Galway Hurling thread

Replying To Galwegian_Entity:  "In theory I should be really happy with MOD'S first season back because we hit all the targets I think most fans were hoping for. There was lower expectations in Galway hurling this year than any I ever remember.

Most people had Galway picked for relegation in the league and not only did Galway stay safe but we were in a defacto semi final in the last match against Cork.

In Leinster after failing to qualify last year the main thing this year was to come out of Leinster and if we could do that by getting to a Leinster final then that would be better again.

This would give us an extra game to continue the build and also a shot at winning a provincial title.

All this along with a strong QF performance against a team who were more likely in a better position than us coming into the season should be a good first year back for MOD.

So why does it seem so disappointing and hollow? Losing 3 matches in the league wasn't a big deal, we finished higher than we expected but the manner of the losses was an issue. Three 12 point losses.

Follow this up with one of the worst Galway displays in years against Kilkenny in the first round of Leinster. Lack of skill was one thing, I could get over that, we're building a team who are in transition right now but the lack of fight and intensity was unforgivable.

Then today it looked like the fight and never give up attitude was there for the first 10 minutes but then after that it was just another awful performance. We only seemed to start playing when Kilkenny slowed up.

A poor game plan and the fact I was hoping we'd introduce a few more young players this year who'd either show they belong in a senior jersey or show they have potential for the future. But there hasn't been many so far.

This along with the poor performances of our minor's and U20 teams over the last few years and the worry of a lack of quality that is available to come through is a worry for the future.

The season isn't over yet, we'll more than likely be playing Tipp and that should be enough to fire up the players and maybe they'll produce something yet, but even though so far Galway have hit many of the targets I was hoping for this year I can't help but feel very underwhelmed"
Perhaps you just need to increase your volume of 'target metrics', branch into some intangible ones even, not just the bread and butter reach the Leinster Final bla bla. No doubt with this increased volume of comprehensive metrics, you'll get a clearer understanding of why you're 'underwhelmed'.

Some lads!! How do you spell it out to them?....... that we're just not top5 material at the moment, and probably won't be for the foreseeable future.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4212 - 09/06/2025 14:10:48    2616122

Replying To Cumann1:  "It wasn't a Mayoman that brought Mayo into the conversation.
So ailteoir we can take it you spend your time sorting out Galway GAA problems?
Yea and all Galway people are humble aren't they?"
I don't , but then I don't see the need to comment on the Mayo thread either.

As for Galway people, we may or may not be. But if Mayo footballers were to win Sam this year, I don't think you'd see too many Galway people claiming their county had somehow 'paved the way'. Unlike Mayo people in '98 and '01.

Ailteoir (Galway) - Posts: 913 - 09/06/2025 15:12:33    2616146

Replying To Galwegian_Entity:  "In theory I should be really happy with MOD'S first season back because we hit all the targets I think most fans were hoping for. There was lower expectations in Galway hurling this year than any I ever remember.

Most people had Galway picked for relegation in the league and not only did Galway stay safe but we were in a defacto semi final in the last match against Cork.

In Leinster after failing to qualify last year the main thing this year was to come out of Leinster and if we could do that by getting to a Leinster final then that would be better again.

This would give us an extra game to continue the build and also a shot at winning a provincial title.

All this along with a strong QF performance against a team who were more likely in a better position than us coming into the season should be a good first year back for MOD.

So why does it seem so disappointing and hollow? Losing 3 matches in the league wasn't a big deal, we finished higher than we expected but the manner of the losses was an issue. Three 12 point losses.

Follow this up with one of the worst Galway displays in years against Kilkenny in the first round of Leinster. Lack of skill was one thing, I could get over that, we're building a team who are in transition right now but the lack of fight and intensity was unforgivable.

Then today it looked like the fight and never give up attitude was there for the first 10 minutes but then after that it was just another awful performance. We only seemed to start playing when Kilkenny slowed up.

A poor game plan and the fact I was hoping we'd introduce a few more young players this year who'd either show they belong in a senior jersey or show they have potential for the future. But there hasn't been many so far.

This along with the poor performances of our minor's and U20 teams over the last few years and the worry of a lack of quality that is available to come through is a worry for the future.

