Galway Hurling thread

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Most on here are sound hurling people. It's just his holiness, the goalkeeper as Gaeilge, Tommeen (at times, sometimes fine) and katser herself and I think she does it for devilment as opposed to delusion, that give Galway hurling folk on here a bad name!"
Listen after a rough start, I have developed a soft spot for you over the last year or so youngeen (time really flies!) so anything you say is fine with me! lol

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3392 - 05/05/2024 10:45:02    2543054

Replying To katser:  "I thought I would never say this but could Dublin of all teams beat Kilkenny in Parnell Park? Now that would Definitely open up the Leinster Championship!"
The simple answer is no!

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3392 - 05/05/2024 10:50:46    2543055

Replying To SixtiesKid:  "You've summed it up.
Its harder to get off the team than onto it.
Keep doing the same things and you will get the same result.
We have had some bad days but this was the worst since 1973.
Embarrassing is the only word I can think of."
Kilkenny 2004, Dublin 2011, Waterford 2011, Clare 2007, Waterford 1998 were all much worse days than this, didn't have successful years before any of them either. 2011 was probably the lowest ebb I'd seen Galway hurling pre mid 70s and then the following year started out on the second best generation Galway have ever had. I remember around that time a big spread in Irish Independent about how have Galway sunk so low in both sports and Brendan Lynskey have a quote along the lines of the hurlers we're playing in his front lawn he'd pull the curtains. So while I think that was probably the worst Galway performance in many years I definitely wouldn't call it a low point, wexfords record against Kilkenny show there is always the potential for this and been waiting a long time to get a statement win like this over someone other than Kilkenny, have had enough should have, would have, could have BS excuses the last 5 years but first time they've got over the line in a game of this importance. I don't think we're going to win an all Ireland but we're not a terrible team either, just very inconsistent and have a lower basement than others but I definitely wouldn't say it's the worst Galway since 73, they didn't win a game from 93-00 v someone who wasn't Roscommon. Galway back being more of the enigma there were known as, they're a different case to other counties outside of the big 3 whereas when Clare, ourselves, Limerick etc are poor we can look to our club game being poor, no wins at underage or club all Irelands or strength in depth, Galway always seem to have this, just puzzling. Anyways, at least it's making for a great Leinster championship and I don't think anyone could call who's going to make a Leinster final. While I'd happily do away with the provinces it's still good to see it competitive and not being getting drowned out by Munster all the time on the airwaves.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 05/05/2024 11:03:24    2543057

Don't want to take anything away from Wexfords fine win but we were a shambles yesterday, particularly in defence and midfield. After last weeks game and now this it's clear that we're going backwards and being honest it's been three years of regression under Henry. Arguably our season is as good as over, even if we were to reach a Leinster final we're going nowhere. We need a rebuild with a new manager as soon as our season ends which can't be too long looking at yesterdays performance.

Flaherty (UK) - Posts: 126 - 05/05/2024 11:04:32    2543058

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Kilkenny 2004, Dublin 2011, Waterford 2011, Clare 2007, Waterford 1998 were all much worse days than this, didn't have successful years before any of them either. 2011 was probably the lowest ebb I'd seen Galway hurling pre mid 70s and then the following year started out on the second best generation Galway have ever had. I remember around that time a big spread in Irish Independent about how have Galway sunk so low in both sports and Brendan Lynskey have a quote along the lines of the hurlers we're playing in his front lawn he'd pull the curtains. So while I think that was probably the worst Galway performance in many years I definitely wouldn't call it a low point, wexfords record against Kilkenny show there is always the potential for this and been waiting a long time to get a statement win like this over someone other than Kilkenny, have had enough should have, would have, could have BS excuses the last 5 years but first time they've got over the line in a game of this importance. I don't think we're going to win an all Ireland but we're not a terrible team either, just very inconsistent and have a lower basement than others but I definitely wouldn't say it's the worst Galway since 73, they didn't win a game from 93-00 v someone who wasn't Roscommon. Galway back being more of the enigma there were known as, they're a different case to other counties outside of the big 3 whereas when Clare, ourselves, Limerick etc are poor we can look to our club game being poor, no wins at underage or club all Irelands or strength in depth, Galway always seem to have this, just puzzling. Anyways, at least it's making for a great Leinster championship and I don't think anyone could call who's going to make a Leinster final. While I'd happily do away with the provinces it's still good to see it competitive and not being getting drowned out by Munster all the time on the airwaves."
Clare 2007? We played the great KK in 2007, and played quite well imo. Perhaps you mean 1999 or 2013?

