Galway Football thread

Great to see you lads beat Dublin. Brilliant match. We are a year or two away from being at that level yet I think. I hope I'm wrong. But I think you're going to be too strong and powerful for us around the middle. We are a very small and light team. Mogan will be tied up I'm sure. Galway look like the winners this year. I just hope whoever wins we beat Kerry in the final.

TheRock2121 (Donegal) - Posts: 1187 - 06/07/2024 00:03:04    2557139

Was anyone at the D1 league final last night? Did Tuam put it up to Corofin?

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 765 - 06/07/2024 11:50:45    2557172

Ah lads, its reported John O'Mahony has died. A great servant to Galway GAA and will be forever remembered as the manager of the great All-Ireland winning team of 1998-2001. May he rest in peace.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 07/07/2024 12:44:08    2557376

Congrats to Galway ladies who were so brave in front of a home crowd at Parnell Park last night. Not too many 'bandwagon jumpers' or others present to see it live. Very proud to be represented by this team. Thanks to all involved.

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 07/07/2024 18:19:40    2557469

Johno was a gentleman - an honorary Galway man. Galway must now go out, and do it in his honour.

Really (Galway) - Posts: 619 - 07/07/2024 18:24:38    2557474

Is that Donal O'Sullivan the Limerick County Keeper playing in goal for Salthill Knocknacarra.
Were they not happy enough with their other signing from Renvyle

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 429 - 07/07/2024 22:08:00    2557551

Replying To smallfrank:  "Is that Donal O'Sullivan the Limerick County Keeper playing in goal for Salthill Knocknacarra.
Were they not happy enough with their other signing from Renvyle"
It is him yes. I'm pretty sure Rob is going to have surgery on the knee once Galway are done so that will surely kill their chances of winning the championship. They have a seriously strong squad but their style of football is horrid. I think it was last year that they lost a league final 0-06 to 0-04 to Barna or something like that? Serious underachievers when they have had Finnerty, Sweeney, Maher, Culhane, O'Flaherty etc together a good while now. Adding in Thompson this year as well.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 765 - 07/07/2024 23:15:14    2557570

Congrats Galway on beating the All Ireland Football Champions 2 weeks in a row.

The Jackeens will be very annoyed with themselves - only 13 scores from near 40 attempts and some shocking misses and bad defending.

Anyway, well done Galway.

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3941 - 08/07/2024 00:33:10    2557583

Sad to learn of John O'Mahony's passing. John drove dreams to reality. A gentleman, a gifted leader and a legend to so many of us in Galway and in Mayo and Leitrim too. We'll never forget you, John. Ar dheis Dé go raibh a anam.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 08/07/2024 07:54:41    2557601

Very sad to hear about John O'Mahoney. Honorary Galway man, a legend and a gentleman. What he did for Galway, Mayo and Leitrim was unbelievable.

I know he was honoured in Croker yesterday but I hope they do something next Sunday to let the Galway fans pay their respects.

Condolences to his family. RIP Johno

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1881 - 08/07/2024 08:58:26    2557611

Anyone have any injury news for sunday?

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 08/07/2024 18:54:03    2557809

I heard from one man Sean Kelly is out and another man that he will be fine haha I don't think anyone has a real clue until the teams are named before throw in.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 08/07/2024 20:58:07    2557847

Big week main concerns is the injuries and specifically Shane Walsh & Finnerty who despite being heavily strapped for past while plays but is obv carrying an injury.. I dont think Kelly will be right and he has not been all year IMO and we cant risk using a sub after 20mins in a game which could go to the wire against a very athletic donegal team. Our own Kickouts are an issue and this was highlighted in 1st half against dubs but to be fair we were much better in 2nd half & this is not purely down to gleeson we started to win more breaks etc. Tierney has not played well and seems to struggle in Croke Park but i believe there is a huge game in him & hoping its sunday. Injury dependant I would go with same 15 as dubs except Darcy in for Kelly. nothing to fear after our performance against the dubs & confidence should be high

Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 281 - 09/07/2024 09:43:28    2557946

Replying To TheRock2121:  "Great to see you lads beat Dublin. Brilliant match. We are a year or two away from being at that level yet I think. I hope I'm wrong. But I think you're going to be too strong and powerful for us around the middle. We are a very small and light team. Mogan will be tied up I'm sure. Galway look like the winners this year. I just hope whoever wins we beat Kerry in the final."
Smoke blower! So many Donegal lads excel at this craic. 'Galway are the best.We are happy just to be playing GAA up in Donegal...in our bare feet!' Cop on the lot of ye!

