Galway Football thread

I see people looking for D'arcy to play midfield next week… okay he was out of position today but he clearly doesn't have the tools for this level of ball.
There's no point investing any time in him at midfield in the league as he's not going to cut it in c'ship.
Also I don't see the point of even talking about Hernon and McLoughlin for sometime in May - our championship starts on the 6th of April.
Not a snowballs chance they can rock back and play county ball having missed all the preparation and training they would be miles off the pace.
As another poster said above - it's galling how this team keeps rolling over to Mayo - often times middling enough Mayo teams as wel.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1274 - 29/01/2024 00:31:07    2522885

Long Post.
Players were very leggy yesterday, must have had heavy session recently. Few comments on yesterday's players bearing in mind they were not sharp.

Gleeson: Slow and ponderous on kickouts, no ability to ping the ball out. Not good enough for this level. Plenty of better keepers in the county. The lack of movement doesn't help him but he hasn't to skills to pick players out.

McGrath: Mixed good with some errors (who didn't) but overall I wouldn't have concerns, he is good enough.

Fitzgerald: Some good interceptions but found it tough in first half with O Shea. Wouldn't rule him out based on this showing.

E Kelly: Based on last year's league and today, not good enough IMO. Gets turned easily and can't kick the ball.

Mulkerrin: Pre-injury, he wasn't water tight defensively and wasn't great aerially. A fella I think whose reputation grew while he was injured. Wouldn't be very comfortable on the ball like McHugh, Molloy, or Sweeney etc. Not a wing back. Doubtful if he's good enough.

Daly: Worst game he's had in a while. Sloppy in possession and didn't offer much defensively.

Molloy: Was ok, didn't bring much offensively. Would prefer to see an improvement in his shooting. We need scores from wing back and he isn't paddy durcan or Eoin McLaughlin. Galway at a huge disadvantage with the lack of scores from wing back.

McHugh: Great point but was anonymous after that. Would prefer him wing back, he's proven there.

Maher: Fought hard but clearly was very flat, not sharp. Mayo's midfield looked so mobile in comparison.

Heaney: Anonymous.

Walsh: Frustrating, some poor misses and took on shots when they weren't on or when he was tired after a run. His decision making is poor for a county player. Some good frees against the wind 2nd half.

Darcy: Burned for pace, he isn't a wing forward. Caught napping for goal. At best, he might be useful coming off the bench to catch some ball.

Sweeney: Good point, worked hard. Would prefer him starting at half back and have a forward at 15. I know he doesn't play at 15.

Daly: Harshly subbed early. Tierney had no impact.

O Conghaile: Good debut. 5 shots, 2 scores, 1 deflect for 45 and 2 wide. Scored from both feet. Great to see a willingness to shoot.

Tierney: Flat, no impact.

Finnerty: Disappointing, wasn't willing to take a chance and shoot.

Conroy: Made a difference, will prob be a big player again this year.

O'Curraoin: Took a good score, willing to go for it.

D Flaherty: Couldn't impact it much at that stage. Looked promising last year.

For next week, we need a change of keeper and some movement for kickouts. Is C Flaherty still on panel because Burke was sub keeper yesterday

Someone made a point that we need to plan without Comer and other frequently injured players, I agree. If he's fit great but we need to assume he won't be and just get on with it.

My team for next week based on available players:
Burke, McGrath, Fitzgerald, Mulkerrin, Molloy, Daly, McHugh, Maher, Conroy, Sweeney, Walsh, Heaney, Finnerty, O'Curraoin, O'Conaighle.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 382 - 29/01/2024 07:13:52    2522889

Replying To jobseekersbent:  "Long Post.
Players were very leggy yesterday, must have had heavy session recently. Few comments on yesterday's players bearing in mind they were not sharp.

Gleeson: Slow and ponderous on kickouts, no ability to ping the ball out. Not good enough for this level. Plenty of better keepers in the county. The lack of movement doesn't help him but he hasn't to skills to pick players out.

McGrath: Mixed good with some errors (who didn't) but overall I wouldn't have concerns, he is good enough.

Fitzgerald: Some good interceptions but found it tough in first half with O Shea. Wouldn't rule him out based on this showing.

