Galway Football thread

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "agree, they are clearly not the best run outfit."
The club is run and teams are managed by volunteers who aren't paid.....They give their free time at all age groups.They have not brought in outside managers like Corofin seniors have.So fair play to Corofin for winning but don't insult other clubs.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 12/11/2023 14:46:52    2512530

Replying To galway19:  "Whatever chance Ballina had of turning over Corofin looks to be gone. Heap of injuries since they played the county final. O'Hora and Cafferkey injured and likely missing two or three more starters as well. Corofin will beat them handy"
Evan regan was away .O Hora was wearing a boot but the view out of Ballina is that he's fine .Rested someone else with a strain and had another palyer back who didnt play last 2 games. Dont think Corofin will be taking the same view you are.See Corofin u19's beat Claregalway this afternoon in North board final. As they get older they seem to get better as I think this CLaregalway team won u17 a and b in the same year.

fairplay4ever (Galway) - Posts: 419 - 12/11/2023 16:20:40    2512553

Really looking forward to Corofin Stephenites game. Looks like its on TV too. I am very optimistic for Corofin, but its not going to be as simple as some people suggest.
I was looking at stats over the weekend and pulled out a few.

1. Since 1997 Corofin have won 16 out of the 27 county championships in Galway. Interestingly though, of the 11 that they didnt win they were only beaten in the final twice. This to me is no coincidence and suggests two things
a) when things get serious Corofin get really serious b) as Corofin started winning county regularly maybe they skewed their training plan in order peak later, and that made them more vulnerable in early rounds.

2. The last time that Corofin were knocked out of championship by any team other than Mountbellew was in February 2017 ( Dr Crokes)

3. Westport suffered a heavy defeat to Moycullen last year and looking at the close results between the top teams in both counties this year that would suggest that Corofin should do likewise over Ballina.

These facts all point to a Corofin victory , but while I am confident, I am wary.
All of the above stats are just that ...stats. And as the financial adverts say, "Past performance is no guarantee of future results".
The Westport Moycullen game was a bit of an outlier. Westport came on a bit of a high having had a major blowout and even though the scoreline was embarassing , in general play Westport were competitive. Corofin dont have the same aura about them as they did in their heyday , and I doubt if they skewed their training plan this year after a 3 year "drought" from Frank Fox.

Time will tell.

anotheralias (Galway) - Posts: 912 - 13/11/2023 08:58:03    2512628

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "The club is run and teams are managed by volunteers who aren't paid.....They give their free time at all age groups.They have not brought in outside managers like Corofin seniors have.So fair play to Corofin for winning but don't insult other clubs."
I didn't realise that Donie Buckley was from Baile Chláir.

Great win for our under 19s yesterday. Same old story for Claregalway - superstars at underage and found wanting when it becomes a little more serious.

crankyincorofin (Galway) - Posts: 94 - 13/11/2023 10:19:33    2512637

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "I didn't realise that Donie Buckley was from Baile Chláir.

Great win for our under 19s yesterday. Same old story for Claregalway - superstars at underage and found wanting when it becomes a little more serious."
The negativity constantly being directed towards Claregalway in this form is appalling. I didn't realise u19 isn't underage anymore, you couldn't have just said Claregalway were beaten by the better team?

Galway3 (Galway) - Posts: 8 - 13/11/2023 12:57:02    2512693

Replying To crankyincorofin:  "I didn't realise that Donie Buckley was from Baile Chláir.

Great win for our under 19s yesterday. Same old story for Claregalway - superstars at underage and found wanting when it becomes a little more serious."
Donie Buckley was coach not a manager.Corofin were lucky to win yesterday.They had the bonus of having a close game vs Tuam a couple of weeks ago while Claregalway haven't played a game for at least 4 or 5 weeks.Stop insulting young lads.For all Corofin have won you would think ye would be happy instead of being so negative towards a good team.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 13/11/2023 17:13:07    2512792

They weren't found wanting.They were unlucky.We are proud of all they have achieved considering some of the major hurdles that some of those young lads have had to overcome in the recent past.GAA clubs are not just about winning they are about community.Seems like all you think is important is winning
CG lads are disappointed but they will be back.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 13/11/2023 17:17:29    2512794

Fair play to Corofin.. on paper there wasn't much between Claregalway corofin and indeed Tuam Stars at under 19..
The difference was the management teams ... Corofin have serious men there...

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 13/11/2023 17:50:29    2512801

Replying To Alwaysencourage:  "They weren't found wanting.They were unlucky.We are proud of all they have achieved considering some of the major hurdles that some of those young lads have had to overcome in the recent past.GAA clubs are not just about winning they are about community.Seems like all you think is important is winning
CG lads are disappointed but they will be back."
Is Éanna Monaghan back fit?
Seems to have been hampered a good bit over the past while. Hope he gets back to fitness and shows what he is capable of going forward.

galwayman2 (Galway) - Posts: 1264 - 13/11/2023 19:37:35    2512820

Is anyone following the Post Primary School Championships? I think St Geralds will be very competive at Senior A this year. Anyone know how strong the Jarlaths team is following Tuams minor success ? im assuming they are stacked. Dunmore Community School played their first ever game Senior B level last Wednesday and won convincingly against Carrick On Shannon CS.... Great achievement from a small school.