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 09/07/2024 10:57:21    2557968

Replying To Eire89:  "Big week main concerns is the injuries and specifically Shane Walsh & Finnerty who despite being heavily strapped for past while plays but is obv carrying an injury.. I dont think Kelly will be right and he has not been all year IMO and we cant risk using a sub after 20mins in a game which could go to the wire against a very athletic donegal team. Our own Kickouts are an issue and this was highlighted in 1st half against dubs but to be fair we were much better in 2nd half & this is not purely down to gleeson we started to win more breaks etc. Tierney has not played well and seems to struggle in Croke Park but i believe there is a huge game in him & hoping its sunday. Injury dependant I would go with same 15 as dubs except Darcy in for Kelly. nothing to fear after our performance against the dubs & confidence should be high"
I would leave darcy as impact sub even if Kelly unfit. I would have concerns Darcy getting exposed if on the wing as he was against Westmeath and Monaghan and that is probably Donegal biggest area of strength.

I'd start Hernon or Heaney if Kelly out.

Watching back Dublin game I thought
Fitz struggled a lot more then in the flesh, he gets turned and left for dust very easily on a couple of occasions.

I'd leave him on mcbrearty who wouldn't be paciest.

Tierney played well v armagh in 2022 but agree we need more from him Sunday.

I'm hoping comer will be flying Sunday 15 days break should have given him more time to freshen up

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1255 - 09/07/2024 11:42:33    2557987

Replying To Eire89:  "Big week main concerns is the injuries and specifically Shane Walsh & Finnerty who despite being heavily strapped for past while plays but is obv carrying an injury.. I dont think Kelly will be right and he has not been all year IMO and we cant risk using a sub after 20mins in a game which could go to the wire against a very athletic donegal team. Our own Kickouts are an issue and this was highlighted in 1st half against dubs but to be fair we were much better in 2nd half & this is not purely down to gleeson we started to win more breaks etc. Tierney has not played well and seems to struggle in Croke Park but i believe there is a huge game in him & hoping its sunday. Injury dependant I would go with same 15 as dubs except Darcy in for Kelly. nothing to fear after our performance against the dubs & confidence should be high"
Going by your post, complacency should be a fear. I expect Donegal to be a pacier kettle of fish than Dublin at the very least, and they've been putting up decent scores in matches also, which is always an alarm call. I'd be delighted with any kind of victory TBH.

Triffic (Galway) - Posts: 151 - 09/07/2024 12:29:46    2558000

Replying To jm25:  "I would leave darcy as impact sub even if Kelly unfit. I would have concerns Darcy getting exposed if on the wing as he was against Westmeath and Monaghan and that is probably Donegal biggest area of strength.

I'd start Hernon or Heaney if Kelly out.

Watching back Dublin game I thought
Fitz struggled a lot more then in the flesh, he gets turned and left for dust very easily on a couple of occasions.

I'd leave him on mcbrearty who wouldn't be paciest.

Tierney played well v armagh in 2022 but agree we need more from him Sunday.

I'm hoping comer will be flying Sunday 15 days break should have given him more time to freshen up"
70 mins in the legs v the dubs would have done the world of good, if he rattles in a early goal croker will be hopping

Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 100 - 09/07/2024 12:40:27    2558002

this is not a game to start lads with injuries..
the bench has proven over this championship there more then capable to stand in and make a major impact..
if kelly and walsh are not fit i wouldnt start them at all..
walsh will play but i no douth but kelly is simple not fit and should not play..
if we are lucky enough to get over the line maybe he could play a part in the all ireland..
plenty of other lads there ready to stand in and put there hand up..
against dublin i thought we actually improved when kelly went of as he was injured and is being player out of position..
i agree with the comment on fitzgerald but too be fair he was up against a top top player and he'll only going to
improve from it..
the video analyse will show what area's need improving on and im confident they will improve again..

its a sad week for galway gaa but lets hope the lads can lift our spirits on sunday ...
all we can ask is the lads leave everything out on the pitch and lets see what happens..
on a side no great to hear all trains and buses are fully booked for sunday..
im expecting a serious galway crowd and its well deserved..
drive it on boys..we are with ya..
see ye sunday.
Gaillimh abu

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 263 - 09/07/2024 13:01:17    2558007

Donegal will drive and drive at us relentlessly for 70 minutes, we need legs on the bench and I think we have that now with O'Flaherty, Heaney, Molloy, Darcy which will be crucial here. How is Sweeney doing? Another lad with a great engine.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1631 - 09/07/2024 13:17:55    2558012

Replying To ahsure.:  "Donegal will drive and drive at us relentlessly for 70 minutes, we need legs on the bench and I think we have that now with O'Flaherty, Heaney, Molloy, Darcy which will be crucial here. How is Sweeney doing? Another lad with a great engine."
What is Sweeney issue ?

jm25 (Galway) - Posts: 1255 - 09/07/2024 13:27:14    2558014