Galway Football thread

Two septic turnovers from Heaney in the second half

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 696 - 05/05/2024 17:13:55    2543155

Ya hoo delighted Galway won...I backed them all the way with pure loyalty!!!
Pure panic from Mayo at the end!!!!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2249 - 05/05/2024 17:40:47    2543160

Congratulations Galway. I hate losing to ye but ye took the scores that mattered.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7390 - 05/05/2024 17:42:50    2543161

Good to win a cup and break hoodoo in Salthill.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 229 - 05/05/2024 17:45:01    2543162

Hon Galway!!!

Leave the negatives for another day . We are connacht champions.

Glynn and Mcgrath deserve massive credit for the 1st half. They did incredibly and were left under massive pressure.

Tierney made an immediate impact. Walsh finding his form.

Huge congratulations to Gleeson and everyone in Dunmore.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1679 - 05/05/2024 17:51:47    2543165

Happy for Conor.

I probably wouldn't pick him myself but feel he gets a little too much stick, the majority of the blame for the kick outs comes from management's lack of input(personally feel he could be quicker getting set up but the options aren't his fault).

It was nice for him to get something back out of it rather than looking back down the road and knowing it was mostly abuse online you received. He has a nice personal moment few ever get to enjoy.

Gilberto_Eire (Galway) - Posts: 64 - 05/05/2024 17:53:59    2543166

Some heart shown at the end there, nice to finally win one at home against Mayo we owed them that

LárBáire (Galway) - Posts: 14 - 05/05/2024 17:54:55    2543167

Replying To GDL:  "This a very unfair assessment, the minor job was advertised and applicants were interviewed, it was a full process. Neil McHugh has a strong coaching background, he managed his club right through the underage groups and they were very unlucky not to win minor B last year having missed a penalty in the last minute, he has been involved with the Galway academy teams and has also managed Menlough to promotion from Junior football. What coaching qualifications have you? Have you ever managed at these levels? What teams?

As for the rest of the comments about Galway not producing underage players that is rubbish, we will get players from both this year's minor and U20 teams and ultimately this is what it is about, producing players for the Senior team. Winning them titles is a bonus but nothing else."
You have just proved my point he was over a jnr team and a minor b team and it shows the way they are playing, I know well savo was over cortoon and they came straight back down, i have also seen them training a few times and it was terrible, the left themselves wide open at the back yesterday an that's down to prep and lack of coaching look at Roscommon each and everyone of them knew what they had to do and there roll in the team, I am just saying there are managers out there who would be better for the job surely, these are such pivotal age groups for the county

Fox.1n.7he.b0x (Galway) - Posts: 110 - 05/05/2024 17:57:14    2543168

A mighty win for Galway and you couldn't beat Mayo a better way. Some scenes at the end and some think a Connacht title doesn't matter to players,management and supporters any more. Serious momentum from that win now roll on Derry in two weeks.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 111 - 05/05/2024 18:01:48    2543169

Great match. Nail biter. Hard luck Mayo. Hon Galway.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2144 - 05/05/2024 18:09:05    2543171

Ye didn't want to come to Hyde Park. Seriously though a fine win especially the manner of and good to see a Connacht title is still celebrated with much joy

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3776 - 05/05/2024 18:12:23    2543172

Delighted for Conor Gleeson. He has taken so much undeserved criticism from so called Galway supporters on this forum.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1688 - 05/05/2024 18:16:04    2543173

Thankfully Mayo were stupid enough that they didn't put a sweeper in front of Comer all day. There's not many lads can mark him one-on-one when he is on form.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 696 - 05/05/2024 18:25:37    2543176

Delighted for Conor Gleeson. He has taken so much undeserved criticism from so called Galway supporters on this forum.

eoinog (Sligo) - Posts: 1688 - 05/05/2024 18:26:19    2543179

Congratulations Galway!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8603 - 05/05/2024 18:30:59    2543181

The single point win, a regular result and we were on the right side of it this time. Its a big boost for the squad and Walsh in particular who has taken some criticism will get a boost from his performance near the end. Also great to see Tierney back and Mcdaid waiting in the wings to return. Comer is also looking sharp so there are positives. As PJ said there is plenty to work on but the Connacht title in the bag lads should be champing to get that work done. Gaillimh Abu.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 93 - 05/05/2024 18:37:11    2543182

Replying To Fox.1n.7he.b0x:  "You have just proved my point he was over a jnr team and a minor b team and it shows the way they are playing, I know well savo was over cortoon and they came straight back down, i have also seen them training a few times and it was terrible, the left themselves wide open at the back yesterday an that's down to prep and lack of coaching look at Roscommon each and everyone of them knew what they had to do and there roll in the team, I am just saying there are managers out there who would be better for the job surely, these are such pivotal age groups for the county"
Is he not managing a Senior Galway club team next year?
Anyways, will you answer the question, what coaching qualifications have you? and what team have you managed? They way you're typing here you must be KOB, KJ, VD or DC. They've won a few big titles recently. Which one are you? Or are you a keyboard warrior???? If you are one of them, I'll consider your thoughts on the topic more closely.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 729 - 05/05/2024 18:38:40    2543183

Replying To GDL:  "Is he not managing a Senior Galway club team next year?
Anyways, will you answer the question, what coaching qualifications have you? and what team have you managed? They way you're typing here you must be KOB, KJ, VD or DC. They've won a few big titles recently. Which one are you? Or are you a keyboard warrior???? If you are one of them, I'll consider your thoughts on the topic more closely."
I've never been Taoiseach. Am I not allowed to criticise Harris so?

Galway9801 (Galway) - Posts: 1756 - 05/05/2024 18:49:37    2543184

Good win mayo should have been further ahead in the first 1/4, classic mayo bottling the big games. Bench made the difference, Maher tierney and Daniel all had big impacts and obv Shane. It's a good test in 2 weeks see if Derry can be bet, I'd have favs as dubs then in order Kerry Derry, then Galway, mayo Donegal Armagh Tyrone Roscommon Monaghan. Would love to see Derry bet in Pearse to burst their bubble a wee bit. Can't wait the for cusack park mullingar for the Galway game, tough task but nothing to fear

Sportsfanatic90 (Westmeath) - Posts: 216 - 05/05/2024 19:15:00    2543191

Tough loss. Sweet win. We owed Mayo a beating bigtime. Congrats Galway.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3501 - 05/05/2024 19:27:53    2543196