Possibly not good enough to win the All Ireland but definitely good enough to win Leinster once we have our full strength of experienced players back and playing.
katser (Galway) - Posts: 2531 - 24/03/2025 16:45:33 2598364 Link 1 |
Jimmy Sloyan has a lot to answer for with that phrase! Not good enough for what exactly? Winning the All ireland? This year almost certainly not good enough, next year who knows. Leinster? Maybe. We've played the other division 1 Leinster teams in the league and beaten both away from home. We also have a better manager than either imo. Let's see
Overdahill (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 24/03/2025 17:08:29 2598369 Link 1 |
KK is massive game, get a win there and with all due respect to Offaly, Antrim and Wexford.....Galway are certainly more than capable of beating them would leave 8pts in the bag going away to Dublin with a settled team on form. MOD tried out new young players through out the League, not sure it worked but there is a reason why he has kept over half the team from '17 because he believes in them that they still have the ability to produce the goods. katser (Galway) - Posts: 2531 - 24/03/2025 17:24:03 2598379 Link 1 |
Cheeky enough to throw in Niland (1 from play) and Flynn, who scored one out of two handy frees. Also Whelan only got 1. The scorers were as follows E Niland (0-7, 0-5 frees, 0-1 '65); C Mannion (0-5); C Cooney (0-3, 0-1 free); R Burke (0-2); T Monaghan, T Killeen, C Whelan, J Flynn (free), D McLoughlin (0-1 each). And I think the spread over the entire league doesn't go along with your idea that the 'tried and trusted' remain our best forwards: Our scoreres from play over the 6 games Burns: 3-4 Mcloughlin: 3-3 Monahan: 0-9 Whelan: 0-7 Cathal Mannion: 0-6 Kevin Cooney: 0-4 Lee: 0-4 Fleming: 1-1 Cianan Fahy: 0-3 Tiernan Killeen: 0-3 Linnane: 0-3 Padraig Mannion:0-3 Oisin Lohan: 0-3 Niland: 0-2 Morrissey: 0-2 Garvey: 0-2 David Burke: 0-2 Conor Cooney: 0-2 Rory Burke: 0-2 Concannon: 0-1 Liam collins: 0-1 TJ Brennan: 0-1 John cooney: 0-1 Dan Loftus: 0-1 Colm Molloy: 0-1 Concannon: 0-1 Overdahill (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 24/03/2025 17:26:33 2598383 Link 1 |
I don't think MOD will put any pass on those 2 League wins, nor will Rossiter or Lyng. And the players definitely won't. We were missing 5 likely championship starters, maybe 6, while yourselves and Kilkenny were both surely missing some also. The 3 Leinster Championship games between us will likely feature 10 or more players who didn't play in the 3 corresponding League games. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15237 - 24/03/2025 17:30:38 2598384 Link 2 |
Dont think so have to be honest cant see them beating the cats dubs or us just not good enough when the ground will speed up.
Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 311 - 24/03/2025 18:44:52 2598397 Link 1 |
Over half the 17 team? Elaborate please. By my count we have 7 of the 26 from that day and Flynn/David Burke are not going to feature much imo
Overdahill (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 24/03/2025 20:38:32 2598422 Link 0 |
Agreed, but it was to be read in the context of the post I was replying to, saying we were "simply not good enough" with no back up. I was simply saying the literal most recent evidence we have suggests we might be good enough to win leinster, which I don't think is outrageous
Overdahill (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 24/03/2025 20:43:42 2598424 Link 0 |
3:45pm Saturday in Portlaoise for first look at the u20s in championship action. First day out might be a bit rusty but will be looking to run up a score before they face Offaly. Ourselves and Offaly definitely the strongest in Leinster and Tipp favourites in Munster. The AI winner should come from those three. We should have a full deck to pick from with the injuries clearing up. galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 843 - 24/03/2025 20:54:11 2598426 Link 0 |
That sounds great in theory but based on recent years I doubt any team in Leinster will have 8 points going into the last game
Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 3461 - 24/03/2025 22:59:01 2598445 Link 0 |
We are as far away as ever IMO. Says alot that Flynn is still one of first subs in in 2025. He has been on panel for last decade without ever nailing a starting spot serious rebuilding needed. We are lucky KK are at their weakest in living memory. Could we scrape a leinster win 1st match out against KK will tell alot if dont win we could easily struggle to get out of a very weak leinster AGAIN. Eire89 (Galway) - Posts: 320 - 25/03/2025 12:47:33 2598523 Link 1 |
I don't think any team has ever had 8 points going into the last game since the Leinster RR went to 6 teams.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 15237 - 25/03/2025 13:41:43 2598537 Link 0 |
Interesting point made on a Galway Bay Fm post there on how in the first half we were eaten in midfield and Cork cut through our defence at ease but at half time management could only see to change Concannon. Does management see whats infront of them was the question. I have to say it was a very valid point and one worth mentioning here to get other opinions. LoughChamps24 (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 25/03/2025 13:53:16 2598540 Link 0 |
Ill have a pint of what your having kaiser because it must be good stuff
Tiger1 (Wexford) - Posts: 311 - 25/03/2025 15:17:46 2598563 Link 1 |
We don't have middle third options to turn to, in order to curb the likes of Darragh Fitzgibbon. If we did, they wouldn't be HT options, they'd be likely starters. Some of Galway's substitutions on the night suggested that they weren't terribly bothered about the result, once they realised that they weren't a match for Cork. The Galway substitutions seemed to weaken the team and the performance, as the second half dwindled to a finish. Concannon deserved to be replaced imo. His form is remarkably poor in 2024 and 2025. People always whining about 'consistency' and lack thereof from Galway hurlers, but I'm afraid I'm seeing admirable 'consistency' out of Concannon for the last 15 months. Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4044 - 25/03/2025 17:09:30 2598581 Link 1 |