E Kelly: Based on last year's league and today, not good enough IMO. Gets turned easily and can't kick the ball.

Mulkerrin: Pre-injury, he wasn't water tight defensively and wasn't great aerially. A fella I think whose reputation grew while he was injured. Wouldn't be very comfortable on the ball like McHugh, Molloy, or Sweeney etc. Not a wing back. Doubtful if he's good enough.

Daly: Worst game he's had in a while. Sloppy in possession and didn't offer much defensively.

Molloy: Was ok, didn't bring much offensively. Would prefer to see an improvement in his shooting. We need scores from wing back and he isn't paddy durcan or Eoin McLaughlin. Galway at a huge disadvantage with the lack of scores from wing back.

McHugh: Great point but was anonymous after that. Would prefer him wing back, he's proven there.

Maher: Fought hard but clearly was very flat, not sharp. Mayo's midfield looked so mobile in comparison.

Walsh: Frustrating, some poor misses and took on shots when they weren't on or when he was tired after a run. His decision making is poor for a county player. Some good frees against the wind 2nd half.

Darcy: Burned for pace, he isn't a wing forward. Caught napping for goal. At best, he might be useful coming off the bench to catch some ball.

Sweeney: Good point, worked hard. Would prefer him starting at half back and have a forward at 15. I know he doesn't play at 15.

O Conghaile: Good debut. 5 shots, 2 scores, 1 deflect for 45 and 2 wide. Scored from both feet. Great to see a willingness to shoot.

For next week, we need a change of keeper and some movement for kickouts. Is C Flaherty still on panel because Burke was sub keeper yesterday

Someone made a point that we need to plan without Comer and other frequently injured players, I agree. If he's fit great but we need to assume he won't be and just get on with it.

Burke, McGrath, Fitzgerald, Mulkerrin, Molloy, Daly, McHugh, Maher, Conroy, Sweeney, Walsh, Heaney, Finnerty, O'Curraoin, O'Conaighle."
Best post I've seen here in years. .
Every point absolutely correct...

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 29/01/2024 07:52:40    2522895

Burke, McGrath, Fitzgerald, Mulkerrin, Molloy, Daly, McHugh, Maher, Conroy, Sweeney, Walsh, Heaney, Finnerty, O'Curraoin, O'Conaighle."
Great post. You nailed the player by player assessment. Agreed on all fronts.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 29/01/2024 09:05:45    2522902

Replying To yew_tree:  "Galway not at it at all today. Mayo not even at our best…wouldn't read too much into the first 1st league game. That said and I said it before today Mayo won't be challenging for Sam this year but I don't don't if Galway will either."
I was thinking that also yewtree. I don't see any of the Connacht "big 3" challenging at the business end of things to be honest. Mayo to me are the same as they have always been - they always seem to rise themselves for the Galway game and get very excited etc. but they could flop in the next one - a bit like in the Roscommon game in the Connacht championship last year after the league final. The longer PJ has been at the helm the worse the team appears to play. Cian O'Neill also has to take a lot of the blame if he is supposed to be the coach. They were chatting together endlessly on the sideline yesterday about what? Perhaps it was something like "I think we should pick some backs to play in the forwards and vice versa or get lads to play where they are uncomfortable- that might work!" You couldn't make it up! Also what is the story with Comer being injured most of the time? He has been injured more often in his senior career than he has been playing - not good enough.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 29/01/2024 10:38:02    2522931

Replying To togoutlads:  "Great post. You nailed the player by player assessment. Agreed on all fronts."
Missing Sean Kelly, Damian Comer, Cillian McDaid, Peter Cooke with nothing remotely approaching being able to replace them at a comparable available.Galway need some the younger players Culhane, Mcloughlin, Glynn, Flaherty, O'Neill. etc to put a hand up and add to the team performance in order to make any impact on the championship this year or in the next couple of years.

backtooldwall (Galway) - Posts: 112 - 29/01/2024 10:42:08    2522933

Right Davy (Burke). This is the gameplan for the Rossies next week.

