Brilliant and NEEDED performance from the Galway Hurlers. Probably the worse place in Ireland to go play in search of a win but Galway did it. TBH I didn't see it coming. I was praying for a decent performance and to keep it relatively close. Thanks lads for the awesome effort. Hon Galway. Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2309 - 02/02/2025 15:26:59 2588889 Link 0 |
I take it ,yer not going to be in christy ring anytime soon now %() Timmy86 (Sligo) - Posts: 316 - 02/02/2025 15:47:39 2588897 Link 1 |
We made ten changes today from the starting 15 against Tipperary. Looked a far stronger team when announced this week.. Have to wonder why we were so experimental last week when we only have two games at home. Great win hard to get a win in Nowlan Park. Corner flag (Galway) - Posts: 38 - 02/02/2025 15:53:27 2588898 Link 1 |
I think a lot was learnt from that game
BigBàsMan (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 02/02/2025 16:30:15 2588917 Link 1 |
I don't mind what he did last week as that's how you'll know who's who. You have to try lads out. I hope he keeps testing lads out and find our best panel possible.
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2309 - 02/02/2025 16:37:49 2588922 Link 2 |
Nice win today for Galway and with all the talk about playing the Loughrea lads...they didn't really have much impact! katser (Galway) - Posts: 2490 - 02/02/2025 17:41:36 2588956 Link 1 |
Congrats Galway, fine wins in both codes, particularly going to Nowlan Park and skinning the cats! foreveryoung (USA) - Posts: 2128 - 02/02/2025 17:48:33 2588961 Link 2 |
Ah will ya give it a rest katser. Shane Morgan was very good corner back and Killeen was middling- first game and off the pace. Anthony burns got a combined total of 10 mins in the two games so don't know what you're expecting there.
BigBàsMan (Galway) - Posts: 88 - 02/02/2025 19:18:19 2588993 Link 1 |
Fair play every man deserves a chance but unfortunately with big games v Cork and Clare coming......lads would want to adapt to this high standard of intensity fairly quickly! Happy Galway won but when we got the 2nd goal and went 8-9pts up we should have drove on instead of letting KK back in with silly frees. katser (Galway) - Posts: 2490 - 02/02/2025 20:26:53 2589023 Link 2 |
Hopefully that performance and result will keep the keyboard warriors quiet for a while at least. A lot of tripe written last week about Bridge players, and today it was a Bridge man at CB that was the outstanding player on show and no many would have thought he would have been picked in the position. And now this week, Loughrea players brought into the tripe talk. Time for less negativity and more constructive discussions needed on this thread. OhIWouldYa (Galway) - Posts: 12 - 02/02/2025 21:45:40 2589066 Link 2 |
I dunno about less negativity. Traditionally the Galway hurlers seem to respond well to scalding rebuke, and being 'farther than ever away' etc etc etc
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3932 - 02/02/2025 21:50:53 2589072 Link 1 |
Having most of your best players on the pitch helped also! Only Cathal Mannion of your best 8 or so players missing. Fahy and Monaghan are good in midfield, Lee seemed to go well according to the pundits, but Kilkennys half forward line scored 10 from play, so you would wonder...... At the end of the day it's still only League hurling on heavy pitches, but to go to Nowlan Park and win is always good, and Kilkenny were only missing 2 of their best 8 or 9 outfield players, TJ and Mullen. Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14507 - 02/02/2025 22:31:43 2589086 Link 1 |
Pitch was in rag order
Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 2129 - 02/02/2025 22:53:52 2589095 Link 1 |
TJ looked 'gone' last year imo. He's 38 in 2025, or is that a miscalculation? Hardly in KKs top10 anymore realistically at that age.
Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3932 - 02/02/2025 23:04:15 2589101 Link 1 |
A totally different team this week. Thank god. Let's not get carried away yet. 6 did well today. Still alot of work to do. The next few weeks and we'll have a clearer picture of where we're at. Today was good as that team will ever play and Kilkenny were only ok. Looking forward to the next few rounds. An interesting few weeks ahead. Armchairreporter (Galway) - Posts: 86 - 02/02/2025 23:57:51 2589109 Link 1 |
Wouldnt say we were as close to full strength as your suggesting, still without Cathal Mannion, Brian Concannon, majority of our strong players came on, daithi came on and went off 5 mins later, kevin cooney and sean linnane came on and our experienced players that started didnt play well, whelan and conor cooney werent at the races at all, young players steped up today like Lee, Morgan, Killeen, Fleming and Mcloughin so stop trying to dampen the victory by saying we had our best players out, yes its only the league, but credit where credit is due!
Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 129 - 03/02/2025 00:58:44 2589113 Link 1 |
Father Iggy Clark wasn't too bad. Wasn't he from Loughrea?
Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2309 - 03/02/2025 01:15:38 2589115 Link 1 |
Forgot about Concannon, massive player for ye. I wasn't saying it was a championship quality game between 2 teams at their best, only that I was expecting you to play better than the 1st week as you had a much stronger team on paper out. Lee, Mclaughlin, and Killeen are in their 3rd year on the Senior Panel aren't they? You would be hoping they'd be stepping up now. All are good hurlers.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14507 - 03/02/2025 08:25:24 2589132 Link 1 |
Last year Kilkenny wouldn't have made the Leinster Final had he not played against us in the final round robin game in Nowlan Park. Still an important player for them imo.
Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 14507 - 03/02/2025 09:16:28 2589143 Link 1 |
Yes they should but i dont think they have been properly exposed yet to inter county, the league will only do so much, lee played majority of last year but killeen never got a chance really under Sheffield and mcloughin only was used as a impact sub, I think if they get proper runs in the team it will bring them on.
Galway456 (Galway) - Posts: 129 - 03/02/2025 11:50:57 2589171 Link 2 |