You might not agree with menbut nice of you to specify you'e worth mentioning here to get other opinions so here goes :D I doubt management care the slightest about the result in Cork. If it was a championship game you might have seen change in midfield but sometimes the best thing management can do (for the medium/ Long term) when trying to build up a team is leave lads in place and let them try to figure it out, or learn from the experience. Of course management see what we see, and probably a lot more than we see. Midfield is an absolute barren wasteland for us unfortunately and I'd rather Monahan, Fahy, linnane be left there for as much exposure as possible to see what they can make of it, rather than wholesale changes when things are going wrong. There's no prime David Burke or Johnny Coen who is going to come in and improve things and in a league game in March I'd rather learn more about the players I have in there ratehr than throw chages at it at half time in the hope something works. There's no point trying to apply 'Championship logic' to league games. Similarly to saying 'Burns was treated badly' how so? he started 3 games in a row, more than most forwards. He's now well in contention for championship. Being left out of the last game of the league is not the same as being left out for the last game of championship, in that case there is no question but that you've been dropped, but in the league there could be any one of a thousand reasons you're left out and I'm sure Burns is well aware of why he didn't play. Likely just getting everyone minutes. Same as the Niland being in the team for frees argument, maybe when it comes to Kilkenny in Nowlan park in 4 weeks maybe he'll be in, but in a league game I'd rather sacrifixce a few frees and have Burns, McLoughlin or whoever playing rather than carrying Niland. What it comes down to in the end, is everyone screams "rebuild" "tear it all down" and talks about long term planning when we have a bad year, but then when we do see a bit of long term planning and not going all out in the league, there's more outrage. On Ian Hanrahan I don't know, he's just in a positon where we have a lot of talent. I'd have him behind Grealish, Morrissey and Morgan, maybe ahead of Ryan and Loftus but they're tight calls. I don't think anyone can be too annoyed about him being left out Overdahill (Galway) - Posts: 27 - 25/03/2025 18:25:36 2598587 Link 2 |
Some good points to be fair. Midfield is a huge problem and I get the point we don't have options. Some different between Cork midfield and ours where they link and run at the defence with the off load. Tom Monaghan for instance is do frustrating . He just takes pop shots and plays for himself. He won't make a tackle but stays outside for a soft ball. Surely we can stay looking at that. Concannon and the likes are starved for ball as it simply does not come in and the odd time it does it's poor thoughtless ball and the last option. The engine is middle third and we have no engine imo. Limerick/Cork have no one in the middle third playing for their own few scores
LoughChamps24 (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 25/03/2025 19:47:27 2598592 Link 0 |
This is not accurate in relation to 'ball going in'. Galway scored 12 of 22 chances at the first half in Cork. Cork scored 14 of 16 chances in the same period. Cork chiseled a 6 point HT lead from those stats, off 6 fewer scoring chances. The first half issue didn't seem to be with lack of possession or 'ball going in'. You'd see cows calving with more ease on occasion, than some of Whelan's 'rucking' to gain possession, after his first touch frequently fails him these days to secure his ball sharply from even decent supply. On top of that, no one can tell me that Concannon had played well for Galway in the last 15 months. The Galway attack has multiple problems. Lack of ball winners. Lack of speed. Lack of runners from deep. Lack of cohesion. Lack of sharpness, individually and collectively. Yes, a lack of midfield or halfbackline dominantion, and consequent frontfoot support. But, I certainly wouldn't be absolving Concannon and Whelan 2024/2025 performance levels on the basis that 'ball supply' was a primary issue in their displays. Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4044 - 25/03/2025 22:40:04 2598609 Link 1 |
I fully get your point but I think you are hitting the nail on the head without knowing it. Cork on one hand work the ball through the lines and get it to the player in the best position who takes the shot hence 14 from 16. Horgan is 36 years of age and he looks good because of their system and a brillent engine in the midfield feeding brilliant ball to him and the forwards. Galway on the other hand have no system and are unable to work the ball through the lines. Our midfield are all over the place and if our backs do get a ball to Monaghan and Co. its a shot if at all possible. This is the reason Whelan and Co. are struggling. Cathal Mannion to midfield may be the solution for me or someone who feeds the ball integently. David Burke and Johnny Coen were brillent at this role and were are struggling with replacing them. At this minute our midfield reminds me of juvenile hurling do you not think? LoughChamps24 (Galway) - Posts: 5 - 26/03/2025 10:21:37 2598643 Link 0 |
It's easier to have 'a system' that works for you, when you have players of the requisite standard to make that system work. There is no evidence at the moment that Galway have enough players of this requisite standard to match a team like Cork, so theoretical issues with 'the system' are all arguably moot imo. It's a bit like whining about the goalie's puckouts, when the core problem is that we've no high/hard ball winners out the field anyway, regardless of the way he pucks it. Perhaps the Galway 'system' is good, but it's just the lack of capability in the players playing the 'system' that's making it look bad.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 4044 - 26/03/2025 12:03:09 2598666 Link 0 |