letsgetgoing (Roscommon) - Posts: 612 - 29/01/2024 11:34:01    2522946

experienced players such as heaney and tierney really need to step up and take ownership of this team
both anonymous yesterday. daly at least tried a leg although poor outing mchugh also anonymous

cocopop (Roscommon) - Posts: 36 - 29/01/2024 11:45:25    2522952

Replying To tommy k:  "I was thinking that also yewtree. I don't see any of the Connacht "big 3" challenging at the business end of things to be honest. Mayo to me are the same as they have always been - they always seem to rise themselves for the Galway game and get very excited etc. but they could flop in the next one - a bit like in the Roscommon game in the Connacht championship last year after the league final. The longer PJ has been at the helm the worse the team appears to play. Cian O'Neill also has to take a lot of the blame if he is supposed to be the coach. They were chatting together endlessly on the sideline yesterday about what? Perhaps it was something like "I think we should pick some backs to play in the forwards and vice versa or get lads to play where they are uncomfortable- that might work!" You couldn't make it up! Also what is the story with Comer being injured most of the time? He has been injured more often in his senior career than he has been playing - not good enough."
How is there a "big 3" in Connacht? Roscommon are not the same category as Galway or Mayo by any metric.

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 29/01/2024 11:58:50    2522957

Will Comer and kelly be back for weekend?

TobeaRossie (Roscommon) - Posts: 157 - 29/01/2024 12:13:51    2522963

Replying To TobeaRossie:  "Will Comer and kelly be back for weekend?"
Comer maybe. Kelly no.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2266 - 29/01/2024 12:17:36    2522967

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "How is there a "big 3" in Connacht? Roscommon are not the same category as Galway or Mayo by any metric."
I think you're wumming here but Roscommon have 24 Connacht titles. More relevant is that they are very strong at the moment. Robbed of a legit goal yesterday v Tyrone. They're certainly in the conversation around a big 3 in Connacht. In fact, they might be first in that group. As to whether we are Big anything now is debatable! Galway have slipped a lot, going by yesterday's blow out against Mayo (again!).

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 29/01/2024 12:49:35    2522984

Replying To galwayman2:  "I see people looking for D'arcy to play midfield next week… okay he was out of position today but he clearly doesn't have the tools for this level of ball.
There's no point investing any time in him at midfield in the league as he's not going to cut it in c'ship.
Also I don't see the point of even talking about Hernon and McLoughlin for sometime in May - our championship starts on the 6th of April.
Not a snowballs chance they can rock back and play county ball having missed all the preparation and training they would be miles off the pace.
As another poster said above - it's galling how this team keeps rolling over to Mayo - often times middling enough Mayo teams as wel."
with no cooke or hernon/macloughlin and conroy only an impact sub now who else is out there only
niall daly and darcy and too be fair its his first game of slight importance so give him ago in his natural
position along with others and lets see whats happens..these lads didnt become bad footballers over night..
too much negativity on here..i heard a comment about john daly in another post i couldnt believe it..
pound for pound one of the best centre backs in ireland..
come on lads its january..give the lads a chance to get up too speed and lets hope we get more lads back
for the summer months..that is where we will be judged..
its time for joyce and co to pick lads in natural positions and i guarantee performances will improve..

gbay (Galway) - Posts: 263 - 29/01/2024 13:28:16    2522999

Eamonn Sweeney doesn't put a tooth in it in a 2 page write up about Joyce's Galway in the Indo today. A Galway that's lost it's identity, a team that moves the ball at a 'glacial pace', no cut to our attack, our abysmal record vs Mayo under Joyce, the like of spark or life in our players, the excuse that we're heavy training yet seeing months on end of similar performances, poor use of Shane Walsh in cameos only etc etc He's not wrong. Some massive spark has to ignite.

togoutlads (Galway) - Posts: 960 - 29/01/2024 13:59:23    2523010

Gleeson just isnt quick enough to react to kickouts and placing them and I've seen nothing in last few years to suggest he is improving except maybe a bit more commanding in the square. I've always felt that we are playing a stilted, sort of stuttering "style" of play with no incisiveness sort of lost when Comer doesnt play which is most of the time. We need to go with youth up front as Finnerty seems to be regressing and why not stick with the two new young lads and even young Egan from Corofin in midfield but probably a year too soon. I've lost faith now at this stage I thought we would press on after reaching the final and putting it up to Kerry but again injuries did us last year as well as some personal mistakes that let Armagh back into the game. With us it always seems that we are on the cusp of progressing but we take a step back.