The season isn't over yet, we'll more than likely be playing Tipp and that should be enough to fire up the players and maybe they'll produce something yet, but even though so far Galway have hit many of the targets I was hoping for this year I can't help but feel very underwhelmed"
Sorry and listen I agree with bits and piece but I just cant agree that we are "building a team" or that "we are in transition" the simple facts are the Flemming is the only new face starting on that 15 yesterday. theres maybe two new faces on teh bench one of which was brought on but thats not exactly ground shattering team building. take out any one, just one out of the starting line up yesterday and ist probably = 5 addional points to KK. What exactly is the transition then, is it the game plan or the tactics we are transitioning?

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 789 - 09/06/2025 15:41:05    2616160

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Perhaps you just need to increase your volume of 'target metrics', branch into some intangible ones even, not just the bread and butter reach the Leinster Final bla bla. No doubt with this increased volume of comprehensive metrics, you'll get a clearer understanding of why you're 'underwhelmed'.

Some lads!! How do you spell it out to them?....... that we're just not top5 material at the moment, and probably won't be for the foreseeable future."
I can clearly see we're not top 5 material right now but before there was always some underage talent coming through that would give hope that in the near future we'd be competing. This isn't the case right now. There's clearly deep issues but theres no harm in giving our expectations for the season but at the end of the day theres only so much that can be achieved by a management team depending on the talent they have to work with.

And with that in mind the future looks bleak for Galway hurling

Galwegian_Entity (Galway) - Posts: 6 - 09/06/2025 15:53:17    2616164

I expected Galway to bring way more yesterday..
Once more it was the older experienced players who brought the fight to kk..
If daithi or cathal mannion get injured or have a complete off day,who will replace them?
Did Fintan get hurt?if not a very strange change bang on half time..Conor whelan is a threat inside but think he's needed at half forward..what has happened with Declan mc Laughlin??very impressed any time I've watched him..what is Jason Flynn on 26 for?has hardly been used at all..
Tj brennan has been given a chance and has bedded in nicely after a tough couple of years.
I still wouldn't write off the year and won't be surprised if ye beat tipp..

CTGAA10 (Limerick) - Posts: 2539 - 09/06/2025 16:00:27    2616166

Replying To Ailteoir:  "I don't , but then I don't see the need to comment on the Mayo thread either.

As for Galway people, we may or may not be. But if Mayo footballers were to win Sam this year, I don't think you'd see too many Galway people claiming their county had somehow 'paved the way'. Unlike Mayo people in '98 and '01."
More nonsense Mayo people didn't talk about paving the way

Cumann1 (Mayo) - Posts: 67 - 09/06/2025 16:04:56    2616169

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "You started worrying about strategy, and ended up worrying about lack of talent. I'd start and finish with the talent level, because that's where it's at surely. It's much easier to work on strategy, when you've a talent pool to match the top5 in the country. We don't at the moment, so let's just suck it up, and wait til we do."
Galway had the talent in prior years but missed out to teams with better fitness, strategy and a bit of luck (Tip '16, KK and even Limerick in '18) . Not saying we have the strategy now coz if we do then we are not executing on it or its terrible to begin with. And yes we should have the talent to at least compete against a slightly above average KK side.
Now lets look at the talent pool, this is the root of the problem, we probably have the most senor clubs in the country (whether we should is a different discussion), more kids playing hurling than ever, but we cant beat our way out of a paper bag in underage, we look weak, less fit and void of ideas. The ones that do come up are not challenging the likes of the Burkes and others for playing time, Jez Conor Cooney and Jason Flynn are STILL on a Galway Panel!! We dont need the next Cian Lynch or Joe Canning, what we need is a system that produces a conveyor belt of talent that can plug into a senior team and be competitive. We can wait with rosery beads but I would rather start to seriously look at the academy and its structures to identify what we are doing wrong there coz we sure as hell are not doing a lot right!

