Galway Football thread

Replying To Belclare7:  "Absolutely no one should be taking that Mayo game seriously.
Dublin were down the country for the day and the only min in the game they really took serious was the last play when Kilkenny decided no way am I losing to this crowd.
Dublin were in 3rd gear...
They'll be ready for us Saturday"
Very considerate of Dublin to decide to only use third gear..

worple (Roscommon) - Posts: 351 - 24/06/2024 16:30:17    2554485

Replying To Belclare7:  "Clare... mayo fans are laughing at you on the blog..
Give it a rest..
Galway have won 3 in a row in Connacht..
What have Mayo done in the that time?"
Who's clare? Weird to call me someone else's name.

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 101 - 24/06/2024 17:03:01    2554496

Be interesting to see if PJ starts Conroy. He is having a fantastic year but I'd have him for the last 30 mins. Conroy finds going tough in Croker as does Tierney. If PJ starts both and they go missing we could be in for a long evening.

Nearly start Heaney and run himself into the ground for 50, see can we get them into the home stretch at least.

Kelly needs to return to 3 to pick up Con. I'm afraid The Barna man is an accident waiting to happen. Darcy to man mark Fenton for the day and nullify him. Let Maher cut loose and do as much tackling as possible.

Silke to Kilkenny..

All depends on how determined and in form Walsh comer and finnerty are on Saturday.. and if it does go down the stretch do we really believe that we are good enough.. heres hoping. More in hope!!!

Howardhunt1 (Galway) - Posts: 79 - 24/06/2024 17:52:16    2554506

Replying To S1234:  "Now that gave me a good laugh gakway a much better team then mayo ha living in cloud 9 dubs by 10+"
3 Connacht titles in a row to Galway, Clare. Galway 9 All Irelands, Mayo still on 3.

Galway may not be better than Mayo but the record books are showing a different story

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 235 - 24/06/2024 18:13:03    2554513

Replying To CartaDubh:  "How many times have Galway vs Dublin actually met in Championship in the last 30 years they met in 2018 and obviously Dublin beat Galway in the 1974 and 1983 all Ireland finals, but there isn't much recent history between the teams in the championship."
Played the 1976 semi too. Dublin won 1-8 to 0-8. Those were the romantic days before puke football, which explains the high scoring I'm sure.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3831 - 24/06/2024 18:19:27    2554517

Honestly if having Dublin in Dublin isn't bad enough they put us on Sat evening at 6.15 the same weekend that Taylor Swift is playing.The least we should have if Dublin don't even have to travel is a Sunday afternoon where we can get home at a decent hour.Who decides these things?Time other counties started voting with their feet and staying away from games with Dublin in Dublin other than semi or finals that are traditionally played there.The only thing that talks is money.The whole All Ireland set up this year has been a joke.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 341 - 24/06/2024 19:14:23    2554530

No excuses now, we've to play what is front of us. Match up's will be crucial. I just hope we click.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 765 - 24/06/2024 19:40:49    2554536

Replying To Shamrocks95:  "The delusion is strong with this one. Where do I start. Give Tomo a start - he has done absolutely nothing the last few years to warrant his place in the panel, nevermind the starting 15. Shane has been terrible since the AI with the exception of about two games recently. And on Damo, he has in fairness never let Galway down but throwing him on against the Dubs half injured in Croke Park - what do we expect. As for the free shot & no pressure rubbish - we are supposed to be have a proud footballing history- Joyce has now been in there for 5 years, we were in an AI two years ago but now its just about having a crack and sure if we lose, so be it? Absolutely pathetic stuff."
delusion is an interesting choice of words. I'm sayin that Shane and Damo do not have 70 minutes in them......delusion?
Also Tomo Culhane is overdue a big performance, the Armagh minutes showed he needs more time on the pitch....delusion?
But look, its good that we actually have 26 great lads. Galway for Sam.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1706 - 24/06/2024 21:07:56    2554546

It will be interesting to see if Shane makes the team. If we can still be in the game at HT it would be some risk to throw in Comer and Walsh at that stage and give the Dubs something to think about for the second half. John Daly and Heaney could also be brought in off the bench and O Flaherty has a lot of pace too. I'm not sure Joyce would put Kelly back to 3 at this stage. If Comer and Walsh were held back and I know that's a crazy risk then we start with Finnerty, O Conghaile and Culhane up front. I think we will also need to bring fresh legs into midfield so holding Maher and starting with McDaid and Conroy is possible. Sweeney could come in too so we actually do have options but the Dubs have many many options and that's the main problem.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 24/06/2024 21:11:40    2554548

Replying To S1234:  "Who's clare? Weird to call me someone else's name."
100%, it's Clare from MayoGaaBlog ha! Serious chip on the shoulder against Galway.

Boomerz (Galway) - Posts: 15 - 24/06/2024 21:12:02    2554549

Replying To Howardhunt1:  "Be interesting to see if PJ starts Conroy. He is having a fantastic year but I'd have him for the last 30 mins. Conroy finds going tough in Croker as does Tierney. If PJ starts both and they go missing we could be in for a long evening.

Nearly start Heaney and run himself into the ground for 50, see can we get them into the home stretch at least.

Kelly needs to return to 3 to pick up Con. I'm afraid The Barna man is an accident waiting to happen. Darcy to man mark Fenton for the day and nullify him. Let Maher cut loose and do as much tackling as possible.

Silke to Kilkenny..

