Galway Hurling thread

It was a good tough game and should bring Galway on a lot. In fairness I thought Galway were the better team overall apart from the soft goals that kept KK in it as they always seem to do at various stages in games. The Mannions, Daithi, Monaghan, Joseph Cooney and Concannon were all warriors and Whelan when introduced fought for and won a lot of possession as what we expect out of him but 15 wides is worrying and we will have to sharpen up on that aspect going forward. I have criticised Conor Cooney for missing easy points from play / frees in the past few years but he was a man of steel over that last free so well done to him and the whole team on a job well done overall. A lot done / more to do.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3319 - 01/05/2022 17:44:33    2414414

Just heard that Galway had 45 shots to KK's 31 but Galway had a scoring efficiency of only 56% to KK's 65% so Galway should have won the game by at least 6 - 7 points and scoring efficiency is a huge area for us to improve on going forward.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3319 - 01/05/2022 18:10:06    2414430

Replying To tommy k:  "Just heard that Galway had 45 shots to KK's 31 but Galway had a scoring efficiency of only 56% to KK's 65% so Galway should have won the game by at least 6 - 7 points and scoring efficiency is a huge area for us to improve on going forward."
The Galway goalkeeper was very poor for Kilkenny's last goal. That same keeper also made a major blunder the last time these teams met in the championship.

endgame (Roscommon) - Posts: 2160 - 01/05/2022 18:23:42    2414436

Replying To endgame:  "The Galway goalkeeper was very poor for Kilkenny's last goal. That same keeper also made a major blunder the last time these teams met in the championship."
Yes the third goal should have been saved but it was hard to stop the other 2 which were a result of loose defending with the half backs being sucked into midfield. Goalkeeper position is still up for grabs no doubt and I think we will see Darach Fahy start the next game against Laois.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3319 - 01/05/2022 19:10:18    2414456

Replying To endgame:  "The Galway goalkeeper was very poor for Kilkenny's last goal. That same keeper also made a major blunder the last time these teams met in the championship."
It was a bad mistake. Thankfully it didn't cost us in the end, as that would have been hard to take. I thought we had the better of the game and should have won more comfortably. We butchered a couple of goal chances early in the 2nd half and came away empty handed from a good number of attacks in the same period.
We stepped it up again when Kilkenny drew level and showed great battling qualities. Fair play to all involved today. They gave everything.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 01/05/2022 19:11:01    2414457

Fahy has to start

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 487 - 03/05/2022 11:31:51    2414512

What I liked about Galway was how they battled like warriors throughout even when things were turning in KK's favour in the second half. Loads to work on including being more ruthless when building up a lead and not letting it slip like in the second half of the KK and Wexford games. Definitely cannot afford to go 17 or 18 minutes without scoring like the last day plus scoring efficiency and giving the man in a better shooting position the chance to score rather than shooting from crazy angles which has a low percentage of being converted. Also better game management when 3 points up by never allowing a free shot on goal to get an equalizer e.g. never allow the ball to be risen by the opposition, just smother / lie on the ball or just give away a free which has a low percentage of being converted into a goal. A lot of learnings to take away from it.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3319 - 03/05/2022 12:00:05    2414531

Just popped in to congratulate you guys on a fine win over Kilkenny. It was a really enjoyable game to watch; hard-hitting but great skill also on display by both teams.

I think Henry has instilled that mental strength to dig out a win in tight, competitive circumstances than probably hasn't been there for a few years now; no-one ever doubted the physicality or skill of the team. It's just that mental toughness that seemed to be missing, IMO!

foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 1909 - 03/05/2022 12:24:39    2414553

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Just popped in to congratulate you guys on a fine win over Kilkenny. It was a really enjoyable game to watch; hard-hitting but great skill also on display by both teams.

I think Henry has instilled that mental strength to dig out a win in tight, competitive circumstances than probably hasn't been there for a few years now; no-one ever doubted the physicality or skill of the team. It's just that mental toughness that seemed to be missing, IMO!"
The ability to respond in adversity reminded me of the wins we dug out to beat Tipp in 2017 and Kilkenny in 2018 under Donoghue. Great mental strength shown on those days, as well as on Sunday.
Shefflin has a big job on his hands to develop the younger members of the panel. It's been a good start so far.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 03/05/2022 12:52:35    2414564

Replying To ahsure.:  "It was hard to listen to the Kilkenny ones around us there in the stand. Talk about a bunch of moaners all through the game.