BostonGuy (Galway) - Posts: 167 - 09/06/2025 16:52:04    2616181

Replying To The_DOC:  "Sorry and listen I agree with bits and piece but I just cant agree that we are "building a team" or that "we are in transition" the simple facts are the Flemming is the only new face starting on that 15 yesterday. theres maybe two new faces on teh bench one of which was brought on but thats not exactly ground shattering team building. take out any one, just one out of the starting line up yesterday and ist probably = 5 addional points to KK. What exactly is the transition then, is it the game plan or the tactics we are transitioning?"
We seem to be building a new team more so than you. We had 10 or so lads start championship games this year who were around 22 years old or less. Well maybe a couple didn't start but they came on. A few more mightve got minutes but missed out with injury too. We had a couple more in the 23/24 age bracket. Think Lee Chin was our only outfield player over 30.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16224 - 09/06/2025 17:11:57    2616190

Replying To BostonGuy:  "Galway had the talent in prior years but missed out to teams with better fitness, strategy and a bit of luck (Tip '16, KK and even Limerick in '18) . Not saying we have the strategy now coz if we do then we are not executing on it or its terrible to begin with. And yes we should have the talent to at least compete against a slightly above average KK side.
Now lets look at the talent pool, this is the root of the problem, we probably have the most senor clubs in the country (whether we should is a different discussion), more kids playing hurling than ever, but we cant beat our way out of a paper bag in underage, we look weak, less fit and void of ideas. The ones that do come up are not challenging the likes of the Burkes and others for playing time, Jez Conor Cooney and Jason Flynn are STILL on a Galway Panel!! We dont need the next Cian Lynch or Joe Canning, what we need is a system that produces a conveyor belt of talent that can plug into a senior team and be competitive. We can wait with rosery beads but I would rather start to seriously look at the academy and its structures to identify what we are doing wrong there coz we sure as hell are not doing a lot right!"
The last sentence there, that's your action item so, the rest is irrelevant. I presume the YOU yourself are not going to be the one 'seriously looking' at this, so you will in fact be just waiting for results like the rest of us. Bystanders all, rosary beads attached or not.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4212 - 09/06/2025 18:02:46    2616214

Replying To BostonGuy:  "Galway had the talent in prior years but missed out to teams with better fitness, strategy and a bit of luck (Tip '16, KK and even Limerick in '18) . Not saying we have the strategy now coz if we do then we are not executing on it or its terrible to begin with. And yes we should have the talent to at least compete against a slightly above average KK side.
Now lets look at the talent pool, this is the root of the problem, we probably have the most senor clubs in the country (whether we should is a different discussion), more kids playing hurling than ever, but we cant beat our way out of a paper bag in underage, we look weak, less fit and void of ideas. The ones that do come up are not challenging the likes of the Burkes and others for playing time, Jez Conor Cooney and Jason Flynn are STILL on a Galway Panel!! We dont need the next Cian Lynch or Joe Canning, what we need is a system that produces a conveyor belt of talent that can plug into a senior team and be competitive. We can wait with rosery beads but I would rather start to seriously look at the academy and its structures to identify what we are doing wrong there coz we sure as hell are not doing a lot right!"
Need to look at management teams from 20s to academy.
Tools are there(players) so where do you look after that?

CillTormoir (Galway) - Posts: 546 - 09/06/2025 19:37:31    2616236

Replying To Viking66:  "We seem to be building a new team more so than you. We had 10 or so lads start championship games this year who were around 22 years old or less. Well maybe a couple didn't start but they came on. A few more mightve got minutes but missed out with injury too. We had a couple more in the 23/24 age bracket. Think Lee Chin was our only outfield player over 30."
Where are all the media articles comparing this new Wexford outfit to Micko's babes of 1975? You'll have to write some yourself, Viking? We're all very jealous on here, that you seem to be 'building a new team more than us'. We'll be even more upset, if they're any good of course.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4212 - 09/06/2025 20:19:35    2616243

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Where are all the media articles comparing this new Wexford outfit to Micko's babes of 1975? You'll have to write some yourself, Viking? We're all very jealous on here, that you seem to be 'building a new team more than us'. We'll be even more upset, if they're any good of course."
No way of knowing that yet Pope :-D

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16224 - 09/06/2025 22:17:32    2616260

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Where are all the media articles comparing this new Wexford outfit to Micko's babes of 1975? You'll have to write some yourself, Viking? We're all very jealous on here, that you seem to be 'building a new team more than us'. We'll be even more upset, if they're any good of course."
No way of knowing that yet Pope :-D

But they definitely won't ever be good enough if they never get to play......

