Galway Football thread

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Sorry but Lee Keegan is painful to listen to when other Connaght teams are playing.Not just Galway.I have always wanted Mayo to win when they were there.If it was a toss of a coin why not go for Galway??"
Clicks.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7564 - 12/07/2024 11:28:05    2558523

That's a pity for Hernon. He looked really good when he came in the last day, probably close to a starter. We have done really well to get this far with so many injuries all year. Its hard to know where Donegal are at. If we can get goals like Cork then we will be hard bet. Its a 50/50 game if its down to points with the Donegal lads good shooters.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 12/07/2024 11:46:45    2558528

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Sorry but Lee Keegan is painful to listen to when other Connaght teams are playing.Not just Galway.I have always wanted Mayo to win when they were there.If it was a toss of a coin why not go for Galway??"
Whatever about who Keegan hopes wins is it relevant? Nobody wants to see the neighbours winning. Off the ball said as much when a few years ago they said at an All Ireland final (Joyce was pundit) that "you could tell Joyce's dislike for Mayo" and that you could tell he was delighted when Mayo lost.

So what? It's the nature of sport.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11368 - 12/07/2024 13:21:34    2558559

Replying To yew_tree:  "Whatever about who Keegan hopes wins is it relevant? Nobody wants to see the neighbours winning. Off the ball said as much when a few years ago they said at an All Ireland final (Joyce was pundit) that "you could tell Joyce's dislike for Mayo" and that you could tell he was delighted when Mayo lost.

So what? It's the nature of sport."
are you always on this forum
do you post on the mayo forum as well

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 212 - 12/07/2024 14:06:01    2558564

Replying To yew_tree:  "Whatever about who Keegan hopes wins is it relevant? Nobody wants to see the neighbours winning. Off the ball said as much when a few years ago they said at an All Ireland final (Joyce was pundit) that "you could tell Joyce's dislike for Mayo" and that you could tell he was delighted when Mayo lost.

McStay the same on co-commentary at the 2022 final, when Kerry got the dodgy pivotal late free. Got giddy with delight/relief, and was nothing short of effusive in his reaction and support of the referee's call. *****.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3820 - 12/07/2024 14:19:42    2558568

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "McStay the same on co-commentary at the 2022 final, when Kerry got the dodgy pivotal late free. Got giddy with delight/relief, and was nothing short of effusive in his reaction and support of the referee's call. *****."
I had forgotten that, yes a clear foul by Spillane followed by the holding by Daly. but somehow McStay only saw the second foul.

conordee (Galway) - Posts: 448 - 12/07/2024 14:39:56    2558574

Dont really understand the philosophy of not wanting neighbours to win, and definitely dont agree with the statement that "nobody" wants to see neighbours win. In Ulster the inter county rivalry is more intense than anywhere , yet most Ulster people will support other Ulster counties on the AI stage. Some of this Ulster culture is probably formed from years and years in th last century , when Ulster was the poor relation in tems of success ( they couldnt be further from being in that position now). And lets be honest about it, Connacht is the poor relation now. A decent Mayo colleague said to me recently that he couldnt bear Galway to win it , but that he wants Galway to win and will support Galway. Sounds like a paradox , but in fact thats probably the way with a lot of genuine Connacht people , and I think thats the way I feel about Mayo too.
What I find interesting is that some of the Mayo people i know that are in the "anyone but Galway" camp , will actually support Galway hurlers. Whats the difference ? The difference is that Mayo hurlers dont compete in the AI , so the hatred of Galway football is not down to a hatred of Galway people , but simple sour grapes that Mayo are not in it

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 923 - 12/07/2024 14:53:34    2558576

Completely at odds with Joyces actual actions. After an all ireland loss many years ago a Galway fan page had up a post having a pop at Mayo. Joyce replied in the comments off his personal account saying to take it down, we should have respect for and root for our neighbors, especially after the effort they had put in. That certain fan page never made another pop at a team after that

"Nobody wants the neighbors to win" is just false. Connacht usually shouted for other Connacht counties over the years as it was always that part of the country getting dumped on collectively. In those finals against Dublin, the vast majority of Galway people were shouting for Mayo. Its always been a little different in reverse, mostly due to Galway's historic success (9 all ireland's), but still a reasonable portion of Mayo fans shout for Galways at the later stages.

