Galway Football thread

Replying To seventyniner:  "Same auld story and has been for the last number of years ie blame the goalie. Every goalkeeper we have for the last few years have got lots of criticism on here and on other forums with the exception of Flaherty. He played a few games last year and I did not see anything special but I will be delighted to be proven wrong. But this talk of begging him to come back all I can say is Jesus wept. Gleeson did ok the last night and I will judge him on each game played and not on what might happen. My own opinion is that Lavelle is the best goalie but I will back whoever is chosen.
Whats bugging most people with Gleeson is his kick outs and we have to address that. Someone reported the stats here that we won all of the short ones but that we only won about three out of nine of his long ones. We have to get used to the fact that all top teams will push up aggressivly and that most kick outs against top teams will have to go long. To my mind we have no ball winning mid fielder and hav'nt had for about ten years. This in turn has led to a short tenure for a number of goalkeepers. Unless we find one midfielder we'll win nothing with this team. Between Niall Daly, John Maher, Matthew Barrett and Ger Davoren ( who has forced himself into the reckoning after the Glen game) I hope there is one to stake a claim. I dont think that Peter Cooke is good enough in the air for mid field. It is a bit rich blaming the goalie if we have no one to contest it in midfield and just to finish up if we go with the same mid field pairing next week my expectations for the year will be seriously diminished."
We won 2 from 9 on our own long kick out.
Some of it does have to do with the keeper.
It's the pace of getting the kick away, the one mid size one he tried he misplaced it and kicked it straight to a Mayo player. Other than kickouts, there are other weaknesses which have been well covered.
Nothing against the lad but are close to an All Ireland I believe and should have one of the best in the country.

From watching the highlights last night on TG4, this Ethan Rafferty experiment will become the norm. Flaherty is def an option in that regard, regularly came out the field with Claregalway last year, even the Roscommon keeper and Morgan did it to good effect. Then you have yer man below in Kerry who shot the lights out from corner forward for his club. This will become the norm. I'm hearing stuff now about underage dev squads having no specialist keeper and converting outfield players.

That goal that Sean Kelly got, if Rafferty joins the forwards for Armagh against Mayo, that goal will be on all day long.

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 372 - 31/01/2023 10:06:47    2455441

Replying To FatLadySinging:  "There is an awful lot of nonsense being spouted here about the goalkeeper position, going back for God's sake as far as the Martin MacNamara era. It is a totally different role now. One time ago the goalkeeper just kicked the ball out as far as he could to the midfield area and it was a lottery who won it. That's how great midfielders such as Mick O'Connell made their names. Now the goalie is blamed if his own player doesn't get possession when he has to hit it long on account of the opposition hard press. While the goalie must try to optimise his team's chances of gaining possession, his teammates in midfield have a greater responsibility. The goalkeeper is saddled with blame for lost kick-outs. Those of his teammates who should be gaining possession are almost absolved from blame. So ease up on all this condemnation of our goalie Gleeson. He is as good as any keeper in the country. There is 10 times more responsibility placed on the goalie now compared to when Galway last won All Irelands in 1998 and 2001. A keeper was "great" back then if he could make a few saves. Failure to find a man from his kickouts was not part of the assessment. So give Gleeson a chance and stop all this unwarranted negativity. He is a fine goalkeeper and will prove it in time. It is a very onerous place to play in the modern possession game."
Agree - Conor Gleeson is as good as any goalkeeper in the country. That is obvious to everyone surely?