One positive about 2004 and 2011 that does not apply 2012-20?? is that we were still winning u21 all-irelands in those days. We've turned into sorry also rans at u21 level since 2018, with perhaps the exception of one of the covid years, when KK just pipped us to one or two of the titles.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3500 - 05/05/2024 11:29:13    2543060

Replying To Flaherty:  "Don't want to take anything away from Wexfords fine win but we were a shambles yesterday, particularly in defence and midfield. After last weeks game and now this it's clear that we're going backwards and being honest it's been three years of regression under Henry. Arguably our season is as good as over, even if we were to reach a Leinster final we're going nowhere. We need a rebuild with a new manager as soon as our season ends which can't be too long looking at yesterdays performance."
Can't just blame Henry players have to take responsibility too. This fickleness has been issue for soke years in Galway under other managers too

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 224 - 05/05/2024 11:31:22    2543061

Replying To Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin:  "Kilkenny 2004, Dublin 2011, Waterford 2011, Clare 2007, Waterford 1998 were all much worse days than this, didn't have successful years before any of them either. 2011 was probably the lowest ebb I'd seen Galway hurling pre mid 70s and then the following year started out on the second best generation Galway have ever had. I remember around that time a big spread in Irish Independent about how have Galway sunk so low in both sports and Brendan Lynskey have a quote along the lines of the hurlers we're playing in his front lawn he'd pull the curtains. So while I think that was probably the worst Galway performance in many years I definitely wouldn't call it a low point, wexfords record against Kilkenny show there is always the potential for this and been waiting a long time to get a statement win like this over someone other than Kilkenny, have had enough should have, would have, could have BS excuses the last 5 years but first time they've got over the line in a game of this importance. I don't think we're going to win an all Ireland but we're not a terrible team either, just very inconsistent and have a lower basement than others but I definitely wouldn't say it's the worst Galway since 73, they didn't win a game from 93-00 v someone who wasn't Roscommon. Galway back being more of the enigma there were known as, they're a different case to other counties outside of the big 3 whereas when Clare, ourselves, Limerick etc are poor we can look to our club game being poor, no wins at underage or club all Irelands or strength in depth, Galway always seem to have this, just puzzling. Anyways, at least it's making for a great Leinster championship and I don't think anyone could call who's going to make a Leinster final. While I'd happily do away with the provinces it's still good to see it competitive and not being getting drowned out by Munster all the time on the airwaves."
Kilkenny should beat carlow and Dublin and in driving seat who joins them is another's question

Gaaforlife2023 (Longford) - Posts: 224 - 05/05/2024 11:32:50    2543062

Replying To foreveryoung:  "Most on here are sound hurling people. It's just his holiness, the goalkeeper as Gaeilge, Tommeen (at times, sometimes fine) and katser herself and I think she does it for devilment as opposed to delusion, that give Galway hurling folk on here a bad name!"
I don't think you know much about it to be honest. I haven't read a post from you that I thought had any value, to date anyway. How do you qualify as a self-appointed authority on the subject of 'sound hurling people'?

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3500 - 05/05/2024 11:44:03    2543064

Congrats to Galway Minors yesterday, good job. Not sure if happiness is allowed on this site. I expected Wexford to win the senior game to be honest, they had more to prove. I can never agree with posters who just call for a managers head. We have important games against Dublin and Antrim and score difference will be a thing in the context of the group. Interesting, Gaillimh Abu.

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1676 - 05/05/2024 11:50:45    2543066

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Can't just blame Henry players have to take responsibility too. This fickleness has been issue for soke years in Galway under other managers too"
When Galway lose it's 'fickleless'. When other hurling teams lose, fickleness rarely gets a mention. Galway are evolving into a physically lightweight outfit in critical areas of the pitch in recent seasons, although I'm sure there are uninformed observer's out there who think they're still a big physical team, who only lose games due to fickleness.

Pope_Benedict (Galway) - Posts: 3500 - 05/05/2024 11:59:14    2543071

Replying To WanPintWin:  "I can tell you yesterday's result did not surprise me one bit. There's very little which surprises me with Galway hurling. Experience will do that.
We also have plenty recent evidence of what Wexford are capable of when their backs are to the wall."
Yes when their backs are to the wall but they can easily as lose to the likes of Carlow (already lost to Westmeath last year and Antrim this year) as they are to beat KK. At least Galway beat the teams they should beat but admittedly they are a very long way from winning even a Leinster title never mind an AI. If Shefflin can turn this around and shocks us all with some silverware, I would be the first to shake his hand but I just can't see it happening and I don't think he can either. His interviews are very blasé afterwards and he never seems to admit he or the management got it wrong with team selection, tactics etc. The first thing after such a shambles is to be is honest with the fans and put his hand up to say that management have not been good enough - yes the players have not been good enough either but who picks the players and puts a game plan in place for those players?

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3392 - 05/05/2024 12:19:19    2543076

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Clare 2007? We played the great KK in 2007, and played quite well imo. Perhaps you mean 1999 or 2013?

One positive about 2004 and 2011 that does not apply 2012-20?? is that we were still winning u21 all-irelands in those days. We've turned into sorry also rans at u21 level since 2018, with perhaps the exception of one of the covid years, when KK just pipped us to one or two of the titles."
They just pipped us in the final in 2021 by a point.

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 05/05/2024 12:27:53    2543078

Replying To Pope_Benedict:  "Clare 2007? We played the great KK in 2007, and played quite well imo. Perhaps you mean 1999 or 2013?

