the win all the more impressive. Is Damian carrying a knock still? Some of the point taking especially from Donegal until the end was excellent. Going by the Kerry game I think Armagh will bring even more ferocity and physicality. It will be important for those lads to be closer to full fitness. Any word on Sean Kelly?
One thing that did frutrate me, and maybe it is just natural as a spectator to want fast transition play, was how slow Galway were to counter when they turned over Donegal. Armagh you can be sure will be very quick on the counter. Anyways great to have a Connacht team in the final.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 999 - 15/07/2024 11:10:47    2559240

Replying To MachaireConnacht:  "Well done Galway. It was a ground out win. Thought the two teams looked a bit nervy in the second half and it became more like a game no one wanted to lose. But Galway just worked their attacks a bit better. Shane Walsh and Comer did not look fit, which makes the win all the more impressive. Is Damian carrying a knock still? Some of the point taking especially from Donegal until the end was excellent. Going by the Kerry game I think Armagh will bring even more ferocity and physicality. It will be important for those lads to be closer to full fitness. Any word on Sean Kelly?
One thing that did frutrate me, and maybe it is just natural as a spectator to want fast transition play, was how slow Galway were to counter when they turned over Donegal. Armagh you can be sure will be very quick on the counter. Anyways great to have a Connacht team in the final."
Armagh will bring more ferocity and physicality, but they will not bring Donegal's capacity to work scores or kick scores imo. 0-14 in 48mins was a quare haul against our increasingly vaunted defense.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3820 - 15/07/2024 11:26:53    2559244

All this talk about Donegal and there fitness would catch us down the stretch, it was quiet the opposite and the impact we got off the bench was fantastic again. Make no mistake about it this Galway team is full of skill with outstanding fitness and conditioning, we are lucky that they represent us and are gentlemen to deal with to boot!

On to the next one, Gaillimh Abu.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 15/07/2024 11:27:30    2559245

Yesterday wasn't his best day but he's playing on one leg.

Against the Dubs he had 5 or 6 assists for scores and caught a few kick outs. The Dubs put someone who could match him physically on him, but he found a way and became a playmaker.

For us, he is crucial. A couple of high ones thrown in on him yesterday. Even though he didn't catch them he caused havoc and it meant Donegal had to pay him extra attention. Would Mchugh have had the space to break into if someone else was inside instead of Comer?

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1878 - 15/07/2024 11:49:44    2559254

It must be nice making an All- Ireland final with your 2 best players injured most of the year!! Made of tough stuff in Galway!!

TJH (Sligo) - Posts: 43 - 15/07/2024 11:59:05    2559258

Think you are on your own there. Comer is class. Dogged by injuries. Walsh pure class also but 2 different players. Mayo would kill to have Comer.

TheFlaker (Mayo) - Posts: 8021 - 15/07/2024 12:11:10    2559260

Replying To centrefield99:  "Definitely just you. You're basing your judgment off the last 2 games he's played when he hasn't been right. He's been brilliant for Galway for years and imo would walk onto the 6 in a row winning Dublin team. If you watch the Connacht final back this year you can see how good he is. He was brilliant in 2022 in every game bar the final. He's been brilliant for years."
Galway will need him back to his best so in the Final.

I see some commentators and pundits stoking the fire regarding the bust between Galway and Armagh a couple of years ago. I really cant see anything like that happening in 2 weeks time tbh.

It will be tough and physical for sure - it is an All Ireland on offer after all.

Just like the Hurling final - it is a really tough one to call as the winner.

Looking forward to it. Great to see Galway in the final, and McGeeney deserves a crack at it also tbf.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 15/07/2024 12:17:17    2559262

Replying To centrefield99:  "I think Conor Gleeson deserves some recognition. He's turned into a fine goal keeper and if he has a decent final he could be in line for an All Star. People will still say he has a mistake in him but its become very evident that after the weekend that the position can be very unforgiving. The mistake the Kerry keeper made really swung momentum in Armagh's favoure."
I fully agree with you, he is definitely in line for an all star

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 347 - 15/07/2024 12:37:11    2559267