All depends on how determined and in form Walsh comer and finnerty are on Saturday.. and if it does go down the stretch do we really believe that we are good enough.. heres hoping. More in hope!!!"
drop conroy who plays every minute, put kelly back to 3 which he has not done all year and give darcy a man marking job which he does not do

i cannot see it howard

cavan.galway (Galway) - Posts: 212 - 24/06/2024 21:12:06    2554550

Galway can give themselves every chance if management trusted the players to take their men on. Did Mayo not change tack completely from a lateral sideways passing team like ourselves to going man to man against Dublin?
I wish the senior players could convince Joyce to let the handbrake off, don't die wondering. Tierney running at Monaghan the last day inside the 45 and then passing back out to midfield, what the hell is that about? There needs to be a massive change in attitude to have even a sniff. But it's probably asking too much to expect Galway to bin what they've been doing since last year, but I'm heading up in blind optimism hoping for a gung ho performance.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 168 - 24/06/2024 21:18:32    2554555

Replying To S1234:  "Now that gave me a good laugh gakway a much better team then mayo ha living in cloud 9 dubs by 10+"
Howya Clare.Ha.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1274 - 24/06/2024 21:37:00    2554565

The team I'd start v Dubs
Gleason
McGrath. Fitzgerald. Glynn
Mchugh. Silke. Mulkerrins
Conroy- Maher

Tierney. Walsh. Heaney
Finnerty. Comer. O connaigle
I'd start that team I'd leave Kelly , Mcdaid off for start and bring them on u need serious legs off bench v dubs for last half and in fairness by not starting them u not loosing a major scoring threat In last 3, games both were taken off need them at end of game the team I'd like finish game with
Gleason
McGrath. Fitzgerald. Glynn
Mchugh. Kelly. O flaherty
Maher / Hernon
Tierney. Walsh. Mcdaid
Finnerty. Comer. Tommo well I'd have preferred Cunningham for tommo but thst won't be happening I think u need finish with real pace in half back line and I believe Kelly and o flaherty have that and Hernon has it for midfield

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 929 - 24/06/2024 22:36:12    2554587

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "Lads lighten up about the Armagh drawn game, it's history. Just like the crossbar in Salthill. Delighted to have a free shot at the mighty Dubs.
And get off the Mayo thing it's pathetic. They are a great team.
Really looking forward to the big game. Hope PJ gives Tomo a start as he must really want a shot at the big stage.
Shane might be a good sub if he is fit. Damo for last 25 min. No pressure on us. Gaillimh Abu."
I agree with this. I wanted Mayo to beat Derry and put 3 Connacht teams,into the last 8. Tired off RTE Ulster pundits banging on about Ulster football. And Mayo are class. They just keep coming back. I love their resilience. Hope all these ultra Galway fans buy a ticket and actually travel to Croker when only 6000 bothered to show in Salthill!

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 24/06/2024 22:42:44    2554591

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "Honestly if having Dublin in Dublin isn't bad enough they put us on Sat evening at 6.15 the same weekend that Taylor Swift is playing.The least we should have if Dublin don't even have to travel is a Sunday afternoon where we can get home at a decent hour.Who decides these things?Time other counties started voting with their feet and staying away from games with Dublin in Dublin other than semi or finals that are traditionally played there.The only thing that talks is money.The whole All Ireland set up this year has been a joke."
No excuses. Last 8.Get your citylink bus in and out or your train and get behind this team. Be loud and proud in Croker! Enough of the crap about injuries and awkward times. PJ will put 15 on the pitch and we get behind them and take the Dubs on their own patch.

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 24/06/2024 22:58:31    2554593

Replying To jam83:  "Galway can give themselves every chance if management trusted the players to take their men on. Did Mayo not change tack completely from a lateral sideways passing team like ourselves to going man to man against Dublin?
I wish the senior players could convince Joyce to let the handbrake off, don't die wondering. Tierney running at Monaghan the last day inside the 45 and then passing back out to midfield, what the hell is that about? There needs to be a massive change in attitude to have even a sniff. But it's probably asking too much to expect Galway to bin what they've been doing since last year, but I'm heading up in blind optimism hoping for a gung ho performance."
Good on you Jam! I will see you there!

Salthillsham (Galway) - Posts: 43 - 24/06/2024 23:01:01    2554594

got my tickets today and really looking forward to Saturday..
i think the lads will put in a serious performance weather till be good enough we'll wait and see..

yes the time is ridiculous and yes it will be hard on galway supporters but i urge as many people from galway
to get up too croke park AND REALLY GET BEHIND THE LADS..
yes we have a slim chance and we need things to go our way but we have a chance so no excuses..

team management will have to get there tactics spot on and team selection..
our bench will be crucial but joyce and co are around long enough and we are all long enough looking at dublin
so ive faith they'll have two if not 3 game plans i just hope to god everybody will be fit enough to play on saturday
as we need everybody and as a player i hope the lads embrace this challenge and let the fear of losing
drive them on and with a big maroon and white roar behind..

ill see ye all on saturday..
dive it on lads..
up Galway

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 263 - 25/06/2024 00:51:11    2554602

Replying To Boomerz:  "100%, it's Clare from MayoGaaBlog ha! Serious chip on the shoulder against Galway."
Very weird don't know who this clare one is your going on about..

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 101 - 25/06/2024 06:25:18    2554605

Replying To galwayman2:  "Howya Clare.Ha."
Clare?.. Who the feck is this clare one your all going on about ha

S1234 (Mayo) - Posts: 101 - 25/06/2024 06:51:31    2554607