Galway Football thread

Replying To WanPintWin:  "We play Dublin and Kerry.
Tyrone play Monaghan and Dublin.
Roscommon play Kerry and Derry.
The three of us will be underdogs in all of those games, except for Tyrone against Monaghan.
Monaghan themselves have Tyrone and Mayo. Two wins there would almost certainly have them safe.
It looks like it will go down to the wire."
A win is a win...
O conhaile at it again taking ridiculous pot shots..
We made some absolutely terrible handling errors..
In fairness Glynn and O Currain made difference.
May see Comer togging for next game .. Will need to tighten up more for Kerry..

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 03/03/2024 17:49:26    2529485

Expected win for Galway against a Monaghan side in a bad place. Got the breaks on all three goals 1st as on another day they could have bounced away or into the hands of a Monaghan. Closed the game out well then 2nd half with that 6 point half time cushion.

I think 5 points will be enough to keep Galway up. Monaghan are gone already in bodies and minds and the rossies are unlikely to pick up any points against Kerry and Derry seeking a final spot.

Drax_the_destroyer (UK) - Posts: 175 - 03/03/2024 17:54:44    2529488

Nice ROAD win for Galway especially without our biggest guns.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2198 - 03/03/2024 17:57:43    2529492

Replying To GDL:  "Grinded that out today, Cunningham took his goal chance (I thought he was excellent), Cillian O'Currain was also good when he came in, I think he got 4 or 5. We finished with O'Flaherty, Conghaile, O'Currain and Egan from last years U20's. These lads have to get game time and the panel will be looking better when we get Shane, Damo, Liam, Cillian and Paul back. Maher, player of match for me."
I'm sorry but no way would I have Maher as motm today, a middlin day at the office for him and I'm an admirer of his

Knocknadrough (Galway) - Posts: 25 - 03/03/2024 17:58:02    2529493

Replying To Knocknadrough:  "I'm sorry but no way would I have Maher as motm today, a middlin day at the office for him and I'm an admirer of his"
Different views are a good thing, but for me a midfielder covering from 21 to 21 and linking play is massive, his coverage also on high ball into the square was solid, we've had issues with this before. John also got a goal, and I'd take that performance every week.

GDL (Galway) - Posts: 751 - 03/03/2024 18:24:48    2529498

Replying To Marooned:  "Good win in fairness. Not sure 5 points will be enough though. Can see Tyrone and Roscommon winning at least one of their remaining games and if that happens Galway will likely go down if they lose to both Dublin and Kerry. Still might need at least 1 more point."
On all known form Roscommon will not get a result v Kerry, or away to Derry.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 03/03/2024 18:25:09    2529500

I' d have given it to Daly or McHugh. Sean Kelly was good as well. I'll post my full thoughts later on a game I didn't think we were great in

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 404 - 03/03/2024 18:29:19    2529502

It was much the same level of performance today imo as we got against Derry. Two decent performances with a lot of fringe players involved. A 5 point loss last week turned to a 7 point win this week, because Monaghan are currently vastly inferior to Derry.

Our forward play wasn't great again today, but the 3 opportunist/slightly flukey goals put us in a great place on the scoreboard. It'll be interesting to see if Cunningham and O'Curraoin can build on today's promise, in the much tougher outings ahead this season.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 03/03/2024 18:38:58    2529510

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "On all known form Roscommon will not get a result v Kerry, or away to Derry."
Depends if Derry are interested or not on the final day. They might be in a league final the following weekend.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2236 - 03/03/2024 18:43:03    2529511

Not sure I've ever been as confident in a player kicking frees from the hand as O'Curraoin. He's very accurate with them.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2236 - 03/03/2024 19:05:00    2529520

Is our kit man from Annaghdown out for the league as well. I haven't seen him on duty this year

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 404 - 03/03/2024 19:13:32    2529523

Good win gave lots of ball away 2 day and going into contact with ball still good 2 win plenty to improve on without doubt man of match had 2 be Rory Cunningham 1-03 from play 4 shots 4 scores even near end of game back clearing ball in his own back line ,, it definitely make u wonder why he not introduced v Roscommon last 20 mins when Galway had a hurricane of a wind with them ,,

Kickitout (Galway) - Posts: 899 - 03/03/2024 19:28:52    2529530

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "A win is a win...
O conhaile at it again taking ridiculous pot shots..
We made some absolutely terrible handling errors..
In fairness Glynn and O Currain made difference.
May see Comer togging for next game .. Will need to tighten up more for Kerry.."
O'Conghaile will come good in time, he is taking some bad options at the minute but he is normally very sharp and is a proper talent.