JahTribe (Galway) - Posts: 155 - 29/01/2024 14:31:37    2523021

I'm not "wumming". Counting Connacht titles is for the Sligos, Leitrims and Roscommons of this world. But if that is your chosen metric, Galway and Mayo each have more than twice as many Connacht titles as Roscommon, and World War 2 was still going on when Ros last won an All Ireland. They simply aren't comparable to Mayo or Galway in any way, shape or form. There is no rivalry there. Roscommon know what they are - the best of the rest in Connacht. That's the way it will stay as long as we have football played on a county basis.

Don't get too carried away about the league either. It's unseemly.

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 29/01/2024 14:40:33    2523023

Replying To togoutlads:  "I think you're wumming here but Roscommon have 24 Connacht titles. More relevant is that they are very strong at the moment. Robbed of a legit goal yesterday v Tyrone. They're certainly in the conversation around a big 3 in Connacht. In fact, they might be first in that group. As to whether we are Big anything now is debatable! Galway have slipped a lot, going by yesterday's blow out against Mayo (again!)."
I think he means Roscommon are ahead of Galway and Mayo at the moment!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 29/01/2024 14:56:19    2523026

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "I'm not "wumming". Counting Connacht titles is for the Sligos, Leitrims and Roscommons of this world. But if that is your chosen metric, Galway and Mayo each have more than twice as many Connacht titles as Roscommon, and World War 2 was still going on when Ros last won an All Ireland. They simply aren't comparable to Mayo or Galway in any way, shape or form. There is no rivalry there. Roscommon know what they are - the best of the rest in Connacht. That's the way it will stay as long as we have football played on a county basis.

Don't get too carried away about the league either. It's unseemly."
Any day roscommon play galway or mayo they have a chance of winning which is different to the likes of Leitrim etc. They are one of the big 3 in connacht. Absolutely shocking at the weekend the same as Galway so it should be a huge battle in the hyde looking forward to it. Always good craic around the town when galway are about. Looking forward to afew pints with ye Sunday.

Tarismelting22 (Roscommon) - Posts: 768 - 29/01/2024 15:25:33    2523034

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "I'm not "wumming". Counting Connacht titles is for the Sligos, Leitrims and Roscommons of this world. But if that is your chosen metric, Galway and Mayo each have more than twice as many Connacht titles as Roscommon, and World War 2 was still going on when Ros last won an All Ireland. They simply aren't comparable to Mayo or Galway in any way, shape or form. There is no rivalry there. Roscommon know what they are - the best of the rest in Connacht. That's the way it will stay as long as we have football played on a county basis.

Don't get too carried away about the league either. It's unseemly."
Ah come on Pierre let us have our bit of slagging of PJ and the management team after yesterday's no-show. Its not "unseemly"! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 29/01/2024 15:35:40    2523039

Replying To JahTribe:  "Gleeson just isnt quick enough to react to kickouts and placing them and I've seen nothing in last few years to suggest he is improving except maybe a bit more commanding in the square. I've always felt that we are playing a stilted, sort of stuttering "style" of play with no incisiveness sort of lost when Comer doesnt play which is most of the time. We need to go with youth up front as Finnerty seems to be regressing and why not stick with the two new young lads and even young Egan from Corofin in midfield but probably a year too soon. I've lost faith now at this stage I thought we would press on after reaching the final and putting it up to Kerry but again injuries did us last year as well as some personal mistakes that let Armagh back into the game. With us it always seems that we are on the cusp of progressing but we take a step back."
Gleeson is a solid enough shot-stopper although that first Mayo goal should have been saved especially from such a tight angle near the end-line. The real problem is how slow / laborious he is kicking out the ball or even getting the ball to kick it out. He seems to be caught in the hips. Surely there are better, quicker, more accurate goalies out there.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 29/01/2024 15:42:12    2523043