Great win."
Something like we listened to in wexford Park a few weeks ago from the Galway fans I'd imagine.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 219 - 03/05/2022 13:59:17    2414595

Replying To Tiger1:  "Something like we listened to in wexford Park a few weeks ago from the Galway fans I'd imagine."
I'm sure Galway fans had to listen to a few Wexford fans moaning for most of that game also Tiger until the ref intervened to make it a draw for ye!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3319 - 03/05/2022 14:12:34    2414601

...and at fault for a woeful goal conceded V Westmeath last week. The mind boggles.

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 706 - 03/05/2022 15:49:53    2414662

Replying To tommy k:  "I'm sure Galway fans had to listen to a few Wexford fans moaning for most of that game also Tiger until the ref intervened to make it a draw for ye!"
Just saying short memories that's all .Hope we meet again later in year and show what we can really do had an off day that day but fair dues to Galway ye stuck at it and got the draw.

Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 219 - 03/05/2022 16:02:28    2414675

Massive importance the win v Kilkenny means even by 1pt, it doesn't matter what the results are between Dub v KK, Gal v Dub or KK v Wex...... We are guaranteed to finish 3rd at worst!!

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2193 - 03/05/2022 16:10:23    2414680

Very good performance from Galway. Team beginning to look very settled also with Whelan to come in for D Burke the only change id be making. Grealish probably the most one under pressure along with Eanna Murphy. Coen miles ahead of Niland now. I like Niland but hes too small and light. Moving on from Loftus and Linnane from last year is a major plus also. Cianan Fahy had a tidy game, he was instrumental in the goal. The fitness of some of the older lads is incredible.

clare_sparrow (Galway) - Posts: 425 - 03/05/2022 16:14:04    2414683

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Very good performance from Galway. Team beginning to look very settled also with Whelan to come in for D Burke the only change id be making. Grealish probably the most one under pressure along with Eanna Murphy. Coen miles ahead of Niland now. I like Niland but hes too small and light. Moving on from Loftus and Linnane from last year is a major plus also. Cianan Fahy had a tidy game, he was instrumental in the goal. The fitness of some of the older lads is incredible."
He is small and light, but I don't think these are the main reasons Niland hasn't performed.
Monaghan is also slightly built, but he's very mobile, has great footwork and endless energy. Monaghan can get through tackles with a sidestep or a swivel, rather than horsing a lad out of the way.
Niland just doesn't seem to be getting involved in the game. He hasn't shown much energy to get on the ball and make things happen. He's a very classy hurler, but intercounty requires more than that.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 03/05/2022 16:49:05    2414699

Replying To katser:  "Massive importance the win v Kilkenny means even by 1pt, it doesn't matter what the results are between Dub v KK, Gal v Dub or KK v Wex...... We are guaranteed to finish 3rd at worst!!"
Yes. 1st part of the job done

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11799 - 03/05/2022 16:54:12    2414703

Replying To clare_sparrow:  "Very good performance from Galway. Team beginning to look very settled also with Whelan to come in for D Burke the only change id be making. Grealish probably the most one under pressure along with Eanna Murphy. Coen miles ahead of Niland now. I like Niland but hes too small and light. Moving on from Loftus and Linnane from last year is a major plus also. Cianan Fahy had a tidy game, he was instrumental in the goal. The fitness of some of the older lads is incredible."
Grealish played on Rory O Connor better than anyone else this year except Conor Gleeson.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 11799 - 03/05/2022 16:55:33    2414706

Can anyone tell me when was the last time the same team beat Kilkenny twice in the same championship year? If it has happened its not very often....

Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 76 - 03/05/2022 16:57:39    2414709

Replying To Armchairreporter:  "Can anyone tell me when was the last time the same team beat Kilkenny twice in the same championship year? If it has happened its not very often...."
We definitely did in 2018. I'm not sure outside of that.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2039 - 03/05/2022 17:30:54    2414720