PierreBezuhov (UK) - Posts: 226 - 31/01/2023 10:34:21    2455450

Replying To seventyniner:  "Same auld story and has been for the last number of years ie blame the goalie. Every goalkeeper we have for the last few years have got lots of criticism on here and on other forums with the exception of Flaherty. He played a few games last year and I did not see anything special but I will be delighted to be proven wrong. But this talk of begging him to come back all I can say is Jesus wept. Gleeson did ok the last night and I will judge him on each game played and not on what might happen. My own opinion is that Lavelle is the best goalie but I will back whoever is chosen.
Whats bugging most people with Gleeson is his kick outs and we have to address that. Someone reported the stats here that we won all of the short ones but that we only won about three out of nine of his long ones. We have to get used to the fact that all top teams will push up aggressivly and that most kick outs against top teams will have to go long. To my mind we have no ball winning mid fielder and hav'nt had for about ten years. This in turn has led to a short tenure for a number of goalkeepers. Unless we find one midfielder we'll win nothing with this team. Between Niall Daly, John Maher, Matthew Barrett and Ger Davoren ( who has forced himself into the reckoning after the Glen game) I hope there is one to stake a claim. I dont think that Peter Cooke is good enough in the air for mid field. It is a bit rich blaming the goalie if we have no one to contest it in midfield and just to finish up if we go with the same mid field pairing next week my expectations for the year will be seriously diminished."
I would agree with that. The best midfielder to catch kick-outs and high balls we have had since Kevin Walsh was probably the much under-rated Fiontán Ó Curraoin who is still only 30 but withdrew from the Galway panel a couple of years ago. Like someone mentioned about Flaherty, Joyce should be on his hands and knees begging Fiontán to return to the fold!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3381 - 31/01/2023 11:13:58    2455457

Replying To tommy k:  "I would agree with that. The best midfielder to catch kick-outs and high balls we have had since Kevin Walsh was probably the much under-rated Fiontán Ó Curraoin who is still only 30 but withdrew from the Galway panel a couple of years ago. Like someone mentioned about Flaherty, Joyce should be on his hands and knees begging Fiontán to return to the fold!"
That was me re. Flaherty. But I do think that Fiontán just had an awful run of injuries that didnt even really clear up when he took a few months off. The about it is, he was a very good midfielder and he was probably never 100% from when he was 21 on-wards for Galway! Those MB lads have had bad luck with their county lads injury record, Peadar óg looked a baller too but had a horrendous run of serious knee injuries.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 710 - 31/01/2023 11:23:46    2455459

Another big worry for Galway is the amount of turnovers that Mayo won especially in the second half and I know that Mayo were tackling in numbers but Galway players were too slow in getting the ball away and not enough support runners were available to give a pass to.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3381 - 31/01/2023 11:31:09    2455467

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "Agree - Conor Gleeson is as good as any goalkeeper in the country. That is obvious to everyone surely?"
1. He kicked one out over the line and one straight to a Mayo player last Saturday.
2. He hesitated to come for a ball that was his all day long in the All Ireland Final, cost the team a point and was lucky not to get a black card.
3. He made 2 mistakes under high balls in the QF against Armagh and then went the wrong way for every penalty. A game that we would have won easy in normal time.

That's 3 of his last 4 games but hey he's as good as anyone in the country

smallfrank (Galway) - Posts: 372 - 31/01/2023 12:06:49    2455482

Replying To PierreBezuhov:  "Agree - Conor Gleeson is as good as any goalkeeper in the country. That is obvious to everyone surely?"
WUM alert!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3381 - 31/01/2023 12:21:50    2455493

Maher and Barrett played against Mayo in the FBD and were well beaten. Ultimately I have doubts they have the mobility or athleticism to play intercounty there once the ground begins to harden. It's more important these days that your midfielders can cover the ground and get up and down the field rather than fetch high balls. If they can do both then great but no point having someone who can catch a high ball but can't run.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2224 - 31/01/2023 13:25:28    2455521

I know Gleeson messed up against Armagh but before that I never worried about him under the high ball.

My issue with him is the length of time it takes him to set himself to kick. Players make runs, get free and he isn't ready to kick it. It is not so much the actual art of kicking .....which is a strange statement!

On a positive note, surely this is an reasonable easy issue to address, but to be devils advocate...... If it was u would imagine it would be sorted by now.

Criticism from Saturday night is a bit OTT. Mayo were fit and played a hard press. We didn't do that at all but I would guess we will as we get fitter.

I like Dessie as a footballer but at this stage I have to admit the step up to I/C is too much for him.