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 386 - 03/03/2024 19:41:48    2529536

Gleeson best day in a long time, he did very well when we did not have Conroy or Tierney to aim at. The turnovers and sloppy passes were shocking and some of the young lads are not strong enough yet taking ball into contact. Still we deserved a bit of luck for a change. It will be some feat if we can stay up in spite of all the injuries.

giveitlong (Galway) - Posts: 1251 - 03/03/2024 19:44:18    2529538

Replying To smallfrank:  "Is our kit man from Annaghdown out for the league as well. I haven't seen him on duty this year"
Dropped I believe

minor77 (Galway) - Posts: 226 - 03/03/2024 19:51:01    2529539

good win today put for me the performance was poor as joyce eluded to after the game..
we make so many basic errors its pull your hair out stuff..
great day for cunningham and i hope he can build on it now..looks a good player..
o coghaile needs to learn fast playing at this level taking on shots that are not on are just killers.
thought fitzgerald was poor today and im not sure going forward if he is our best full back..
id like to see mulkerrin given game time at 3 and see how he goes.,i assume it was the bang in the
head was the reason for his substitution today..
dont think we need to play daly maher and darcy in the starting 15..two is plenty and a more natural
scoring forward i.e. o currain/ o coghaile..
hope to see conroy and possibly silke back for the dublin game..
i also really like o flaherty at 7..think he could be a real player for us minus the mistakes..
so its dublin in two weeks time., its a big big ask but you never no but our performance levels need to rise now
as championship around the corner..
best of luck lads.

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 261 - 03/03/2024 20:09:37    2529545

Replying To smallfrank:  "Is our kit man from Annaghdown out for the league as well. I haven't seen him on duty this year"
He got replaced by someone else I believe.

jam83 (Galway) - Posts: 162 - 03/03/2024 20:10:22    2529546

Replying To Trucker1:  "O'Conghaile will come good in time, he is taking some bad options at the minute but he is normally very sharp and is a proper talent."
Well O'Conghaile needs to cop on a bit with his shot selection, it looks like juvenile level shot decision making much of the time, and he needs to put in some serious graft in his own time simply on shooting. Just repeatedly splitting the posts. He needs hard work to get that radar in but is capable of it. Not good enough or cute enough just yet but you'd have hope for him and I hope he gets there.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 936 - 03/03/2024 20:40:57    2529560

Replying To gbay:  "good win today put for me the performance was poor as joyce eluded to after the game..
we make so many basic errors its pull your hair out stuff..
great day for cunningham and i hope he can build on it now..looks a good player..
o coghaile needs to learn fast playing at this level taking on shots that are not on are just killers.
thought fitzgerald was poor today and im not sure going forward if he is our best full back..
id like to see mulkerrin given game time at 3 and see how he goes.,i assume it was the bang in the
head was the reason for his substitution today..
dont think we need to play daly maher and darcy in the starting 15..two is plenty and a more natural
scoring forward i.e. o currain/ o coghaile..
hope to see conroy and possibly silke back for the dublin game..
i also really like o flaherty at 7..think he could be a real player for us minus the mistakes..
so its dublin in two weeks time., its a big big ask but you never no but our performance levels need to rise now
as championship around the corner..
best of luck lads."
Agree with a lot of this, it wasn't a great performance and we needed the goals.
1. Gleeson, solid enough but kick outs are definitely a problem. When we needed possession today he just bombed them out and Darren Hughes won the ball particularly after half time. It will cost us in the summer.
2. McGrath, brilliant again on a top forward. One of the first names on the team sheet.
3. Fitzgerald, not as good as previous games.
4. Mulkerrin Caught out a few times and taken off before half time.
5. McHugh, our HB line was our strongest. I thought he was back to his best today.
6. Daly Brilliant defending and covering of space today and always with the head up when carrying the ball.
7. O'Flaherty Very good again today, couple of sloppy moments. Very well conditioned even up against the Monaghan lads.
8. Kelly, good to see him back. Had an OK game.
9. Maher Turned over ball cheaply today but to be fair to him ran himself into the ground.
10. Heaney, slowed up the play a lot I thought and didn't break the line. HF line was our weakest today.
11. Darcy I was watching him off the ball making runs and he couldn't get out in front. Good hearted player but can't see him make the team when everyone's available.
12. Sweeney, mixed the great with the bad, some brilliant cameos and some poor handling. Another who ran himself into the ground.
13. Finnerty, was limping very early and very reluctant to shoot. I don't think he is kicking on at all, huge potential
14. Daly, not great today. Caught for pace a few times. Not sure of his best position.
15. Cunningham, one of the only ones prepared to pull the trigger(will they coach that out of him). One small thing and it's not his fault. Does not have the IC conditioning yet and it was visible today. Got pushed out over the line at one stage. Needs time.

Glynn, great cameo, very sticky and carried well
Molloy, sloppy enough with possession and tackling, needs time
O'Curraion, looks in great shape and very accurate
O'Conghaile, worked hard but very erratic shooting
Egan, looks the part when carrying the ball, good to see him get a run.

Poor enough day on the line. Kick out strategy non existent even when a man up.
Black Card, extra player second week in a row and we did not capitalise or have any plan
Very ponderous and cautious forward play. Guys very reluctant to shoot

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 404 - 03/03/2024 20:42:38    2529561

Replying To Jellybaby:  "He is not good enough"
This aged well, Jellybaby! Cunningham was most certainly good enough today. Hope he can build on it.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 936 - 03/03/2024 20:47:47    2529562