WonTon5 (Galway) - Posts: 9 - 13/11/2023 23:17:10    2512838

Replying To WonTon5:  "Is anyone following the Post Primary School Championships? I think St Geralds will be very competive at Senior A this year. Anyone know how strong the Jarlaths team is following Tuams minor success ? im assuming they are stacked. Dunmore Community School played their first ever game Senior B level last Wednesday and won convincingly against Carrick On Shannon CS.... Great achievement from a small school."
Open to correction but I'm pretty sure Claregalway already beat that Jarlaths team this year in a low scoring game. Lonergan who was starting around midfield on the Claregalway senior team is still in school and Monaghan is there as well. Colmans would be the team to beat in that championship

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 739 - 14/11/2023 10:16:47    2512863

Replying To Galway3:  "The negativity constantly being directed towards Claregalway in this form is appalling. I didn't realise u19 isn't underage anymore, you couldn't have just said Claregalway were beaten by the better team?"
I wouldn't mind, but Cranky has come over all wounded in the very recent past, about what he perceived to be one snide remark after another. Like many posters, Cranky is a lot better able to dish out negativity, than to deal with any negativity they might perceive to be directed closer to home.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3725 - 14/11/2023 11:43:42    2512927

Replying To galway19:  "Open to correction but I'm pretty sure Claregalway already beat that Jarlaths team this year in a low scoring game. Lonergan who was starting around midfield on the Claregalway senior team is still in school and Monaghan is there as well. Colmans would be the team to beat in that championship"
They did, but Jarlaths didn't include any of the Tuam or Corofin lads so they should improve.
Gers should be strong

Galwaymaster9 (Galway) - Posts: 397 - 14/11/2023 12:04:29    2512940

Replying To Galwaymaster9:  "They did, but Jarlaths didn't include any of the Tuam or Corofin lads so they should improve.
Gers should be strong"
Claregalway were missing a few too.Wpnt be much between them.

Alwaysencourage (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 14/11/2023 15:25:03    2513009

Replying To WonTon5:  "Is anyone following the Post Primary School Championships? I think St Geralds will be very competive at Senior A this year. Anyone know how strong the Jarlaths team is following Tuams minor success ? im assuming they are stacked. Dunmore Community School played their first ever game Senior B level last Wednesday and won convincingly against Carrick On Shannon CS.... Great achievement from a small school."
Dunmore Community School includes a few Michael Glaveys players who won the Roscommon U17 and U18 Div 1 championship titles this year and last.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3839 - 14/11/2023 18:01:28    2513042

Not sure if they have been a part of any Galway senior squads in the past but PJ and co. should have a serious look at Gavin Burke and Dylan Wall next year. They are not the biggest players in the world but they have some engines in them i.e. "box to box" players, can link up play very well and take their scores when they present themselves.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3470 - 15/11/2023 11:39:47    2513130

Galways best 6 defenders are McGrath, S Kelly, Silke, Molloy, Daly & McHugh. That backline is very bit as good as Kerry's and Dublins', just don't think the likes of Gavin Burke or Wall are are better then Jack Glynn or Cian Hernon who would be my next 2 names on the list. Talent wise Galway in an excellent place defensively.

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 273 - 15/11/2023 11:55:47    2513139

Replying To TheBishop:  "Galways best 6 defenders are McGrath, S Kelly, Silke, Molloy, Daly & McHugh. That backline is very bit as good as Kerry's and Dublins', just don't think the likes of Gavin Burke or Wall are are better then Jack Glynn or Cian Hernon who would be my next 2 names on the list. Talent wise Galway in an excellent place defensively."
I think Gavin Burke will get a look because he adds something different attacking wise to a lot of the other corner back options going forward. Very good in possession. Can't see what Dylan Wall would add.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 739 - 15/11/2023 12:25:48    2513151

Is there any talks of who will take over claregalway and tuam stars? They are two jobs that would interest managers. Any word on if moycullen management are staying on or if they are stepping away? I'd imagine there will be a lot of senior clubs looking for managers for the coming year.

Galway_1972 (Galway) - Posts: 12 - 15/11/2023 20:54:34    2513248

Replying To TheBishop:  "Galways best 6 defenders are McGrath, S Kelly, Silke, Molloy, Daly & McHugh. That backline is very bit as good as Kerry's and Dublins', just don't think the likes of Gavin Burke or Wall are are better then Jack Glynn or Cian Hernon who would be my next 2 names on the list. Talent wise Galway in an excellent place defensively."
Add in S Mulkerrins, E Kelly, N Mulcahy, G Burke and maybe D Wall as options and it is a very solid list. McDaid a real option at wing back too

Trucker1 (Galway) - Posts: 386 - 16/11/2023 07:09:47    2513269