Usually the older you go the more likely they are to shout for the neighbors. It is lessening all the time though as online toxicity amongst younger people continues to grow

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 235 - 12/07/2024 15:03:33    2558577

Mayo slag Galway when we lose and we slag them. A bit of craic. Stop being snowflakes.

Ya one or two take it too far but that's the way in all walks of life.

Enjoy these times when we are competitive because they are gone in a flash. After 2001, especially with Meehan and Armstrong etc lighting up the U21 championship I thought it would go on forever. ...... it didn't!

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1878 - 12/07/2024 15:21:58    2558582

Replying To anotheralias:  "Dont really understand the philosophy of not wanting neighbours to win, and definitely dont agree with the statement that "nobody" wants to see neighbours win. In Ulster the inter county rivalry is more intense than anywhere , yet most Ulster people will support other Ulster counties on the AI stage. Some of this Ulster culture is probably formed from years and years in th last century , when Ulster was the poor relation in tems of success ( they couldnt be further from being in that position now). And lets be honest about it, Connacht is the poor relation now. A decent Mayo colleague said to me recently that he couldnt bear Galway to win it , but that he wants Galway to win and will support Galway. Sounds like a paradox , but in fact thats probably the way with a lot of genuine Connacht people , and I think thats the way I feel about Mayo too.
What I find interesting is that some of the Mayo people i know that are in the "anyone but Galway" camp , will actually support Galway hurlers. Whats the difference ? The difference is that Mayo hurlers dont compete in the AI , so the hatred of Galway football is not down to a hatred of Galway people , but simple sour grapes that Mayo are not in it"
Never said I hated Galway purple…quite the opposite actually. I think the difference is the constant jibes and remarks from Galway supporters towards Mayo. Now I live near the border so that's probably par for the course. I was in a Galway bar one year for a Mayo semi final and the vast majority were roaring for Dublin. Anyway good luck Sunday. I won't lose any sleep either way.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11368 - 12/07/2024 15:50:42    2558589

Hernon is a big loss especially with Kelly's fitness .He made a big difference when he came on against Dublin. Glad to Sweeney is back on the subs, hope he is fully fit as he can definitely make an impact

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 392 - 12/07/2024 16:14:29    2558594

border areas between counties can be a bit unneighbourly. Mayo are a bit more toxic towards Galway than the other counties that border Galway. This is because of rivalry I suppose. kevin Mc Stay is not a Galway fan I can tell you.

maroondiesel (Mayo) - Posts: 1218 - 12/07/2024 16:26:04    2558596

Replying To Mayonman:  "Mayo slag Galway when we lose and we slag them. A bit of craic. Stop being snowflakes.

Ya one or two take it too far but that's the way in all walks of life.

Enjoy these times when we are competitive because they are gone in a flash. After 2001, especially with Meehan and Armstrong etc lighting up the U21 championship I thought it would go on forever. ...... it didn't!"
Snowflakes is right Mayonman. Well said. I'm living in Meath but from close to the Roscommon border. I have mighty time for the Rossies, great auld banter. Galway I still consider the enemy, but will shout for them unless they play us or Roscommon. I think that's more from envy rather than begrudgery. I'll make a massive generalisation because there's a lot of anti-Roscommon people where I'm from, but I think most of them have only a passing interest in GAA and will be just as likely to whinge about Mayo after a bad result. They only seem happy when they're whinging or laughing about someone else's misfortunes. GAA people will be sore in defeat but wish the victor's well. Anyways, a great Connacht man passed away this week and Ah Ref have a lovely tribute to him talking about his time in charge of Galway:

