Galway Football thread

That's a tidy looking full forward line, hope we can get some decent ball into them. It would be interesting to see Finnerty drop out deeper and carry out a play making role. Surprised Daniel O Flaherty is not starting, the more games he gets the better he will get. They must have had a specific plan in mind starting E Kelly( probably something to do with the Clifford's who are now not starting).

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 23/03/2024 06:50:14    2532754

Could this be first team named by management in prob year and half that might actually start or will there be changes before game starts ,, I've no doubt eoghan Kelly was picked to mark or run around after Paudie Clifford,, but since he not starting and prib will come on galway might start Jack Glynn

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 843 - 23/03/2024 12:03:04    2532794

of the 26 lads listed for Killarney I think we are only missing 3 or 4 championship team really.
This is a nice test for PJ
Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 23/03/2024 12:11:33    2532796

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Even better news is that Derry have selected a strong side, and are presumably going for it. I think we'll need Derry to get a result. It's hard to fancy this current Galway selection troubling even a weakened, undermotived Kerry selection."
Derry will without any shadow of doubt 'get a result'. A win is a result, a draw is a result, a loss is a result. But sure look, everyone knows what I mean. Look!

getaresult (Galway) - Posts: 12 - 23/03/2024 12:35:46    2532801

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "of the 26 lads listed for Killarney I think we are only missing 3 or 4 championship team really.
Gaillimh Abu"
Well McDaid Kelly Walsh Comer and Tierney are 5 of our key men and all missing.
The majority of our scores come from 4 of that 5.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1241 - 23/03/2024 18:23:50    2532891

Replying To suckvalleypaddy:  "of the 26 lads listed for Killarney I think we are only missing 3 or 4 championship team really.
Gaillimh Abu"
3 or 4? By any normal standards whatsoever Galway's 4 best players are Kelly, Comer, McDaid and Walsh. All missing. It's not exactly any old 3 or 4 missing. Tierney would round out an even 5 before even talking about the Patrick Kellys etc of this world

PressureKick (UK) - Posts: 210 - 23/03/2024 18:40:47    2532896

Replying To getaresult:  "Derry will without any shadow of doubt 'get a result'. A win is a result, a draw is a result, a loss is a result. But sure look, everyone knows what I mean. Look!"
No, a loss is not 'a result', as per my understanding of that particular cliche.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 23/03/2024 19:25:14    2532907

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "No, a loss is not 'a result', as per my understanding of that particular cliche."
Look, what about 'a draw' Your Holiness? Sure look, is that 'a result' per your understanding? As per the English language, a win, a draw and a loss are all results. But sure look, it might be different in The Vatican! Look!

getaresult (Galway) - Posts: 12 - 23/03/2024 21:27:13    2532942

Replying To getaresult:  "Look, what about 'a draw' Your Holiness? Sure look, is that 'a result' per your understanding? As per the English language, a win, a draw and a loss are all results. But sure look, it might be different in The Vatican! Look!"
An idiom can become a cliche because of overuse. Using idioms can make writing appear original and is, usually, considered a sign of good writing. In comparison, the use of a cliche is considered to be hackneyed and a sign of poor writing skills.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3423 - 23/03/2024 22:13:54    2532949

Replying To galwayman2:  "Well McDaid Kelly Walsh Comer and Tierney are 5 of our key men and all missing.
The majority of our scores come from 4 of that 5."
Yes they are Galway's top 5 footballers without a doubt - its weird that they are all injured at the same time!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3326 - 24/03/2024 11:37:14    2533007

we all hope to have everyone fit for the championship but realistically you will always have 2 or 3 big names that are not fit for 70 mins. We have a decent panel.
Safe travels to all today.
Gaillimh Abu

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1669 - 24/03/2024 11:56:33    2533014

Replying To getaresult:  "Look, what about 'a draw' Your Holiness? Sure look, is that 'a result' per your understanding? As per the English language, a win, a draw and a loss are all results. But sure look, it might be different in The Vatican! Look!"
As per the contextual use of the phrase in relation to football and a lot of other sports, the parlance 'a result' is a win or a draw and certainly not a loss. Never has been, never will be. Result.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 903 - 24/03/2024 11:57:21    2533015

Replying To tommy k:  "Yes they are Galway's top 5 footballers without a doubt - its weird that they are all injured at the same time!"
With the new season format and the learnings from the first year, is there a chance that management, not just in Galway, would be extra cautious about playing some lads that may be almost recovered or have small niggles (and someone that was still playing club into 2024) but want to save them for championship? If ye were on 3 points would any of that 5 have been brought back in today or last weekend? We'll never know of course. You'd wonder if Joyce is gambling on the league to give him his strongest possible championship squad. If so it could be working so far baring a shock today. And even regardless of league position if ye have a good championship it will definitely have been worth it.

MachaireConnacht (Roscommon) - Posts: 784 - 24/03/2024 12:06:58    2533017

Replying To togoutlads:  "As per the contextual use of the phrase in relation to football and a lot of other sports, the parlance 'a result' is a win or a draw and certainly not a loss. Never has been, never will be. Result."
Look, I'm off to the bookies to see will they take a tenner on Galway or Derry or Tyrone 'getting a result' today. Look, I'll let you know how I get on. Look!

getaresult (Galway) - Posts: 12 - 24/03/2024 12:23:42    2533021

I think this will be Galways 6th League match to be shown live on TV this year......hammered at home by Derry, Dublin and Mayo (all top half) lucky win v Tyrone, beat Monaghan (bottom) drew with Roscommon (2nd last).
Think that paints a picture that Galway are very dependent on those 4/5 main players (currently injured) to carry them and without them we are bog average.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2207 - 24/03/2024 12:30:55    2533023

Another terrible half....
Some very poor turnovers..
Rossies could still pip us..

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 24/03/2024 14:25:22    2533045

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Another terrible half....
Rossies could still pip us.."
For who? If you are saying Kerry are miles ahead of us whatever the second half may bring I must be watching a different game.

kiloughter (Galway) - Posts: 1946 - 24/03/2024 14:33:17    2533048

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "Another terrible half....
Rossies could still pip us.."
We'll have to pip Derry first.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2166 - 24/03/2024 14:33:34    2533049

You wouldn't see kickouts like this from goalies down at junior c club level

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 677 - 24/03/2024 14:50:40    2533052

2nd half has got even worse. They'll be praying for Derry to save them and that game is tight.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2216 - 24/03/2024 14:52:46    2533053