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 16224 - 09/06/2025 22:18:18    2616261

Most admit I got my prediction very wrong and paid for it heavily.
It was some crash back to reality and disapointing at the 57th minute to look at the exodus of Galway supporters and yes you will say what do you expect.
Personally I think from being there and listening to interviews afterwards that MD needs to look at his coach. He said 'we did not impose our style on the game' and yes it was a mess but this style if there is one should be coached to within an inch of its life and you stick to that process. They got half time to reset and figure it out and they did not. We got a 10 minute spell when the game was over and Kilkenny sat back where we hurled or was that down to Kilkenny. For me this is a coaching problem and can be fixed with the proper person( watch Paul Kinnerk coach and fix things on the pitch) This is just my opinion and some will say its the players but I do not buy that.

1shot (Galway) - Posts: 19 - 10/06/2025 09:57:30    2616308

Replying To Viking66:  "We seem to be building a new team more so than you. We had 10 or so lads start championship games this year who were around 22 years old or less. Well maybe a couple didn't start but they came on. A few more mightve got minutes but missed out with injury too. We had a couple more in the 23/24 age bracket. Think Lee Chin was our only outfield player over 30."
Great story brahhh

The_DOC (Galway) - Posts: 789 - 10/06/2025 09:58:31    2616309

Replying To CTGAA10:  "I expected Galway to bring way more yesterday..
Once more it was the older experienced players who brought the fight to kk..
If daithi or cathal mannion get injured or have a complete off day,who will replace them?
Did Fintan get hurt?if not a very strange change bang on half time..Conor whelan is a threat inside but think he's needed at half forward..what has happened with Declan mc Laughlin??very impressed any time I've watched him..what is Jason Flynn on 26 for?has hardly been used at all..
Tj brennan has been given a chance and has bedded in nicely after a tough couple of years.
I still wouldn't write off the year and won't be surprised if ye beat tipp.."
I expected Limerick to be able to hit the target from 20 meters. Maybe they should concentrate more on improving the basic skills of lifting and striking instead of 'turnovers'!

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 197 - 10/06/2025 10:09:48    2616310

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "I expected Limerick to be able to hit the target from 20 meters. Maybe they should concentrate more on improving the basic skills of lifting and striking instead of 'turnovers'!"
As Seamus Darby said beautifully about 'your team' on that football program last night, 'you'll criticise them, but you won't let anyone else criticise them'.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4212 - 10/06/2025 10:38:28    2616320

Replying To Crashingwaves:  "I expected Limerick to be able to hit the target from 20 meters. Maybe they should concentrate more on improving the basic skills of lifting and striking instead of 'turnovers'!"
All his comments were very valid. We're in no position to be slagging Limerick. They put in a massive effort from the start right to the bitter end on the weekend. We certainly didn't.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2377 - 10/06/2025 10:42:41    2616323

Replying To WanPintWin:  "All his comments were very valid. We're in no position to be slagging Limerick. They put in a massive effort from the start right to the bitter end on the weekend. We certainly didn't."
Just find a lot of the commentary re Galway a bit condescending. I'm sure he means well.

Crashingwaves (Galway) - Posts: 197 - 10/06/2025 10:56:32    2616326

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "The last sentence there, that's your action item so, the rest is irrelevant. I presume the YOU yourself are not going to be the one 'seriously looking' at this, so you will in fact be just waiting for results like the rest of us. Bystanders all, rosary beads attached or not."
This is a forum, so there are no action items for the posters, although I know there are plenty on here heavily involved in their clubs and possibly some with county development squads.
When we give an opinion on a player's performance, it's not expected that we're somehow addressing the issue. Likewise, when someone raises questions about the development of hurlers in the county, it's not invalid just because the poster can't actually resolve the issue himself. We're all mainly bystanders, but that doesn't mean we can't raise valid questions. Otherwise, there would be no point discussing anything.
There's no harm at all to be asking what we're doing at underage. As I said before, I know there are a lot of people working hard for the betterment of Galway hurling, but we don't seem to be seeing the results on the pitch. Given that we have a larger playing pool than most counties and appear to be well resourced, we do need to review what's being done and try to identify where we're failing.

WanPintWin (Galway) - Posts: 2377 - 10/06/2025 10:58:13    2616327