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7564 - 12/07/2024 17:23:24    2558603

Replying To yew_tree:  "Never said I hated Galway purple…quite the opposite actually. I think the difference is the constant jibes and remarks from Galway supporters towards Mayo. Now I live near the border so that's probably par for the course. I was in a Galway bar one year for a Mayo semi final and the vast majority were roaring for Dublin. Anyway good luck Sunday. I won't lose any sleep either way."
You have to take a bit of slagging. I've been up supporting Mayo at AIs, been gutted at their defeats, but it doesn't stop me having a dig at my Mayo buddies, as they do with me when Galway lose.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 923 - 12/07/2024 18:31:33    2558613

Replying To yew_tree:  "Never said I hated Galway purple…quite the opposite actually. I think the difference is the constant jibes and remarks from Galway supporters towards Mayo. Now I live near the border so that's probably par for the course. I was in a Galway bar one year for a Mayo semi final and the vast majority were roaring for Dublin. Anyway good luck Sunday. I won't lose any sleep either way."
I remember all the Shrule lads in Headford wearing the Meath jerseys in 2001 for the final. I also remember them getting out of town fairly quickly the same day.
Great times

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 12/07/2024 18:31:58    2558614

Ah but if we win you will.....

Belclare7 (Galway) - Posts: 85 - 12/07/2024 18:34:12    2558616

Replying To maroondiesel:  "border areas between counties can be a bit unneighbourly. Mayo are a bit more toxic towards Galway than the other counties that border Galway. This is because of rivalry I suppose. kevin Mc Stay is not a Galway fan I can tell you."
No. I would hope that Kevin McStay is…..a Roscommon fan. He's lived here most of his life. Best of luck to Galway on Sunday from East of the Suck. Connacht needs an All Ireland. 23 years is too long.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2282 - 12/07/2024 20:21:34    2558627

Replying To anotheralias:  "Dont really understand the philosophy of not wanting neighbours to win, and definitely dont agree with the statement that "nobody" wants to see neighbours win. In Ulster the inter county rivalry is more intense than anywhere , yet most Ulster people will support other Ulster counties on the AI stage. Some of this Ulster culture is probably formed from years and years in th last century , when Ulster was the poor relation in tems of success ( they couldnt be further from being in that position now). And lets be honest about it, Connacht is the poor relation now. A decent Mayo colleague said to me recently that he couldnt bear Galway to win it , but that he wants Galway to win and will support Galway. Sounds like a paradox , but in fact thats probably the way with a lot of genuine Connacht people , and I think thats the way I feel about Mayo too.
What I find interesting is that some of the Mayo people i know that are in the "anyone but Galway" camp , will actually support Galway hurlers. Whats the difference ? The difference is that Mayo hurlers dont compete in the AI , so the hatred of Galway football is not down to a hatred of Galway people , but simple sour grapes that Mayo are not in it"
Well said! And after we beat Donegal, let's all get behind the three lions Sunday evening. "It's coming home...football's coming home"

Really (Galway) - Posts: 619 - 12/07/2024 21:02:38    2558629

To beat Donegal, Galway need a good start. Seán Kelly and Paul Conroy need to have good games. Can they deliver in midfield. I don't know about Rob Finnerty either. Can he deliver. Galway will need a goal to win this.

galwayford (Galway) - Posts: 2558 - 12/07/2024 21:25:46    2558630

Replying To S1234:  "Lol it seems ye are the bitter ones he said ye have the better team and it's a flip of a coin toss and went for donegal bitter lot ye are."
Clare, Mayo are out so it would be best for yourself if you go out and discover the joys of life. Galway international Arts festival is starting, Galway Races, Galway showing Mayo how to do it again. Lots of reasons to be cheerful, even if you are from Mayo. I'd also recommend a break from Mayogaablog, there is a whole lot of delusion going on there, not good for your mental health. Gaillimh Abu ha

Boomerz (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 13/07/2024 14:31:59    2558687