Anyone have injury updates?
Tomo?
Ian Burke?
James Mcl?
anyone else

Mayonman (Galway) - Posts: 1837 - 31/01/2023 13:58:04    2455545

Replying To tommy k:  "I would agree with that. The best midfielder to catch kick-outs and high balls we have had since Kevin Walsh was probably the much under-rated Fiontán Ó Curraoin who is still only 30 but withdrew from the Galway panel a couple of years ago. Like someone mentioned about Flaherty, Joyce should be on his hands and knees begging Fiontán to return to the fold!"
Tom Flynn better I thought, scored a few important goals too.

jobseekersbent (Galway) - Posts: 373 - 31/01/2023 14:05:58    2455547

Replying To Mayonman:  "I know Gleeson messed up against Armagh but before that I never worried about him under the high ball.

My issue with him is the length of time it takes him to set himself to kick. Players make runs, get free and he isn't ready to kick it. It is not so much the actual art of kicking .....which is a strange statement!

On a positive note, surely this is an reasonable easy issue to address, but to be devils advocate...... If it was u would imagine it would be sorted by now.

Criticism from Saturday night is a bit OTT. Mayo were fit and played a hard press. We didn't do that at all but I would guess we will as we get fitter.

I like Dessie as a footballer but at this stage I have to admit the step up to I/C is too much for him.

Tomo?
Ian Burke?
James Mcl?
anyone else"
Rob Finnerty appears to be gone for a few months with the same ankle injury he had before. He will be a big loss as on his day he is our best forward. Shane Walsh looks like he will have to concentrate on the AI Club Final Replay.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3381 - 31/01/2023 14:35:03    2455566

I hope this year doesn't go down the same as 2019 when we were riddled with injuries. Losing Finnerty & Culhane to contact injuries with 10 days is very unlucky, any news on either?

TheBishop (Galway) - Posts: 260 - 31/01/2023 15:12:53    2455578

Replying To jobseekersbent:  "Tom Flynn better I thought, scored a few important goals too."
Agreed. Flynn gave up inter-county far too early in my opinion, but that's his own decision.
Maybe Tom was just fed up of being criticised by people who thought he should always be the best player on the field simply because he was the tallest.

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 31/01/2023 16:22:38    2455604

Replying To streaker:  "Agreed. Flynn gave up inter-county far too early in my opinion, but that's his own decision.
Maybe Tom was just fed up of being criticised by people who thought he should always be the best player on the field simply because he was the tallest."
I think Flynn was a victim of Joyce's ruthless spell at the start. Felt he had more to give to a Galway jersey

allstars23 (Galway) - Posts: 48 - 31/01/2023 17:13:59    2455621

Flynn and FOC were proven to be poor IC footballers. FOC couldn't run, kick pass or shoot.

Dermot_Desmond_96 (Galway) - Posts: 36 - 31/01/2023 17:22:01    2455624

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Flynn and FOC were proven to be poor IC footballers. FOC couldn't run, kick pass or shoot."
I'd agree that Flynn struggled a bit in his early days, looked awkward almost. He filled out a bit though, and ended up a key player for us. Definitely had more to give.

streaker (Galway) - Posts: 497 - 31/01/2023 17:30:44    2455629

Replying To tommy k:  "
Replying To Mayonman:  "I know Gleeson messed up against Armagh but before that I never worried about him under the high ball.

Tomo?
Ian Burke?
James Mcl?
anyone else"
Rob Finnerty appears to be gone for a few months with the same ankle injury he had before. He will be a big loss as on his day he is our best forward. Shane Walsh looks like he will have to concentrate on the AI Club Final Replay."
It looked like he went down holding his hamstring. I haven't heard from PJ/Galway or seen any update on his injury.

Jellybaby (Dublin) - Posts: 336 - 31/01/2023 18:28:31    2455652

FOC couldn't shake the injuries. Once he recovered from one he seemed to pick up another one. Always different ones too. I agree he was a great player .Players that have been playing IC constantly since teens often have that wear and tear

Conroy is a bloody medical marvel

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1679 - 31/01/2023 19:13:17    2455664

Replying To Dermot_Desmond_96:  "Flynn and FOC were proven to be poor IC footballers. FOC couldn't run, kick pass or shoot."
Bar the running bit I could'nt see any of those being an impediment to being an inter county footballer at the moment

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 31/01/2023 19:24:19    2455665

Bar the running bit I could'nt see any of those being an impediment to being an inter county footballer at the moment

UtahBlaine (Galway) - Posts: 147 - 31/01/2023 19:29:46    2455667