One positive about 2004 and 2011 that does not apply 2012-20?? is that we were still winning u21 all-irelands in those days. We've turned into sorry also rans at u21 level since 2018, with perhaps the exception of one of the covid years, when KK just pipped us to one or two of the titles."
Sorry 2022

Viking66 (Wexford) - Posts: 12224 - 05/05/2024 12:28:08    2543079

Replying To WEXILE:  "It's yer man that says Wexford are a poorly coached team that got me. Rossiter in only his 3rd championship game in charge.....how the hell does he know how well or poor we are coached. Given that he secured 1A status with basically an u20 team plus supporting cast that doesn't smack of poor coaching to me. And all this coming from a team managed by Henry Sheflin who let's be honest lads is no Brian Cody. Laughable and delighted with that result yesterday for people like that running us down.for the genuine hurling supporters of Galway I know they weren't taking the Mike out of us but I bet still surprised to lose yesterday"
I certainly wasn't surprised. I was in a bookies in Wexford town before the match and put a small bet on Wexford to beat the handicap of +5. I'd have put a lot more on it if I was a Wexford man and if any local there had asked me about the match I'd have told them "forget the horses...this is the bet of the day and possibly of the year"

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1908 - 05/05/2024 12:39:26    2543082

No, lost to Clare in 2007 round robin who were at probably theyre lowest ebb since of last 40 years. Played Kilkenny then in quarter final after, played well for 60 mins but still lost by 10 points. 07 game famous for Loughnane naming the team in the warm up before game. Won two Leinster u20/21s and gotten to 1 one all Ireland final since 2018, not a great return at all from all the minors but still only ever lost to the team that won the all Ireland or got to the final. Cork and Tipp have won 6 of the last 7 now at this grade and look at their struggles. Kilkenny haven't really got much out of their win either. The change from u21 to u20 has created an even bigger gap between senior and underage. I 100% think you won't do anything along the lines of winning a senior all Ireland without all Ireland winners at underage. Wexford 96 the only team I can think of without all Ireland underage winners in it and even then they had a lot of lads who had played in underage all Irelands. Even when you were harvesting minor and u21s still weren't able to translate to senior so not a today problem but 35 years of an issue. The 2011 crop of minors and u21s were a serious bunch and the best underage group at either age that Galway had since the 83 minors/86u21s. Basically entire 2017 panel nearly came from either team.

Throughthemidfieldhewasstormin (Wexford) - Posts: 271 - 05/05/2024 12:52:08    2543084

Replying To Kickitout:  "In reality Galway have not being a consistent contender for all Ireland since the great team of the 80s prob should have won another 3 then but in history of Gaa 5 all Ireland's won at senior level and Limerick are going for 5 in a row it amazes me how every year they are spoken about snd they won 4 of them all Ireland getting virtually straight to semi final ,,"
We won most of our All Irelands getting straight into the semifinals.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 350 - 05/05/2024 12:54:48    2543087

Replying To Gaaforlife2023:  "Kilkenny should beat carlow and Dublin and in driving seat who joins them is another's question"
That I do agree with - its a toss up at this stage.

tommy k (Galway) - Posts: 3392 - 05/05/2024 12:57:18    2543090

Replying To Doylerwex:  "That actually suns up Wexford hurling though.

We had absolutely no guts last week and yesterday 11 of the same lads got stuck in like their lives depend on it.

I'm genuinely more worried about Carlow than Kilkenny which seems mad but I guarantee you I'm not the only one.

If we beat Carlow we've a great chance. Our record against Kilkenny is excellent.

The only rivalry in hurling outside Munster."
One shambles of a defeat and the majority of Galway posters turn their backs and give up on Galway!
In fairness We always seem to have at least one stincker of a game every year, that was it yesterday v Wexford. As I said previously I'm still expecting us to improve and go on a winning spree...... I wonder what they will say when we tog out for the All Ireland Semi Final.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2249 - 05/05/2024 12:59:19    2543091

Replying To daveboy:  "Loads of hurlers in Galway. I've been saying it for years. Outside managers don't work. Get your own in. 1998 and counting."
Good managers work!
Average managers don't.
You can have all the hurlers you like but, culture and winning mentality are what counts at the end of the day.
Galway have neither.
Micheal Donohue had the best team in Ireland each year and won 1 All Ireland.
It's no coincidence that we won our All Ireland against another county without a winning culture and mentality....Waterford.

StopTheLights (Galway) - Posts: 350 - 05/05/2024 13:03:00    2543094

Replying To PoolSturgeon:  "I certainly wasn't surprised. I was in a bookies in Wexford town before the match and put a small bet on Wexford to beat the handicap of +5. I'd have put a lot more on it if I was a Wexford man and if any local there had asked me about the match I'd have told them "forget the horses...this is the bet of the day and possibly of the year""
Isn't that a lovely thing to say about Galway and you supposed to be there to support them.
Somebody print this in the Connaught Tribune and I hope the lads read it.

katser (Galway) - Posts: 2249 - 05/05/2024 13:04:07    2543095